Customer Reviews for

The Chieftain

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

An amazing story I wish would go on and on. I¿m in tears as I wr

An amazing story I wish would go on and on. I’m in tears as I write this, having just finished the Chieftain. and what a glorious finish it was! I have felt, through this series, a growing bond with these four men, their women, and their clan. It all seems so real. I’m ...
An amazing story I wish would go on and on. I’m in tears as I write this, having just finished the Chieftain. and what a glorious finish it was! I have felt, through this series, a growing bond with these four men, their women, and their clan. It all seems so real. I’m sad to see it finish, but so happy I got to be part of it. Although it’s hard to pick a favorite among the four, I have to say the ending of this story took it over the top for me.
Wow. Just…WOW!


posted by Laurie_Ryan on March 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It took nearly half of the story before the couple finally got t

It took nearly half of the story before the couple finally got together.  Too much politics.   I wish there are more moments of Connor and Ilysa.  Still giving it 4 stars. Well written.

posted by soleah on February 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    THE CHIEFTAIN by Margaret Mallory is another exciting Scottish M

    THE CHIEFTAIN by Margaret Mallory is another exciting Scottish Medieval historical romance. Book 4 in “The Return of the Highlanders”,but can be read as a stand alone. See, “The Guardian”,”The Sinner”,and “The Warrior”. Conclusion of this fast paced story,which is filled with danger,betrayal,secrets,passion,Scottish clans,Highlanders,love and the desire of a clan to reclaim what they once lost. Follow,Chieftain Connor MacDonalds of Sleat and Ilysa,is best friend’s sister on a journey of danger, love and passion,Connor didn’t see coming. While, Ilysa is a healer and has the gift of foresight,she also has been in love with Connor for years. Connor is determined to reclaim his clan’s lands,their honor,and fight his evil uncle. “The Chieftain” has a bit of magic, maybe a ghost of centuries past,the discovery of true love and a passion for life. This is another one of my favorite author’s. She draws her readers into her Medieval Scotland,their struggles,their magic,myths and their legends with her strong characters,her interesting and intriguing plots. I ask, who doesn’t love a Highland Warrior? What wonderful conclusion to these strong,fierce warriors and their lovely,strong lass. A must read! If you enjoy Scottish warriors,Scotland history,romance,Scotland struggles for survival,and their passion for life you will enjoy “The Chieftain”.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    I wasn't disappointed after eagerly awaiting the next book in th

    I wasn't disappointed after eagerly awaiting the next book in this great series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Riveting

    While the beginning of this story got off to a rocky start the subsequent pieces all came together brilliantly. I would read the other stories in the series; although they are not required to understanding Connor's story they do provide some background in places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    This review was first posted at Reading Between the Wines! I

    This review was first posted at Reading Between the Wines!




    Ilysa loves Connor, but knows that he will never be hers. He's a Chieftain and has a responsibility to his clan to make an advantageous marriage. That doesn't stop her from looking after him, or dreaming of him at night. So when Connor sets out to move into a castle that he's recently reclaimed for their clan, Ilysa sets out with him against her brother's protests. She's decided to go and make sure things run smoothly for him until he picks a wife, even if it will break her heart. She'll also use her magic and her sight to help keep him safe. But when she tries to warn Connor on several different occasions about different matters, he crushes her off like she's a clueless pest. This just means the determined Ilysa will have to take matters into her own hands to make sure the man she loves lives to see another day.




    Connor has no clue that Ilysa loves him. Is head is filled with thoughts of how to keep his clan strong and safe, and also with the need to find a wife that will help him do what he has to do. When his eyes are opened though, and he sees Ilysa for the beautiful woman that she is underneath the robes she hides under, he has to have her. He knows that he can't marry her, and that it might ruin her for an another marriage for herself down the road, but he doesn't want to fight his desires for her either. When his heart gets involved, will he be able to walk away?




    This was such a great book form Ms. Mallory! I really loved it, along with Ilysa's determination to save Connor, and the author had a number of great twists in it, as well. Highly recommended for those who like historical romance to read this series. 4 wine glass toast!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1