Customer Reviews for

The Chris Farley Show: A Biography in Three Acts

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    An amazing book!

    One of the best books I ever read. A story that tells a side of his life that a fan may have never knew. Being a child from the 90's and from Wisconsin I looked up to Chris. This book is told by his family and SNL family and they collectively do an amazing job. This book made me laugh and cry. Truely my favorite book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    The best

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Closure

    I never realized how unique Chris was until I read this book. The book is written well and provides unbelievable insight. It gave me the closure on Chris' death I never knew I needed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Must Read

    This book is a must read for a fan of Chris Farley, but it is worth the time for anybody. The book is composed of stories told by the people who knew him best. This book will make you laugh out loud, and cry over the addiction he suffered which he tried and tried to outrun but couldn't.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Surprisingly Well Written

    When I saw this book was written by Farley's brother, I thought it would be a "hearts and flowers" version of a very sad story, but it was not. He told the truth, no matter how unpleasant or unpretty it was, which was something I came to seriously appreciate while reading this book. As much as people feel they know about Chris Farley (the beginning, middle and end of his story), this book lets you know there was much much more to the man himself. I didn't think I'd like the "first person account" style of writing, but seeing the situation from each person's perspective was very interesting and allowed the reader to get a lot of information in a compact format. This book is one that will stay with the reader for a long, long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    A book you won't be able to put down!

    This book was amazing. If you have ever seen a Chris Farley movie then you should read this book. It provides great insight into the life of Chris Farley from his childhood to his final days. The style of writing which is mainly excerpts from interviews with friends and family of Farley provides various viewpoints and allows you to really see what he was going through. A great book that will make you laugh, cry and laugh again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    I grew up idolizing Chris Farley. He was my favorite actor and my favorite person from the SNL reruns I watched. I am 23 right now. The day he died I was on my way to middle school. I heard the report on the radio in the morning. I was sad all day. He was a huge influence on my life and why I strove to be as funny as people tell me I am. I was too young then to understand what could have caused him to be so into drugs and alcohol. After reading this book I feel like I know Chris a little better. It is a story of Chris told by those closest to Chris. Family and friends gather in one book almost as if they all got together one afternoon to just reminisce about him. The stories are sad, funny, depressing, and inspiring. If you like Chris Farley or have some sort of idea about who you think he really was, please read this, you will learn a lot about him and his life. Amazing Book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Chris Farley Show

    This book was excellent,You will laugh out loud, Get angry, Cry and feel your soul jarred. This is a raw journey into the life of Chris Farley from the perspective of his friends and family. I highly recommend this book for just about anyone, we all can relate to some part of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    The Best Book Ever!!

    I think the Chris Farley Show was the most amazing book that I have read from my reading career. The book was written by Tom Farley. Tom Farley talks about what Chris Farley did in his childhood to December 18, 1997. The book was educationa, funny, and sad at the same time. For people who love Chris Farley, this is the best book you would ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Be careful what you ask for

    You pick up this book because you love Chris Farley, you know the overview of his life and assume you are going to hear about his drug/alcohol abuse, but what you get can change the way you look at people. What a HUMAN BEING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fatty Falls Down....

    Chris Farley was a hilarious guy, a great friend, a devout Catholic, a generous giver and a raging alcholic and hardcore drug user! <BR/><BR/>This biography of his life, written by his brother Tom Farley and Tanner Colby is excellent. I think they paid a great respect to Chris by writing this book. It covers Chris's life from childhood to high school/college, from his early comedy days in Chicago all the way to SNL and his untimely death in December 1997. <BR/><BR/>The book features short stories from over 100 of Chris's friends, family and fellow comedians. Tim Meadows, David Spade, Chris Rock, Lorne Michaels, John Goodman and Tom Arnold just to name a few. <BR/><BR/>Like most of America, I loved Chris Farley on SNL and his movies. Unfortunatley he couldn't love himself or get over his idea that no one really liked him for him, they just wanted to see "fatty fall down". Not to mention his constant battle with drugs, alcohol and depression throughout his career. <BR/><BR/>This book will make you smile and laugh (hard) at times and then make you sad as Chris slips away up until his death. <BR/><BR/>Before Chris died he had many other projects set up that we never got see like, The Gelfin w/ Vince Vaughn, which was never finished. Chris was the original Shrek, wow, how funny would that have been and he was in line to play the lead character in the movie Cable Guy, Jim Carrey eventually took the part. <BR/><BR/>Great book, amazing life story of a once in a lifetime comedian!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    An interesting and honest account

    I felt the book portrayed Chris as honestly as it could. He was born with an addictive personality and he could not or would not rise above it. I thought the way the book was written made it interesting 'to get the many viewpoints on Chris'. I came away from the book feeling sad. Chris was so talented, and yet doomed by his personal weaknesses. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in a more complete picture of Chris Farley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    Amazing Read...

    If you were around in 1997, then you remember Chris Farley's death and you remember how he died. Obviously this is not a book for the 'younger' generation of fans. It is a deep, emotion evoking look into someone's life written by those who lived it with him. It is very candid ,and is brutaly honest about Chris' addiction. There are parts that make you smile, cry and laugh out loud. Highly recommended.. just don't go into it being judgememtal of those with addictions. Chris wanted to change, he tried to get better... sometimes the addiction can be more powerful than you can handle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    I Care - Good Book

    Do we really care about famous people who live sadly and die this way? Ultimately, the answer is no. Huh? I care very much about people who lived sadly and died that way. A mother of 4 children not caring is pretty sick to me. This may not be a good book for young kids due to some of the adult themes, but what better way to equip a young adult then by telling them about people who lived like this. You went and purchased this book so obviously you wanted to read about Chris Farley, but do not want to know how someone becomes Chris Farley. Let's hope none of your kids run into problems in life, since they will have no coping skills because all they read about was the good, and never the bad in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    A Peak into the World of Addiction

    At first I picked up this book because my mom was Chris's middle school teacher at Edgewood. I figured it would be a good laugh and maybe explain a little about his death. I was definitley surprised to see my mom's name and my hometown mentioned in the book! What a kick!It was also fun to learn that he was the 1st Shrek! I was not, however prepared for how deep the book was... how brutally honest it was about his life, his addictions, possible OCD, and his accidental death. It really helped me to see why one of his friends,Chris Rock, walked awy form his show for awhile.Hollywood needed Chris Farley, he did not need them. He had everything he needed at home, in Madison, with his real friends. All families have disfunction... his family was able to write about it. His brother did a great job of giving different people's views, they did not all agree. So you got a snap shot into the many sides of Chris. The book read well and made me cry at the end... addiction and mental illness are sad and scarey. My friend's son had the choice to do anything he wanted on his birthday... he chose to invite a few friends over to watch Chris Farley DVDs and eat pizza. I wish his family could know that... know that children loved him... not for money... just for fun... the thing Chris loved most.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    Chris Farley Show: A Biography in Three Acts

    The book gives many amazing details about the very funny Chris Farley, but does almost nothing to explain why he was like this. His early life seems to be full of indicators that he was a troubled young man in need of help. AND that is BEFORE he discovered booze and drugs. It was nice to know that when not snorting or drinking or hiring hookers he had time to do some charity work and was nice to a homeless man. Folks, that is exactly what people with disorders do. Going to church that often without a major change makes one wonder what he was praying for. Even the worst of people do nice things from time to time. Nixon prayed daily and Hitler loved his dogs. George Bush is a Christian, so Farley shouldn't be mistaken for a Holy Man with demons. The interviews which are the thread of the book are well chosen and create a narrative that takes us to his demise. The actual authored portions of the book are generic at best and at times seem like a cheering section for a losing team. Before we put a man like Chris Farley on a silver platter, remember that junkies become junkies first and foremost because they like getting high. He overdid it until it overdid him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    Chris Farley Show: A Biography in Three Acts

    I bought the book for my son who loved TOMMY BOY and I thought it would be a good way to get him to read. Good mother that I am, I thought maybe I should read it first, so I did. I am so glad I did. I am a parent of 4 children and can only say that what was allowed in that family, as told in the book, is very sad. This is a troubled boy who becomes a troubled man. Yes, along the way he makes people laugh and he apparently helps some old man and he goes to church regularly. But, let's not believe that for one minute he was doing these things for noble reasons. At best, he felt guilty. I also felt a little awkward that his brothers and friends who in life did nothing to help are here telling stories about him post mortem. I finished the book and immediately gave it to a local charity. My son will not read this book. Do we really care about famous people who live sadly and die this way? Ultimately, the answer is no.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Chris Farley Show: A Biography in Three Acts

    THE CHRIS FARLEY SHOW does a great job at giving us a very detailed portrait of what went on in the comic's life, it just doesn't let us know what the demons were that drove him to a life of self destruction. Authors Tanner Colby and Tom Farley (Chris brother) did amass a stockpile of interviews, but I got the feeling that either they were afraid to ask the really tough questions or just did not know how. How could so many people accomplish nothing with him? I saw an earlier review that spoke about using this book as a guide to help young people who might face similar issues. As a high school guidance counselor, I would have to say that I would not suggest this book as helpful in dealing with addiction primarily because offers no help to an addict or those who love him. Keep in mind that for many at risk young people, Chris' life may still seem cool. To a 17 year old, 33 seems old. Add to that the fact that he was famous, wealthy and partied, and it can seem like a pretty cool way to go. The book is just a chronological list of stories about Chris. There is not one bit of empathy for the man and that is a darn shame. Understanding Chris Farley better might have helped us understand is demise and to have learned something from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Explosive Talent, Crippling Disease

    If you are a Chris Farley fan, this is a keenly accurate depiction of Chris through the eyes of those closest to him throughout his life. Tanner Colby has brought this book in an easy to read excerpt style. Quotes from his family,his spiritual mentors,co-workers and friends make up almost the entire story. With some longer asides from Farley's brothers Tom, Kevin and John. Hysterical young Chris stories, frank admissions of family disfunction, and a chilling lonely view of a kid in a candy store who couldn't cope with his insecurities. A book with so many personal perspectives on Farley cannot lie. Farley Show is a cross section study in alcoholism and addiction that just happens to be set in the limelight. The frankness with which some of Chris's closest co-horts speak is fresh, and clear with very little fluff and false praise. If you or someone you love is struggling with addiction, depression, obsessive compulsive disorder, or you just want to remember Chris Farley once more, this is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2