Customer Reviews for

The Cell: Inside the 9/11 Plot, and Why the FBI and CIA Failed to Stop It

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2002

    a book for all Americans

    John Miller did an outstanding job making this book readable, to use his words. He engages you with all the activities of the al Qaeda that are going on throughout the world. I clearly know I could read this book again and would pick up facts that I missed the first time around. The author has that much information in this book. John Miller also does not "bash" the different agencies when the lines of communication were not the best, but, it is absolutely clear that these agenicies and the people in them need to be a little sharper on the job and not work under the pretense that knowledge should not be shared. This book will clearly make its readers jump to attention, and know that 9/11 can happen again if we do not stay focused. John Miller writes in a friendly and concise style. A definitely worthy read. I leraned so much and frankly found it all alarming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Fast read, no filler, highly recommended.

    This is what happens when politicians promote/appoint the incompetent to positions they are completely incapable of administering. The CIA was created specifically to prevent another Pearl Harbor...oh well. Tha NSA and the DIA also share in this catastrophic failure to heed the warnings.

    The real threat to our society is the political correctness that paralyzes and confuses the careerists who are more interested in covering their a** than actually protecting our country. I also recommend "Imperial Hubris" by Michael Scheuer.

    Do not read this book if you are depressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    The Cell a learning experience

    I had to read a polital science book for a CAPP government class. I found the book extremely imformative about the events leading to 9/11 and the terrorists involved with many of those events.<BR/><BR/>I recomend the book to others who are looking for an in depth book on terrorism and events leading up to and including the attacks on 9/11. It gives and informative perspective on terrorist, reporters, agents and civilians invovled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    The Cell-a must read

    This book is not only well written, it is the most informative book in regards to the events that contributed to 9/11. Because 3 different writers contributed to it, from their personal experiences, it is refreshingly open and honest. You will not want to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2003

    Inside al Qaeda's development

    In terms of following the history of al Qaeda and the development of Osama bin Laden in particular, this was a good book. However, the book did not cover it's central thesis (the 9/11 plot and the FBI and CIA failure to prevent it) well at all. I had read a significant portion of the book before the 9/11 plot was mentioned. I was disappointed that the subtitle's suggestion that the book was about the plot itself, and the CIA/FBI's inability to stop it, was so poorly developed. I would recommend this book to someone who is interested in learning more about the development of al Qaeda than for someone who is looking for specific information on the 9/11 plot. That being said, it is well written as a history of al Qaeda culminating in the 9/11 attacks and does eventually provide some details on the people and events of 9/11.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2003

    Where are the sources of information

    No INDEX. A total absence of a Bibliography. No NOTES. What makes anything in this book credible? I suppose if one reads it as a series of newspaper articles, which are totally without searchable references, it is acceptable but as a book to be taken as factual, I am amazed that an editor would admit association with this type of literature.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    Very Detailed, Informative Analysis

    Excellent work in compiling detailed information about all the key players/events that led to 9/11. The book effectively parallels the development of Al-Queda (first time I heard or thought about the Kahane assassin connection)with the various US law enforcement agencies that tried to counter attempts, but could not gain either enough political clout or collaboration /coordination among themselves. Seems to be quite an irony that John O'Neill had only been employed at the WTC for two days. Perhaps,it is worth investigating - book number 2?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2002

    Pay now, or Really pay later

    The message I continously got from this book is the opportunities we in fact had to thwart this specific terrorist group. What is appalling is the inaction described in these pages, read this book and you will think twice about the agencies in charge of our security. I'm sure it has been changed forever...I hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2002

    We Can't Afford NOT to Read This Book

    This book offers a fascinating view into the how's and why's of the 9/11 attack on the US. Shockingly, it seems that if all systems had been running as they should have been, the US could have prevented this tragic event. The authors tell an exceedingly complicated story with clarity and articulation. Nice work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    eye-opening saga

    Up front let me apologize for being emotional in this review, as this true account is appalling in what should have been. The book describes the evolution of the 1990s through 9/11 of Bin Laden and the Al Queda that will haunt readers forever. The authors tie events together that show the magnitude of the failure of anti-terrorism efforts under three administrations including the present one. The authors claim several opportunities to stop the terrorists were available, but not acted on, as the threat had not incredulously surpassed the 'acceptable level of terrorism'. That is the frightening thought that especially Clinton and Bush II (even in his first year) could have done more and saved lives. Official inactivity and incompetence (the Attorney General cut the anti-terrorism funding) and missed opportunities led to irate agents unable to overcome politics as usual under presidents from both political parties. <P>This book is not for those still raw, as it is quite an eye-opening saga. As the country¿s powers debate homeland security and claim the high ground, they should read this book first so they cannot sleep better at night. While the President vacations; the Attorney General cries security wolf; the Congress posters to gain reelection; and Clinton rewrites his place in history, perhaps each will finally understand the real goal: no future American should suffer like those who seemed to have died for no reason except politics and incompetence. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2002

    John J. Miller Does It Again

    I've heard so much about this book that there is no way I will miss buying and reading this book. John Miller's interview with Osama Bin Laden in 1998 is reason enough for reading this book. His interview with the world's most dangerous man was one of the best interviews I've ever seen. John J. Miller is an exceptional reporter as well as I will suspect a great writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2002

    Inside account

    I've got to read this book. Inside account of history, why it happened, what lead up to it, and what we are doing to prevent it from happening again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2002

    Blame Game

    Certainly a fairly well researched review of what some knew, thought and did to avoid the catastrophe of 9/11. Completely ignored is the true reason for the so-called intelligence failures - the political restrictions put on intelligence and law enforcement agencies. The analysts and operatives who were truly experts in the field were ignored while politically correct reports were used to focus efforts in areas for political payoffs. The blame lies at our politician's feet, not the marginalized true experts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2002

    Can't Wait For the Movie

    Despite reading everything I can on Al Queda, I was not able to piece together the history of its terrorist war against the U.S. until I read John Miller's 'The Cell'. While quite detailed in its treatment of militant Islamic terror's history on on U.S. soil, the book is so well organized and written that I was able to read it in two sittings over the weekend. A 'must read'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2002

    Why isn't John Miller consulting to the U.S. Gov't

    John Miller is right on target and seems to have better insight than our own government. Why doesn't the U.S. Gov't hire him as its own consultant. We need his brain power to help guide us through these difficult times. 'The Cell' is a must for all of us to read. Tonight's 20-20 piece crystallized John's brilliance and insight into how to land on foreign soil and get the real story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2002

    A Must Read for All

    The Cell is a must read for every American that witnessed the terrible acts of 9/11. This book blows the lid off the secret world of bin Ladin's Al Qaeda network and gives nearly blow by blow accounts of the operations that the group carried out from the 1980's to present day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2002

    Incredibly intricate and detailed

    The Cell delivers a blow-by-blow account of all the events leading up to 9/11. It's written with incredible detail that one almost has to stop reading to absorb the magnitude of it all. And it contains a sense of humor about certain events (like Miller blowing out two tires trying to get to a mobile unit to broadcast a story) but also contains chilling episodes of the terrorists' plans and the morning of September 11th, all conveying a realism about the authors and the people directly involved. Well done, gentlemen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1