Customer Reviews for

The Chaperone

Average Rating 4
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great read, fantastic writing! Highly recommend this book.

Great read, fantastic writing! Highly recommend this book.

posted by AnxietyDocRF on June 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Tries hard, really hard, but not interesting to read. Some resea

Tries hard, really hard, but not interesting to read. Some research evident on the page, but nothing startling or insightful. Seems like the author wanted to write about a Midwestern woman travelling to New York in the 1920s, and needed a hook, so Louise Brooks was used...
Tries hard, really hard, but not interesting to read. Some research evident on the page, but nothing startling or insightful. Seems like the author wanted to write about a Midwestern woman travelling to New York in the 1920s, and needed a hook, so Louise Brooks was used to sell the noncelebrity story. But beside Brooks' own book "Lulu in Hollywood," this book pales completely. Disappointing. Try "Lulu in Hollywood" or Valeria Bellitti's first person account from "Adventures of a Hollywood Secretary" for much better depictions of the 1920s.

posted by TiredofGarbage on September 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    WOW!!!

    Easily one of the BEST books I have ever read. I absolutely loved every single page. Laura truly took me outside of 2012 and put me directly into the 1920's. The characters were sooo breathtaking with their human flaws and need for love or attention. I miss the characters already. I can't wait to pick up the Memoir by Louise Brooks herself. Bravo Laura Moriarty on such an amazing book about an amazing time in history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    I had never heard of Louise Brooks prior to this book, and she m

    I had never heard of Louise Brooks prior to this book, and she makes a great jumping off point for this book, but the main character of Cora is wonderful. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, the characters were great, but I really loved the insight into life in the United States during the beginning of the 20th century. Like many of the other reviewers, I didn't want to put this book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Truly one of my favorite books in a long, long time. Read this book so quickly, could not put it down. Loved the main character....my heart ached for her at times, and delighted for her other times. Cannot go wrong with the book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Good book

    I enjoyed reading, loved the story. Its have a interesting plot that took me by suprise. It was nice not to have sex, sex, sex, being the plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Yes, read it, you'll like it

    Very entertaining reading with many unexpected twists. Usage of great vocabulary. You'll like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Highly Recommend - A Treatise on Mothers and Daughters

    Laura Moriarty has written a number of books that examine the Mother/Daughter-type relationships between women. Ms. Moriarty does a great job of delineating all aspects of women at different phases of life, particularly in "The Chaperone" - opportunities gained, others lost, new chances to start over, love and epiphanies. Very nicely done!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Check out the full review on Kritters Ramblings A glimpse into

    Check out the full review on Kritters Ramblings

    A glimpse into the past and a look at New York City before the depression through two completely different eyes. There is Cora who has been asked to be a chaperone, but this trip to New York City is more than the task at hand, it will take her back in time to a past that she has been trying to figure out. Louise is a young ingenue who wants to become a celebrity in theatre and film, her big break takes her from Wichita, Kansas to New York City.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2014

    I just finished reading The Chaperone. It is written by Laura Mo

    I just finished reading The Chaperone. It is written by Laura Moriarty. It is a book set in the twenties about Louise Brooks going to New York for dance lessons with a chaperone. It is set in the chaperone’s point of view and talks about how the trip and her time with Louise Brooks changes her. 
    I fully enjoyed this book. I wasn’t too fond of either of the characters at first, but once I got more into the story, I was very fond of the main character. I can’t say my opinion of the other character really changed much though. 
    I didn’t really like how some of the events were prolonged while others were rushed over. I felt like the writer got bored with some parts of the story or ran out of time and had to rush to get it out. I feel that it was a very beautiful story. It was just way too rushed in some parts.
    I fully recommend this book. I especially recommend it to all the people who are interested in the twenties era and in flappers. This book is right up their alley. It is a beautiful and inspirational piece. You will not regret reading it! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Loved it!

    I only read this because it was shared with me and I had nothing else to read. What a pleasant surprise. Very interesting, enlightening and most enjoyable. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2014

    A surprising pleasure

    I read this book for a Book Group, and would probably not have read it otherwise; however, it turned out to be a thoroughly enjoyable read. Moriarty blends fact with fiction effortlessly, and it is the fiction especially that captures the reader. She begins with Louise Brooks, the silent film star at fifteen, and her Chaperone who accompanies her to New York so Louise can study dance with Ruth St. Denis and Ted Shawn(who also taught Martha Graham)The chaperone's story from orphan in New York to being put on an orphan train heading West as a young child, and what happens to her after she is taken in by a farm family, is compelling. Moriarty's writing style seems effortless and is a joy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Loved it

    Got lost in NY in the 20's. Love that era. Such a great read with a range of emotions and a few surprises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    Truly a wonderful book. I agree with other reviewers who said th

    Truly a wonderful book. I agree with other reviewers who said that it starts off slow, but I am SO glad I finished The Chaperone. A great story and exceptional character development. Would definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2013

    Great book.  A little Kansas history, a little history on Louise

    Great book.  A little Kansas history, a little history on Louise Brooks and a lot to think about with regards judging others, you never know their real story.  Really enjoyed the characters and Ms. Moriarty's writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    The Chaperone

    It was a good historical fiction book. I felt Cora needed to be more honest with Louise while in New York. Some of the details of Cora's life were surprising. I wouldn't have guess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Enjoyable Read

    I really found The Chaperone enjoyable. I had never before heard of the orphan trains coming from NY to the midwest so that was very interesting. I thought the dynamic between Cora and Louise kept the story lively.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    I started out not liking the heroine very much, and grew to like

    I started out not liking the heroine very much, and grew to like and admire her more and more. I enjoyed the unique approach to the character suggested by the title. Cora is "the chaperone" but it is in fulfilling that role that she begins to understand who and what she is, where she came from, and what she really wants out of life. The situations that Cora and the other characters of the book live through gave me fresh insights into life in New York and the midwest at the turn of the century and beyond. I finished the book feeling inspired by Cora's courage and compassion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    great summertime read!

    this was a fun book to read -- well-drawn characters, interesting and surprising plot lines, very satisfying start to finish! it left me wanting more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    A historical fiction spanning decades. ¿The Chaperone¿ is Laura

    A historical fiction spanning decades.

    “The Chaperone” is Laura Moriarty’s new historical fiction about one middle-aged women’s trip to New York City to chaperone a fifteen-year-old Louise Brooks.  Cora, stuck in the conventions and restrictions of the era she was raised in, decides to leave Kansas to chaperone a young girl whose mother she is merely an acquaintance of.  Louise has the opportunity to attend a famous dance school in New York.  She is unafraid of change and completely rebellious against authority.  

    The character development was good.  I liked Cora; she was so restricted, even in her thoughts.  It is amazing to compare what was considered appropriate behavior then and now.  She has nothing but good intentions, trying her hardest to teach and guide Louise.  I enjoyed seeing her evolve and loosen up over the course of the novel.  

    I enjoy historical fictions and learning about different time periods.  “The Chaperone” touches on just about every major issue from that time period including prohibition, adoption, gay rights, reproductive rights, flappers, the Great Depression, and suffrage.  There were many sections of this novel that taught me something new.  The explanations never seemed forced or contrived.

    I have mixed feelings about this novel.  I enjoyed the first two-thirds, however, the novel started to drag for me after Cora left New York City.  While it was nice to see that Cora had found happiness in the end, I don’t think the section after leaving New York added much to the novel over-all.  I liked the novel, but I also did not have a hard time putting it down.

    “The Chaperone” was poignant, thought provoking, educational, and well written.  It was a spread a little thin, but overall a respectable and engaging read.


    I received this book through Goodreads First Reads.  This in no way influenced my review.  I did not receive compensation for, nor was required to, write a review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Absolutely love this book! I can't put it down, I feel like I'm

    Absolutely love this book! I can't put it down, I feel like I'm there with Cora and Louise. This books does an excellent job of making me, as a woman, feel what it was like for women in the early 1920s. I had never heard of Louise, but when I saw her photo, I remembering seeing that haircut and her photos in the past. Just never realized that it's Louise on the cover. ha! Want to lose yourself in a book? Pick this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Very Good

    This is a nice, easy, summer read. I probably would rate it a 3 1/2 overall. It is an interesting story and I had not realized Louise Brooks was a real person until the end. It is a glimpse into the past, the values of the time and the difficulties of being different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9