Customer Reviews for

The Cat Who Walks Through Walls

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Forget it.

    Boring ramblings from an otherwise master of science fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Waste of time

    Boring and sad ending. The cat was just a character. Had nothing to do with anything.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is truly an odd, almost nonsensical read from a Grandmaster of the Science Fiction genre. Published in 1985 just three years before his death, The Cat Who Walks Through Walls appears to be in many ways a summation and celebration of Heinlein's life, with protagonist Dr. Richard Ames standing in as the author's alter-ego. According to posts on wikipedia, several characters who appear in the book's final act are major characters from other Heinlein stories, including Lazarus Long and Jubal Harshaw. Although the book's subtitle is 'A Comedy of Manners,' there's not much funny going on here. Basically, the plot is a seemingly random series of events and characters with a lot of chatty dialogue that rambles on and on with no end in sight. The ending was merely frustrating and unsatisfying, although fans of Heinlein might feel differently (having only read one Heinlein book before this one, I have to admit a lack of perspective). Recommended for fans of the author only!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2007

    Save this book until you read many others of the kind first.

    This book gets mixed reviews everywhere you look. Some hate it while others soak it all up. I guess I lie between them. Yes it is a very good book, but it is not one of Heinlein's best. Also, to understand much of what is going on, the reader needs to be familiar with many 'World as Myth' books beforehand. Either way you have it, Heinlein is sure to bring some controversial issues to light. Keep an open mind with and about manners, that seems to be easily overlooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    The cat that falls into the pit

    This is an incoherent, nonsensical book that has been a great disappointment. My apologies if I offend any RAH fans or any others. The story begins with Richard Ames, a successful writer having dinner with Gwen an apparent woman-about-town, when a mysterious person shows up at his table and gets shot. There is no reference to this incident in the rest of the book, but the story describes the misadventures of the pair as they are dragged from one listless scenario to another. Neither the scenarios nor the characters are convincing. There are too many pointless references, characters and discussions that are not properly explained. Who is Bill? Who is the Galactic Overlord? Was this book really necessary? If it is a satire, the point is lost on me. True Terran life is riddled with car dealers,landlords and women whose character changes by the minute. There is little in RAH's style that I could appreciate except his abrupt and bizarre sense of humor '....whereupon Herr nameless had materialized and sat down uninvited..' I have read Heinlein's Starship troopers, but cannot say I really enjoyed it, except for the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2004

    An awesome book to get back into Heinlein

    I read Time Enough For Love when I was something like 11, Stranger in a Strange Land a year or two later, but forgot about reading Heinlein. From what I remember of his other books, this one is exactly along his style. I enjoyed the dialogue as well as the storyline and admired the fact that he created the most depthful characters I've read yet. I don't know what to think about the ending though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2002

    An excellent spoof!

    Despite THE CRITICS' review of this book in striclly literary terms, this is without doubt the funniest piece of sci-fi I have seen in a long time. HINT-Didn't YOU ever want to do something just for fun?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2001

    Disagree with the Critics

    This book was outstanding. It has everything from action to side splitting rhetorical comments. The ending also was astounding. Mr. Ames is a great character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2001

    A Amazing and rivetting Sci-Fi Novel

    truly an amazing book almost un parralled

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2