Customer Reviews for

The Cat's Meow (Entangled Edge)

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    The Cat's Meow is the first book in the Witch's Brew series by

    The Cat's Meow is the first book in the Witch's Brew series by Stacey Kennedy. It's a fast paced, Urban Fantasy story about an enchantress named Libby. She's a mouthy witch who works for the Coven to investigate deaths. Because of past issues, she doesn't trust warlocks and isn't happy to find out that a new warlock in town has been assigned to work on a case with her.

    Libby doesn't want Kale in her business, but she has trouble fighting her attraction to him. Suddenly, the case they are working on becomes extremely dangerous and their lives are in danger. If that isn't enough, Libby realizes that not only Kale, but her Coven, are hiding things from her.

    I could totally feel Libby's frustrations over secrets being kept from her. She feels like she can't trust anyone, and she has good reason to. What really upsets her, is getting closer to Kale but having him continue to not be honest with her. However, even though this story is just told from Libby's point of view – you can tell that it kills Kale to not be honest with her.

    Kale is probably my favorite character in this book. He is completely different than other warlocks that Libby knows. He is tough and cocky, but he has this really sweet side to him. He's a good guy and had good reasons for his mysteriousness. I liked Libby too, but she was just a tad too mouthy for my taste. Fortunately, she finally let her guard down toward the end of the book and showed more of a tender side. Libby's attitude was a perfect match for Kale. There was a lot of sexual tension in this book, and not much happening in that department until the end. It was so frustrating! These two characters clearly wanted each other, but NOTHING kept happening!

    However, there was never a dull moment. There was a lot of action and mystery involved. And of course, some steamy adult action at the end. I always enjoy Stacey Kennedy's books and will be looking forward to the next one in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Cat¿s Meow is a captivating mystery story that has a lot of

    The Cat’s Meow is a captivating mystery story that has a lot of twist and turns that leave your head spinning! Libby, who is an Enchantress, is given a job to investigate a string of cat murder’s that have a dark magic presence surrounding them. When the coven assign’s Kale, a Warlock, to assist her, Libby’s hackles rise. Do they think she cannot do her job? One thing that Libby has to admit, at least to herself, is the absolute swoonworthiness of Kale. He is an Alpha Male that touches all of Libby’s buttons to the point that she is not sure if she wants to kiss him or strangle him! The intense sexual tension between the two is just…WOW!

    As Kale and Libby try to solve the cat murder’s, an evil from Libby’s past resurfaces and Libby finds out that maybe there is a lot more going on then the Coven let on, and Kale seems to know more then he is saying as well. Libby’s frustration about Kale, her anxiety over what the Coven is hiding, and the rise in dark magic has the reader trying to figure out what is going to happen next, and trying to decide who Libby can and cannot trust.

    The mystery, action, romance, and magic of this story make it a must read that will make you wish that book 2 was already out!

    I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    I loved this book! It captivated me the second I picked it up! I

    I loved this book! It captivated me the second I picked it up! It's a good, fun read! This is the first Stacey Kennedy book I've read but it will not be the last! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    'The Cat's Meow' is the first book in a urban fantasy/romance se

    'The Cat's Meow' is the first book in a urban fantasy/romance series that follows witch and coven worker Libby, who has been assigned a new case by the coven to investigate - a series of strange cat deaths in the area. On top of the new case, Libby is not amused by the warlock sent to help her solve the case - the handsome and mysterious Kale. Will Libby be able to keep her mind - and hands - off Kale long enough to solve the mystery before things go from bizarre to horrible?

    This was a really fun and interesting urban fantasy novel that will have readers begging for the next book after finishing the last sentence. Libby is a great main character - she's witty and smart with a wicked attitude. She's good at what she does - casting spells and working for the Coven - and she knows it. The tension between her and Kale is almost immediate and it's interesting to watch their interactions as they both try to fight their growing attraction to each other. The plot is a great one - witches are always a must read for me - so a new urban fantasy series focused on witch's was right up my alley. I loved the back story we learn about the Coven and the magic, along with the detailed structure and descriptions of the witches, warlocks, and the Coven. I hope that we continue to delve deeper into the politics and history as the series progresses. The writing was fantastic and had me completely immersed within the first couple of sentences. I found myself reading as fast as I could to see what would happen next, all while trying to put the pieces of the mystery together before the characters did. The book has a quick pace and an easy flow that made this a fast read for me - mostly because I couldn't stop reading! Highly recommended for fans of paranormal fiction and definitely for fans of urban fantasy series!

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    The Cat's Meow is the first book that I have read by Kennedy, an

    The Cat's Meow is the first book that I have read by Kennedy, and I must say that it definitely won't be the last. Kennedy delivers an intriguing urban fantasy story full of action, mystery, a dash of romance, and a great start for what I am hoping is a series. The book begins with Libby and her best friend, Peyton, investigating the strange murder of a series of cats, and what happens next leads to Libby being challenged like she has never been before. Kennedy does a great job with her development of Libby who has been coasting along in her job not exactly following the rules of her coven which makes her question Kale's intentions when he enters her murder case. Having her mother in her coven makes it hard for Libby as well as the fact that she is constantly trying to protect her best friend. I really liked how Kennedy tied in Libby's relationships with her family and friends into the challenges that Libby faces as the book progresses. Libby's development is well done and comes full circle by the end of the book as she embarks on a different path. Kale is a great romantic hero full of enough mystery to keep the reader and Libby guessing. I also enjoyed the secondary characters of Peyton and Jace who I hope have a bigger role in a future book. The book's story and mystery were well done and are effective enough to keep the reader guessing. I also really enjoyed Kennedy's world building creating a world full of magic and intrigue. Overall The Cat's Meow was a fabulous read that I would most definitely recommend if you enjoy mystery, romance, and thrills with your urban fantasy. I'm looking forward to reading another adventure with Libby.

    I received a copy of this book through a publicist for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. Kale is just sigh worthy and althoug

    I really enjoyed this book. Kale is just sigh worthy and although Libby seems a little too snarky or sarcastic at times it actually makes her more human and relatable. I am looking forward to reading what the future holds for these two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This book¿ Oh my God, this book. It took me on a rollercoaster r

    This book… Oh my God, this book. It took me on a rollercoaster ride of emotions. Everything Libby felt I was right there with her. Boy, was I.

    Libby is an Enchantress who doesn’t trust warlocks (for some pretty solid reasons, I must say). So when a warlock gets assigned to her case, she is less than thrilled to have him there. Even if he is sexy as hell. She is strong and independent, and doesn’t take crap from anyone (which I admire). I really, really liked Libby and connected to her within the first few pages.

    Kale is mysterious, and he doesn’t reveal ANYTHING, which frustrated me to no end. I feared that his reasons were less than honorable and I couldn’t for the life of me figure out why he couldn’t reveal what was going on, who he was, where he came from (Y’know, those pesky things). He has an alpha male personality and I really loved him.

    But though there is a romance factor in this book, it doesn’t predominate. The mystery factor of “Who’s doing this?” kept me so wrapped up in the book. I honestly did not see most of what happened coming.

    Seriously.

    If you know me, you know that I can pretty much foresee what’s going to happen. That’s just how I roll. But this book kept me on my toes and had some pretty freaking amazing twists at the end that had me stopping and having a mini freak-out in my room while everyone was asleep. (It’s not fun having to be quiet when your world gets turned upside down.)

    Stacey Kennedy spun an amazing tale that never let me on to what was really happening until it happened. The romance, the mystery, the action, and the heat between the main characters kept me flipping the pages frantically (and hyperventilating) so I could see what would happen next.

    Though there is no cliffhanger, I cannot wait until the next book of this series. I’m serious. Can I have it? Now?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I can't say that I've read many books containing witches and war

    I can't say that I've read many books containing witches and warlocks. Not that I don't like them but I rarely find one that interests me enough to read it. I fell in love with the cover and after reading the synopsis, decided to give it a try.

    I liked the world of magic that the author created even though I did feel like there should've been more magic in the story. For a while there, I was wondering if I was going to see anything cool and it wasn't until the end of the book, at the big climatic point, that I got to see anything overly interesting. Not that the story wasn't good but I kept forgetting that I was reading a book about witches. Kale comes in the picture at the beginning and is supposed to be this warlock who has this awesome power, only he can't tap into it just yet. So for the majority of the book, he's just muscle and intimidation. However when the fight scene came, I was wrapped in the story.

    It's not that the characters weren't interesting but I just didn't find myself really caring for them. Libby is very smart mouthed, and not in a "haha she's so witty" kind of way. Kale is extremely secretive the entire time. So I think with those two things mixed in, I didn't find myself really grabbing at the story. I personally think that the author was trying to set up the world for the readers and wound up letting the story take the backseat . Once everything was laid out on the table towards the end, I started to really enjoy the story, which really redeemed the book for me. At first, I wasn't overly sure if I'd continue with the story but now I'm interested in what happens next with Libby and Kale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    OMG KALE IS HAWT!!! Ok well, let me start by saying I knew I wou

    OMG KALE IS HAWT!!! Ok well, let me start by saying I knew I would love this book and I’m definitely not disappointed! It’s a fantastic world created expertly and I couldn’t get enough! I flew through the pages and I definitely laughed til my cheeks hurt and then cried because sometimes heartbreaks will do that to you! I’m quite impressed with how well this book is written, being a series started and yet I found no info dumps and an excellent way to let readers learn about things as you read. I very much like this!




    Libby is your totally awesome witch, who has a foul mouth, and bad attitude and a very great best friend… Along with a crazy mother, a serious hate for warlocks, and every doubtful thought known to man! In short- I LOVE HER!! She is up front, even in the negative like being scared because she had no fighting skills. She does get defensive about her weaknesses but that’s everyone’s way! She uses basic skills to get her job done and she’s just fine with that… Until Kale walks into her life.




    Kale is definitely an alpha male. He’s sexy as sin. He’s sweet yet he’s also an assassin used to kill the bad little witchies! I LURVVVVV him!!! He’s exactly what Libby needed! I have high hopes for them! And I especially loved the end when he wouldn’t leave for ” her own good”! It’s pretty awesome! And the author totally surprised me with the bad guy!! NO I DIDN’T SEE THAT LITTLE TWIST COMIN!!! It’s usually hard to surprise me like that- so well done!




    Last but not least, the first three words had me! The writing is wonderfully flowing. I picked it up and didn’t stop! It’s a thrill ride fill of mysteries and trust issues and magic and HAWT male pieces and beautiful beginnings! And if I totally made add- BEST ENDING SCENE EVER!!! I normally am not all about the romance of the story but his was played so damn well that even I cheered! An extremely great series debut… Please please don’t make me wait too long for another in this series!! A MAGICALLY DELICIOUS AND NUTRITIOUS 5 PAWS!! Hehehe I like this little description because I’m thinking Kale is both delicious and nutritious!!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    This is my first read by Stacey Kennedy and it will not be the l

    This is my first read by Stacey Kennedy and it will not be the last.  I picked up this book and did not put it down until the very last page.  I tried a few times because I was super tired, but I could not do it.  I do not know if it was the magical world she created, the feisty and intelligent heroine, Kale in all his power and hotness, or the mystery that kept me glued to the pages.  I imagine it was all of the above.  Whatever the case, this book is not one you should start if you only have a few minutes before the you have to start dinner because your family will be stuck fending for themselves.
    I am going to lay it out there.  If you are a cat lover, the first chapter may be a bit tough for you.  It was for me.  The mystery starts with a deceased cat.  Not an easy thing to read.  Have no fear though.  Once you get over that very short hurdle, all is good.  I promise. 
    I admit I was a bit surprised by some of the things that happened as Libby worked on the case.  This always makes me happy because I hate knowing who done it from the very beginning.  It takes away the fun.  Speaking of fun.  I love the lore of this world.  I was excited when I saw on the cover that this book is book one.  It means there is more awesomeness to come.  The story was complete, if you are looking for a one time read and do not want to commit to a series, but the possibility for more is out there.  Happy Dance.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved loved loved Libby.  She was sassy with an attitude, toug

    I loved loved loved Libby.  She was sassy with an attitude, tough enough to hold her own in a verbal sparring, and inventive with solutions to her nasty problems.  Kale made me mad - but I think he was supposed to.  Hard to warm up to a guy that doesn't tell you who he really is or what he's really doing - but man was he sexy.  The two are thrown together to investigate a series of ritual cat slayings and find themselves neck deep in a rebellion against everything they stand for.  Libby will need to get over her distrust of Kale and try to work with him (and not just stare at his ass).




    A nicer thrill/mystery that threw me off the track enough to keep it very interesting with a surprising twist at the end for both Libby and even Kale (who thought he was prepared for everything).  I had a hard time putting it down, I just wish Kale had been a tiny bit more likable from the get go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Libby, an Enchantress, is sent by her coven to investigate murde

    Libby, an Enchantress, is sent by her coven to investigate murdered cats. While investigating the gruesome scene with her friend Paige, a warlock appears. Kale, the warlock, tells Libby that her coven has sent him to assist her in her investigation. 

    Unsure why she’s been saddle with Kale, Libby begins to question everyone around her. She has never had much trust for warlocks and she is certain Kale is hiding something...and that something might just seriously effect her...

    While investigating these cat murders, Libby uncovers a much deeper and sinister plot... a plot that involves Libby’s ex-boyfriend Brian. Unsure who she can trust, Libby must rely on her own abilities to survive. Her biggest problem, surviving what Kale secrets might reveal.

    The Cat’s Meow was a fun, fast, read with lots of interesting twists and turns. Libby is spunky, fun and take nothing from anyone attitude is refreshing and entertaining. Although the sexual tension is high, this was a slow build to come to fruition. I found The Cat’s Meow an enchanting adventurous tale and am looking forward to more of Libby’s story.

    This copy of The Cat's Meow was given to me by Netgalley and Entangled Publishing, LLC - Entangled Edge in exchange for an honest review. Publish Date February 10, 2013.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A great start to the series Swoon. Swoon. Swoon. That¿s what hap

    A great start to the series
    Swoon. Swoon. Swoon. That’s what happens when I basically come across a guy who dresses like a biker. Well he sort of does. Black jeans, or jean and a dark plain t-shirt. Oh. So. Sexy. That is Kale for you. And, yet he is frustrating. I really don’t blame Libby for wanting to punch him in the face. I loved this novel. I’ve read a lot of books that contain witches, but I have yet to read one about someone who says thanks to the Goddess, which is what Liddy does being an Enchantress. It was pretty awesome. The mystery behind this novel was a very interesting and I had no clue what was really happening, however the mystery that surrounds Kale I sort of had it figured out but not exactly. It was interesting to find out who he was after all the vague comments, and evading Libby’s questions. Sometimes I wanted to yell for her. And not just him it seems like everyone was against and refused to tell her anything. It was frustrating, but in a great way. There was humour, there was passion, and there was some butt kicking. And I really liked that Libby did kick butt. At first she was hesitant, but she really started to come through. Libby is someone I really liked even the butt-kicking aside. She refuses to take anyone’s BS, is determined, and basically trusts no-one. Sometimes a girl can just relate. 
    Good:
    Libby—A Kick-butt, sassy, no holds-bar kind of girl
    Kale—Man of mystery, that is tall, dark, and hansom. 
    Bad: 
    I wish that Kale would have been more romantic, I know the reason he held back some, but I wish there were many many more stolen kisses.
    Overall (Writing style, story line, and general):
    Overall, the story was easy to read and follow and never had me questioning or having to re-read. I never found a boring part as this short 190 page read kept me entertained the entire time. I liked the characters, which included a large variety, and it left me with the appropriate amount of questions and therefore anticipating the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olso

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:
    *ARC received from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    It's no secret I'm a Stacey Kennedy fangirl. I've said it again and again, and while all of her books are stellar,
    Stacey's Frostbite series has been holding its own as my favorite books of hers to date... Until now. :)  
    Stacey told me that she figured this book would be 'my cup of tea' and she was so VERY right about that. :)

    The Cat's Meow was incredible and I really LOVE this hero!! Kale is sigh worthy...  He's strong yet sensitive.  
    Smart yet down to earth.  Honorable, passionate, thoughtful, seriously kick-@$$ and oh yeah... SEXY.

    Libby is an incredible heroine.  She's feisty, spunky, independent, capable and confident.  She's an Enchantress
    for her coven and investigates crimes that may be tied to magick. During investigation of an odd run for
    feline murders she meets Kale and they partner up to investigate. Sadly for Libby, things are NOT what they
    seem on so many levels, and she's thrown head first into a dangerously dark and wicked situation.
    To make matters worse those that she trusts and those that she's working with aren't allowed to give her all of
    the details so it becomes incredibly frustrating.  Not to mention this explosive connection that she and Kale
    share, despite the fact that she's professes to hate warlocks and knows little to nothing about him.

    The world that Stacey has created with this new series is enchanting. A beautiful mix of reality and magick
    that blends seamlessly to immerse the reader in space and time that are both plausible and yet extraordinary.  

    I got all of the mystery, intrigue, surprises, quick wit & romance that I have come to expect from Stacey,
    and really, really enjoyed this book.

    LITERAL ADDICTION gives The Cat's Meow 5 Skulls and would recommend it for all Paranormal Romance
    Lover's, especially those with an extra fondness for magick. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    I loved this book!!! It was so much fun to read! The heroine is

    I loved this book!!! It was so much fun to read! The heroine is a smart mouth, sassy witch whose brain to mouth censor is nonexistent. The hero a very HOT warlock that refuses to open up about who he is. I cannot wait for more of this series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1