Customer Reviews for

The Christmas Star

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 5, 2013

    For Jimmy Reed things have changed¿life has become harder, he is

    For Jimmy Reed things have changed…life has become harder, he is angry at the world and he has no interest in Christmas…ever since his father gave his life for his country. While his mother puts up the Congressional Medal of Honor atop the tree each Christmas to remind herself of his bravery, all Jimmy can see is anger and betrayal. His father’s fellow soldiers, a mystery letter, an unexpected failed plan and mentoring all give Jimmy hope, as well as a refreshed look at life and events.

    A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
    The Christmas Star was very appropriately named, not only for the physical medal but what it all represented. Taking place during WWII, this story is also relevant today with all the families involved in loved ones missing Christmas. I enjoyed watching Jimmy work through his feelings/thoughts/ actions while finally coming to terms and accepting events of life. Jimmy learned the life lesson of giving which should be so prevalent at Christmas time (as well as throughout the year). Per his biography, Ace Collins is a very successful author whose books I will definitely consider reading in the future.

    RATING:
    4 (out of 5) pennies

    *I received a complimentary copy of The Christmas Star from Abingdon Press for my honest review*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    In Ace Collins' book The Christmas Star, Jimmy Reed doesn't want

    In Ace Collins' book The Christmas Star, Jimmy Reed doesn't want anything to do with Christmas. This year the community is excited about Christmas since everyone is home from the war--everyone except Jimmy's dad. Jimmy's dad had been killed in action and now his Congressional Medal of Honor was the only star on their Christmas tree. Feeling angry at the world, Jimmy was headed downhill fast. Looking for a quick buck. Jimmy tangles with the wrong crowd and doesn't think he can find a way out. Fortunately for Jimmy several individuals take an interest in him specifically the school bus driver Calvin and Audrey, a cute girl at school.

    Calvin becomes an unexpected mentor when he takes Jimmy with him to deliver Christmas presents to the less fortunate. In the process, Jimmy learns more about his father and the impact his father had on their community. As Jimmy discovers the true meaning of Christmas and what kind of person his father would want him to be, he tries to get out of the hot water he is in without causing himself or his mother to be hurt. Several twists and turns result in an unexpected resolution to this issue which the proceeds to precipitate several additional surprises which cause this Christmas to be extra special for Jimmy.

    The Christmas Star by Ace Collins is a warm enjoyable tale for the Christmas season. This particular tale appeals to both men and women. Individuals of all ages ranging from young people to the elderly will enjoy this story. My own pre-teen daughter can't wait to read it, and I look forward to passing my copy on to my own father as well. The Christmas Star is a 5 star story!

    I received a complementary copy of this book from Abingdon Press in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    The Christmas Star, by Ace Collins, was one of the most captivat

    The Christmas Star, by Ace Collins, was one of the most captivating and memorable Christmas stories I have ever read.

    The best part for me was the last half of the book, when I was really able to see the hand of God working in Jimmy’s life. It began with a man named Calvin and Matthew 25:35-40. Jimmy knew then how much trouble he would be in if he continued on the path he was taking. He knew he wanted a way out, but he didn’t think he would be able to do it.

    I learned a lot about hope and listening to what God is telling you. Some of the other people who were going to participate in the criminal activity were able to change, because God was talking to them and changing their lives. They all also knew there was always hope.

    I think every adult and older teen should read this book. It could help turn their lives around. Please find a copy today.

    Disclosure of Material Connection- I received The Christmas Star, by Ace Collins, for free from Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK Jimmy Reed is still dealing with hi

    MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK




    Jimmy Reed is still dealing with his losing his dad and even though he died a hero in the military, that doesn't stop the hurt. Jimmy finally finds himself in some dangerous situations and now has no way out of them, except for a miracle. Calvin the bus driver has nothing, but is always giving to people, and is always happy. When circumstances brought Jimmy and Calvin together, Jimmy's life started changing.




    I love Calvin and the way Ace Collins used Calvin's character to speak to Jimmy. Jimmy was thinking about money, but because of riding with Calvin while he gave out speical Christmas gifts, Jimmy realized that a person can be rich and not have money or anything. I appreciate the author writing a book such as this for all of use to read this Christmas season because it made me think more about giving than receiving, and reminded me that it is not how much money and things we have, but what we do with what we do have.




    I highly recommend Ace Collin's new book The Christmas Star for an awesome Christmas read! Run out and grab your copy now! Or better yet, click HERE and order it from Amazon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

    I adored this Christmas story and I learned the history behind s

    I adored this Christmas story and I learned the history behind some holiday traditions and songs as well.
    Character development and storyline were excellent elements of this faith building, heart warming story.  Young  Jimmy Reed had really lost his faith due to the loss of his father, but this Christmas season, he  shared  some eye opening revelations with a little help from his friends.  But would it be enough for Jimmy to open his eyes as well as his heart?




    I realize it is very difficult to write a Christian themed book and balancing the Christian aspects without the reader being offended and feeling like those aspects are being crammed down the reader's throats.     I  feel that Ace Collins achieved that precarious balance with his writing of The Christmas Star.   Those Christian aspects were indeed crucial to the story created, as Jimmy had been brought up in a home filled with faith.   Sometimes as with Jimmy's story, it's hard to hold onto that faith when something as big as losing your dad to a war occurs.   And sometimes it takes a culmination of Christmas miracles to rebuild the hidden faith we still keep in our wounded hearts.    This is a very well written book and it touched my heart deeply.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    This is not typically my kind of book; however, I felt this one

    This is not typically my kind of book; however, I felt this one made a personal touch with me as my grandfather served in World War II and I have had students lose their parents and watched their struggles where some turn to those wrong crowds and fall into a funk just as Jimmy did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    M

    Another book ruined by excessive plot spoilers. One even quoted passages from the book. Bn, how much more excessive can you get? Please, ban these posters. They are costing you sales. Ppl will not buy a book when these ppl tell every detail in their plot spoilers. Why buy the book when they tell you in their r?eview

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    Jimmy Reed is a high school boy that is getting ready for Christ

    Jimmy Reed is a high school boy that is getting ready for Christmas break and is dreading the holiday b/c his dad died serving his country in the war in 1942. Jimmy has turned a bit bad by school officials and isnt the boy he once was b/c he misses his dad and is still hurting and doesnt have an outlet for that hurt. Also is his mom who dearly missed her husband but loves Jimmy with all her heart so much that she does what mothers do and she gets him a brand new green coat for Chritmas and gives it to him early.....However, Jimmy's friend gets them a gig with some criminals to overtake the safe at the town 5 & 10 who is raking in the money and did i mention his mothers new employer since she had to get a job after her husband died in the war. So they think Jimmy is perfect to steal the key and they can take the cash with not even breaking an entering....Well I was very moved by this book and it was my first Ace Collins book as I won this on Shelf Awareness, but Mr. Collins you can be sure i am going to buy your other novels b/c i very much recommend this book. It is a short 214 pgs excellent Christmas Holiday read! Thanks shelf awareness and Mr. Collins.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    A sweet story. The Christian message of how to deal with hardshi

    A sweet story.
    The Christian message of how to deal with hardships and difficulties are realistically portrayed. It is not always easy to accept lifes hurts, but it is always better to deal with them with God's help and the proper outlook. This book explains how and why.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    The Christmas Star is the first book I have read by Ace Collins

    The Christmas Star is the first book I have read by Ace Collins and it won't be the last. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and gave it the 5 stars it deserves.

    There is a huge message of love, forgiveness, faith and hope in this wonderful story. Jimmy Reed learns about all of them. He learns that no matter how angry he is, how bleak the circumstances are and how hopeless things appear they don't have to stay that way.

    I highly recommend this book to everyone. I promise you will not be disappointed. I just finished this book and I am feeling good! Thank you Ace Collins!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    This is the heart-warming tale of a boy growing up without his d

    This is the heart-warming tale of a boy growing up without his dad, a heroic man who valiantly died in the war (World War II). The story came to life for me, and I grew to know and love each character…each of the good characters, that is. The bad ones were simply detestable! “Christmas Star” will keep you turning that pages as you follow Jimmy through just four momentous and life-changing days. It’s a beautifully crafted book and you will want to read this every Christmas.
    **The publisher sent me a complimentary copy of this book in return for my honest review. I wasn't required to post a positive review. All opinions and thoughts are my own.**

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Do Not Open Until Christmas

    This book seems like one of those famous moments you get from a Christmas card. The story is about a teenaged boy, Jimmy, who lost his father in WWII. The fact that his country awarded his father the Medal of Honor posthumously seems to be causing Jimmy resentment. Jimmy and his mother have had a tough time ever since. Money is short. They can only afford the essentials. Jimmy is growing increasingly bitter and is starting to act out. He is even getting involved with some real criminals. It will take a lot of faith and a Christmas miracle to keep him from going so far down the wrong path that he will totally lose his way. I found the book entertaining in a naive sort of way. I thought the author could have ended the book before the last chapter pushed it a bit over the top. This book provided for review by Abingdon Press.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Some really good Christian points are brought out in this story.

    Some really good Christian points are brought out in this story. Dealing with the aftermath of his fathers death, Jimmy, is struggling. He is one angry boy and getting into trouble.
    Love how Calvin, his school bus driver, is sent at just the right time to meet Jimmy. What a man, who is living his faith. We also travel with Jimmy as he decides to help a group of thieves rob his Mother's boss.
    We wonder what is going to happen to this family. Did enjoy the discovery in the family Bible.
    What I really had a hard time with was the ending. It was very unbelievable and was not really explained at all.
    This is a cute Christmas read that shows some really great Holiday Spirit.

    I received this book from the Publisher Abingdon Press, and Pump Your Book Virtual Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    f you are looking for a book to get you into the Christmas spiri

    f you are looking for a book to get you into the Christmas spirit, this is the book for you. THE CHRISTMAS STAR has all the qualities for a great Christmas read. It reads rather quickly, the story is centered around the Christmas holiday, and is an excellent reminder of what Christmas is really about.

    I read THE CHRISTMAS STAR as part of the Pump Up Your Book book tour. I decided it was the perfect book to read while traveling to St. Louis over Thanksgiving and I was right. As I mentioned, it was a quick read and was a delightful story to get me into the spirit of celebrating Thanksgiving and soon, Christmas. I truly enjoy historical fiction and with this book set in the early 1940's, it was right up my alley. The story begins with Jimmy, a teenager who is grappling with the fact that his father died protecting our country and is frankly, not in the Christmas spirit like the rest of his small town in Arkansas. His mom is struggling to make ends-meat like most of his neighbors after the depression and he is down-right angry at the world. Certain people come into Jimmy's life, both good and bad, and he has a decision to make about which direction he wants to go.

    I have to admit, when I started reading the book, I was pretty sure I knew how it would all play out. But, Ace Collins kept the surprises coming and left me satisfied and teary at the end. I appreciated the Christian piece to this story as Jesus truly is the reason for the season. The Biblical piece wasn't overbearing, but was just part of the conversation, which made it feel real. In fact, I thought the whole story was very believable and could have easily happened in any small-town in America.

    Collins has a great way of describing his settings and characters that you can picture them as you are reading. My favorite characters were Calvin and Audrey, and their effect on Jimmy was certainly a highlight of the story.

    I also appreciated how much this story reminded me to listen to that inner voice. Jimmy was frequently struggling with decisions along the way and at times ignored that voice urging him to make the right decision. So often, we ignore that voice as well. Jimmy had given up hope for ever being able to enjoy Christmas or his life, ever again. This story showed how important it is to continue to have hope and to never give up.

    I had a couple quotes from the book that really spoke to me:

    -Anger is a wound that only makes things worse. Page 23

    -That's the nature of busy people in a busy world. They are so busy seeing what is in front of them they fail to see what is around them. Page 50

    I truly enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a Christmas story that will get you into the spirit of giving of yourself, loving others, and having hope.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    It's Christmas, 1945, but while many Americans are rejoicing, Ji

    It's Christmas, 1945, but while many Americans are rejoicing, Jimmy Reed is still grieving the loss of his father. His pain causes him to make questionable choices, but a message delivered by a soldier and the discovery of a letter from his father shines a new light on his circumstances.

    This is a heartwarming tale of a Christmas miracle, set in the WWII-era South; one of my favorite settings for a novel, by the way. With a little humor and the occasional history lesson thrown in, this is a story for the whole family to enjoy.

    5 stars

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Pump Up Your Book book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ace Collins in his new book, ¿The Christmas Star¿ published by A

    Ace Collins in his new book, “The Christmas Star” published by Abingdon Press takes us into the life of Jimmy Reed.

    From the back cover: Can the broken heart of a child be healed by an unexpected Christmas letter?

    Robert Reed gave his life for his country in the early days of World War II. His sacrifice was honored when his widow and son were presented with the Congressional Medal of Honor. Each Christmas, the final decoration Marge Reed hangs on the family’s tree is that medal. Rather than being a symbol of honor for young Jimmy Reed that shining star represents loss, pain, and suffering.

    Yet a message delivered by one of Robert’s fellow soldiers and a mystery letter found in a Bible put a father’s sacrifice and faith into perspective and bring new meaning to not just the star hanging on the Christmas tree but the events of the very first Christmas. Then, when least expected, a Christmas miracle turns a final bit of holiday sadness into a joy that Jimmy has never known.

    Ace Collins seems to understand the trauma you receive when you are a teenage boy and your father dies. It seems your whole world dies with you. And you have no idea of how to deal with that pain so you lash out at the world and that only gets you into trouble. That is exactly what is happening to Jimmy Reed. It’s been three years since his father died in World War II and he is not improving. However there are individuals in his life who want to see him healed of his pain and set out to do exactly that. Mr. Collins throws in all kinds of sub-plots that keep the story moving briskly however the focus is on Jimmy. Through Mr. Collins’ excellent writing skills we come to understand Jimmy and want him to be healed from his almost crushing pain. We rejoice when he rejoices but I am not going to give away major plot points. You are just going to have to read this book. I guarantee you will really enjoy it.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Christmas

    I really enjoyed the trip back to Christmas after WWII

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The hardest thing to deal with during the holidays is the death

    The hardest thing to deal with during the holidays is the death of a family member. Yet despite the fact the war is over and people are finding reasons to celebrate with the depression in the back and soldiers returning home, it's not the same for Jimmy Reed. While it's been a couple years since him and his mom received a telegram informing them that Robert Reed was killed while defending his country, he hasn't been able to deal with the loss of his father.

    His mom, Marge works long hours at Miller's Store in hopes she might make enough money to get Jimmy something he needs for Christmas, but she knows the one thing he wants most in the world will be something that no amount of money can buy. She struggles with finding a way to help him deal with his grief and lately he's been getting into more trouble at school. She fears it's only a matter of time before he gets into trouble that will have a lasting effect and will only get worse.

    Now that Christmas is almost here, Jimmy learns of a way to make some extra money but simply providing a couple of guys with the key to Miller's Store that his mom has. If he does that, they will offer to split the take once they rob the safe the weekend before Christmas. Jimmy wonders if being able to have enough money will be able to turn his life around, but once he commits to following through with this plan, he can not go back or they will threaten to kill his mom.

    In the novel, A Christmas Star by Ace Collins, the reader is taken back to December 21, 1945 where the story begins. The country is beginning to celebrate once again except for Jimmy. Despite the people he encounters in town, he can't help but feel he will never live up the image of his dad who won the Congressional Medal of Honor, which has now replaced the traditional Christmas star on the top of their tree since they received it. To Jimmy, it's just another reminder that his dad is gone and will never come home. This is such a classic story of seeing different sides to a situation and how Jimmy deals with coming to terms with a solution is strictly brilliant by this author. I know this novel has found a permanent home in my library and will be one I read each year just before Christmas.

    I received A Christmas Star compliments of Pump Up Your Book Tours and Abingdon Press for my honest review. I'm such a huge fan of any Christmas Fiction books and when Ace Collins coupled this one with a background of World War II, I was completely interested. It truly has a timeless message of hope and light in the darkest of places, especially during the Christmas season that will last long after you finish the book. Truly this is a book that can be read at any time during the year and I have to rate this one a 5 of of 5 Christmas Stars!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1