Customer Reviews for

The Christmas Cottage

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I love holiday romances and the Christmas Cottage is a sweet sto

I love holiday romances and the Christmas Cottage is a sweet story that is perfect for this time of year. It grabbed me from the beginning and I couldn't put it down. Quick witted characters and a wonderful love story make this a perfect holiday read!

posted by ReaderGirl87 on December 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Based on reviews, DISAPPOINTED!

COMPLAINTS:
Amateurish writing--
POV switches are random and distracting
SLOW start
Grammatical errors and misspellings are abundant
Emotional responses are missing-- characters simply don't respond
Overused cliches
Misuse of possessives (should've been plural...
COMPLAINTS:
Amateurish writing--
POV switches are random and distracting
SLOW start
Grammatical errors and misspellings are abundant
Emotional responses are missing-- characters simply don't respond
Overused cliches
Misuse of possessives (should've been plural)
Characters had weak motivation, weak goals, made it really hard to care!

Poor formatting--
no section/page breaks between chapters

Story could have been so cute!

Two stars. Cannot recommend. Wish I could get my money AND my time back.

posted by K_Holt on November 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Based on reviews, DISAPPOINTED!

    COMPLAINTS:
    Amateurish writing--
    POV switches are random and distracting
    SLOW start
    Grammatical errors and misspellings are abundant
    Emotional responses are missing-- characters simply don't respond
    Overused cliches
    Misuse of possessives (should've been plural)
    Characters had weak motivation, weak goals, made it really hard to care!

    Poor formatting--
    no section/page breaks between chapters

    Story could have been so cute!

    Two stars. Cannot recommend. Wish I could get my money AND my time back.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    The Christmas Cottage by Samantha Chase The Christmas Cottage w

    The Christmas Cottage by Samantha Chase

    The Christmas Cottage was extremely enjoyable to read and was difficult to put down.  It was easy to get involved with the interesting plot and modern characters.  It was fascinating and almost magical.

    I would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good romance novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    I love holiday romances and the Christmas Cottage is a sweet sto

    I love holiday romances and the Christmas Cottage is a sweet story that is perfect for this time of year. It grabbed me from the beginning and I couldn't put it down. Quick witted characters and a wonderful love story make this a perfect holiday read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Such a sweet and heartwarming tale!

    I'm very happy I stumbled across Samantha Chase's books. They are anything but disappointing! It took 12 years for Ean and Lacey to come together, but they finally did it and the web that Ms. Chase wove while bringing them together was fun and delightful! I immediately purchased the next book, Ever After, and am finding it just as hard to put down. Great short story (around 100 pages)!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    I can't wait to read this one!  Saving it for my flight right be

    I can't wait to read this one!  Saving it for my flight right before Christmas...can't wait!  Love this author!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Ok, shorter than I thought

    It always seems like the pages differ depending on your device. On my IPad mini, it was about 90 pages. Ava was annoying as hell and I have no idea why Lacey would ever be friends with her. Taking her out of the picture, Lacey's story of her long time crush on her best friend's brother was typical. The ending was abrupt and downright unbelievable. Cute, quick read at best

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

    While the story was OK, it was very predictable. There were num

    While the story was OK, it was very predictable. There were numerous spelling, grammar & sentence structure issues. All these errors took away from the enjoyment of the book. Should have been more carefully edited. Needed a proof-reader to go over this one prior to publishing. For all of the above reasons, only gave it 3 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    3 1/2 stars

    Short romantic novel and an easy read. Interesting from the very first page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Good Book really enjoyed it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Love to meet characters who are so true to life.

    Author did great job of getting you hooked & keeping your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Lacey and Ean were done in by a snow storm...but they kept warm.

    Lacey and Ean were done in by a snow storm...but they kept warm.  Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    This is a very nice short read romance novel.

    I enjoyed reading the story on my color nook because it was a short story and I was reading it before Christmas. I liked the interaction of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Lovely story

    I wasn't sure what I was expecting from this book. It was a nice enjoyable and quick read, but I felt it was missing something, just couldn't quite place what it was. I guess you would enjoy reading it in front of a fire with a cup of hot chocolate and a blanket!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Good

    Good Christmas romantic story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Recommend

    I felt it was a little slow at times, but I still found it to be a very enjoyable Christmas romance. Already purchased the next book to read. JudyE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Simply sweet

    A very sweet short story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2