Customer Reviews for

The Chaperone

Average Rating 4
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great read, fantastic writing! Highly recommend this book.

Great read, fantastic writing! Highly recommend this book.

posted by AnxietyDocRF on June 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Tries hard, really hard, but not interesting to read. Some resea

Tries hard, really hard, but not interesting to read. Some research evident on the page, but nothing startling or insightful. Seems like the author wanted to write about a Midwestern woman travelling to New York in the 1920s, and needed a hook, so Louise Brooks was used...
Tries hard, really hard, but not interesting to read. Some research evident on the page, but nothing startling or insightful. Seems like the author wanted to write about a Midwestern woman travelling to New York in the 1920s, and needed a hook, so Louise Brooks was used to sell the noncelebrity story. But beside Brooks' own book "Lulu in Hollywood," this book pales completely. Disappointing. Try "Lulu in Hollywood" or Valeria Bellitti's first person account from "Adventures of a Hollywood Secretary" for much better depictions of the 1920s.

posted by TiredofGarbage on September 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Loved it

    Got lost in NY in the 20's. Love that era. Such a great read with a range of emotions and a few surprises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Enjoyable Read

    I really found The Chaperone enjoyable. I had never before heard of the orphan trains coming from NY to the midwest so that was very interesting. I thought the dynamic between Cora and Louise kept the story lively.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    I started out not liking the heroine very much, and grew to like

    I started out not liking the heroine very much, and grew to like and admire her more and more. I enjoyed the unique approach to the character suggested by the title. Cora is "the chaperone" but it is in fulfilling that role that she begins to understand who and what she is, where she came from, and what she really wants out of life. The situations that Cora and the other characters of the book live through gave me fresh insights into life in New York and the midwest at the turn of the century and beyond. I finished the book feeling inspired by Cora's courage and compassion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    great summertime read!

    this was a fun book to read -- well-drawn characters, interesting and surprising plot lines, very satisfying start to finish! it left me wanting more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Wonderful book

    Thus was a great read. The story takes place in the 20s. It is a historical fiction read about the chaperone of a real famous silet movie star Louise Brooks. I had never heard of her and this made me interested in her and her life. The chaperone Cora is a wonderful character whose life this is centered around. Slow for the first couple of chapters but really picks up. Strongly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Love

    So wonderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Must read!

    I really enjoyed this book. It takes you through the characters entire life and its one that holds your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    So cool

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    The chaperone

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and looked forward to reading it each evening

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    RECOMMENDED

    CANNOT RATE IT YET, DELAY IN RECEIVING THE BOOK, MY BOOK CLUB LIKED IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Wonderful read! Highly recommeded!

    Wonderful read! Highly recommeded!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Great

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Definitely 5 stars!

    Outstanding! A marvelous read. Well-written, touched my heart in many places. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Great Book!

    I loved this book. It was a quick, easy read. Well written and hard to put down. I didn't want it to end!
    If you are a fan of historical fiction this will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    wonderful story, you will not be sorry you purchased this book!!

    wonderful story, you will not be sorry you purchased this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    G A great read

    I loved this book. Great chacters and story. I could not put this one down. read it in a weekend









    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Excellent book! Loved the characters, the plot twists & the

    Excellent book! Loved the characters, the plot twists & the period in which this book was set.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Wonderful!

    At first the story was a bit slow, but it got more interesting when her adoption story was revealed. My great-grandmother was on an orphan train around Cora's time, so this part was the hook for me.
    It was such a lovely story, showing that you don't have to be young for a new life to start. I was very happy with this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Fabulous Read!

    Wow, wow, wow. I could NOT put this book down. Excellent writing by Laura Moriarty that transports you into 1920's New York City and Wichita, Kansas. I was capivated by the character development of Cora Carlisle and Louise Brooks. Amazing book and I am currently recommending it to all of my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5