Customer Reviews for

The Chance (Thunder Point Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Welcome to Thunder Point. When you open the pages of The Chance,

Welcome to Thunder Point. When you open the pages of The Chance, you feel like you are pulled into Home Town USA. The people are friendly and are willing to lend a helping hand. 

The Chance is FBI agent Laine Carrington's and ex-con Eric Gentry's story. Laine is lookin...
Welcome to Thunder Point. When you open the pages of The Chance, you feel like you are pulled into Home Town USA. The people are friendly and are willing to lend a helping hand. 

The Chance is FBI agent Laine Carrington's and ex-con Eric Gentry's story. Laine is looking for a place to rehabilitate after a near fatal shooting. Eric came to Thunder Point to get to know his teenage daughter. But when the two meet, an unlikely attraction thrives. Unexpected circumstances and family tragedy threaten to drive them apart but through it all it is an utter sweet and tender romance.

Carr also toys with us by giving us details into a secondary/side story. I have to admit I was more drawn to the secondary story and am looking forward to seeing this plot come to fruition. 

The Chance is an endearing romance taking us to a place where we'd call our neighbors friends and the local diner is the town meeting place. Open the pages and take a trip to Thunder Point, you won't regret the trip.

I received this ARC copy of The Chance from Harlequin MIRA in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication February 25, 2014.

posted by Sailon on February 26, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too depresssing

After having read and loved the Virgin River series, I find this series dull and this book depressing. This book ended abruptly, almost mid-sentence.

Another complaint is that she seems to be trying to bring awareness to too many social/health issues in one short book...
After having read and loved the Virgin River series, I find this series dull and this book depressing. This book ended abruptly, almost mid-sentence.

Another complaint is that she seems to be trying to bring awareness to too many social/health issues in one short book.
It's overwhelming! So far throughout the series, and mostly in this book, she has covered Alzhimer's, MS, homeless vets, VA, suicidal teen, pancreatic cancer, dyslexia, ptsd, CIDS, foster care, GED, cults, teen pregnancy, marijuana growers/dealers, high school dropouts, bi-ratial relationship, family conflict and home health care issues. Oops, she forgot to mention Parkinson's Disease, lung cancer, childhood obesity and heart disease. Sadly, the list could go on and on.

I've dealt with many of these social issues during my 28 year career in social services. As the primary caregiver for an aging parent with Parkinson's Disease, I deal with the incompetence of a home health care agency on a weekly basis. I've also lost family and friends to many of the above listed illnesses.

I read for relaxation and entertainment!!! I want to briefly, through the pages of a good book, escape from the harsh realities of life. Sorry, but this style of writing is not for me.

posted by 1886259 on August 8, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Welcome to Thunder Point. When you open the pages of The Chance,

    Welcome to Thunder Point. When you open the pages of The Chance, you feel like you are pulled into Home Town USA. The people are friendly and are willing to lend a helping hand. 

    The Chance is FBI agent Laine Carrington's and ex-con Eric Gentry's story. Laine is looking for a place to rehabilitate after a near fatal shooting. Eric came to Thunder Point to get to know his teenage daughter. But when the two meet, an unlikely attraction thrives. Unexpected circumstances and family tragedy threaten to drive them apart but through it all it is an utter sweet and tender romance.

    Carr also toys with us by giving us details into a secondary/side story. I have to admit I was more drawn to the secondary story and am looking forward to seeing this plot come to fruition. 

    The Chance is an endearing romance taking us to a place where we'd call our neighbors friends and the local diner is the town meeting place. Open the pages and take a trip to Thunder Point, you won't regret the trip.

    I received this ARC copy of The Chance from Harlequin MIRA in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication February 25, 2014.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2014

    Book 4 of the Thunder Point series. Jumped into the middle of th

    Book 4 of the Thunder Point series.
    Jumped into the middle of this series. But it wasn't a problem. References to other people or events was explained well enough. And the main story was very well covered. Even some times, a little too much detail. Often the reader was well aware of what was being thought or seen without even more details or dialogue. Generally, I like more dialogue in my reading. But if it is only repeating or saying the obvious, not so much.
    Laine and Eric were a terrific couple. There were a couple of unlikely turns in their relationship. And its not often that the female is the alpha member of the couple.
    But they make a good couple it seems.
    I was kind of surprised at the side story of Al & Rae. Now they could have made a fantastic story. So much mystery. Deep held in feelings from both of them.
    I have requested another from the series at the library. This one was surely good enough to explore further in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Anonymous

    As usual, a gtreat read by Robyn Carr!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2014

    Chances are you'll love "The Chance"!!!

    Typical Robyn Carr - always on her game! "The Chance" is yet another fine continuation of the storyline around the lives and characters in Thunder Point. Cannot wait for #5 in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    This series keeps getting better!

    This series did not start off as powerfully as Virgin River, but it keeps getting better and better. The characters are well developed and their stories are very involved and interconnected. I look forward to the next...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Second chanes

    Heartwarming second chanes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    This entire series is wonderful.  Each book looks at developing

    This entire series is wonderful.  Each book looks at developing people in different situations and circumstances.  Some of the romances
    catch me by surprise, like both of these did.  So wonderful to see that underneath we all just need someone to care.  The angle on Laine's 
    father was well done.  Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Good Book


    A very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    I was reluctant to continue reading this series. After the firs

    I was reluctant to continue reading this series. After the first book, the second two were kind of slow moving for me...didn't really keep my interest. This one, however, I really enjoyed. Nice love story, characters were straight with each other and no real drama to speak of. I also like how Robyn tells a little bit of a story for the other characters as well. This book was not just about Laine and Eric.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    The Chance is about two people with normal, complicated lives wh

    The Chance is about two people with normal, complicated lives who fall in love and have to figure out how to make it work regardless of their other obligations. I think that is my favorite part of Robyn Carr’s characters – they are just like you and me, with normal problems and normal feelings and normal issues. They have to figure out how (or even if) they can make one life together with all the associated complications from two individual ones. It’s sweet and honest and straight-forward and I loved every minute of it.

    Laine has some family complications she has to figure out, as well as trying to decide what she wants to do with her job going forward. Considering she’s on a year-long hiatus from her East Coast job, it isn’t surprising that Eric is a little hesitant about what that means for a future together. He’s got a job, friends and family in Thunder Point and he wants to be there at least a little longer. It doesn’t lead to a lot of large scale drama, instead it’s a very real one that could happen to anyone you know. If you like home-grown, real-life, small-town romances, you can’t miss with Robin Carr.
    Full review available at Romantic Reads and Such on wordpress.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    hannahferrell47@yahoo.com

    Add me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    4 STARS I like Thunder Point series. This book had a lot of new

    4 STARS

    I like Thunder Point series. This book had a lot of new characters in it and some old ones. I like her characters and the lives that intertwine with each other. The main characters in this story is Laine the FBI Agent that got shot rescuing Mercy.

    Laine is still recovering from her shoulder surgery and decides to take off a year to heal. She decides to come to Thunder Point.
    I enjoyed learning about Laine and her family. She is smart, tough and caring.

    Eric has just moved to Thunder Point and started a business. He wants to be closer to his daughter before she leaves Thunder Point,
    Eric is a good boss. He made mistakes in his youth and learned from them. He cares about his workers.

    The story makes you care about the characters and want to know more about them. I hated to put it down.

    Their is love scenes that I skipped over. Lots of drama, emotions were touched as I was reading it.

    I will continue to read Robyn Carr's Thunder Point. It makes me want to visit and live their. The setting is a make believe town in Coos Bay area.

    I was given this ebook to read for purpose of giving honest review from Netgalley and Harlequin

    Publisher: Harlequin MIRA (February 25, 2014) 368 pages ASIN: B00FBZKZLS

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1