Customer Reviews for

The Chick Palace

Average Rating 3.5
( 173 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Jean Ray Meets Adriana Trigiani

I loved this book about 2 women who've been friends since college. It's so real and so funny. Johanna is old money, and Lily is Southern from the wrong side of the tracks, transformed by a college education and successful career. Both friends deal with midlife dramas...
I loved this book about 2 women who've been friends since college. It's so real and so funny. Johanna is old money, and Lily is Southern from the wrong side of the tracks, transformed by a college education and successful career. Both friends deal with midlife dramas. Johnna tries to cope with the passing of her mother. Now SHE'S the matriarch of her family at 55. How can that be? Lily's faced, literarlly, with her ex-husband's successful and famous new girlfirend when they're forced to share their summer lake house on alternate weekends. Johanna's summer place is next door. They help each other through these family dramas in their kids' old treehouse with the aid of marguiritas. THEN, Johanna's first boyfriend shows up, and it's quite a threesome. Great read!

posted by 2922695 on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wish I hadn't spent the money

This book is boooorrrrriinnggg. I bought it a month ago and jumped right in and after forcing myself to crawl through half of it, I haven't finished it and probably won't. I simply don't care about the characters -- not about what's happening where I currently am in the...
This book is boooorrrrriinnggg. I bought it a month ago and jumped right in and after forcing myself to crawl through half of it, I haven't finished it and probably won't. I simply don't care about the characters -- not about what's happening where I currently am in the book nor about what will be happening to them in the future. Lesson Learned: take advantage of the "Read a Sample" functionality before actually buying a book.

posted by 2425772 on February 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Wasn't a spell binder, but I enjoyed reading it.

    You had to adjust your reading to who the character was that was telling the story, so there was a little disconnect occasionally, but the plot was interesting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Great story!

    Great girlfriend read! Truly is on mark when at a certain age you feel you need that little affirmation that you are still that young carefree person. I truly enjoyed the chick palace!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Good

    I liked the story. I related to the characters to a degree....the author has a descriptive style of writing that will pull you in. That being said...there needs to be some kind of editing done before publishing! All the underlining was distracting and annoying. I almost put the book down because of it. However, I stuck with it in the hopes that one of the characters would stand up to her ex. Or...ex ex.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    wish list

    Want to have a try

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Great book!

    This was a great read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Ehhh, It was OK.

    I can't say this is on the top of my favorites list. To me it was very slow in the beginning. I almost quit reading it but fought through. The second half of the book was better. While I don't regret reading it, I don't know that I would recommend it to friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Welcome relief

    Enjoyed. Not having to skim thru five to ten pages of graphic sex description to get back to the plot was a welcome relief.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    A WINNER

    Held my attention good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    Fun read

    There was some weird underlining that was distracting but then the story grabbed me and it wasn't so distracting. It's a fun read, perfect for the beach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    I loved this book!

    The music references fit my era.......late 60's and 70's! A great story of friendship and family ties. Realistic but fun! The language is a little colorful in places, but realistically written. If you're not easily offended the storyline and humor makes this a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Sweet story

    A really sweet story :))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Great Girly Book

    I really enjoyed this book. Great summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Very enjoyable

    I liked the book as a good read and one that I could relate to the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Good chick book!

    Good quick read. Some humor amd dealings with adult realities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Great, easy to get sucked in.

    I love it. Ill probably buy a copy for my mom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Usually read mysteries/crime and wanted a change. I really liked this book! Real people, real issues, and good common sense solutions to their problems!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Enjoyable

    Easy to read and entertaining, the perfect summer book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Nice easy read.

    A nice chick flix book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    The Chick Palace

    Just started the book looks like its going to be an interesting summmer for these ladies and how fun for them to gather in a treehouse that brings back childhood memorie Isnt that what lifelong friends do is stick together through good times and bad,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    great read

    Loved this book...read through it on my nook in just a couple days!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3