Customer Reviews for

The Chronicles of Narnia One Volume

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Book!

    Each of the 7 stories pulls you in and wraps you in the world and characters. The parallels to Christianity are sometimes quite obvious, but others are buried and a challenge to find (well at least for someone who isnt incredibly versed in religion). The book also can also (to a degree) be motivational. It shows that even if everything is up against the wall and you are stuck between the proverbial rock and hard place, not to give up and keep trying. A short little note, if Eustace is ticking you off royally, dont give up on him ;)<BR/><BR/>Overall, i would highly recommend this to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enchanting

    I finally bought this series and I have one regret, and that's waiting to own it! It is a fun filled book, with hidden life messages. (It's C. Lewis, it's to be expected.) I know a couple of people that had to get use to Lewis' writing, but other than that I haven't heard any complaints, and you won't find one from me. Great read for all ages. The stories are addicting, so try to read when you aren't quite ready for bed/have enough free time to keep reading, you'll be sad to put it down. <BR/><BR/>If you liked the movies, you'll LOVE the books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2007

    The Jewel of Fantasy Literature

    This book is absolutely superb. Don't be fooled: it may be a children's book, but the message and virtues it conveys are trully mature and not childish and it will therefore also fit adult readers. It's relatively easy to read, in contrast with the Lord of the Rings (I read it all in 2 weeks) and never dull or boring. I've read many books throughout my life, being an avid reader, but this is the best I've ever read (and no, I'm not a child, i'm a 22-year-old medical student).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2005

    Loved the Adventure

    I missed reading these books as a child. I am 42 years old and enjoyed them so much. I hope kids of all ages take the time to read them. I am looking forward to the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Can't put it down!

    Great book. I had never read through the series and now I can't stop reading it. Great work from Lewis

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    I like the book, but I don't like Barnes and Noble's service.

    I ordered this book online from Barnes and Noble. Instead of sending me the book I ordered, they sent me a paperback book that dramatized learning how to swim (which I had never seen nor put in any shopping cart on this site).

    Then, I had to take a 45 minute bus ride across town, walk 20 minutes, and I went to exchange the book. While the staff was helpful, the only version of this book they had was in paperback even though the website said it would be hard cover.

    Luckily, I brought another item with me, because the copy I found to substitute was more expensive. Rather than attempt to retain me a customer, I was told I had to pay $2 more to complete the transaction. I returned the other item because I had no desire to give Barnes and Noble any more money.

    I do not suggest anyone shop at Barnes & Noble. Buying a book should never be this difficult.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    c s lewis is one very very very intelligent author!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    c s lewis and j r r tolkien are both amazing authors if you loved narnia you are sure to love both the hobbit and the lord of the rings!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    Wonderful

    I love The Chronicles of Narnia very much, I read only a few of them when I was a child(our library was lacking), but finally read the whole series in the right order and they are so great. I also enjoyed the allegory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    Great, Great, Great

    I've always loved these books, I mean you would have to be an extreme reader to understand what's it's like to 'fall in love' with a book, but that's what I did with these books. They are absolutly awesome!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2005

    Nostalgia and Fantasy, a winning combination

    Seems like everyone who reviews this has read it as a kid and I'm no different. Having just seen the movie I'm motivated to reread them all. Before there was Harry, there was Peter... even though I think that Hogwarts will be the Narnia for this young generation, both series will withstand the test of a lot more time to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3