Customer Reviews for

The Chosen Soul

Average Rating 4
( 427 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(212)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

MUST READ

I'm so impressed with this author. Every book I've read of hers leaves me wanting more. I burn through them so fast I'm disappointed when I finish them. I can't wait for the next book in the series!

**She has a monthly email newsletter, a blog and a FB page. I highl...
I'm so impressed with this author. Every book I've read of hers leaves me wanting more. I burn through them so fast I'm disappointed when I finish them. I can't wait for the next book in the series!

**She has a monthly email newsletter, a blog and a FB page. I highly recommend them since she keeps all her fans posted on when her new stuff is coming out.

posted by nicshack on May 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

***SPOILER ALERT***

I bought this book on my nook because I am currently waiting for the next book in a series. So I was bored. The book isn't bad and I was ecstatic that I paid only $1.00 for a 892 page nook book (the longest nook book I've read so far). However, I was not impressed with ...
I bought this book on my nook because I am currently waiting for the next book in a series. So I was bored. The book isn't bad and I was ecstatic that I paid only $1.00 for a 892 page nook book (the longest nook book I've read so far). However, I was not impressed with the characters, except for Raven. All the others are very underdeveloped and there are so many new characters throughout that I was pausing often to remember who was who. I was also unnerved with the fact at how easily Raven accepted the story of her birth night. She also immediately forgot her parents, which I could forgive because she was trying to escape with her brother. But once she reached Kriver, she had no questions, thoughts, doubts running through her mind! Even when she called Malphas, she accepted it and he taught her nothing before sending her back to Kriver! I am still reading and I can appreciate the excitement the author is trying to create, but it definitely has room for improvement.

posted by kristinbabe on May 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    MUST READ

    I'm so impressed with this author. Every book I've read of hers leaves me wanting more. I burn through them so fast I'm disappointed when I finish them. I can't wait for the next book in the series!

    **She has a monthly email newsletter, a blog and a FB page. I highly recommend them since she keeps all her fans posted on when her new stuff is coming out.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    MORE, MORE, MORE!

    If you like... A fast paced book Well developed character The twists and turns of a creative plot Then Heather Killough-Walden's "The Chosen Soul" should definitely be on your Must Read list. I couldn't put it down and didn't want it to end. The next book in the series, "Drake of Tanith", is due to be released in February 2012. I will be ready to continue the journey with Raven, Loki, friends and some not-so-friendly ones.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    GREAT READ!!!!

    I loved this book!! Its not really my type of read but I bought it because of the good reviews and they were right I couldn't put it down!! I can't wait for February so i can pick up where it left off!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Love love love this book!!!!

    This book was one of the best i have read in a long time. I would recommend this to book to anyone. The only thing that was disappointing is having to wait on the next book in the series. Can't wait!!!!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    I have read the chosen soul and drake of tanith. I loved them bo

    I have read the chosen soul and drake of tanith. I loved them both! Is there a third book coming and if so when can we expect it?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Best thing I've read in a while

    Loved the story and characters!!! The author is very descriptive; she makes you feel like you're right in the middle of it all... cant wait for the next book to come out in Feb. (In love with Drake, he's super sexy!!)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Enthralling

    This genre of fiction is not what I'd normally be drawn to, but I came across this book and decided to give it a whirl. Now I'm anxious for the next book to come out! The story sucks you in and I couldn't put it down...the author paints the pictures of the scenes so vividly!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book is a must read! I loved it!

    I got this book when it was free thinking ok i will give it a shot why not and i couldn't have been more pleased. The story grabs you i couldn't put it down and when i got to the end i wanted to scream for more. I can tell you this the waiting is killing me i cant wait for February to get here so i can read some more when the second book comes out. I was so impressed that i bought 5 more of her books with other series she is writing. This author will defiantly be added to my must read list

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    Hooked........... As usual I got to this series late. The great

    Hooked........... As usual I got to this series late. The great part of that happening is you have more than one book to read and your not sitting on pins and needles WAITING for the next one. The bad part, it happens anyway. This was fantastic and then I ran as fast as I could to Drake of Tanith. Now WAITING for next in series. ****Heather, stop what your doing and give me more of the chosen soul series****

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Amazing!!!!!!

    Amazing book, amazing author, different from anything i've ever read! Anyone else think this would be amazing as a manga?!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    The Chosen Soul by Heather Killough-Walden has to be one of my f

    The Chosen Soul by Heather Killough-Walden has to be one of my favorite books ever. It is one of the only books that I frequently re-read. This book offers everything I like to read. I am really anticipating the conclusion to the trilogy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2014

         

         

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Exceptional read.  Characters are well developed and fast paced.

    Exceptional read.  Characters are well developed and fast paced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    I love this book! Highly recommend it!

    I love this book! Highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    This book was one of the best i have read in a long time. I






    This book was one of the best i have read in a long time. I would recommend this to book to anyone. The only thing that was disappointing is having to wait on the next book in the series. Can't wait!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Great read!

    This was the first book I read by Heather Killough-Walden, and I knew I was hooked. I enjoy the mythology that she has created in this story, and the duality that plays out in the heroine. I am excited to see her story continue!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    Great read!

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    i had read the BBW series by HKW and completely fell in love wit

    i had read the BBW series by HKW and completely fell in love with them so naturally i decided to read other books by her when i purchased "The Chosen Soul" i didnt really think much of it. i didnt read this book right away but when i did i wanted to slap myself for being so stupid this book was amazing i love the relationship between Raven and Loki it reminds me a lot of my brother and i. this book had a surprising twist and was completely impressed with the world HKW was able to create overall if your reading this learn from my mistake and read this book you wont be disappointed this i promise you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    CAPTIVATING - This books draws you in from the first page to the

    CAPTIVATING - This books draws you in from the first page to the last, I didn't think I would like it but I was def. wrong, it's exciting and a page turner full of twist and turns, before I got to the end I ordered Drake of Tanith and can't wait to start reading, Heather knows how to pull you in from the very beginning, I hope there are lots more books to come in this series after Drake's story, there are def. enough characters to write about. Sign up for Heather's newsletter so you can keep on top of things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Greag unbelievable story...the author pulls you in and takes you for an unbelievable ride and loved the characters and the plot. Read the chosen soul and anything this author write I love all of her books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11