Customer Reviews for

The Church Planting Wife: Help and Hope for Her Heart

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    The BEST book I've read to encourage me as a ministry wife. Bib

    The BEST book I've read to encourage me as a ministry wife.

    Biblically solid. Riveting. Poignant. Honest. Convicting. Warm. Insightful. Incredibly encouraging... Christine selflessly and effectively exposes her own heart for the sake of the hearts of her readers. What a gift! She doesn't just theorize about how to best live a called-out life, she has learned it first hand and breaks it down very practically.

    As a church planting wife of almost 5 years I found myself on almost every page, as if I were reading my own journals. So refreshing! Yet, the wisdom in it's pages speaks to any woman seeking to live a godly life. If you are not a church planting wife, please do not dismiss this book.

    A couple of noteworthy aspects:
    1. Interviews with various other church planting wives give even more perspective to certain topics.
    2. The "Cultivating Your Heart" section at the end of each chapter encourages reflection and further Bible reading around the particular chapter's theme.

    Are you excited about your call to ministry? Read this book. Are you weary or discouraged in ministry? Read this book. Have you felt lonely, fearful, stressed? Have you been wounded by people in the church? Are you uncertain about your roles or struggle with priorities? Do you wonder how to better encourage your spouse? Do you long to live a more free and authentic life in the Lord? Do you want to better understand a friend who is in the ministry? Read. This. Book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    This book is a must read for every Pastor's wife. It puts words

    This book is a must read for every Pastor's wife. It puts words to the pressures and struggles that sometimes we feel and just can't describe. Christine offers encouragement in the fact that you are not alone while giving you Biblical advise that helped see her through. I loved the interviews at the beginning of each chapter where Christine spoke with other Pastor's wives who offered insight to the way they deal with certain issues.

    Christine offers the reader a transparent look into the struggles she faced as a church planting wife while offering practical and Biblical advice in seeking God for your Hope and Approval. She can speak (write) with integrity because she has been there. She is honest and down to earth making the reader feel like she's one of your best friends.

    I highly recommend this book whether you are planting a church, thinking about planting a church, or several years in!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Highly recommend - Ministry encouragement

    I am not a church planting wife, but am associated with a mission agency that sends couples to plant churches. When I saw this title and began reading, I immediately realized this was a resource that was truly was "help and hope for her heart". I, too, was encouraged as I read it to keep on for Christ. I purchased 10 additional copies to give away. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Great book. I am already planning on reading it again as I feel

    Great book. I am already planning on reading it again as I feel like I will have to continually address these areas in my life as we enter different stages of church planting. Very encouraging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    This book was actually okay. I  didn't know what to expect from

    This book was actually okay. I  didn't know what to expect from this book or even if I would be able to relate. The book is literally about it's title, the wife of a church planter. Christine Hoover kind of takes you into the heart and mind of this wife, giving you a glimpse of how stressful it can be and then just how rewarding it can be as well. I rank it in the middle because its more of a memoir than it is an actual story. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    If you are married to a pastor, The Church Planting Wife is for

    If you are married to a pastor, The Church Planting Wife is for YOU.




    I highly recommend this book, even if you and your husband are not in the midst of church-planting. It is applicable to pastors' wives on so many levels. My husband is currently serving an established church, but I still found this resource to be extremely helpful.




    In her new book, Christine explores friendships, pride, fear, stress, hurts, and discouragement, including a wonderful chapter on how to be the best helpmate to your husband. She also explores another important topic: how to please God alone. The book is full of heartfelt advice from someone who has been there. Christine's open and honest dialogue makes you feel right at home.




    Complete with scripture passages and challenges for cultivating your heart, I am certain I will be turning to this book time and time again to be uplifted, encouraged, and strengthened in my daily journey as a pastor's wife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    This gospel centered read encouraged me to rely on God's promise

    This gospel centered read encouraged me to rely on God's promises and Word to guide me through the difficult decisions we are face about our future. This book really simplified my prayers and thinking towards our future. I am so thankful. I would recommend this read to anybody that feels that they are being lead in a direction that seems really difficult or out of their comfort zone. I am really thankful for this read and will look back at it, especially to the "Cultivating You Heart" section.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    My husband and I are in the very beginning stages of church plan

    My husband and I are in the very beginning stages of church planting.  Having just moved half way across the country to do so, Christine's story is familiar to me! I have appreciated so much her candid vulnerability, honesty and wisdom.  I believe there is great family/marriage advice, Godly counsel and spiritual truths woven into every chapter for every person (not just a pastor's wife!).  This book is very accessible to read and I'm sure I will read it more than once.  I am thankful for this great resource!   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    This book is one of my personal favorites. Christine is an excel

    This book is one of my personal favorites. Christine is an excellent author and I love her style of writing.  Right off the bat you connect with her and can relate to the stories even if you aren't a church planting wife.  I am a minister's wife so I have encountered every challenge she has but I have a small business and felt that it connected to that.  I really believe that any woman at any stage of life and in any situation of life will find this book encouraging, challenging and convicting.




    I loved the questions at the end of each chapter and the scripture to look at.  The interviews with church planting wives throughout the book were honest and encouraging.  I love that Christine gets to heart and it isn't a list of things to do in ministry. It gets at our hearts and really meets any woman where she is at. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Christine Hoover has written a book that is an absolute necessi


    Christine Hoover has written a book that is an absolute necessity for every woman who is a church planter's wife or a pastor's wife, but it is also an incredible handbook for any woman seeking to live her life according to God's will. Christine has written with an honesty, openness, and vulnerability so that others may benefit from her journey in learning to live in faith and complete dependence on God. The areas she discusses in the book are ones all women struggle with: fear, stress, pride, discouragement, hurts, obedience to God's will, support to our husbands, and friendships. Christine shares personal stories supported with biblical insights and scriptures that truly encourage the reader and provide "help and hope for her heart." What a shame I didn't have this book years ago!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    Even though I am not a church-planting wife (or a wife at all, f

    Even though I am not a church-planting wife (or a wife at all, for that matter...yet!), I have gained encouragement and truth from the things that Christine shares in this book. She is very open and honest about life, and it has encouraged me in my own journey.

    Christine's book also gives me insight into what my pastor's and other ministry wives go through. It gives me new compassion for them, as well as makes me aware of ways to specifically minister to them. And I also think this book is a good resource for many women in ministry, even for those who are not pastors' wives.

    Whether you are a church-planting pastor's wife or not, Christine pinpoints the need for complete dependence on God within this journey we call life. And this is something I think we can all learn from. No matter what, people will fail us. Friends. Family. Even husbands sometimes. And we as women must go to God for our value and worth. Yes, God places people in our lives to encourage us and speak life to our hearts. These are gifts, wonderful gifts. But the ultimate source of our strength will always have to be God.

    Christine's honesty in the struggles and lessons learned from being a wife in ministry is both refreshing and challenging. It lets those in ministry know that they are not alone, and it offers HOPE.
    As someone who has a heart to bless the lives of those in ministry, let me say this: Your support of your pastor's wife is so needed! Read this book, and give a copy to your pastor's wife, too! It will encourage her heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    This book is such a great help for the heart of a church plantin

    This book is such a great help for the heart of a church planting wife.My husband and I are 4 years in to planting our first church.  This book would have been amazing had I read it in the pre-planting stages and it is still amazing for my heart as I read it 4 years in.  Christine 'get's it'.  She 'gets it' from the perspective that only a church planting / ministry wife can 'get it'.  Her stories, the realness of her own heart and the authenticity in which she writes draws you in and makes you realize you are NOT alone in the process!  It's a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1