Customer Reviews for

The Chronicles of Narnia

Average Rating 5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    AMAZING!!! LIKE NONE OTHER

    This is my favorite soundtrack of all time. I can not recommend enough. I am a writer that writes fantasy/fiction like these books and I listen to this music while I work. It has inspired me GREATLY! 100% recommend, a stupendous soundtrack. A wise investment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    chronicals of narnia

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: The chronicles of Narnia
    Title of review: The best book ever!!!!!
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 5

    Introduction
    In C.S. Lewis' The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, the main perspective was the struggle between good and evil. The main characters Edmund, Lucy, Peter and Susan are given choices in which they are to decide on whether they follow the right or the wrong paths in life as well as in Narnia. By choice, the children walked through the wardrobe into Narnia, only to find that they were destined to be there. They are given the quest to save Narnia from the clutches of the White witch and save the land and its inhabitants from her evil spell. However, Edmund found it very difficult to push away from temptation by enjoying sweets with the White Witch and follow her evil ways.




    Description and summary of main points
    When Aslan appears before the children, he gives the reassurance necessary to help complete their quest by teaching them to follow good ways and not evil. Aslan was represented as a lion, the king of the jungle, when in fact Lewis was using his fascination with religion and fantasy by introducing this character with the characteristics of Jesus Christ. His sacrifice for Edmund's sins and then the resurrection of the great lion and the persecution throughout the story was suggestive that the reference of Jesus Christ represented by this character was most certainly not a mistake.

    Evaluation
    I also felt as though the narrator was Lewis himself, because he came off as a kind, wise, elderly fellow somewhat suggestive like a grandfather figure. He allowed the curiosity of the children because he knew they were predestined to be there, especially if it was Lewis posing as the narrator. He wrote the book so he knew the destiny of these children. Although the book was well written, when reading a story, I find that breaks in the story take your mind away from the realistic perspective.

    Conclusion
    The other references that confused me was the time when Father Christmas gave the children their gifts and only Peter was allowed to use the weapon during the time of the big battle. Lucy and Susan were not to use theirs at all. Why were they given to them then? Lucy was given a healing potion and Susan was given a horn, I understand that, but why give characters weapons such as the bow and arrow given to Susan or the dagger given to Lucy if they are not to be used.


    Your final review
    Other than that, the book was fantastic. I read it as a child and now I have read it many times and have loved it every time. I would suggest this book to anyone who likes a good sci-fi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Daydream Thrill

    Narnia wads a great book. It's a wonderful book for readers that enjoy fiction or fantasy books' loved it because it was real life while the kids were at Professor Kirke's house ,but it seems as if while reading they become new and more interesting characters while they are in Narnia. I think that it was a funny book in some aspect because Edmund lied to his siblings just to make Lucy look bad.
    I can relate my life to Narnia because honestly if my sister came and told me that there was another world, and you could only enter it by going through the wardrobe. I would act like Edmund because I would just laugh and make fun of her. Also it was a loving story because Lucy goes through so much to save Mr. Tumnas. And also because Aslan sacrifices his own life to save Edmund even though he didn't listen and betrayed his family.
    It had an awesome ending i think too. Because they stay in Narnia so long, but when they go back to Professor Kirke"s house seems like no time has ever passed. They also got the privilege to be the queen and kings of Narnia. I think that it was a great book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Uplifting Inspiring Music

    The Battle is by far the best song on this soundtrack. The choral work is outstanding. Evacuating London is also very beautiful with a nice piano opening. Some of the other songs on this CD do not make a huge impression. They are nice but not extremely noteworthy. The only vocal song on this CD that I liked was Where. But if you are a fan of the books and movie or just would like to hear some nice music this is a nice CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    My drama teacher played this and I loved it!It really reminds of the Gettysburg sound track.They've woven all the drastically different songs of the movie together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    beautiful, stunning, and all around fantastic!

    I love this soundtrack! It has been beautifully done! It is wonderful! You can just feel like you are there and as if you are part of the music! I definetely recommend this to people who like musical soundtracks but I warn those who don't enjoy music alone. I personally am in band and have a special appreciation for music so I absolutely LOVE this soundtrack!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This is one of my favorite movies and the soundtrack is just as good. When you listen to the soundtrack, you can feel you and the music becoming one. The emotions of the music become your emotions. The best song is The Battle. However, I do not recommend this CD to people who don't like instrumental music. That's what almost all of this CD is. It is a wonderful soundtrack and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!

    This soundtrack was amazing! It defenitly gets an 'outstanding'... It really puts you in a good mood. I wouldnt pass this up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This is a really amazing soundtrack! The power of the music makes you forget yourself for the time that you listen to it. It was totally worth the money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!

    The music is so cool. I just can't stop listening to it. Can't Take it In and Wunderkind are cool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So addictive...

    Oh my!! I have seen this movie approximately 4 times (and still counting), and find myself in awe with this score!!! Refreshing and heart-pounding, the orchestrations pull you back in to the movie that itself is loved so dearly. Some of these may be favorites for some, reminders for others. But all in all the music blends the whole movie together on such a beautiful, heart-felt, child-like way (I love a good adjective:) ) Listeners will appreciate the thought and vision put into this movie's soundtrack, and find themselves a repeat listener!! I'm running to Barnes and Noble to get my copy ASAP!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!

    The music for this movie is unique in its quality and its ability to capture the essence of Narnia. It is one of the few movies where I actually noticed how good the music was as I was watching it. The music is as relaxing and as uplifting as the movie itself. If you are a fan of the new film, this is a must have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful Soundtrack

    This soundtrack is one of the best pieces of music I have ever listened to. Harry Gregson-Williams has made a wonderful CD. I think the best song on it is "The Battle". I not only listen to this song, I feel it. If anyone is looking for a great soundtrack, buy this one! Also the movie is really good too and my favorite scene is surprise, surpise the battle. Ok buy this CD, its realy good and you will love it like me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Magical Listening Experience...

    The soundtrack of "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe" is a great addition to your CD collection. The score is beautiful, and perfectly matches the story. The included songs are worth a listen, but two of them aren't really any big deal "Wunderkind" and "Where" are good, though. I reccomend this soundtrack to fans of the movie, and those who enjoy well-composed music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Fantasy Masterpiece...Epic In it's Own

    Of course people will not compare this to Lord of the Rings. That is simply because Although in the same genre, the films are quite different. Still, the Narnia Score is full of wonderful motifs, instrumentals and vocals that epitimize the points in the film. Overall the score is a true work of art and will soon be a piece of my collection and i highly recommend this to anyone looking for another addition to a fantasy collection. BE PREPARED TO SEE THIS SCORE COME OSCAR SEASON. This enevitably picks up where Lord of the Rings left off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enchanting Score!

    Gregson-Williams has definitely outdone himself on this score. My heart soared with every song, from Mr. Tumnus's Lullaby to the thrilling Battle sequence. It's an amazing score, and a true masterpiece! =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2