Customer Reviews for

The Chaperone

Average Rating 4
( 167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great read, fantastic writing! Highly recommend this book.

Great read, fantastic writing! Highly recommend this book.

posted by AnxietyDocRF on June 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Tries hard, really hard, but not interesting to read. Some resea

Tries hard, really hard, but not interesting to read. Some research evident on the page, but nothing startling or insightful. Seems like the author wanted to write about a Midwestern woman travelling to New York in the 1920s, and needed a hook, so Louise Brooks was used...
Tries hard, really hard, but not interesting to read. Some research evident on the page, but nothing startling or insightful. Seems like the author wanted to write about a Midwestern woman travelling to New York in the 1920s, and needed a hook, so Louise Brooks was used to sell the noncelebrity story. But beside Brooks' own book "Lulu in Hollywood," this book pales completely. Disappointing. Try "Lulu in Hollywood" or Valeria Bellitti's first person account from "Adventures of a Hollywood Secretary" for much better depictions of the 1920s.

posted by TiredofGarbage on September 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    Great read, fantastic writing! Highly recommend this book.

    Great read, fantastic writing! Highly recommend this book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    Really enjoyed this book, could not put down until it was finish

    Really enjoyed this book, could not put down until it was finished. Highly recommend this book.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Fast Read

    I really enjoyed this fast read. I read each night until I couldn't keep my eyes open. Every time I had a few minutes, I snuck in a few more pages. I enjoyed getting a glimpse of 1920's NYC. I recommend this book!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Tries hard, really hard, but not interesting to read. Some resea

    Tries hard, really hard, but not interesting to read. Some research evident on the page, but nothing startling or insightful. Seems like the author wanted to write about a Midwestern woman travelling to New York in the 1920s, and needed a hook, so Louise Brooks was used to sell the noncelebrity story. But beside Brooks' own book "Lulu in Hollywood," this book pales completely. Disappointing. Try "Lulu in Hollywood" or Valeria Bellitti's first person account from "Adventures of a Hollywood Secretary" for much better depictions of the 1920s.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Loved it!

    For anyone who loves history and the 20's, what a wonderful insight

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Fabulous

    Couldn't put it down

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Great book, couldn't put it down. Highly recommend reading

    Great book, couldn't put it down. Highly recommend reading this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Lovely, proper but completely unexpected!

    One of the most respected members of our church in rural KS was on the orphan train. Cora's story was not the simple one that I was expecting. I loved how the author dealt with devastating social/moral issues that are finally becoming more comfortable a century later. I am looking forward to reading more of the author's books. And maybe Louise's, as well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Wonderful!

    A truly wonderful read! The description of the times were so vivid i felt as if i were there! Great writing!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Fantastic story Fantastic story

    This story is well written with wonderful characters who have their own interesting and compelling plot lines. A must read book. DEserving of more press.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Entertaining commentary from an interesting life

    Entertaining commentary from an interesting life

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Interesting

    Started slow but got better, ended up pretty darn good. Nice piece of historical fiction--good view of the lives of women in the early 1900s.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    Interesting use of fictional and non-fictional characters

    The use of factual information from the start of the twentieth century tied into a fictional setting was well done.
    The journey of Cora from an orphan to her death revealed the difficulties faced by women of the time. Having her cross paths with the real life Louise Brooks added to making it a fascinating read.

    Definitely a great book for all you historical fiction lovers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Worth reading

    Excellent

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Great read

    Truly pleasant read. This book was quite different than expected. Surprising plot turns and quite intriguing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Highly recommend as a good summer read!

    This is a delightful piece of historical fiction and an excellent portrayal of evolving issues regarding social mores and moral values framed around the evolution of an upper middle class woman during the first half of the twentieth century. I love the dichotomy between life inside and outside the home--pretense vs. reality--and the costs, as well as benefits, to the individuals involved. Ms. Moriarty makes good use of irony. She also develops an amazingly interesting character in Cora Carlisle, a woman who evolves from a victim to a strong, independent woman.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Couldn't put this book down. I loved it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Great historical fiction1

    I love books that mix history (accurately) with imagination. Before I read this I never new the woman was a real actress/person in life! Great story, kept me reading. My only complaint is that the book wasn't long enough!
    LOVED this Book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Incredible book

    I loved this book and so did everyone else who read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    jw

    Laura Moriarty's character development made the book an easy book to read. The different people in the book were very interesting. A good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9