Customer Reviews for

The Choice

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Rutland, Georgia, 1974. One year after Roe v. Wade has become ¿

Rutland, Georgia, 1974. One year after Roe v. Wade has become ‘law’ of
the land. Back then, girls were hustled out of school and forced to
make other accommodations to have their babies before returning to
school. That year, Sandy Lincoln, a senior at Rutland High Sc...
Rutland, Georgia, 1974. One year after Roe v. Wade has become ‘law’ of
the land. Back then, girls were hustled out of school and forced to
make other accommodations to have their babies before returning to
school. That year, Sandy Lincoln, a senior at Rutland High School, gets
pregnant by her football hero boyfriend, Brad Donelly. He tries to
manipulate her into an abortion with the tantalizing offer of marriage
later on. Her parents are supportive in helping her make a better
choice. Sandy ends up living with her aunt Linda, her mother’s
sister, in Atlanta, Georgia, until her baby is born. However, on her
way to her aunt’s house, she stops at a gas station to purchase a drink,
when a mysterious old woman approaches her with a prophecy and a warning
about the babies she is carrying. This warning and prophecy plays an
integral part in her choice of where she places her babies for adoption
and why. Thirty years later, her choice will come full circle in ways
she never thought possible as she tries to help a pregnant teenager who
has been raped. Robert Whitlow, in The Choice, takes us down the
difficult road of being a pregnant teenager with monumental choices to
make about her pregnancy, trying to do what’s best for her babies, and a
heartbroken grandmother who wants to keep her grandchildren. We are
given an in-depth, personal view of Sandy’s choices, which are far from
simple. They involve courage, selflessness, a broken heart, and a
heartrending, yet beautiful gift of adoption to childless couples
seeking a child. The story depicts how teenage pregnancies affect not
only the pregnant teenager, but the babies, grandparents, father,
siblings, extended family, adoptive family, etc. Our sins don’t just
affect ourselves–they have a rippling effect that courses through many
lives. A boomerang episode transpires thirty years later, when Sandy is
a teacher at her old high school and a pregnant young Mexican teenager
who was raped comes to her for help. A school counselor throws you into
the world’s culture wars over women’s reproductive rights. The power
struggles that evolve are so relevant to today’s world, and emulate what
transpires in schools across the country regarding underage abortions,
only now more quietly and insidiously. The author gives a blow-by-blow
account of the intricacies of the battle of trying to choose life over
abortion for this young pregnant girl who is frightened by all the
circumstances. Lives are at stake. Will Sandy make the right choice?
Linda’s influence in the matters of truth, Sandy’s own faith, and the
faith of many others in the story help to show the ultimate decision
should rest in God’s design for our lives. Though we stumble and fall,
He is always there to help us make the right decisions if we but call
upon Him. The author wrote the book to honor mothers . He has an
intended irony in the selection of his book title, The Choice. It plays
on the word “choice,” showing that “choice” can also mean a woman’s
decision not to abort. Sandy is unselfishly “pro-choice”–’choosing’ to
allow the babies to be adopted. Kudos to the author to stress this
important aspect!!! This book was provided free by Amy Lathrop and
Christen Krumm of the Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest
review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.

posted by onedesertrose on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Te previous reviews were obviously planted

However, As a BirthMother I can honestly say this story starts out realistic to most cases of the decade but ends inlike most reununions, especially where boys/males are adoptees. Good read. Quirky rushed ending.

posted by 9222094 on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    Another great by Robert Whitlow!

    I have read all Robert Whitlow's books and was so excited to read this, then to be asked to review it. I thoroughly enjoyed it, but I will admit that his Greater Love series raises the bar quite high. The Choice winds and turns around several characters, whose choices make for a surprising ending. I definitely recommend The Choice. I also would encourage you to read his other books, especially Greater Love, Deeper Water and Higher Hope. I purchased The Choice from Barnes & Noble, who asked me for a review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    Well when I first started reading this book I wasn¿t so sure abo

    Well when I first started reading this book I wasn’t so sure about it.
    To me, the first part of the book seems rushed and some lines and parts
    feel a little cliche. I was like yeah, yeah, yeah same old same old,
    I’ve heard this story before, give me something new. But sticking with
    it, the second part improved greatly, I found myself getting to know and
    really relate to these characters. (I am trying so hard right now, by
    the way, to write this review without spoilers because there are so many
    things I could say in more specific details, but I don’t want to give
    away huge chunks of the plot). By the end of the book, I was reading as
    fast as I could, trying so hard to find out what would happen next. When
    I finished, I had tears in my eyes and the story had moved me deeply. As
    someone who did mock trial in high school and Model UN in college, I
    appreciated the legal aspects of it as well. The only other thing is
    that I’m not so sure I liked was the whole prophecy thing. It was a
    little too mysticism feeling for my liking, but I could look past that
    to the overall story itself and I understand how it furthered the plot.
    I think this book reminded me a little of Jodi Piccoult’s work, one of
    my favorite authors. I say that because of the interwoven ethical/moral
    dilemma, interaction with the legal system, and strong
    relationship/family components. I appreciated also that it was a
    Christian book on the subject of unwanted pregnancy and the choice
    between adoption, abortion, or parenting without ever coming across as
    preachy or holier than thou. It was refreshing. I think if you have ever
    been involved in the pro-life movement (as I have) that you will find
    this book a mostly enjoyable read. Disclosure: I was provided with a
    free e-book copy of this in exchange for my honest review. These
    thoughts and feelings are 100 percent mine and 100 percent real!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    "The Choice" by Robert Whitlow is a book that really g

    "The Choice" by Robert Whitlow is a book that really grabbed me from the beginning.It's a thought provoking story about choices and how they affect our lives.The year is 1974 and Sandy Lincoln seem to have everything a young girl could want. She is a popular girl has her dream boyfriend and is a cheer leader. Her world is turned upside down though when she winds up pregnant. The choices she decides to make aren't easy, but she makes them none the less. Then we fast forward and the second half of the story becomes about a grown up Sandy, as a teacher she finds herself helping a teen girl in the same position she was in all those years ago."The Choice" is one of those books that once you start reading you really can't put down. I found myself drawn to the characters and what they were going thru. As a male reader of this story, I found myself thinking about the time period in which Sandy had to make her choice verses the difference in the way the world views things thirty years later when she is helping to guide someone else. Even though I hadn't heard of this author before picking up this story, I now will be looking for more of his work, because he certainly has a way of telling a story that will have it worming into your head and staying put even after you finish reading it.

    This book was provided by Booksneeze in exchange for an honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    In our pro-choice world, human life has lost it's value, from th

    In our pro-choice world, human life has lost it's value, from the threats against newly conceived life, to the increasing violence in our society, the author has created this work of fiction around a young girl's choice to give life to her twin boys and then the painful choice of giving them up for adoption.

    The book details the story of Sandy Lincoln who as a teenager falls pregnant and has to deal with the realities of unwed pregnancy. She grows up and thirty years after having chosen to give her twin boys up for adoption, finds herself helping a teenage girl decide between life or death for her own child. This decision plays out events that have Sandy revisiting her "choice" of more than thirty years ago.

    The journey of Sandy Lincoln is well written and honest, the pain of her choices realistically described. I was stuck in this book right to very end. A very good read.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    A Powerful Read

    The Choice is written by Robert Whitlow. Robert Whitlow is a very good author. I have read a few books of his and this one did not disappoint. This book takes place in the 70’s and is about a teen named Sandy Lincoln who becomes pregnant. She is faced with the choices that will affect not only her life but a lot of others for many years to come. I found Sandy to be quite grown for her seventeen years of life. The choice she has to make is made harder when a chance encounter with an elderly woman brings her a prophecy. The choices of adoption abortion what is the right choice. Once the choice was made Sandy thinks she has lived with it quite well until a pregnant teen finds her way into Sandy’s world. She finds herself making another life changing decision. What choice she makes is again a life or death decision. I have to say I was reading a biography and was finding that I was in need a little fiction so I picked this up thinking I would read a little of both but I found I could not put this book down. I was moved to tears during my reading of this book. I was wowed by how Robert Whitlow writes from a woman’s prospective so well and how he seemed to get what a woman must go through during this time. He writes so that you feel it along with Sandy. I found the main theme to be total sacrifice. I really enjoyed this book. I give this book my four star rating. I did receive this as a complimentary copy from Book Sneeze for my honest review. This review reflects my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1