Customer Reviews for

The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life

Average Rating 5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    This is the parenting book I have been waiting for. Every parent

    This is the parenting book I have been waiting for. Every parent should read this. There are not only telling you what to do but also examples how to do it which makes so much sense esp. to new parents. Thanks so much for the team that wrote this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    The Christian Parenting Handbook couldn't have come at a better

    The Christian Parenting Handbook couldn't have come at a better time! What we had been doing definitely wasn't working, and it helped us to see that what we were doing wasn't necessarily "wrong," but it wasn't "complete." The heart-based approach just makes sense, and I love that it is also the Biblical approach. We have already seen an improvement in our family dynamics since implementing the strategies in The Christian Parenting Handbook, and it's definitely something I'll keep handy as our kids get older and we go through different life stage (and parenting) shifts!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    The short chapters make this a practical and easy read for busy

    The short chapters make this a practical and easy read for busy parents who still very much care about raising great kids!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for

    The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Lifeby Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller is a practical guide for parents with 50 strategies to implement in the home. Scott and Joanne gathered the most common questions and answered them with true to life stories, biblical principles and hands on exercises to help parents practice ways to engage their children to turn their hearts toward the Lord. Some topics discussed are teaching responsibility, difference between tasks, problems and conflict, how not to argue, teaching kids how to communicate wisely, solving instead of whining, and addressing anger in children. These are just a few topics from the 50 short chapters packed with good information you will refer back to often.

    I respect and admire Scott and Joanne for their hard work in developing this useful book. I agree with the principles shared in this book. I see where I need to work at managing myself better as a parent and how to relate to my children in a more positive way. This book might be the catalyst to changing both my life and the lives of my children. I was so excited to read this book and share this wonderful resource with you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    This handbook teaches a different philosophy on parenting.  It w

    This handbook teaches a different philosophy on parenting.  It warmly presents a biblically sound, heart-based approach to addressing everyday issues that make parenting a challenge.  It's quick reference format gives strategies on how to deal with anger problems, bad attitudes, and blaming others, for instance, by instructing parents on "how to" develop character, teach wisdom, and promote effective communication. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Great resource for parents! Highly reccomended for parents with

    Great resource for parents! Highly reccomended for parents with young children but applicable to all ages. Thanks to Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller for this resource.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    As a Children¿s Pastor I am recommending that anyone with childr

    As a Children’s Pastor I am recommending that anyone with children, grandchildren, people who plan on having children, or work with children should buy this book. The wisdom packed into each of the short readable sections is an incredible quick resource available when you need it. This a book you need to have on your kindle and several in print so you can keep one in your car and have one at your fingertips when you need encouragement, support and ideas. I love the heart of the authors who get right to the heart of the matter.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Great, practical, and implementable ideas! When I first saw the

    Great, practical, and implementable ideas! When I first saw the image with the caption "If you find yourself nagging your child for the same thing over and over again, or yelling out of sheer exasperation because the same problem continually surfaces, it's definitely time for a different plan." I knew God had pointed me in the right direction. We have been long overdue for a new plan. I love the layout of the book. Short, easy to read and navigate, and always referenced to the Bible. I have seen not only a transformation in my children's heart in the short time we have been implementing these ideas, but also a change in our hearts as parents. I see situations differently, and can truly see my children differently and begin to nurture them to be the young men and women God intended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    The authors give wonderful and useful advice on parenting that i

    The authors give wonderful and useful advice on parenting that is good for parents of all age children. Its never too late to buy this book and get to work shaping the hearts of your children. Biblical foundations to help you shape your childs heart, to create a happier environment, a happier family, less stress- who doesn't want that? You wont be sorry you invested in this book- even your kids will thank you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    I can't wait to own a hard copy of this book so I can mark it up

    I can't wait to own a hard copy of this book so I can mark it up to my content!  All 50 principles gave me something to think about and work on in my disciplinary skills.  Choosing to use these principles WILL make me a better parent to my three beautiful children!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    I wish I would have had this book when our kids were young! It

    I wish I would have had this book when our kids were young! It is full of wisdom and addresses the uniqueness of each child God gives us. Influencing the heart instead of outward behavior has always been the focus of Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller in previous books, which is an approach that I believe encourages lasting godly character. The book has short, practical chapters with real life stories, and it also has an index at the end of the book so specific issues can be looked up easily.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    This book, aptly titled a handbook, has changed the game for me

    This book, aptly titled a handbook, has changed the game for me as a parent.  Short, digestible chapters with content so fresh, common-sensical and straight forward that I've found my mouth a gap more than a few times.  Solid biblical explanations for ways to touch and influence the *heart* of our children for a purpose way beyond themselves.  I can't speak highly enough about this book - the authors have, and share a remarkable insight that enables parents to be effective in making lasting, impactful changes in their relationships with their children.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    When Joanne and Scott say in the introduction, "You're hold

    When Joanne and Scott say in the introduction, "You're holding a book of ideas," they aren't kidding!  If you're looking for a treasure trove of parenting ideas that goes beyond clever quips and coy research to truly heart transformational truth, you're going to want to pick up this book. As the title says, it's a handbook. You'll want it close by for reference relevant to almost any situation or any question you'll face as a parent.

    As a parent, you're also looking for more than a plethora of ideas, you're also looking for an overarching way of thinking that breathes vitality into your family life. Scott and Joanne provide the Biblical foundations that are essential for looking beyond the parenting pressures of day-to-day life and into eternally valuable insights that will sustain and energize your journey.

    The authors don't sugar coat their principles or try to make parenting seem easy. They acknowledge the difficulties, but provide more than adequate inspiration to accompany many truths that will equip parents well. They often suggest things that may take a little more work on the surface, but will greatly improve the results and increase the satisfaction and sense of purpose along the way.

    Oftentimes, we as parents feel we're constantly in the corrective mode and trying to "get kids to behave." This book offers a refreshing approach that focuses on building relationships, the joy of great character, building on strengths and a life of wisdom leading to success. I feel a sigh of relief coming on and see the sun of hope rising on the horizon!

    This book is super-charged with practical and easy to find advice and, more importantly, it is infused with a Christ-focused way of thinking about the parenting journey. It is a proactive versus reactive approach that will empower you to be a great parent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    This book offers parents a way to keep focused on the goal of sh

    This book offers parents a way to keep focused on the goal of shaping a child's heart in very practical & quick chapters! It offers sensible
    advice, practical examples, and refreshing solutions. It's the kind of book that you can reference often or read through the entire thing
    to get great parenting tips that you can locate by topic. I know that I will be using it over and over just to help myself stay focused on what
    is important with my children! Love this book! So helpful! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    This is an excellent resource for all parents to use regarding b

    This is an excellent resource for all parents to use regarding biblical based parenting. Fifty easy to read chapters that allow you to quickly flip to the right topics for the immediate issue in your child's life. You can find wonderful ways to relate to your child, ways to discipline your child, ways to encourage heart-based behavior that will CHANGE their behavior, and scriptural references to be able to relate to. I highly recommend this book to all parents with children of any age!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    Are you a parent?  Then this handbook is a must have resource fo

    Are you a parent?  Then this handbook is a must have resource for you.  Every parent needs to constantly think about their parenting approach and this book has been the best resource that I have ever found to help do just that.  This book is 50 short chapters (amazing for busy parents like me) and it is very practical.  It is thought provoking and helps you through the planning/implementing process of taking on a heart-based parenting approach.  It is a handbook that can help you now and long term as you move your kids into mature, productive, Christian lives.    

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    Relational Parenting, an encouraging perspective. I've read two

    Relational Parenting, an encouraging perspective. I've read two other books by these authors; Good and Angry and Say goodbye to whining, complaing and bad attitudes in you and your children. I loved both of those books and learned so much about reaching my childs heart and not only focusing on behavior. This book was no different, but it's layout was very unique. 50 short easy chapters that are easy to read yet full of depth and practical content. I'm going back through the book with a highlighter this time. I've bought and read many parenting books and some are better than others. This will be one you quote to your friends and one that rings in your ears as you parent your children. Loved this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    Like a cook with their favorite recipe book or mechanic with a s

    Like a cook with their favorite recipe book or mechanic with a shop manual, this a book you'll want to read over and over and keep handy on your shelf for quick reference. The concise chapters and to-the-point advice is perfect for parents needing solid, biblical help at the speed of life. You'll want a copy for yourself and for anyone else who works with children. Excellent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2014

    This is a wonderful parenting guide that teaches you how to pare

    This is a wonderful parenting guide that teaches you how to parent from the heart and reach the heart of your children.  This is a must read for all parents and should be on every parents bookshelf at home for reference.  Love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    I received The Christian Parenting Handbook by Dr. Scott Turansk

    I received The Christian Parenting Handbook by Dr. Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller through the Booksneeze program. Mind you I’ve read SEVERAL parenting books, as a mom of 3 very strong willed children I have had to as a means to stay sane. The biggest thing that grabbed me was the introduction. Not even the ‘meat’ of the book and the strategies offered were these: 
    1. Begin with Prayer.
    2. Build on a biblical foundation
    3. Think long term
    4. Remember what’s important
    5. Watch for variations on a theme
    6. Focus on the heart.
    Of course, why didn’t I think of those? The other thing that struck me was that right off the authors of this book tell you that this book is not the be all and end all of parenting. This book is a book of ideas and ways to implement those ideas as a parent with a potentially hectic lifestyle. Although all of the book was very informative, innovative and just generally well written my favorite chapter dealt with the subject of consistency. It’s an area where my husband and I have beat ourselves silly trying to be consistent and sometimes it just doesn’t work. What a relief it was to hear other parents say, “consistency is overrated.” The reasoning behind this is that consistency is largely based on behavior modification as opposed to teaching your child to resolve an issue of the heart. 




    Well written and easy to read I will recommend this book to all the parents I know. I’d give it 5 out of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2