Customer Reviews for

The Christmas Quilt: Quilts of Love Series

Average Rating 5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    A sequel to ┬┐A Simple Amish Christmas┬┐, Annie and Samuel are rev

    A sequel to “A Simple Amish Christmas”, Annie and Samuel are revisited in Mifflin County, Pennsylvania. Life is busy for them as the Christmas season approaches. Added to the hustle now is Annie’s friend, Leah, who is expecting her first child. Not having an easy pregnancy, troubles in her marriage and a few surprises, Leah needs Annie more than ever. Hoping to finish the crib quilt before Leah delivers, Annie discovers the quilt may mean more than originally expected…

    A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
    I really enjoyed the visit once again to Samuel and Annie. Weaving the story around a quilt actually worked very well, interspersed with different scripture lessons. Though I liked the prequel to this story, I adored this book even more. Once again learning a few of the Amish words and customs, I turned the pages quite quickly while being immersed in this truly delightful Christmas story. There are several books included in the Quilts of Love series which work just fine as stand-alone-reads.

    RATING:
    4 (out of 5) pennies

    *I received a complimentary copy of The Christmas Quilt from Abingdon Press for my honest review*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    Annie is a good quilter. She's sure she'll have time to stitch

    Annie is a good quilter. She's sure she'll have time to stitch the ninepatch quilt with Sunbonnet Sue and Overall Sam for her sister-in-law Leah's twins. Despite keeping up with her own chores, assisting midwife Belinda, and helping her husband Samuel tend to the community's medical needs, Annie figures she has plenty of time to sew before Leah's post-Christms due date. No pregnancy is totally predictable, least of all twin pregnancies.

    Complications arise which pair Annie and Leah together with long days away from their husbands and homes and lonely hours to fill. They turn to the quilt and each stitch sections while telling stories to illustrate the "fruits of the Spirit." As the quilt nears completion, Annie and Leah not only learn more about themselves, but they also learn God always has a plan for us.

    You will be drawn into the lives of the characters right from the beginning of the story. You may be surprised to find that you learn more about yourself and God's plan for your life as well. In The Christmas Quilt, Vanetta Chapman has stitched together a wonderful story of faith, hope, and love. What a perfect gift for Christmas or any time! Thank you, Vanetta, for another terific story with a message.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    The Christmas Quilt by Vannetta Chapman is a story that not only

    The Christmas Quilt by Vannetta Chapman is a story that not only touches
     your heart, but holds it.  We are reunited with characters whom we already
    love, having met them in A Simple Amish Christmas. The quilt becomes so
    much more than material being stitched together; it is a story in itself that
    evolves into 9 stories told within the framework of their lives. These two
    ‘sisters’ who take this journey with the giving and receiving of love and
    strength are held together by the end as strongly as those stitches.
     Reading this heartwarming tale will be a Christmas gift to yourself!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Annie has a bit of a procrastination problem. Whenever she sets

    Annie has a bit of a procrastination problem. Whenever she sets out to complete a project, she generally believes she will have more than enough time to complete it, yet each time, she finds herself rushing in an effort to complete it and often times has to ask for the help of others to get her projects complete. However in order to complete the quilt she has promised to make for her best friend, Leah who is expecting twins at the end of December, she honestly believes this time she will have more than enough time to complete it. If she can only find time between working with her husband Samuel, as one of the only certified Amish nurses as he makes his rounds as the town's herbalist and healer. She also lends a hand with the Amish mid-wife Belinda whenever she has need of her skills, along with herself being pregnant and expecting their first baby.

    When an unexpected call in the early morning hours to Annie and Samuel warrant their medical assistance with Leah, who has gone into premature labor, she knows that without proper medical help at an English hospital, Leah may lose both of the babies. She learns that if Leah wants any chance at all at bringing her babies into this world healthy, she must remain for as long as she can in a hospital in Philadelphia that specializes in the very medical issue that Leah is facing. But how can Leah remain in the hospital while her marriage seems to be eroding between her and Adam? It was one thing before when it seemed that they might find a way to work through the issue of the growing separation between Leah and Adam, but now with miles separating them, is there hope they can work to make things right between them, even though they can't be together?

    In the novel The Christmas Quilt by best selling author Vannetta Chapman, the true test of what love truly means is placed before not only Leah and Adam but for their families as well. With Leah's own health and that of her unborn babies being at the forefront of everyone living in the town of Mifflin County, Pennsylvania, it teaches each of them just how precious life really is and that none of us are guaranteed any amount of time here on earth. Those that believe they will have time to work things out another day are placed before the fire to take hold of the present and realize what a gift time truly is. This is the 11th novel in the Quilts of Love series and each can be read as a stand alone novel.

    I received The Christmas Quilt by Vannetta Chapman compliments of Abingdon Press and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed are my own. I rate this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars and for those that love a Christmas theme to their standard Amish romance stories, than this is truly one you won't want to miss. Each of the pieces of the quilt that Annie begins to piece together tell the meaning and stories behind each of the nine fruit of the spirit, love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, self control, and gentleness as a reminder of what our lives should look like to others as believers in Christ.This novel picks up the story of Annie and Samuel that readers were introduced to in A Simple Amish Christmas. A discussion guide is included as well as a sneak peek into Aloha Rose, the 12th book in the Quilts of Love series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    What a wonderful book. This book takes place three years after

    What a wonderful book. This book takes place three years after Annie left the community on her rumspringa to become a nurse. She later returned and married Samuel Yoder and together they meet the medical needs of their amish community. Annie's good friend and sister-in-law is pregnant with twins. They are very close and Annie goes with Leah to the hospital when Leah goes into premature labor. Annie is int he process of making Leah a baby quilt that is not quite ready. Leah has to stay in the hospital until the babies are born. Together Leah and Annie work on the quilt and mix stories of each block with family, patience, faith and love. This is a beautifully written story and Vannetta Chapman has done an excellent job.

    Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Wynn-Wynn Media in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Christmas Quilt, Quilts of Love Series by Vannetta Chapman W

    The Christmas Quilt, Quilts of Love Series by Vannetta Chapman
    Wanted to read this book because I've read most of the other books in the series and they are so varied-kept my interest. Love the holiday and have made one quilt for Christmas that I only bring out at that time.
    Pregnant Amish woman with some modern technology that helps with the medical problems that arise.
    The book really concentrates on the concerns the Leah, the mother has, fears that her husband doesn't love her, etc. very hormonal. Leah goes on about her life and does the laundry and hangs it outside where it's cold.
    Her friend has had a baby earlier and is attempting to find time to actually make her friends new babies a quilt with Sunbonnet Sue and Overall Sam on blocks as she's having twins. The very detailed layout, picking of right pattern, colors of the quilt are described.
    And the washing due to bleeding of the colors. While at the hospital she gets some yarn and starts crocheting a blanket, yellow for either a boy or a girl baby.
    Modern technology also we take for granted today=sonogram. Sad they don't believe in pictures of infants.
    Love that Annie is able to tell her a story for each of the Dutch children on the quilt. Some are about her early days at the hospital, some are passages from God. There are quite a few scriptures quoted that go along with the story line.
    Love the nine patch and the color sequences and I can just picture them in my mind. Thanksgiving day and the doctor pays a visit and tells them why and he has a story to share to help with the quilt making.
    The stories have themes of the nine fruits: love, joy, peace, patience, etc stories of the fruits of God's spirit.
    The community comes together to help pay the hospital bill and it's amazing what people can do with their hands!
    Comes with a glossary of foreign words so you can follow the story, discussion questions and an excerpt from the next Quilts of Love book=Aloha Rose.
    I received this book from Net Galley via Abingdon Press in exchange for my honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Annie's friend Leah is pregnant with twins.Leah is also married

    Annie's friend Leah is pregnant with twins.Leah is also married to Annie's brother Adam.Adam and Leah has been having some problems and has not been as close as they once were.As Annie starts the quilt,a medical emergency sends Leah to the hospital.She is admitted and must stay until the birth of her babies.Annie volunteers to stay with Leah at the hospital.She takes along the quilt to work on while she sits with Leah,hoping to finish it before the babies arrive.With every block comes a story,an a meaning.As the quilt is worked on,it brings changes to Leah.Leah faces another medical crisis. Leah's and the babies lives are at risk,and the doctors has no choice but to deliver the babies.Christmas brings miracles and the Christmas Quilt brings so much love in every stitch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    I am not usually a fan of Christmas stories but I know and love

    I am not usually a fan of Christmas stories but I know and love Vannetta Chapman's writing so knew there was a really good chance I would like The Christmas Quilt. I was close but not quite there. This book is my absolute favorite Christmas novel I have read yet!

    This is the story of two Amish women that are not only best friends but sisters-in-law as well. Annie left the Amish to get her nursing degree but returned to her childhood faith and is now happily married. Leah is expecting twins and things seem to be a little distant between her and her husband.
    When Leah has to stay in the hospital for an extended period of time Annie stays with her and the two women start working on the crib quilt together. Leah can't do much in that hospital bed so Annie starts telling a story for each block on the quilt. With 9 blocks they decide to tie the stories in with the Fruits Of The Spirit; some of these wonderful stories come from some rather unexpected sources.

    No spine-tingling danger or romance, nonetheless this book kept me reading and I hated to put it down. Each of the characters, especially Annie and Leah, became a friend. I hated to finish the book and say goodbye and since I haven't read the previous story featuring these characters it will be fun to visit with them again, or I should say visit with them before.

    Don't forget a box of tissues for you tender-hearted ladies. The Christmas Quilt is heartwarming and yet a little bit of a tear-jerker. Sweet with gentle lessons for everyone. Readers will not be disappointed in this lovely Christmas tale.

    A gentle and moving story this is a Christmas must-read for any lover of Amish fiction or wonderful stories in general.

    (A copy of this book was provided by the author for the purpose of this review. I did not receive any financial compensation for this review. I was not required to give a positive review. All opinions are my own.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    If The Christmas Quilt is your first Vannetta Chapman book, be w

    If The Christmas Quilt is your first Vannetta Chapman book, be warned, it will not be your last. This book follows A Simple Amish Christmas but is a stand-alone book. Vannetta has a unique way of weaving you into the lives of the characters in her books. The Christmas Quilt easily continues the lives of Leah & Adam and Annie & Samuel. Two things that impressed me the most is the reminder that ‘the Lord is our (my) strength and that it’s important to listen not only with our ears but our hearts as well. Leah & Annie share a common goal in their love of family. This is a great book to give as gifts during the Christmas season that can be read & re-read throughout the year. A definite must-read for Amish fiction lovers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    Fruits of Labor Annie took advantage of her rumspringa to becom

    Fruits of Labor

    Annie took advantage of her rumspringa to become a nurse. After returning to her Amish roots Annie married Samuel Yoder who is an herbalist tending to the medical needs of the community. Together Annie and Samuel have assisted in numerous medical situations. The local midwife had asked for their assistance in monitoring Annie's dearest friend and sister-in-law, Leah, who is pregnant with twins and due to deliver in less than two months. Annie and Leah are as close as sisters, and with Annie also pregnant the two are excited about raising their children together. Annie has been planning to make a quilt for Leah's bopplin, but is slow in starting it. She finally has all of the fabrics and is ready to begin when Leah goes into early labor and is taken to a Philadelphia hospital with a neonatal intensive care unit in case the babies are born too soon. Leah's husband, Adam has daily farm necessities to tend to, and with Annie's nursing experience he agrees for his sister to stay with Leah at the hospital where she had worked as a nurse. With much time on their hands Leah and Annie work on the quilt while they share their deepest feelings, and pray for God's presence in their lives. Each square has a special significance.




    In this Quilts of Love story numerous issues are broached. Leah and Adam's relationship had become stressful and communication had broken down. The stress of Leah's early labor brought numerous emotions and possible complications to the surface. As Leah and Annie spend a great deal of time in prayer and discussion their faith is increased. Vannetta Chapman has written a beautiful Amish romance interlaced with stressful circumstances and questioned faith while blending the lives of an Amish family and strengthening their ties. Issues of marital stress, complications of pregnancy, family, patience, faith and love are important factors brought to the surface in this beautiful story in combination with the significance of a very special quilt finished just in time for Christmas. This author is very creative and insightful, and her research into the subject matter is commendable! I highly recommend this book and would love to see a sequel!




    Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Wynn-Wynn Media in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    The Christmas Quilt is a long-awaited return to the family we vi

    The Christmas Quilt is a long-awaited return to the family we visited in A Simple Amish Christmas; Annie and Samuel, Leah and Adam, Rebekah and Jacob. Annie and Leah are anticipating the births of their first children. Annie decides to make a quilt for Leah's twins, and her decision to finish it before the babies are born becomes a mission for her and Leah. There are many nuggets of wisdom in this story for newlyweds, for new parents, for seasoned parents....as we travel this journey with them. Once again Vannetta Chapman has women God's gifts to us into the fabric of her book, gently guiding the readers into a sweetly simple faith grounded in trust that He knows what He is doing in our lives, and everything we go through will become some sort of blessing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    The Christmas Quilt is a complex story that centers on the birth

    The Christmas Quilt is a complex story that centers on the birth of twins to a young married couple. There are also many interesting side stories woven into the novel.

    At the beginning of the book, there seems to be strife and discord in the relationship of Leah and Adam—possibly brought on by her pregnancy. Leah and Adam, both young and immature, are just beginning to know each other as husband and wife, when their relationship is complicated by Leah’s pregnancy.

    Perhaps God arranged for additional complications in their young lives to give both Adam and Leah an opportunity to grow spiritually and also to grow in their love for one another before their family expands. Whatever the reason, we soon find the couple attempting to deal with a crisis they don’t expect and aren’t prepared for. Through it all we see how their friends, family members, and community rally to support them.

    I enjoyed seeing the growth and change of several of the characters, especially Leah and Adam. I love the way that the making of the quilt is tied in to their spiritual growth.

    If you like books about the Amish, quilting, or Christmas, I think you will enjoy The Christmas Quilt by Vannetta Chapman. It is a very satisfying read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Each stand-alone novel in the Quilts of Love series features a q

    Each stand-alone novel in the Quilts of Love series features a quilt with a meaningful story behind it. This delightful series has a cozy, down-home feel to it, but with a surprising amount of emotion and depth. While I have enjoyed several Quilts of Love stories, The Christmas Quilt is one of my favorites.

    This novel captures a lot of what I look for in a Christian fiction novel: a well-written story with characters who are real and that I care about, who face struggles and doubts honestly, and who grow spiritually as they live out a faith that is genuine. Vannetta takes us on a return visit to Annie and Samuel from 2010's A Simple Amish Christmas, but this story easily stands alone.

    I loved how this story involves two married couples who are both expecting their first child. At first, Leah and Adam struggle with foolish misconceptions as Leah feels unloved, while Adam fears that he won't measure up as a father. But Annie and Samuel's deep love is beautifully expressed by Samuel in a conversation about the bond of a long marriage: "I think each year that passes, two hearts become more entwined, like two vines growing side by side. Eventually it must become difficult to know where the beat of one stops and the beat of the other begins."

    I am unashamedly a fan of Amish fiction for three simple reasons: faith, family and community - and Vannetta has done a masterful job focusing on these elements in The Christmas Quilt.

    The nine-patch crib quilt that Annie is making for Leah - featuring Sunbonnet Sue and Overall Sam - becomes a major character. Readers will be moved by the touching way that Annie and Leah, inspired by the fruit of the Spirit qualities from Galatians 5, tell stories as they quilt of people in their lives who reflect each of these nine qualities. I also applaud the way prayer was shown to be of such primary importance in the characters' lives, as easy and natural as God intended it to be.

    The Amish believe in taking care of their own when needs arise, and they are amazingly successful at it. To support Leah and Adam when they are faced with high medical costs, the community puts together a benefit auction, for "It is biblical for all of the community to minister to our children - and to us - in our time of need" (Adam). And the essential role of family is beautifully summed up in Jacob's words: "Each of you are responsible for praying for these precious kinner, and also for helping raise them, for children need an entire family, not merely a mamm and dat."

    The Christmas Quilt is a feel-good read that both entertains and inspires, perfect for Christmas or any time. Highly recommended to those who enjoy inspirational fiction.

    This book was provided by Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    A story of love for ANY time of the year! I was SO happy to find

    A story of love for ANY time of the year!
    I was SO happy to find this book in the "Quilts of Love" series carries on with the love story of Samuel and Annie Yoder. I first met them in "A Simple Amish Christmas," and you should read that book first to fully enjoy this volume. Confession: I reread my copy before opening this book when it arrived in the mail. Yes, it's THAT good!)
    Annie and Samuel once again put their medical talents and compassion together to serve her brother and sister-in-law, Adam and Leah. All is not perfect in the outwardly placid Amish community, as the marital struggles of this young couple show us. Faced with a difficult pregnancy and a growing emotional chasm, The Yoders help the Weavers to make the best of an enforced physical separation when Leah is hospitalized. Both couples mature and, though the ending is happy, it is not without its surprises.
    I found this a heart-warming story, well worth reading over again ANY time of year. I love these families, and can only hope there will be a third (and fourth?) book in this series. Like a good quilt, Chapman brings together many different "pieces" and sews together a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    I just finished reading The Christmas Quilt and really enjoyed t

    I just finished reading The Christmas Quilt and really enjoyed this. I would gladly say that the author wove together a beautiful story of peace, forgiveness and family ties.


    The story begins as two young Amish women are preparing for their marriages on the same day. Annie and Leah share their feelings of joy and happiness at the coming of this happy event. The story progresses as both women, now married, are both expecting a child, or in the case of Leah, twins. Leah is married to Annie's brother and as her pregnancy advances she is no longer feeling the closeness to her husband and their marriage does not appear to be as happy as she had hoped or expected it to be at the time of their wedding.


    Leah's pregnancy starts to have complications and some serious problems associated with it. As time progresses, her husband, Adam, finds her curled up on the floor in the middle of the night. Realizing that she needs more help than he himself can provide for her, he contacts Annie and her husband, Samuel, for help. Samuel having some medical knowledge, himself, realizes that he too must call for help and an ambulance is summoned. Leah is brought to the hospital and after a time, it is realized she must go to yet another hospital for the care her two unborn children are so in need of. This will take her farther from her family but it seems there is no option.


    Annie realizing that Adam needs to care for their home and continue to work to help pay for the hospital expenses, finds a place near the hospital where she can stay and take care of Leah's needs.

    Each day she works on a quilt for Leah. The quilt takes on significant meaning as the two share scripture time together and special stories together. The two become close as the time progresses and Leah realizes how much Adam still means to her and Adam finds he too, greatly misses his wife. As the two await their child, their Amish community comes together to find ways to help them with their expenses due to the extended hospital stay.


    The stories and scriptural references begin to bind the two women together and help to calm Leah's fears and apprehension of the expected earlier birth of their children. With each day the tender feelings between Adam and Leah seem to be returning. This story gives wonderful hope that we can all find ways to heal wounds that have torn us apart from those that are the most important to us in our lives. It is a sweet book that helps us mend our souls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    In The Christmas Quilt, Vannetta Chapman takes readers back to M

    In The Christmas Quilt, Vannetta Chapman takes readers back to Mifflin County, Pennsylvania, and to the characters from her book, A Simple Amish Christmas. It was so wonderful to step back into this community and see how everyone was doing! A Simple Amish Christmas was the first book I read that was written by this author and it is one of my all time favorite books. You can read The Christmas Quilt as a stand alone book, as Mrs. Chapman has done a good job of explaining the back story. However, your reading of The Christmas Quilt will be enhanced if you will read A Simple Amish Christmas first.

    There are two sets of main characters in this book. Annie and Samuel are happily married and expecting their first child (boppli). Their love has grown over the two years of their marriage and this is a very exciting time for them. Leah and Adam are the other set of main characters and really the primary focus of this story. They both love each other, but their two year marriage is struggling. The struggles began during Leah’s pregnancy with twins that she is currently going through. What should be a joyous time for the couple has turned into arguments and much misunderstanding.

    The author has woven into The Christmas Quilt a beautiful story of healing. Through a scary and dangerous end of her pregnancy, Leah and Annie bond even closer than before. Through stories exemplifying different fruits of the spirit, a crib quilt and a marriage are stitched back together. These well-written characters truly felt like family. I so enjoyed the stories that were told as the quilt came together. And I loved seeing the story from the different points of view of the characters. Being able to see how Leah perceived a situation versus how Adam saw it, I was able to feel compassion for both characters.

    This was a wonderful book that I highly recommend to fans of Amish fiction and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    The Christmas Quilt, by Vannetta Chapman, was a heartwarming Ami

    The Christmas Quilt, by Vannetta Chapman, was a heartwarming Amish story. I have always enjoyed reading about the Amish. Chapman’s book was unique, because it included a lot about our own world. Leah needed to be in the hospital to postpone the birth of her babies, so Annie stayed with her.

    I thought the best part of the book was the different stories that Leah and Annie told while they worked on a quilt for one of the bopplin (babies). The quilt would have nine Dutch children. God showed nine fruits of the spirit in Galatians 5:22-23: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. Leah decided that they should tell one story per Dutch child square about a specific fruit of the spirit. She thought that while she was in the hospital she would work on improving herself. That is something I need to do in my daily life, so this was an inspiration to me.

    I highly recommend this book!

    Disclosure of Material Connection- I received The Christmas Quilt, by Vannetta Chapman, for free from Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    12/10/2013 REVIEWED




    THE CHRISTMAS QUILT
    By:
    Vannetta Chapman


    As the story unfolds you'll learn Annie and Leah are going to get married on same day (we call it a double wedding). Leah will be Annie's sister-in-law. She is marrying Annie's brother Adam.
    Leah and Annie get along great. Nice to be able to love and get along great with your sister-in-law.

    Two years later: you find out Leah is pregnant almost 7 months with twins and you got it Annie is pregnant too but only a few months along. Annie is only having one baby. Even as big as Leah is her and Annie head for town to shop, it is going to be Christmas soon . Annie is making a quilt for the baby for her sister-in-law her mother-in-law is making a quilt for the other twin, so Annie is there to buy material of purple and it just came in. After they shop they want to go visit Annie's Mom at the restaurant where she works.

    Leah is happy about the twins and becoming a Mother but she feels trouble brewing-Adam not the same toward her. Leah watches her sister-in-law and Samuel holding hands, laughing and looking so much in love, as she feels love is slipping away from her. Leah feels Adam is drawing further away from her.

    Leah loves her Mother-in-law and Father-in-law and Annie and Samuel very much and is happy to be in their family and they love Leah very much too.

    As Annie is trying to get the quilt made for Leah's baby things get in the way. God's plans are different then Annie's. Annie finds the quilt holds a far greater significance then she ever thought possible.

    I recommend this book highly if you love Christmas the Amish and love stories then this is the book for you.

    I received this beautiful book free from Abingdon Press for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review just an honest one. The opinions I have expressed are totally my own and no one else's.

    HAPPY READING!!!!!!!!!
    5 Star
    ISBN 13: 978-1-4267-5277-3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    My Thoughts On The Christmas Quilt What better way to get in

    My Thoughts On The Christmas Quilt




    What better way to get in the Holiday Spirit than to read a good, Amish story centered around the Christmas Season. Annie and Leah are very busy and patiently await their new little ones to make their sweet apparence into their family. While Leah and her husband Adam have always been very close, they are now drifting farther and farther apart. It was when Leah started having serious problems with the pregnancy and had to stay in a hospital in Philadelphia that each of them realized how bad they had treated each other. Thankfully Annie was able to stay with Leah the weeks she had to stay in this Englisch hospital.




    The Christmas Quilt is part of The Quilt’s of Love Series from Abingdon, and as with each story in this series, this one has a special meaningful quilt. For this quilt in this story, Annie and Leah works on the quilt while they are away from home awaiting the birth of Leah’s baby. As they added new pieces to the quilt, they talked about the fruits of the spirit, in comparison with the Christmas spirit. This helped these two ladies as they had to spend their time away from their families and especially their husbands. I loved this Amish story. Vannetta Chapman has away with Amish stories that make you come back for more. I would suggest reading Ms. Chapman’s book, A Simple Amish Christmas first because A Christmas Quilt is a Sequel. I just know you will enjoy them both, just as I have.




    Let these two wonderful Amish stories centered around the Christmas Season be the books you choose to read this Holiday Season.




    I received this book from the publisher Abingdon Press to read and review.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    The Christmas Quilt is a five star story. It is part of the Quil

    The Christmas Quilt is a five star story. It is part of the Quilts Of Love Series by Abingdon Press .  This story picks up where “ A Simple Amish Christmas” leaves off. 




    Annie is happy in her life, helping her husband Simon, The closet thing that the Amish have for a doctor, and Belinda the midwife. Her sister-in-law Leah,(married to her brother, Adam), is expecting twins. Annie wants to make a special quilt for the twins and wants it to be done before they are born! But then Leah gets really sick in the middle of the night and doesn’t get it finished before the twins are born.




    I had to keep turning the pages to see what was going to happen next! The scenes in this book were described so well I could almost believe I was there watching all of this happen!




    But God used the fact that the quilt wasn’t finished before Leah was admitted to an English hospital.  This story tells about special people that help Leah and Annie learn about the gifts of The Holy Spirit.




    The time that Leah is in the hospital teaches Adam and Leah important lessons and brings them closer together. This book teaches that love is unselfish and does things for others.




    There  are a couple of unexpected romances in this story. If you have read “A Simple Amish Christmas” you will be reunited with Annie’s brother and sisters. Even if you haven’t read “A Simple Amish Christmas” you will love this family and be able to follow along with the story perfectly.  However I encourage you to read both of these wonderful stories!




    I want to read more about Annie and Simon, Leah and Adam, and the rest of the family. 








    I was given a free copy of this book by Abingdon Press Fiction  for my honest review to be in the 2013 Christmas Blog Tour!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2