Customer Reviews for

The Chase (Fox and O'Hare Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

*** I was provided an ARC by Netgally for an honest review*** G

*** I was provided an ARC by Netgally for an honest review***

Great follow up to The Heist.  I love the characters.  They have a lot of depth and it's awesome to watch them grow. I think one of my
favorite side characters is Jake, Kate's Dad.  He's just awesome.  He's...
*** I was provided an ARC by Netgally for an honest review***

Great follow up to The Heist.  I love the characters.  They have a lot of depth and it's awesome to watch them grow. I think one of my
favorite side characters is Jake, Kate's Dad.  He's just awesome.  He's so over the top that it's fun to watch what he's going to say and
do but underneath it all you can see his devotion and love for his daughter and the rest of his family.  I really like that we are getting
deeper into who these characters are and what makes them tick.  There is just the right amount of humor to keep this from becoming
 just another spy book and just enough intrigue to keep it from being a comedy.  It's really perfect and I can't wait for the next one!

posted by KimP65 on March 2, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing in every way I received an advance reader edition

Disappointing in every way

I received an advance reader edition of this book from Random House Publishing Group and Net Galley for the purpose of providing an honest review.

1.5 Stars

I must say that I am rather disappointed in this book. I have been a long time fan...
Disappointing in every way

I received an advance reader edition of this book from Random House Publishing Group and Net Galley for the purpose of providing an honest review.

1.5 Stars

I must say that I am rather disappointed in this book. I have been a long time fan of Evanovich and have insisted that many of my friends and family read her books. These books have had a history of being easy to read with some laughs, colorful characters, and silly fun. Her books have suffered a steady decline and it make me very sad.

This book is second in the Fox and O'Hare series. I found the first in the series somewhat enjoyable and had hoped that this one would be even better. Unfortunately, it is not. The characters felt flat throughout the book and I never cared about anyone in the book....at all. I had hoped that I would find something funny in the book...nope....nothing funny here....at all. I had hoped that there would be some chemistry between Nick and Kate....nothing going on here.

The plot of the book can be summed up quite easily. Kate is an FBI agent who has been paired up with a thief, Nick Fox to steal things. They steal things in this book several times. They almost get caught several times. That is basically it.

This book makes me sad. I miss the days when I would be sure to go to the book store on the release day for any of Evanovich's books. I would make no plans that day and I would spend a couple of hours laughing at something crazy. Things started slowly declining and somewhere along the line I started checked these books out at the library and getting to them when I had a chance. I actually have the most recent Stephanie Plum book sitting on my kindle unread months after its release.

I do wonder who wrote this book. Was it Goldberg trying to imitate Evanovich? Was it a collaboration of efforts? I also wonder what input the editor had on the book. I really wonder how many naps this book will induce. I fell asleep at least three times while reading this book. I am the kind of person who stays up late reading one more page but with this book I repeatedly found myself falling asleep.

I really cannot recommend this book. I do hope that Evanovich finds her spark again someday but it is becoming doubtful. This is really one of those books that I am just glad I finished so that I can move on to something else.

posted by Caroles_Random_Life on February 25, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing in every way I received an advance reader edition

    Disappointing in every way

    I received an advance reader edition of this book from Random House Publishing Group and Net Galley for the purpose of providing an honest review.

    1.5 Stars

    I must say that I am rather disappointed in this book. I have been a long time fan of Evanovich and have insisted that many of my friends and family read her books. These books have had a history of being easy to read with some laughs, colorful characters, and silly fun. Her books have suffered a steady decline and it make me very sad.

    This book is second in the Fox and O'Hare series. I found the first in the series somewhat enjoyable and had hoped that this one would be even better. Unfortunately, it is not. The characters felt flat throughout the book and I never cared about anyone in the book....at all. I had hoped that I would find something funny in the book...nope....nothing funny here....at all. I had hoped that there would be some chemistry between Nick and Kate....nothing going on here.

    The plot of the book can be summed up quite easily. Kate is an FBI agent who has been paired up with a thief, Nick Fox to steal things. They steal things in this book several times. They almost get caught several times. That is basically it.

    This book makes me sad. I miss the days when I would be sure to go to the book store on the release day for any of Evanovich's books. I would make no plans that day and I would spend a couple of hours laughing at something crazy. Things started slowly declining and somewhere along the line I started checked these books out at the library and getting to them when I had a chance. I actually have the most recent Stephanie Plum book sitting on my kindle unread months after its release.

    I do wonder who wrote this book. Was it Goldberg trying to imitate Evanovich? Was it a collaboration of efforts? I also wonder what input the editor had on the book. I really wonder how many naps this book will induce. I fell asleep at least three times while reading this book. I am the kind of person who stays up late reading one more page but with this book I repeatedly found myself falling asleep.

    I really cannot recommend this book. I do hope that Evanovich finds her spark again someday but it is becoming doubtful. This is really one of those books that I am just glad I finished so that I can move on to something else.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    This book is just plain fun.  It begins when the first book, The

    This book is just plain fun.  It begins when the first book, The Heist, leaves off and immediately puts Fox and O'Hare together again.  I love these characters.  They are a perfect team and yet total opposites.  Kate is determined to follow the law if at all possible and Nick has more "creative" ideas about how to accomplish their missions.  The romantic undertones are evident between these two characters but the author hasn't brought them together yet.  I found this to also be refreshing because it gives the reader something to look forward to rather than just throwing the male and female leads together right from the start.




    The plot is paced perfectly and the action scenes are plentiful.  Kate and Nick hatch some pretty elaborate plans and get into more than a few sticky situations both together and on their own.  Kate's dad, Willie, Joe, and Boyd all add their special talents to the pot as they portray the quirky sidekicks in the story. I also thought that there was just the right amount of humor in the story.  I found myself smiling on many occasions, usually due to the drama or antics of all of the sidekicks, or just at Kate and Nick's consistent use of flirtatious sarcasm.




    This book isn't deep in any way and it isn't meant to be.  It would be a great beach read or book to travel with.  The reader doesn't need to over think and can just enjoy the book for what it is; a well-written, action packed story with lively characters and an thoroughly enjoyable plot.  Don't forget to start at the beginning with The Heist.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    *** I was provided an ARC by Netgally for an honest review*** G

    *** I was provided an ARC by Netgally for an honest review***

    Great follow up to The Heist.  I love the characters.  They have a lot of depth and it's awesome to watch them grow. I think one of my
    favorite side characters is Jake, Kate's Dad.  He's just awesome.  He's so over the top that it's fun to watch what he's going to say and
    do but underneath it all you can see his devotion and love for his daughter and the rest of his family.  I really like that we are getting
    deeper into who these characters are and what makes them tick.  There is just the right amount of humor to keep this from becoming
     just another spy book and just enough intrigue to keep it from being a comedy.  It's really perfect and I can't wait for the next one!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Loved it!

    Loving this new series :) Can't wait for #3

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Plot spoilers

    Too many plot spoilers ruin yet another book, yet they love to brag how they got their book for free. Itmust be easy to reveal every detail of a book and ruin it for other readers when you dont have to pay for your books. Please think of other readers before you ruin books for them. We dont get our books for free like YOU do.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    I enjoyed The Chase. Was it the best book I've ever read, no, b

    I enjoyed The Chase. Was it the best book I've ever read, no, but it was entertaining. I enjoy the banter between Nick and Kate, and Kate's dad Jake is a hoot.
    This series is a cross between TV's White Collar and Mission Impossible. Nick's an international art thief, Kate's and FBI agent. They've been teamed up to do what the FBI can't do in the light of day. But if they're caught the Bureau will disavow any knowledge of their actions. If you are looking for a serious police procedural, this is not it. If you are looking for a fun light hearted read this is a great choice.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I found this second book of the series to be a great read. Kate

    I found this second book of the series to be a great read. Kate and Nick are finding a balance in working together. I found it interesting that Kate was worried that she may pick some of Nick's attitudes, while hoping that Nick would pick up some of hers. 
    One thing I found to be hilarious was the TV shows names that Nick was using. Had me laughing throughout the book.
    I loved the plot of bring down Carter Grove. Such a powerful man while in the White House and now even more so now that he had his own security firm. Definitely a formidable and lethal foe. But, Kate and Nick bring him down with style. The question is, is he really dead? Mmmm, we'll see. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldberg have done it again! The Chase

    Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldberg have done it again! The Chase is fast paced, fun and an excellent read if you are looking for action and a little side romance! I love Kate and Nick but Jake just adds to the fun! Contrary to some reviews, I laughed out loud at parts of the book! And hating to give away any plot lines, I won't share where!

    Two thumbs up for another winner from this dynamic duo!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Anonymous

    I felt it was rather boring. I love the plum series, but this series i can't seem to get into it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is the second book in the Fox and O'Hare series by Janet Ev

    This is the second book in the Fox and O'Hare series by Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldberg. When I saw that Netgalley had it available, I immediately jumped at the chance to get it. And I am thrilled that I got the chance. This book proved to me that the first one, The Heist, wasn't just a one off. I know it totally goes against the typical book vs movie argument, but I so want to see this on the big screen.

    This book starts off a couple of months after The Heist.  The book opens on the middle of a bank heist in downtown Los Angeles.  At first you are taking everything at face value, and then once Nicolas Fox shows up, and leads Kate on a daring cross county chase, you realize the whole thing was a cover for something else entirely.

    As with any good con, this is a story of plots within plots and twists and turns that keep you guessing right up to the end. I could not believe some of the things that Nick and Kate got into. But as with the first book, whenever Kate's Dad was in the scene, I swear he stole it.  And this time he brought more buddies along. I know it's wrong, but I just kept getting images from the movie Red in my head. And I loved that movie.

    Is this serious, thought provoking Lit-era-ture (pronounced with a snooty upper crust accent)? Eh, probably not.  But I had a great time reading it. I was right there when Nick and Kate were running their cons and sneaking around China. They kept me amused and entertained and made me laugh out loud at Nick's antics and Kate's aggravation. I liked seeing Kate be a kick ass heroine, not needing a man to save her. Nick is smooth, charming and has just a touch of the cad in him. Overall I am totally loving this series and can't wait for another episode.This was another 5 star read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    I love love love this new series. The Chase did not disappoint!

    I love love love this new series. The Chase did not disappoint!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Great read!

    Had me laughing out loud. Story moved along good too. Kept me guessing what would happen next. Can't wait for the next book in the series, I hope its soon.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2014

    FBI agent Kate O'Hare's under the radar relationship with one o

    FBI agent Kate O'Hare's under the radar relationship with one of their top 10's, con man Nicolas Fox, continues in this second novel in a series collaboration between two top authors. The job this time involves quite a bit of globe trotting, while the duo attempt to stay ahead of other art thieves not as interested in whether or not the Chinese get back a real rooster statue. The implied sexual tension between Kate and Nic is perhaps a casualty of the dual authorship. Their witty repartee comes close, never really takes off.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    Okay

    I always expect her books to be more like her Plum series and am somewhat when one isn't. However, it was okay

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    This was a read at a 16 year old level. I have never read this a

    This was a read at a 16 year old level. I have never read this author but was extremely disappointed .Boring and simple. Kept reading to see what was so good about this author. Just a waste of time..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    A Terrible read! What is the matter with the publisher of thes

    A Terrible read! What is the matter with the publisher of these two? Why is Evanovich teaming with this guy? There is no humor, unless you are twelve years old and think that an FBI agent giggling at a man who has dropped his towel is funny - then I guess this would be perfect for you. I thought if these two were going to do another book about the same characters - by the way, no one cares about them, then at least they could have upped their game. Shame on both of them. Really? it took two people to write this?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Why the reverse author listing

    Is she retiring?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    By:kitty couture

    Loved it.Such a good book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    Janet Evanovich is one of my all-time favorite authors. Her Ste

    Janet Evanovich is one of my all-time favorite authors. Her Stephanie Plum series is fast-paced and fun, never failing to entertain. The Chase, the second novel in the Fox and O'Hare series does not quite live up to the Plum series.

    I'm not sure how these collaborations between writers work, how much each writer contributes; I have never read anything by Lee Goldberg with which to compare this book. It feels to me like the difference between color and black and white. The Fox and O'Hare series is just a little less colorful, a little less funny.

    Nicolas Fox and Kate O'Hare are antagonists who are forced to work together, who begin to feel an attraction for each other. It's obvious the series is leading to some sort of romance between the two, but it doesn't feel real. Perhaps they are waiting to strengthen this in forthcoming books.

    The gang that goes along for the ride is a fun mixed-up group of unique personalities. My favorite is Kate's dad, Jack. His idea of quality time while his daughter was growing up was teaching her how to shoot different weapons. He loves it when she comes to him for help in her schemes to take out the bad guys and he has a plethora of old war buddies who are available to assist in the operations. I'd love it if subsequent books in the series would flesh these characters and their personalities out even more.

    There were a lot of similarities between the first book in the series, The Heist, and this one. One genius evil mastermind with a network of highly trained goons to defeat. A secluded isle/plantation to retreat to, lots of explosions and bullets.

    Yet I have to say the book was enjoyable to read. If you like suspense thrillers, action-type books, you should enjoy this book.

    I received this book in exchange for an honest review from Netgalley and Random House Publishing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldberg, New York Times bestselling au

    Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldberg, New York Times bestselling authors of The Heist, return in this action-packed, exciting adventure featuring master con artist Nicolas Fox and die-hard FBI agent Kate O’Hare. And this time around, things go from hot to nuclear when government secrets are on the line.

    Internationally renowned thief and con artist Nicolas Fox is famous for running elaborate and daring scams. His greatest con of all: convincing the FBI to team him up with the only person who has ever caught him, and the only woman to ever capture his attention, Special Agent Kate O’Hare. Together they’ll go undercover to swindle and catch the world’s most wanted—and untouchable criminals.

    This is the description from the publisher and caught my interest. That is about as good as it got. It read like a cheesy TV drama. Now from time to time I like to see or read something a bit fun. This book didn’t bring anything fun or new to the picture. I am willing to suspend belief so the story can move forward, but this story was just too predictable and was a waste of time. I wouldn’t recommend it.

    I received copy EBook from NetGalley, Bantam Publisher, for my review.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6