Customer Reviews for

The Cat in the Hat

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

this book was great

this book is very short and has big words. This book was cool

posted by rioseco on February 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

this sucked

this sucked

posted by Anonymous on March 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    this book was great

    this book is very short and has big words. This book was cool

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Must Read For All Families

    This book is about a mischievous cat and his way to brighten a rainy day. However, is this book sending the right message out to children? I know if I were not home, I would not want my children to let in a strange talking cat-in-a-hat. On the other hand, it does show how the children realized their wrong doing. Also, I'd like to shed some emphasis on the illustrations; although there is not a lot of color, the little color there is brings out the main point of the illustrations. Overall, I would have to say this book is entertaining and I would highly recommend it to families as a tool to enforce stranger safety, or even as a fun story to share.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    My 2 year old has this book and I also bought it for my 18 month old niece. They both love it and it is easy for my husband and me to read it to our daughter. It is also great to bring it along with us when we travel. Dr. Seuss definitely does not disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great classic

    What can be cooler then reading books to your child that your parents read to you. Dr.Suess is awesome! Also check out The Journey of a Grape.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    Perfect book for my 2 year old grandson!

    My grandson is 2 years old and he loves this book. We have read it so much that he can sit down with the book and almost recite it word for word. He loves this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Cat in the Hat

    This is a great youngsters readers book.It shows great illustrations and A creative rhyming story. I am personally a fan of the sequel "The Cat and the Hat Comes Back" and of many other Dr.Seuss books they are all so different in there own ways but they all rhyme which I love. This is a classic must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2007

    great book

    great book read it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2004

    A talking cat!!!

    The book The Cat in the Hat because Dr. Seuss describes how the cat is obnoxious, funny and hyper and does not listen to anyone. He does what he wants. The book is about two children who are in their house on a rainy day, alone, doing nothing. Then a talking cat barges into their house. He plays all these games with them ...like tag and who can jump higher on the couch in the living room. Their fish and the sister are real goody goodies but the sister realizes that this isjust too much fun that she cannot resist and joins in. After they got tired out they realized they had to clean up before their mother came home, but the cat had already brought out two playful creatures who messed up the house even more. Would you be thinking that you could clean up this mess in an hour? I know I wouldn't. Then they heard the car door shut. 'Mom's home,' screamed the sistern. Will they be able to clean up in time? If not how will they explain the talking cat and the huge mess in their house.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2001

    A good book

    This book is one of those books that you read when you were a kid, and now you see how good it is when you read it to your kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1