Customer Reviews for

The Chance: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The chance!!!!

I love this story!! I honestly felt for awhile that karen's books were missing something but i never gave up.. the bridge and the chance i feel more god than in her past series... so glad that she seems to have listened to what her readers were saying and the story god ...
I love this story!! I honestly felt for awhile that karen's books were missing something but i never gave up.. the bridge and the chance i feel more god than in her past series... so glad that she seems to have listened to what her readers were saying and the story god truly wanted her to write...

This is a story about a young girl of fifteen and her best friend nolan who loved one another so much .. then one day her parents split up and ellie had to move far awy frim savannah but before doing so nolan and ellie go to the park and write letters to one another that must nit be opened for 11 years..... find out what god has planned for them in this new release by karen kingsbury

posted by simplyjewels on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A nice, chaste novel and makes you want to believe in a better f

A nice, chaste novel and makes you want to believe in a better future.

Having browsed only the summary, and being in the mood for a love story, I did not notice it was a "Christian novel".

Honestly, this is not a genre I read spontaneously. Often, the moral ...
A nice, chaste novel and makes you want to believe in a better future.

Having browsed only the summary, and being in the mood for a love story, I did not notice it was a "Christian novel".

Honestly, this is not a genre I read spontaneously. Often, the moral lessons taught disturb my reading and make it less fluid. Why? Because in France, we are less accustomed to speaking openly about religion, politics and money than across the Atlantic. Everyone's beliefs are a private matter.
In this type of novel, I am led to think and compare my views, my education and my cultural differences at the same time I read.

Attention, I took great pleasure in the messages full of hope that the author sprinkled in her adventure.
And as the end is happy, it gives a fairy tale of modern times dimension. This is very nice, very chaste and makes you want to believe in a better future.

Thus, Ellie and Nolan are separated by life. Adolescents, they can not go against the obstacles that fate puts on their way up and even though they love each other deeply, they lose sight for eleven years. 

In the background, the author tells of the difficulties of being a married couple and the daily involvement of the choices that reflected on an entire family.

Anyway, Ellie does not have all the cards in her hands to continue to believe. Moreover the decisions taken by her parents have a direct impact on her adult hapiness.
As for Nolan, a tragedy has deeply marked him but also gives him the strength to pursue his dreams.
After eleven years of separation and lives diametrically opposed, fate is knocking miraculously on their doors.

Much hope is putting in this romance. The author also discusses the importance of forgiveness and continue to believe despite the difficulties. Karen Kingsbury has a way to make the reader turn the pages eagerly and makes you want to hope ...

Lucie
newbooksonmyselves.blogspot.fr

posted by lucieparis2011 on March 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    I loved this book. It kept my interest through out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Great story

    Very heartwarming story as all her books are! It will keep you up till your finished!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    A very sweet story with believable characters. A reminder of the

    A very sweet story with believable characters. A reminder of the power of forgiveness and faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Pretty good

    I am not giving it five stars because I expect a lot from this author...i remember the first time I read one of her series (recommended by my late mom) and I was blown away. I love Kingsbury because it keeps me connected to God and my mother.
    So that's the positive...just such an uplifting author. What a wonderful reminder of God's love! I also want to add that if you are bringing the rating down on this book for being "too preachy" that is just ridiculous. It's Christian fiction! Hello!
    Anyway, i took off a star for a few reasons. Some of the plot points made me want to roll my eyes. POSSIBLE SPOILER AHEAD...
    I wanted a better explanatiom for why her letters didn't reach him...because of a postcard stamp? Really? Usually the post office will just deliver those letters with postage due...also why did the mom not insist on seeing her daughter? C'mon...that's your baby...and finally, I am tired of Kingsbury using the convenient girl makes reckless error, basically gets raped, gets pregnant and then the guy dies. Why are her heroines such morons? I MEAN, use a condom...there are worse condequences than a baby for these reckless and dangerous choices. Remember Ashley in her other series? I almost feel like she saves these heroines too much. Maybe a better and more realistic outcome would be having to deal with the guy you decided to sleep with and didn't even insist on protection. I don't know, but she used the same plot device in the first series i read by her and it felt like a quick solution to get rid of the user guy and leave the heroine with a baby.
    Also, all these user guys in her books get away with so much...the guy that Caroline was having an affair with should have had some responsibility for John...i think kingsbury could go ahead and allow her female protagonists to stand up for themselves a little more. There is nothing wrong with a woman standing up for herself and her child.
    Overall i enjoyed this book and it was a wonderful reminder of god's love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    In The Chance Karen Kingsbury brings us back to the writing styl

    In The Chance Karen Kingsbury brings us back to the writing style that we’ve all come to know and love. Yes, it is a storyline that has been done before and some of the characters are larger than life and way above reproach. Do they have flaws? Maybe, but they are few and far between.


    The truth is that none of that matters. In The Chance we are taken on a journey through some seemingly impossible situations and in the end God provides a way. We are reminded that our good intentions often have not so good motives. Our righteous indignation is just that . . . ours. We use God to get others to act according to our thinking instead of seeking His wisdom in our own actions.


    I enjoyed the premise of young love and the hope that it could become more than that someday. I thought that Nolan was a wonderful depiction of Christ’s love for us in the way he accepted and loved Ellie. Ellie’s parents’ story is proof that forgiveness is powerful for all involved.


    A fun aspect of the book was getting to catch up with Molly and Ryan from The Bridge. I am enjoying this new non series that Karen has put together. I like the aspect of returning characters that pop up in future books. It is refreshing after a long drawn out series of series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

       Like many of her books that I have read, The Chance starts ou

       Like many of her books that I have read, The Chance starts out pulling at my heartstrings. It starts when Ellie is a young teenager and her parents' marriage is falling apart. It is so emotional seeing her blame herself and the conclusion that her mom must not love her because she chose another man over her and her dad. Ms. Kingsbury knows how to write emotions so that you feel them right along with her characters.
        I didn't expect to hear from the parents of Ellie at the beginning but it was neat to get their perspectives and see where things went wrong with them.
        The set-up between Ellie and Nolan is sweet, and I am right there wishing for them to be able to reunite. It was emotional seeing her tearful goodbye, and I wonder at how they never got in touch but still cared for each other so much.
        It is so hard watching everything fall apart, and everyone getting into these incredibly low points in their lives, but it is so awesome how Karen Kingsbury weaves everything together, bringing hope back into their lives just a little bit at a time, how religion ties in, showing God's work and providence in each character's life.
        The ending was beautiful and moving, and I love how Ellie really renewed her faith in God after watching how God carefully lined up each event, touched it with his power, and moved everything to fix what was broken. 




    Bottom Line: Sweet and emotional novel about the power of prayer and how God can orchestrate miracles, but on his time not ours.




    The Culling by Steven dos Santos mar 8th
          The Culling is a very dark and gritty story. It has gore, it has emotions out the wazoo, it has characters put in impossible situations, forced to make choices that kids should never, ever have to make, and I could not take my eyes from the page. 
         While I liked the book and respected what Lucky was trying to do for his little brother, I was pretty confused at the beginning. When you have a world and a government that is different from ours now, there needs to be some explanation of what exactly is going on, and I didn't quite get that. New terms and phrases were flying around and it took me out of the story because I couldn't remember if any explanation who or what that person's function was and what it really meant. I picked it up as I went along though, and because there is action and some depth of the characters going on, I didn't give up on it.
         It was hard getting to know the characters though because I knew that all of them wouldn't survive. They were learning to work as a team, but then they would remember that alliances really are not going to help them because their family members are on the line.
         I have read a lot of dystopias, and I see a lot of the same threads as the Hunger Games. This is not saying that Steven hasn't put his own twists on it, because he had, I just couldn't help lining up the kids making alliances, the different districts that contributed different things. Again, not a criticism, just a statement.
         Being in Lucky's head was a good change. I feel like I don't read too much with a male POV, unless it is dual perspective, so that is always a positive. Though, I did keep almost forgetting that he was a guy because of the attraction and tension between him and Digory. Nothing against the LGBT, but I am straight, and it is a hot guy, and from the first person, it puts me in Lucky's shoes, so therefore...
         Oh, and the ending. It broke my heart. Nothing was actually definite but I don't know how they could pull off not breaking my heart. 




    Bottom Line: Dark and emotional story with a courageous main character who makes choices he should never have to. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ah, the second chance. Why is it that novels that stress that th

    Ah, the second chance. Why is it that novels that stress that theme just seem to resonate for so many of us? Maybe it’s because we all know that we need them, right- a second chance, or in my case, third and fourth chances as well. You know what I mean- a second chance on a relationship that you thought was long over, or a chance to have a do-over on a job you messed up pretty well the first time. We are human, we are fallible and we all need a second chance. So if you take the concept of the second chance, throw in a large measure of forgiveness, grace and faith in God, you have the story line for The Chance - Karen Kingsbury’s latest offering from Howard Books.

    As the novel opens we meet the 2 main characters Nolan Cook and Ellie Tucker living in Savannah, Georgia-. Two 15 year old best friends, on the verge of being something more, are torn apart by the broken relationship of Ellies’ parents Alan and Caroline. Because of this broken relationship, Alan takes Ellie away to San Diego to a new job and what he is hoping for is a new life away from his wife. That doesn’t go so well as when we try to run away, our troubles usually follow us. On the night before Ellie is whisked away from Nolan and her mother, Nolan and Ellie meet in the park, their usual place to go and talk and decide to write each other a letter telling each other how they really feel about one another and bury it in an old tackle box. The plan was to return in 11 years, dig up the box and read what the other person wrote. Neither one thought that they would be separated from each other for that time period. Even with Ellie’s move, they could write each other, call each other, etc. Unfortunately through some unforeseen circumstances, they were separated for that long, but still in the back of their minds was returning to that tree as promised all those years ago.

    Their lives each took very different directions- Nolan’s in the world of professional basketball living out the dream he had had for himself for many, many years. And Ellie, her journey was the complete opposite- she didn’t reach the dreams that she had for herself, which included writing the perfect novel and being a part of Nolan’s life. His faith had grown, hers had shrunk. How could this work out?

    This story, as most of Karen Kingsbury’s stories do, resonated with me. I love the second chance- the beauty from ashes story lines. They just always make me want to stand up and cheer. This one did as well. The heart string pull was pretty strong for me and I appreciated the journey this novel takes you on. When God is allowed in the middle of relationships, there is forgiveness, grace and restoration. And this is portrayed beautifully in several of the story lines. So if you feel like reading a novel that makes you stand up and cheer both at the basketball portions as well as the relationship journeys, I recommend you pick up Karen Kingsbury’s novel The Chance.

    4 stars

    I was provided a complimentary copy of this novel from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Chance by Karen Kingsbury Ellie Tucker learns that her fathe

    The Chance by Karen Kingsbury
    Ellie Tucker learns that her father wants her mother to leave because she's pregnant with the other man's child. She leaves the house in search of her best friend, Nolan Cook who's playing ball at the high school.
    Her father tried to stop her by telling her to go to her room and pray to God and that some things just weren't meant for a teen to hear-that she couldn't comprehend it all.. We also learn of the mother's side...
    Love the idea of when they said goodbye to one another, their memories will remain, their one last chance...
    After she moved she was not able to contact Nolan and they both prayed that it would all work out. He continued concentrating on his basketball games.
    Nolan's dad convinced him that with faith you could do anything, even play in the NBA.
    He tried many times to find her and had never gotten a letter or another phone call from her since she moved. After he signed with a college basketball team he spent money hiring a PI to find her, who also came up with nothing.
    He started dating and he had faith he would find her again. They had that one last chance also if all else failed.
    Her life did not go as planned but she made the most of it...
    She still planned to be at the park in her old hometown on June 1 so she could dig up the memories they had each left...
    She figured Nolan would be too busy to do that.
    Love the reference to The Bridge Bookstore in Franklin-awesome book to read about that.
    Caroline Tucker's story is also followed as others hope to follow what happened once she left her daughter Ellie and husband Allan to have Peyton Anders baby, by herself. As a country singer Peyton has to do some promo and give back and he selected to help a kids wish to go to a Hawks game, and he can make that happen. Caroline had also written to her daughter every week sending them to her ex mother in law. She never heard back from anybody and she prayed Ellie would get them.
    Alan Tucker's story is also followed as he is the guard at a brig on the west coast. He thinks of his daughter also as she's not living there with him any longer and the roads she took...He also thinks he should've stuck with his wife and prayed more to God.
    Many scriptures are quoted to help explain the story to the one asking for God's help.
    Added bonus of an excerpt from 'Fifteen Minutes'
    1451647034

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1