Customer Reviews for

The Children of Willesden Lane: Beyond the Kindertransport: A Memoir of Music, Love, and Survival

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    A must read!

    This is an amazing book. It depicts the exact life of the young Jewish refugees who managed to escape to England in World War II. My own mother and younger sister did exactly the same thing as Lisa. My mother was going to be a dress designer and was already studying in Vienna. She also had to go to England as a domestic maid, then went to a house in North London with other refugees and worked as a seamstress just like Lisa. My mother was also on fire watch for the bombs during the blitz. It is a must read as Lisa was studying classical piano in Vienna, managed to leave when "chosen" by her family as the one to leave because of her talent. Lisa managed to get her younger sister to England too on the "kinder transport" as did my mother with my Aunt.
    This is a heart wrenching true story. It shows how lives of survivors of the holocaust were shattered and how they were rebuilt. Keep the Kleenex handy

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    More of a YA book but worth the read.

    Although this book is billed as a memoir I don't think I would describe it as such. It is more of a true life experience written in almost novel form. Even though I found the writing to be more for a young adult/early teen audience I still could not put this book down. The story is very heartwarming and it kept making my eyes tear up (not fun when you have a scratched eyeball). I had many things I needed to do but they seemed less important to me than what was going on in Lisa's life in London during WWII. Lisa's story is one of parental sacrifice, the power of friends and family(whether blood related or not), resilience, and the healing power of music.

    I would highly recommend it for many YA readers who are looking for something to read for a history class.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2007

    The Holocaust Survived by a Young Girl

    This book was about a young girl, Lisa Jura, who lives during the time of the Holocaust. Vienna, the place that she lives, becomes a terrible place to live for Jews because of the Nazi's. Her family has one ticket for the kindertransport, a train that takes Jewish kids to England so their lives are not endangered. One reason her parents choose her out of thier three children is because she has incredible talent when it comes to playing the piano and they think she can make something of herself if she continues to play... As soon as you open this book you can't put it down. You want to know want to know what happens next and if she survived through the whole thing. Because it was based on a true story, it makes you think that this could have happened to you if you lived during this time. Overall this is a great book and I really enjoyed reading it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    World War II Revisited - A Musician's Story

    I read this book because I saw an interview with the author. She is so talented and articulate. Listening to her speak about her mother made me want to read the book. I love books about London during World War II, and this book was alive with details. A a musician I also found the musical aspect of the story intriging. I will keep this book and read it again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2005

    A Great Read!

    I read this book as a required in my senior english class. I loved it, I would recommend to any one. It is not the usuall novel that is required for class, it was a great story of a jewish girl and her journey through WWII

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2003

    Required Reading for All

    An amazing story: inspirational, heartbreaking, passionate, and triumphant. By clearly and eloquently describing her mother's life, Mona Golabek has truly honored her. I can recommend this book, without reservation, to all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2002

    Inspiring

    The story of Lisa Jura is not one you will easily forget. It is not one I will soon forget either. It is a true story of a girl's escape from pre-WWII Vienna London. You don't have to be a musician to be moved by the strength that her music gave to the young girl. It became her best friend when her world crashed down around her. Truth is, indeed, stranger than fiction as Lisa goes from losing everything to finding her musical voice once again at the Royal Academy of London. As with The Diary of Anne Frank, I came away with such awe at the strength people can exhibit. They can endure such privation and still find joy in living. I cannot recommend this book too highly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2014

    I could not put it down. Very well done and informative. It enc

    I could not put it down. Very well done and informative. It encouraged me to read more about the Kindertransport children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    This is the best book I have ever read! I'm telling everyone I k

    This is the best book I have ever read! I'm telling everyone I know to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!

    I am 12 years old and i love to read i just use my moms nook acount.... Anyways this was the best book ever. It was a little sad but it moved me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Amazing book!!!!

    This is one of the best books I have read this year. The reader is captivated by the characters and the plot. I especially appreciated the fact that the author was writing about her Mother, and that the musical talent her Mother had was passed down to both her daughters. I knew about the children being sent away during the Holocust, but this book made that personal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    A young girl's view of the Holocaust

    This is a story that will bring you in from the first page. The struggles show how lucky we really are now. There was a world back then that was gone right before their eyes. I would have never expected the affect this book would have on a girl like me.From the struggles,to the romance, and the personal issues she faced. This is a must read. You would never regret reading this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2004

    Sacrifice, Commitment and Love will survive

    This story carries you from the moment you begin to read on page 1 to the very last. The strength of a parents love for a childs survival and the commitment to continuing to do what is important despite trying and heartbreaking circumstances. This book is a must read for all age groups.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1