Customer Reviews for

The Christian Science Monitor Daily

Average Rating 3.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Excellent, Unbiased Reporting

I sincerely hope that the paper's association with The Church of Jesus Christ, Scientist doesn't turn people away from what is arguably the most fair and balanced paper I've read. The CSM doesn't rely on AP or Reuters articles, it doesn't endorse political candidates, a...
I sincerely hope that the paper's association with The Church of Jesus Christ, Scientist doesn't turn people away from what is arguably the most fair and balanced paper I've read. The CSM doesn't rely on AP or Reuters articles, it doesn't endorse political candidates, and the single essay on religion that appears in every issue - at the behest of the paper's founder, Mary Baker Eddy - is actually quite insightful and not preachy. At $10/month (the paper is published on weekdays only), you'd be hard pressed to find a better newspaper on the Nook. I enjoyed reading the NYT while I had it, but the paper's refusal to give Nook subscribers access to unlimited articles on the website - at an exorbitant $20/month - is ludicrous.

posted by shadimirza on June 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

B&N or CSM are Sleeping because...

There is something very wrong with the newspaper e-edition of CMS for Nook Color. The table of contents does not show so you can't navigate the paper and only see a few stories. I will give this a few more days and hope someone will correct before I cancel. I'm sure ...
There is something very wrong with the newspaper e-edition of CMS for Nook Color. The table of contents does not show so you can't navigate the paper and only see a few stories. I will give this a few more days and hope someone will correct before I cancel. I'm sure there are many others if not all.

posted by Hobdy on November 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent, Unbiased Reporting

    I sincerely hope that the paper's association with The Church of Jesus Christ, Scientist doesn't turn people away from what is arguably the most fair and balanced paper I've read. The CSM doesn't rely on AP or Reuters articles, it doesn't endorse political candidates, and the single essay on religion that appears in every issue - at the behest of the paper's founder, Mary Baker Eddy - is actually quite insightful and not preachy. At $10/month (the paper is published on weekdays only), you'd be hard pressed to find a better newspaper on the Nook. I enjoyed reading the NYT while I had it, but the paper's refusal to give Nook subscribers access to unlimited articles on the website - at an exorbitant $20/month - is ludicrous.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    Great International Coverage

    Great newspaper! My work deals international relations and I need to keep up on current events. The Monitor is more expansive than The Week and more readable than the Economist. Only issue is that the e version has typos frequently.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2015

    CS Monitor Daily Excellent Resource

    I read this daily with breakfast and feel connected to all pertinent issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Well-balanced, solid-reporting, and fair. Many times, actual so

    Well-balanced, solid-reporting, and fair. Many times, actual solutions are offered instead of hand-wringing and despair.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Love it

    News around the world everyday on my nook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    I have subscribed to the CS Monitor for many years and cannot imagine having to do without it! Since I am not a globe traveler, this newspaper is invaluable to give me insights into countries, geography, peoples, histories, problems, etc., in an inciteful way so that I can think and evaluate clearly and concisely. By thinking and reaching an understanding, I can get rid of predjudices, fears, false reports in order for me to be a better citizen, voter, thinker, pray-er beyond denominational religious beliefs towards a blessing mentality for all citizens of the world under the one God. I want to be a part of the solution regarding the world -- not a part of the problem. This newspaper enables me to do this. Over 100 years ago, when this newspaper was founded by Mary Baker Eddy, for people to do just what I am doing today - pray for the world, for ourselves, for all mankind. This was one of the main goals for its foundation, and through the years it has lived up to its consistently prize-winning and unbiased reporting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Be intelligently informed about the world

    I gift a relative with CSM who lives in remote area and has limited access to fair and balanced info about the world. She says one of best gifts I could give her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Love the Monitor-unbiased and balanced. Thoughtful, relevant and uplifting journalism at it's best. I appreciate and applaude the perspectives of the reporters-even those I disagree with. The writing isn't polarizing & more respectful of differences . . .my daughter reads the Monitor because of the variety, creativity and progressive viewpoints. It doesn't make the world seem so 'scary' as many papers seem to do these days. Just love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Thoughtful, original and well worth your time!

    The CS Monitor does a very good job looking at areas that are often ignored by other news outlets until a crisis breaks out there. Then they quote the work already done by the CSM. The Monitor's focus on Third World nations is always interesting and should be required reading for individuals who want to increase their understanding of what is happening in the Third World before a crisis or disaster strikes. It is always useful to hear the information from individuals with a deeper understanding of the local dynamics, and not just the London correspondenct sent in after the fact to report on trouble spots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Great reporting

    Its nice to get a paper that prides itself on reporting the facts and nothing but the facts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2