Customer Reviews for

The Chicago Tribune

Average Rating 3.5
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Chicago Tribune is excellent for reading and keeping up to date

Since the scheduling has become consistent, I am once more a newspaper reader. It's so nice to read the paper without the ink stains and paper issues

posted by revmjhoman53 on January 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Content Great - E-Delivery Terrible

The Trib content has been good lately - lots of focus on investigative reporting - but the e delivery is a joke. So far out of about 7 days on trial, it has been delivered by 5:30 AM 2 times - missed delivery 2 times and the other 3 around 8 or 9 AM (which is unaccepta...
The Trib content has been good lately - lots of focus on investigative reporting - but the e delivery is a joke. So far out of about 7 days on trial, it has been delivered by 5:30 AM 2 times - missed delivery 2 times and the other 3 around 8 or 9 AM (which is unacceptable for a paper that is already digital on its' own web site by 5 AM) If BN can improve digital delivery, this is a good purchase at a good price. If not, then I'd wonder why you'd subscribe via e delivery.

posted by mkirstein on January 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    Chicago Tribune is excellent for reading and keeping up to date

    Since the scheduling has become consistent, I am once more a newspaper reader. It's so nice to read the paper without the ink stains and paper issues

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    Chicago Tribune on nook... It's Awesome

    I love reading the Chicago Tribune on my nook! No delivery issues...it is on my nook every morning before I head out the door for work. Easy to read and navigate to sections of the paper. If you like reading the paper get this subscription.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

    Beware of signing up for a digital subscription because it is al

    Beware of signing up for a digital subscription because it is almost impossible to cancel. Using the website to cancel doesn't work. You will have to call customer service multiple times to cancel your subscription. You will have to tell your credit card company to block payments to Barnes and Noble in order to get them to stop billing you. Customer service with digital subscriptions is terrible!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Last weekend no Saturday or Sunday paper until late Sunday night

    Last weekend no Saturday or Sunday paper until late Sunday night.  This weekend again no Sunday paper.  Tribune and Barnes & Noble of course blame each other.  Come on people, take some responsibility.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    late deliveries

    Recently there has been a problem with late deliveries of this newspaper. I received 3 issues today: today's, yesterday's, and the one from 2 days ago. I cancelled my hard copy subscription home delivery for the same reason, although at least the hard copy was never 2 days late! No explanation was provided for this concern.

    Just unacceptable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Mixed feelings

    The e-reader edition contains all the stories published in the print edition and presents them ad-free. You're not missing out on anything. The bigger issue is the presentation. You can scroll through the table of contents, and jump from section to section, tapping on the stories that catch your eye. But often times, you're unable to view an entire headline...it's cut off and you have to guess the topic. While many stories do have their main images embedded, in the article, you miss out on charts/graphics/additional images. And finally, it's definitely a different reading experience from a physical paper. Take advantage of the 14 day trial....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Tough to navigate in

    I really had problems finding my way around. It just was not easy for me. Unless I am missing something you have to read each and every article in sequence. You CAN go to a menu, but then you have to scroll through all the multi-paragraph previews in sequence which was not much better. In the end I found myself flipping through pages trying to find things more than I found myself actually reading the news. Cancelled.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Love It

    I LOVE it. I get my Tribune delivered every morning to my Nook before the 6am news comes on. I have all the headlines already read before, I hear about them on the news, I love that :) I have had digital papers before and I didn't like them but, I like this one. They cover everything that is important in the city (Chicago, I live an hour outside of the city) and they also have national headlines as well. I this digital version is well put together; you don't feel gypped like you do with some papers. So, if your looking for a great paper with flawless digital delivery, go for the Chicago Tribune!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I enjoy having the Chicago Tribune available first thing in the morning.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not exciting

    While I know The Chicago Tribune's print version is first class, I wasn't impressed with the content I read during my 14-day trial. About 80% of the content was local news which didn't interest me. Also the coverage of national and world news was better covered elsewhere in other eNewspapers. In my opinion this isn't worth the read unless you are interested in local Chicago news.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    Tribune

    no paper delivered today??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Lily Vincent

    I don't know how
    this newspaper goes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Not Bad!

    I'm not a big newspaper reader, but it's good about keeping up with current events, which keeps me wanting more every day :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Half a paper

    If you like a sandwich with just meat, no bread, no lettuce, or mayo this is for you. Otherwise stick to the paper version.

    I got this thinking it would read like the paper version only more convienent. Boy was I wrong! No classifieds, comics, parade, or ads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    I call it Chicago

    Yes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Ominous Turn

    Very old headline

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    just a few articles

    This is not the electronic newspaper, it is just a few articles each day. I canceled the subscription, and the cancellation did not go through. I would be wary of this kind of thing in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8