Customer Reviews for

The Cats of Tanglewood Forest

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

From soulheart of riverclan

Hey storystar.

posted by 10171461 on December 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not what I expected and too meandering Lillian lives on a farm

Not what I expected and too meandering

Lillian lives on a farm with her aunt, and she enjoys wandering the nearby forest, looking for fairies. One day she decides to follow a deer and ends up lost in the woods. While she lies under a tree to rest, a snake bites her. As...
Not what I expected and too meandering

Lillian lives on a farm with her aunt, and she enjoys wandering the nearby forest, looking for fairies. One day she decides to follow a deer and ends up lost in the woods. While she lies under a tree to rest, a snake bites her. As the venom sinks in, Lillian knows she is dying. The world fades away, and cats of the forest surround her and decide to use their magic to save her by turning her into a kitten. What follows is a tale of Lillian trying to set her world right again through the help of magical creatures including a possum woman, a friendly fox, and some mean bear people. Along the way she learns the importance of considering consequences and remembering the past.




This book is filled with folktale-like characters and events, such as magic spells, potions, talking animals, and people who are part animal. The author uses language that suits the folktale medium as well. I don’t know that this will necessarily appeal to young readers, but I suppose it could. I found the story dragged a bit, especially in the middle, and I didn’t like how it occurred in a non-linear fashion. I also wanted the cats to be a more central part of the story since they are in the title. The story is really about Lillian, not the cats, so I found the title misleading. The book is interesting as a look at folktales and magic, but not enough to be really good.

posted by CatsInSpace on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I expected and too meandering Lillian lives on a farm

    Not what I expected and too meandering

    Lillian lives on a farm with her aunt, and she enjoys wandering the nearby forest, looking for fairies. One day she decides to follow a deer and ends up lost in the woods. While she lies under a tree to rest, a snake bites her. As the venom sinks in, Lillian knows she is dying. The world fades away, and cats of the forest surround her and decide to use their magic to save her by turning her into a kitten. What follows is a tale of Lillian trying to set her world right again through the help of magical creatures including a possum woman, a friendly fox, and some mean bear people. Along the way she learns the importance of considering consequences and remembering the past.




    This book is filled with folktale-like characters and events, such as magic spells, potions, talking animals, and people who are part animal. The author uses language that suits the folktale medium as well. I don’t know that this will necessarily appeal to young readers, but I suppose it could. I found the story dragged a bit, especially in the middle, and I didn’t like how it occurred in a non-linear fashion. I also wanted the cats to be a more central part of the story since they are in the title. The story is really about Lillian, not the cats, so I found the title misleading. The book is interesting as a look at folktales and magic, but not enough to be really good.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    From soulheart of riverclan

    Hey storystar.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Love the book!!

    WOW! THIS BOOK IS SOOOO GREAT?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Dreamerheart of Creekclan

    I was wondering what this "book club" is. I was also wondering if I could talk to this "Storystar". Of course, I have not read the book yet, but it sounds fun. If you liked this book you should read "Claws" it's a great book. The main character is Emma, and her sister is pretty much missing, so her parents used up all of their money looking for the sister, so they have to live in this old trailer,and this cat is already living in it, but in the story most of the cats have this specail power that they're able to to turn into any breed of cat they like, and they have this weird thing you eat, that lets you turn into any general animal you like and be able to slide cat CLAWS out of your knuckles, so the girl Emma eats it so she can save her sister. Pretty much, it's awsome!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Is it good?

    Got any bad stuff?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Chat places

    harry result #2 and bob res #5

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Doctor to To Below KEEP WRITING!

    Seriosly? "It is so sexy and it makes my ____ hard"? Dude,Calm it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Wildwood part one

    March her in thundered the king. Guards flanked lyss as they marched her through the doors of the courthouse. She was being sentenced for not approving the kings views. Lately that had been a popular reason for arrest and even lyss's own mother had been sentenced. And it was all becuase the king had too much of everything. Too many taxes too many riches too many soldiers. All of this pressed through lyss's mind as she entered and was chained to a wooden chair in the very center of the courthouse. We are prosecuting lyss brooks for unapproved views on laws and the king droned the judge. She will be tried for her actions and hopefully found guilty. Lyss tried not to think about what happened to her mother, eternity in wildwood the prohibited forest that had wolves and madmen. It was so feared because nobody had come out alive in about fifty thousand years. Prisoner!! What do you say to these accusations!! The judge yelled. I say that i belive that the king is not the man he was five years ago, and i fully accept these accusations. Lyss stood and replied. She knew that if she tried to object, she would just recive a longer sentence. This here by concludes the trial of lyss brooks and she has been sentenced... said the judge. Lyss's heart pounded in her chest. ... to eternity in wildwood, the forbidden land. The judge finished.
    Ok that was chapter one. The next part will be at the spanish version of percy jackson #1. Please write to grace. Please review this!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Littlewing of gallopclan

    Yup. That's me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    TO WILD WOOD PART ONE

    KEEP WRITING YOIR SERIES IS BOSS YOUR SERIES IS BOSSIER THAN THE BOSSIEST BOSS

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Prim

    I guess." She mutters and pads silentlyinto the woods behind the deer and runs at it biting its neck.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    The whole book club thing

    So can anyone explain what the book club thing is, what goes on, and how it works? I would luv to do it, but i wanna be sure of what it is first

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Good book

    I thought this book would be about cats. That is why I bought it. It was all about lillian. It was sort of boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    The princess of the sea

    Go to the secret zoo to read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Read

    Great book so far!!!!!
    P.s.... i love rats!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Clans?

    Nettleclaw from Forestclan

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Bluestar of bubbleclan.

    Join now.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Cedric

    Hi im Cedric im twelve and um yea

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    I havent read it

    So i dont know.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2