Customer Reviews for

The Choice

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Rutland, Georgia, 1974. One year after Roe v. Wade has become ¿

Rutland, Georgia, 1974. One year after Roe v. Wade has become ‘law’ of
the land. Back then, girls were hustled out of school and forced to
make other accommodations to have their babies before returning to
school. That year, Sandy Lincoln, a senior at Rutland High Sc...
Rutland, Georgia, 1974. One year after Roe v. Wade has become ‘law’ of
the land. Back then, girls were hustled out of school and forced to
make other accommodations to have their babies before returning to
school. That year, Sandy Lincoln, a senior at Rutland High School, gets
pregnant by her football hero boyfriend, Brad Donelly. He tries to
manipulate her into an abortion with the tantalizing offer of marriage
later on. Her parents are supportive in helping her make a better
choice. Sandy ends up living with her aunt Linda, her mother’s
sister, in Atlanta, Georgia, until her baby is born. However, on her
way to her aunt’s house, she stops at a gas station to purchase a drink,
when a mysterious old woman approaches her with a prophecy and a warning
about the babies she is carrying. This warning and prophecy plays an
integral part in her choice of where she places her babies for adoption
and why. Thirty years later, her choice will come full circle in ways
she never thought possible as she tries to help a pregnant teenager who
has been raped. Robert Whitlow, in The Choice, takes us down the
difficult road of being a pregnant teenager with monumental choices to
make about her pregnancy, trying to do what’s best for her babies, and a
heartbroken grandmother who wants to keep her grandchildren. We are
given an in-depth, personal view of Sandy’s choices, which are far from
simple. They involve courage, selflessness, a broken heart, and a
heartrending, yet beautiful gift of adoption to childless couples
seeking a child. The story depicts how teenage pregnancies affect not
only the pregnant teenager, but the babies, grandparents, father,
siblings, extended family, adoptive family, etc. Our sins don’t just
affect ourselves–they have a rippling effect that courses through many
lives. A boomerang episode transpires thirty years later, when Sandy is
a teacher at her old high school and a pregnant young Mexican teenager
who was raped comes to her for help. A school counselor throws you into
the world’s culture wars over women’s reproductive rights. The power
struggles that evolve are so relevant to today’s world, and emulate what
transpires in schools across the country regarding underage abortions,
only now more quietly and insidiously. The author gives a blow-by-blow
account of the intricacies of the battle of trying to choose life over
abortion for this young pregnant girl who is frightened by all the
circumstances. Lives are at stake. Will Sandy make the right choice?
Linda’s influence in the matters of truth, Sandy’s own faith, and the
faith of many others in the story help to show the ultimate decision
should rest in God’s design for our lives. Though we stumble and fall,
He is always there to help us make the right decisions if we but call
upon Him. The author wrote the book to honor mothers . He has an
intended irony in the selection of his book title, The Choice. It plays
on the word “choice,” showing that “choice” can also mean a woman’s
decision not to abort. Sandy is unselfishly “pro-choice”–’choosing’ to
allow the babies to be adopted. Kudos to the author to stress this
important aspect!!! This book was provided free by Amy Lathrop and
Christen Krumm of the Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest
review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.

posted by onedesertrose on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Te previous reviews were obviously planted

However, As a BirthMother I can honestly say this story starts out realistic to most cases of the decade but ends inlike most reununions, especially where boys/males are adoptees. Good read. Quirky rushed ending.

posted by 9222094 on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Te previous reviews were obviously planted

    However, As a BirthMother I can honestly say this story starts out realistic to most cases of the decade but ends inlike most reununions, especially where boys/males are adoptees. Good read. Quirky rushed ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Rutland, Georgia, 1974. One year after Roe v. Wade has become ¿

    Rutland, Georgia, 1974. One year after Roe v. Wade has become ‘law’ of
    the land. Back then, girls were hustled out of school and forced to
    make other accommodations to have their babies before returning to
    school. That year, Sandy Lincoln, a senior at Rutland High School, gets
    pregnant by her football hero boyfriend, Brad Donelly. He tries to
    manipulate her into an abortion with the tantalizing offer of marriage
    later on. Her parents are supportive in helping her make a better
    choice. Sandy ends up living with her aunt Linda, her mother’s
    sister, in Atlanta, Georgia, until her baby is born. However, on her
    way to her aunt’s house, she stops at a gas station to purchase a drink,
    when a mysterious old woman approaches her with a prophecy and a warning
    about the babies she is carrying. This warning and prophecy plays an
    integral part in her choice of where she places her babies for adoption
    and why. Thirty years later, her choice will come full circle in ways
    she never thought possible as she tries to help a pregnant teenager who
    has been raped. Robert Whitlow, in The Choice, takes us down the
    difficult road of being a pregnant teenager with monumental choices to
    make about her pregnancy, trying to do what’s best for her babies, and a
    heartbroken grandmother who wants to keep her grandchildren. We are
    given an in-depth, personal view of Sandy’s choices, which are far from
    simple. They involve courage, selflessness, a broken heart, and a
    heartrending, yet beautiful gift of adoption to childless couples
    seeking a child. The story depicts how teenage pregnancies affect not
    only the pregnant teenager, but the babies, grandparents, father,
    siblings, extended family, adoptive family, etc. Our sins don’t just
    affect ourselves–they have a rippling effect that courses through many
    lives. A boomerang episode transpires thirty years later, when Sandy is
    a teacher at her old high school and a pregnant young Mexican teenager
    who was raped comes to her for help. A school counselor throws you into
    the world’s culture wars over women’s reproductive rights. The power
    struggles that evolve are so relevant to today’s world, and emulate what
    transpires in schools across the country regarding underage abortions,
    only now more quietly and insidiously. The author gives a blow-by-blow
    account of the intricacies of the battle of trying to choose life over
    abortion for this young pregnant girl who is frightened by all the
    circumstances. Lives are at stake. Will Sandy make the right choice?
    Linda’s influence in the matters of truth, Sandy’s own faith, and the
    faith of many others in the story help to show the ultimate decision
    should rest in God’s design for our lives. Though we stumble and fall,
    He is always there to help us make the right decisions if we but call
    upon Him. The author wrote the book to honor mothers . He has an
    intended irony in the selection of his book title, The Choice. It plays
    on the word “choice,” showing that “choice” can also mean a woman’s
    decision not to abort. Sandy is unselfishly “pro-choice”–’choosing’ to
    allow the babies to be adopted. Kudos to the author to stress this
    important aspect!!! This book was provided free by Amy Lathrop and
    Christen Krumm of the Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest
    review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Amazing story!

    Whitlow has done it again, this man continues to write some of the best novels I've read. The storyline is intriguing, the characters are fantastic. I especially liked that the main character, Sandy, was such a mature 18 yr old. This is a wonderful story of a mother's love and sacrifices for her children. A story about teen pregnancy, abortion, adoption. Beautifully written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Fabulous!

    Thank you once again Mr Whitlow! Not the expected storyline at all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    This was a book that I am so glad I read. Abortion is something

    This was a book that I am so glad I read. Abortion is something very near to my heart. I have been an unashamed pro-life supporter for most of my life, and this book fit well into my belief system. It is a powerful book with a timeless message.

    This book couldn't have picked a better starting year--my birth year. That caught my attention from the beginning. And Sandy was a fantastic character that I so enjoyed watching mature physically, emotionally, and spiritually. I was so glad she made the choice she did even though there was counseling on either side. I could never imagine being placed in her position. I always knew what the right decision should be for an unplanned teen pregnancy, but this put the decision into a real life situation.

    When the story jumped ahead to 2008, I was quite pleased with the direction the story went. To see that Sandy continued to trust God and went on with her life was really neat. But the story was expertly written as it continued to take twists and turns. My emotions were played with on more than one occasion, but it was a fantastic ride. The ending nearly took me down one road, and I was prepared to accept it. And then the story took a 180 degree turn that truly astounded me!

    There was a supernatural element of the story about which I was not quite sure, but in the end, it made perfect sense. While the gospel message was never spelled out, there is no doubt God was a major player in this story. The author is a master storyteller who writes with passion and intensity.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading about social issues with a Christian worldview.

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2013

    Just Good Reading

    This book was from a very relative point of view. It is easy to relate to for anyone who went through their teen years in the 1970s. Mr. Whitlow did a good job of developing the characters in very real ways. This book certainly brought out many "choices".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    All Robert Whitlow's stories are great and this one really tells

    All Robert Whitlow's stories are great and this one really tells a needed story. A great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Annonymous

    Great story. Would have liked a littlle bit different ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Great read

    I have read two of Robert Whitlow's books and couldn't put either one down. Can't wait to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    A great book to read,would highly recommend everyone to read it

    A great book to read,would highly recommend everyone to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    Another great by Robert Whitlow!

    I have read all Robert Whitlow's books and was so excited to read this, then to be asked to review it. I thoroughly enjoyed it, but I will admit that his Greater Love series raises the bar quite high. The Choice winds and turns around several characters, whose choices make for a surprising ending. I definitely recommend The Choice. I also would encourage you to read his other books, especially Greater Love, Deeper Water and Higher Hope. I purchased The Choice from Barnes & Noble, who asked me for a review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    The Choice

    This is my second Robert Whitlow book, the first being "Life Support". In The Choice, he gave us another page turner about choices and how it affect our lives and our future.

    The year was 1974 in Rutland, Georgia, Sandy was a normal teenager with a perfect life and a great boyfriend. A decision to be intimate got her pregnant. The boyfriend Brad and family wants Sandy to get an abortion, so they could get on with their lives.

    Sandy made the choice of completing school and the pregnancy in Atlanta with her aunt and giving the babies (twins) up for adoption. On her way to Atlanta she met an old woman who gave her a prophecy and a warning.

    Thirty years later, she is a teacher in the same high school in Rutland, Georgia. A pregnant student came to her for help. How is she going to advise the student?

    Pro-life, pro-choice, also a topic for this coming election. Does the government have to give away free birth controls and abortions to prevent unwanted pregnancies? Whatever decision a person decides in life is a choice one has to live with her whole life. This book shows us how much an unwed pregnant teenager has to face decades ago and at present time. How God is always there for and with us. The last part of the book are questions for study group.

    I got this book from booksneeze in exchange for an honest review

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    it is one of Mr. Whitlow's best.

    it is one of his best books ever I have enjoyed reading all of them but this one is a real winner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Throughout our lives we have a chance to make decisions that aff

    Throughout our lives we have a chance to make decisions that affect our future. The Choice by Robert Whitlow is a book that deals with the struggle a young girl named Sandy has to make. Does she choose to abort her baby or does she keep the twins and put them up for adoption? With the recent passing of Roe vs Wade the choice is even harder than years before.
    Years later Sandy meets a young girl named Maria who has been raped and is facing the same decision. With Sandy's insights into the emotions surrounding an unwed mother she is in the best position to help Maria. But the school guidance counselor pushes Maria for abortion and wants the procedure done as quickly as possible. Sandy's interest in the case puts her on the opposite side of the school and she receives several reprimands from the school but continues to work with Maria.
    In the third part of the book Whitlow unveils the consequences of Sandy's decision and Sandy not only finds inner peace but eventually meets her twins. God's guidance through a difficult experience shows that He can bring everything together for Sandy and Maria.
    The book was an easy read and kept my attention all the way through. Having already read all of Whitlow's other novels, I was not disappointed in The Choice. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn about the struggle between abortion and adoption. It will allow the reader to better understand the depth of the decision a young mother has to make. And it will open your eyes to the way that God works through difficult circumstances to bring about something good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    Once again author Robert Whitlow writes a best-seller. Without

    Once again author Robert Whitlow writes a best-seller. Without one second of hesitation, I can quickly recommend this book to anyone who desires to read about the life of a young girl who finds herself pregnant and the choices that she must soon face. After Sandy, a senior in high school, finds herself pregnant by Brad Donnelly, a star football player, her life quickly changes never to be the same again.
    The first part of the book deals with Sandy's choices that she has to make and the fact that she must follow her inner desires to do what is best for not only one baby but two. While many people tried to influence her and direct the decision that she would have to make we quickly see that Sandy learns how to stand on her own in her decision making. She makes many decisions that will not only impact her life but the life of both of her babies that she will give up for adoption.
    The second part of the book is over 30 years later and how as a school teacher she faces a young girl in her class that is pregnant. She desires to help this young girl make wise choices as she was faced with many years earlier. While on this quest there were many hurtful things that Sandy encountered, yet in the midst of the turmoil she not only comes across one, but both of her sons. There are many emotions that the reader will experience as they go along the journey that is prepared for Sandy.
    She finds that God never left her, rather He was guiding her along the way all the time. She in return desired to reach out and help others around her. She is soon acquainted with her son's family and her grandchildren and later was asked to be an acting grandmother to the young girl who was pregnant and had her child.
    From the first to the last page this book is filled with adventure, excitement and thought provoking situations that helps one to become less judgmental and more understanding in the way one views issues in life. There is also a study group discussion section at the end of the book that would be helpful. Each book by Robert Whitlow is entertaining and I can't wait for the next to arrive.
    5 of 5 stars

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    I thoroughly enjoyed The Choice from beginning to end and never

    I thoroughly enjoyed The Choice from beginning to end and never wanted
    to put it down. A realistic, fascinating story of a young woman in
    1975 who chooses the loving option of adoption. A mysterious older woman
    has a recommendation for 17-year-old Sandy which she acts upon. The
    reader will eventually learn who that older woman is and why she gave
    Sandy the advice she did. The young Sandy chooses life for her own
    twins, and ultimately reconnects with them as young men. She is forced
    to navigate the trecherous waters of the justice system, and does so
    willingly to ensure the safety of another young woman and her unborn
    child. Through Sandy's selfless love, she again saves a son's life,
    rescues a woman and her children, and ensures the safety of an unborn
    girl. The short synopsis above doesn't begin to delve into the depth
    of characters in this novel. It is excellent and well worth reading. In
    spite of disappointments, danger and injury, all ends well. Enjoy! A
    sincere thank you to Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse for providing
    us with a free copy in exchange for an honest review. We loved this
    book. -- Gail Lewis

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    Well when I first started reading this book I wasn¿t so sure abo

    Well when I first started reading this book I wasn’t so sure about it.
    To me, the first part of the book seems rushed and some lines and parts
    feel a little cliche. I was like yeah, yeah, yeah same old same old,
    I’ve heard this story before, give me something new. But sticking with
    it, the second part improved greatly, I found myself getting to know and
    really relate to these characters. (I am trying so hard right now, by
    the way, to write this review without spoilers because there are so many
    things I could say in more specific details, but I don’t want to give
    away huge chunks of the plot). By the end of the book, I was reading as
    fast as I could, trying so hard to find out what would happen next. When
    I finished, I had tears in my eyes and the story had moved me deeply. As
    someone who did mock trial in high school and Model UN in college, I
    appreciated the legal aspects of it as well. The only other thing is
    that I’m not so sure I liked was the whole prophecy thing. It was a
    little too mysticism feeling for my liking, but I could look past that
    to the overall story itself and I understand how it furthered the plot.
    I think this book reminded me a little of Jodi Piccoult’s work, one of
    my favorite authors. I say that because of the interwoven ethical/moral
    dilemma, interaction with the legal system, and strong
    relationship/family components. I appreciated also that it was a
    Christian book on the subject of unwanted pregnancy and the choice
    between adoption, abortion, or parenting without ever coming across as
    preachy or holier than thou. It was refreshing. I think if you have ever
    been involved in the pro-life movement (as I have) that you will find
    this book a mostly enjoyable read. Disclosure: I was provided with a
    free e-book copy of this in exchange for my honest review. These
    thoughts and feelings are 100 percent mine and 100 percent real!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    A TIMELY NOVEL

    It's 1974 in a small town in rural Georgia, and seventeen-year old Sandy Lincoln is pregnant. She's a nice girl from a good family. These things don't happen in her world, and decisions have to be made. Ultimately, the choice is hers, and she is the one who lives with that choice for over thirty years.

    Over thirty years later, another unwed teenager comes into her life, and Sandy is forced to relive her choice once more. One choice made thirty years before affects more lives than she would have ever imagined.

    Do not start this novel until you have plenty of time or do not need to sleep. Once started, it cannot be put down. In light of the continuing debate in the political arena concerning Roe v. Wade, this novel is very timely. It causes the reader to look the issue as concerning real people, not just a political argument. The choice that a woman makes truly does have generational repercussions. The novel explores those repercussions, as well as the emotional fallout experienced by the entire family during a teen pregnancy. It was a very balanced view of the entire issue and was not presented in a biased manner. Added to that was the drama of Maria's story and how that unfolded, and that is why I was up until 4 a.m. But it was worth it.

    I only wish I could give it more than 5 stars....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Powerful Choices

    Back in 1974 Sandy Lincoln finds herself pregnant, a gifted High School senior. Roe v Wade has passed and several people ...including Brad her boyfriend want her to have an abortion.
    Instead Sandy goes to live with her Aunt Linda in Atlanta, and decides to have the baby, but give it away for adoption.
    The first part of the book is the life Sandy leads leading up to the birth. What a remarkable young woman she is. There was an incident when she was only a few months along, where she meets and elderly woman named Rebecca who tells her she is going to have twins and one will kill the other...how unsettling!
    Thirty-three years later the book begins again, and Sandy has a well established career. She befriends a pregnant 16 year old, and opens up old wounds for herself. There is a lot of action and heartache ahead for her.
    The book does deal with some tough subjects, rape, teen pregnancy, abortion, adoption. It is very well done story, and a real page turner. Don't miss it.

    I receive this book through Litfuse Publicity tours and the Publisher Thomas Nelson, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The first book I have read by Robert Whitlow and found it truly

    The first book I have read by Robert Whitlow and found it truly a
    inspirational book. I will look for more of his books in the future.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2