Customer Reviews for

The Chieftain

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

An amazing story I wish would go on and on. I¿m in tears as I wr

An amazing story I wish would go on and on. I’m in tears as I write this, having just finished the Chieftain. and what a glorious finish it was! I have felt, through this series, a growing bond with these four men, their women, and their clan. It all seems so real. I’m ...
An amazing story I wish would go on and on. I’m in tears as I write this, having just finished the Chieftain. and what a glorious finish it was! I have felt, through this series, a growing bond with these four men, their women, and their clan. It all seems so real. I’m sad to see it finish, but so happy I got to be part of it. Although it’s hard to pick a favorite among the four, I have to say the ending of this story took it over the top for me.
Wow. Just…WOW!


posted by Laurie_Ryan on March 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It took nearly half of the story before the couple finally got t

It took nearly half of the story before the couple finally got together.  Too much politics.   I wish there are more moments of Connor and Ilysa.  Still giving it 4 stars. Well written.

posted by soleah on February 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    An amazing story I wish would go on and on. I¿m in tears as I wr

    An amazing story I wish would go on and on. I’m in tears as I write this, having just finished the Chieftain. and what a glorious finish it was! I have felt, through this series, a growing bond with these four men, their women, and their clan. It all seems so real. I’m sad to see it finish, but so happy I got to be part of it. Although it’s hard to pick a favorite among the four, I have to say the ending of this story took it over the top for me.
    Wow. Just…WOW!


    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    I think it's safe to say that Margaret Mallory has a new fan and

    I think it's safe to say that Margaret Mallory has a new fan and a completely hooked one at that. The Chieftain was filled with stellar characters, surprise connections, terrible betrayals and all of the emotional turmoil they bring and just a lovely romance to top it all off. Like I said. I was hooked. Even if I wanted to strangle a Highland warrior now and again.


    The gist is that Connor is a somewhat new Chieftain who's lands are at risk and who is in need of a strong alliance with another clan. He plans on forgoing a marriage for love and using his marriage to form a bond with another clan to ensure their help in defeating his enemies. Yep. You know there's gonna be some drama with that one.


    Connor, Lord love him, I spent about half the book wanting to pinch the ever living hell out of the man and then somehow he had me doing that girly contented sigh thing and falling completely in love with him before I even realized it had happened. He really is a good man and I loved the warrior/Chieftain side of him that would do anything for his people. He's not afraid to get his hands dirty and fight with his men. The pinchable side was the way he treated Ilysa the first half of the book where the damnable man just kept dismissing her and being rather flaky in what he wanted from her. Had me getting all grumbly and wanting to give him a smack.


    Ilysa though held her own and may just be my favorite heroine of the year. The lass was amazing and while not the strongest physically she definitely had a fighting strength behind her and had determination like you wouldn't believe. What made me fall head over heels for Ilysa was the fire in her. If the men around her dismissed her warnings of danger? Well, the lass would lock their asses in their own dungeon until the danger passed. Seriously. Holy freaking balls! And she just had a great personality and did things you really wouldn't expect.


    There's really some heart breaking moments once Connor got his act together and started falling for Marjory and the two have to struggle with his need to protect the clan and "do what's right" versus what's really in his heart. I mean. Heart. Breaking. Stuff.


    One thing I liked about Mallory's world building was that her Highlanders definitely have a dark side. There's danger lurking everywhere and these Highlanders are brutal. They're fierce in their determination and quests for revenge and things aren't always pretty even when the Chieftain is a good man and honorable.


    The ending in this one was one of those "oh s***!" make your hands fooking sweat kind of endings. And yeah I just cursed but it's so my blog and totally merited with this one. I mean seriously. Hands sweating. Fidgeting in my seat. Holding my breath kinda endings. And so damn good. If I hadn't been hooked before that would have done it for me.


    I'm really looking forward to checking out all of the earlier books in the series next and love the hint of maybe another book coming into the picture for one of the characters that really won me over throughout the story. If you love Highlanders, "impossible love" stories and damn fine upstanding characters (though some may slip a time or two on that front) you'll love The Chieftain. It comes out at the end of February and is one ye shouldn't miss.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    AWESOME BOOK!

    Margaret has done it again! What a magnificient end (even though I didn't want it to) to her series.

    I wanted to read Connor and Ilysa's story from the moment I got a sneak peek, but it still took me by surprise. The love, passion, and fight these two went through to be together was inspiring and just plain rocked.

    Margaret is a master of putting obstacles in her h/h way and she didn't disappoint with this book.

    I told her once before and I'll say it again. She has a fan for life. Another masterpiece. Well done, Margaret!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Super

    Another very exciting story !! Enjoyed the book to the fullest.
    I can't wait to read another book by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I don't typically write reviews, however I just spent the last t

    I don't typically write reviews, however I just spent the last three days with no sleep due to this author and felt she deserved my praise! She sucked me into her world and refused to let go. Though predictable in some places, I fell in love with, and actually laughed out loud with her characters. Thank you for allowing me a glimpse into your world. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    This book was great. I loved how everything came together and C

    This book was great. I loved how everything came together and Connor was a great character. He has suffered so much but the he got the best lady. All four of her books are wonderful!!! Great romance!! Great Job!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Loved it!!!!

    A great ending to the series!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    *****

    Loved this story!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    I love all three book the Warrior, Chieftain and the Sinner. I l

    I love all three book the Warrior, Chieftain and the Sinner. I love reading about the Highlander worrior.
    Margarat Mallory did an exclent job of all of these book. just loved the action and the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Best book in the series!

    This was the best book in the series. Although the entire series was great. I loved Conner & Ilysa's story. The book kept me enthralled! A wonderful end to a beautiful series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    This was the best of the series. One of my favorite books ever.

    This was the best of the series. One of my favorite books ever. And I read a lot of Highland Romance Novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Chieftain of the MacDonald Clan, Conner is everything a woman is

    Chieftain of the MacDonald Clan, Conner is everything a woman is looking. Well built, a natural born leader, and a strong will to protect his people, he must find his equal to stand beside him and defeat his enemies and his eye is longingly set upon Ilysa, a woman without powerful alliances, wealth, or anything to offer as much needed unity per say. Having had numerous attempts against his life by his Uncle Hugh who also desires to be Chieftain, Conner has some heavy decisions to make and quickly.
    “It takes a brave man to approach Duncan MacDonald’s sister, which can be the only explanation for why such a gem is yet unclaimed.”
    When Conner eventually catches up to Ilysa again he is bewildered at her transformation and wants her now more than ever. Now to just convince her she has more to offer then she thinks and to break it to his close friend, Iylsa’s older brother, he desires her and wants her by his side. Can Iylsa find it in herself to be what Connor needs? Can she prove she is the woman he needs by his side and make him see?

    Mallory is a heart-stopping epistler whose writing draws the reader in quickly and begging for more. This book is part of a series, however, easily reads as a standalone as I have not read the prior books and would never have known it part of a series. Her style of character building is impressive as she strives to build strong characters, with obvious flaws, making the stories more personal
    *This review first appeared on Mother/Gamer/Writer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    The Absolute Correct Ending to the 4 Book Series.

    I repeat, the absolute correct ending to the 4 book series. Great read, actually read it then read the whole series in order again. Loved it. Have already checked out other Margaret Mallory books for future reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    If I could give this more than 5 stars I would.  And, I have giv

    If I could give this more than 5 stars I would.  And, I have given every one of Margaret Mallory's stories well deserved 5 stars.  This lady simply can not write fast enough for me or my daughter.  The Chieftain concludes the series but you can read the 4 books in any sequence.  I think this one may bring in the strongest heroine.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Worth the read

    How could something so wrong be so right? A must read. Great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Great story and great series

    Cant wait for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Highly Recommended!!!

    You must check it out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Fantastic series well worth the read

    Have loved the whole series. . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2