Customer Reviews for

The Chalice: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Book of the year for me !

    Honestly I was not too excited about reading this book and I had for gotten how much I loved The Crown and I was tired of this time period but Nancy made me fall in love all over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Chalice is the sequel to Nancy Bilyeau¿s debut novel, The Cr

    The Chalice is the sequel to Nancy Bilyeau’s debut novel, The Crown. It is a story about a young woman named Joanna Stafford, a Dominican nun during the reign of King Henry VIII and the terrible period of Reformation that followed. As King Henry orders monasteries and convents closed down, it displaces Joanna along with many other nuns, monks, friars, and priests. As Joanna struggles to sustain herself, she finds herself caught in a dangerous prophecy that becomes entwined with a plot against the king himself. As the story progresses, so does the tension as Joanna finds herself inextricably trapped in one peril after another until its very satisfying ending.
    Sister Elizabeth Barton, a prophetic nun of the times, who was put to death by King Henry VIII plays a fascinating role early on in the story. This is one of the authors talents is to weave subplots and info about true historical figures into her stories. And his makes the story real, vibrant, and filled with curiosities. 
    Having read numerous Tudor novels, the historical details portrayed in this novel are accurate and well researched. This story has much to recommend it – prophetic seers, betrayal, murder, mystery, and intrigue are all prevalent here. Coupled with Nancy Bilyeau’s excellent writing style, the story is engrossing, even for those who are tired of the Tudors. Although this is a sequel to The Crown, the author’s first novel, it does stand alone very well. But I because both books are excellent reads, I do recommend you read them both and preferably in order. Very entertaining novels which I highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Joanna Stafford, former novice, has escaped the Tower of London

    Joanna Stafford, former novice, has escaped the Tower of London while so many others have gone on to torture, beheading, and burning at the stake, all at the hands of King Henry VIII.  The year is 1538 and Joanna is trying to adjust to the life of a common woman, a difficult task given her noble background, all of which readers may have encountered in the prequel to this novel, The Crown: A Novel.   Having heard two prophecies about her role in the supposed downfall of the King, she wants no more knowledge as death has stalked everyone who is connected to her.  




    As the King is destroying more monasteries and carrying out the Reformation through Thomas Cromwell, Joanna now learns that others are conniving to have European leaders attack England in order to restore the Catholic faith Henry has so thoroughly worked at stamping out.  Meanwhile, two men love Joanna and the course of these potential romances is a lovely and frightening one indeed.  For Joanna is not trusted and spies watch her every move, while others are using everything in their power to get her to agree to hear the third and final prophecy.  This is the story of temptation in so many ways, with Joanna experiencing physical desire at the same time she knows horror of what the future could bring.




    For now Joanna is developing her talent as a seamstress, designing tapestries that awe all who see them.  Suddenly, her quiet life is shattered and after many fruitless arguments, she agrees to finish the task that seems to be divinely inspired.  She will travel to Belgium, be held prisoner when she once again refuses to cooperate with the powers that totally oppose the King, and then meet a famous seer who has just been accused of being a converso by the notorious Inquisition.  Finally, a revelation will clarify what she has struggled with for years upon years and she will embrace her task with faith.  Will she succeed?  How will England fare with so much division rife throughout the country and other nations?




    Nancy Bilyeau is a very talented writer who has spun a brilliant work of historical fiction, as well as a tense plot replete with complex, dynamic characters.  Obviously well-researched, The Chalice immediately draws the reader into the story, urging support and opposition at all the right places, crafting complexity to several riddles within the account, and inserting just enough levity and love to balance out the "humanity" of all the characters.  For motivations and outcomes do not always exist as pure and simple as one would want but follow the complexity of the times in which this story takes place.




    The Chalice: A Novel is finely crafted historical fiction.  It, as well as its prequel, deserves the status of "classic historical fiction." Congratulations, Nancy Bilyeau on an amazing, enjoyable and noteworthy series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    As you can already see Nancy Bilyeau is one of my favorite histo

    As you can already see Nancy Bilyeau is one of my favorite historical fiction authors.

    This dark and dreamy book of hers is just a scrumptious read. It carries us through the Tudor Reformation on the legs of Joanna Stafford a beautiful, aristocratic, displaced nun who is chased by prophesies. Like enticing pieces of dark chocolate, this book kept me hungry to read chapter after chapter into the night. It's one of those books that takes hold in an insidious way...before you know it, you're completely hooked.



    Nancy Bilyeau's writing is full of historical detail, but it isn't dry reading. Her work is like a tapestry that's interwoven with dark and light threads that balance the whole causing your eye to move easily throughout the story. It draws you along and keeps you intrigued. While Henry VIII is mentioned, he isn't a major figure in this book, but a shadow figure whose dictates play upon the central ones. A refreshing look on the Tudor period!



    Characters in "The Chalice" are alive and exciting! I loved each one in their roles. Joanna Stafford is a wonderful, strong young woman with a mind of her own and a little temper that walks her on the edge of real trouble, adding to the anxious elements of the story. Other characters are beautifully created, too. I enjoyed the love interests here, and their commitments to church and Joanna. Those involved in necromancy and prophecy are eye-opening!



    This is a book that stands alone in historical fiction today. It's a great read, and one you shouldn't miss. Although you can read it as a "stand alone," I would still recommend getting the first book in the series, "The Crown." Both of the books are rich in detail and storyline. Couldn't put this one down.



    A dark and rich mystery, and a story of the Reformation through the eyes of a very early feminist, "The Chalice" is one book to have this Spring!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    The Chalice is the second book in the Crown series by historical

    The Chalice is the second book in the Crown series by historical fiction author Nancy Bilyeau that takes place during the reign of King Henry VIII. While I haven't yet read the first book in the series I can say that The Chalice can be read successfully as a standalone but it was so good I'm definitely going to have to borrow The Crown to get more of the author's writing.

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading The Chalice. Historical Fiction is one of my favourite genres so it was a real treat to be invited to join the tour for this novel. Rarely have I read a novel that brings this era of England's dark history to life in such a rich and imaginative way that is both captivating and depending on the scenes, disturbing and dark as well.

    While I read about Joanna's tale I became completely immersed in the story. For me if an author is able to suck me into the story from the very beginning like Nancy Bilyeau did while I read The Chalice that's a sing that she's an author to watch and after finishing this book I can honestly that Nancy Bilyeau can write anything and I'll read it.

    I loved the characters in The Chalice. Joanna is probably one of my top 5 favourite historical fiction heroines ever. Her intelligence, cunning, caring and kind personality really counter balanced the dark undertone of the novel. I was surprised to find that rather than use the side characters more as props to the story the author used them to their full potential making them all integral to the telling of the overall tale which I loved. I love when there's a rich variety of characters that have some real substance to them even if they're the bad guys.

    I also learned a lot about being a lady in waiting and the customs of going to court as well as other things about life during the tumultuous time period The Chalice was set in. You could tell right away that the author takes her craft seriously and you can tell that she's researched the time period thoroughly and that she has a great passion for her work. The amount of detail in the novel was fantastic and was neither too much or too little and I feel as though I learned something reading The Chalice which is not something you can say about just any novel.

    The story itself though blew me away. The amount of intrigue and betrayal is potent and the plots abound in The Chalice. While there is the brief mentioning of events that have taken place in the first book I didn't feel like they spoiled the first book for me and I'm glad that I was able to take part in the book tour for The Chalice.

    Overall, Nancy Bilyeau wrote a fantastic piece of historical fiction that is both lovely and brutal. I would recommend this book (and the first one even though I haven't had the pleasure of reading it yet) to anyone who loves historical fiction. This is a fantastic novel to read and will such you in from the first page.

    *I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my free and honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed herein are 100% my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Recommended - interesting historical fiction

    I am coming to the conclusion of this book and it has interesting reading. A mystery based on England in the days of Henry the 8th.
    Definitely fiction but a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Nancy Bilyeau in her new book, ¿The Chalice¿ Book Two in the Joa

    Nancy Bilyeau in her new book, “The Chalice” Book Two in the Joanna Stafford series published by Touchstone brings us another adventure with Joanna Stafford.




    From the back cover:   In the midst of England’s Reformation, a young novice will risk everything to defy the most powerful men of her era.




    In 1538, England’s bloody power struggle between crown and cross threatens to tear the country apart. Novice Joanna Stafford has tasted the wrath of the royal court, discovered what lies within the king’s torture rooms, and escaped death at the hands of those desperate to possess the power of an ancient relic.




    Even with all she has experienced, the quiet life is not for Joanna. Despite the possibilities of arrest and imprisonment, she becomes caught up in a shadowy international plot targeting Henry VIII himself. As the power plays turn vicious, Joanna realizes her role is more critical than she’d ever imagined. She must choose between those she loves most and assuming her part in a prophecy foretold by three seers. Repelled by violence, Joanna seizes a future with a man who loves her. But no matter how hard she tries, she cannot escape the spreading darkness of her destiny.




    To learn the final, sinister piece of the prophecy, she flees across Europe with a corrupt spy sent by Spain. As she completes the puzzle in the dungeon of a twelfth-century Belgian fortress, Joanna realizes the life of Henry VIII as well as the future of Christendom are in her hands—hands that must someday hold the chalice that lies at the center of these deadly prophecies. . . .




    Joanna Stafford is back and this adventure is even more dangerous than the first.  The quest is on!  It is a time of great religious upheaval.  King Henry Viii has ordered the Dissolution of the Monasteries.  Now England is torn between the new religion and the one they grew up with.  Joanna is drawn into a shadowy international plot against the King himself.  History, danger, mystery, action, adventure and thrills abound in “The Chalice”.  Certain characters are full of deceit so we know that there is much more to the story than what has been told Joanna.  However, we only know what Joanna knows as she finds out because the story is told in her first person viewpoint.  Get ready for a page-turning, thrill ride.  Ms. Bilyeau gets us caught up in the story and the characters lives to the point that we actually hate to say goodbye to them when the book ends.  I liked this book very much and look forward to the next adventure from the pen of Nancy Bilyeau.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Touchstone.   I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1