Customer Reviews for

The Circle

Average Rating 3.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

On par with some of the greatest visionaries of literature

Think George Orwell too frumpy or old? Then read this current and hip look at one possible reality. Excellent read that will challange you to carefully think about technology, the ethics around technology, and why- when we have so much evidence to the contrary - humans...
Think George Orwell too frumpy or old? Then read this current and hip look at one possible reality. Excellent read that will challange you to carefully think about technology, the ethics around technology, and why- when we have so much evidence to the contrary - humans believe they can be God. Excellent.

posted by Anonymous on October 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I love the concept of this book: technology is wonderful... up t

I love the concept of this book: technology is wonderful... up to a point. But the execution is ham-fisted at best. Everything is on the nose and predictable while at the same time, nothing is truly fleshed out enough to feel like a good story. We don't really get to kn...
I love the concept of this book: technology is wonderful... up to a point. But the execution is ham-fisted at best. Everything is on the nose and predictable while at the same time, nothing is truly fleshed out enough to feel like a good story. We don't really get to know most of the characters and in many instances pivotal moments are skipped over only to be recounted in the past tense. Show don't tell, Mr. Eggers. I really expected more from this book. Again, very interesting concept, definitely thought-provoking. But ultimately disappointing as a novel.

posted by 4891967 on November 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    I love the concept of this book: technology is wonderful... up t

    I love the concept of this book: technology is wonderful... up to a point. But the execution is ham-fisted at best. Everything is on the nose and predictable while at the same time, nothing is truly fleshed out enough to feel like a good story. We don't really get to know most of the characters and in many instances pivotal moments are skipped over only to be recounted in the past tense. Show don't tell, Mr. Eggers. I really expected more from this book. Again, very interesting concept, definitely thought-provoking. But ultimately disappointing as a novel.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    On par with some of the greatest visionaries of literature

    Think George Orwell too frumpy or old? Then read this current and hip look at one possible reality. Excellent read that will challange you to carefully think about technology, the ethics around technology, and why- when we have so much evidence to the contrary - humans believe they can be God. Excellent.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    A smart reader will get this book, a shallow reader will struggle.

    With all the discussions on privacy today, this book makes you squirm. It would be easy to dismiss the complications presented in the disguise of the story line but you would be doing a disservice to the intent of the novel. Every self rightous person thinks they understand privacy but it is too easy to ignore the complications. Mr.Eggers does not let you glibbly profess to be serious about the meaning of privacy. He keeps throwing fast balls directly at your biases, hitting you often as you scream foul. In fact, one should probably review Kant's discussions and definations of privacy pertaining to people and things. So if you read a review of this book which harps on shallowness of characters, remember the author knows what he is doing, it is a sophticated writing device. I give this book 5 stars because it makes you think , rethink, reposition, and review your view of privacy. A must read, but it is not a book you will walk away from saying you love it. rather you will admit we need it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Before reading The Circle, the only other book by Eggers I have

    Before reading The Circle, the only other book by Eggers I have read was Zeitoun, and I loved it. I was expecting his writing to be similar here, but this time, he misses the mark. I bought the book because I was intrigued by its concept - essentially understanding the limits of human knowledge by drawing upon the everyday technologies we have and use and to take them to their extremes, understanding their implications on privacy, morality, free will. The book was meant to be a thought exercise, and in that sense, it succeeded. However, the protagonist, Mae Holland, was poorly developed. She was portrayed to be an unrealistically naive and malleable character, and I found this hard to relate to. However, if her character flaw was done intentionally, because her naivety was meant to represent our willingness to go along with the next new idea or device, then I might be inclined to follow along. But in general, it was frustrating to provide Mae with any sympathy - or to any of the other characters for that matter. Furthermore, some events which I thought deserved more elaboration were glossed over and never mentioned again. Ultimately, all of these things left me feeling conflicted about the book. 3 stars, no more, no less.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    I found this book tedious but I was still impressed with the tec

    I found this book tedious but I was still impressed with the technological concepts. All I can say is God help us if any part of this comes to fruition. The characters for the most part were poorly developed depriving you of really getting into the feel of the book.. Even the main character, Mae, was poorly developed preventing you from having any feelings or care about the character. The character of Annie, was just totally null and void, one dimensional.. The book rambled on page after page until you got to the point that if they added one more screen to Mae's desk you wanted to throw the book against the wall. For me its was a complete waste of my time. And yours too!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Is This Where We're Headed?

    This book makes you think about just where all the social media stuff today will eventually lead us. Kind of scary! Enjoyed reading it though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    The Circle will be a classic

    A rare gem. Dave Eggers manages to spin a cautionary tale of technological dystopia and yet make it engagingly charming and even funny. And like all great parables set in the future, he is really commenting on the word today. And it will make you think twice about that next social media post you make.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Idea is interesting

    Execution is not. It is lacking complexity and development that makes a novel good. I do not care about any of the characters or feel engaged in the story. I did not finish reading this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Horrid

    I feel like the only reason this book got published is because the author owned the publishing company. And to be honest, that was probably the reason.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    wow

    U no what to do with that big fat butt Wiggle wiggle wiggle

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Hi

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    thought provoking, but not very engaging

    What if? When does technology become too controlling? What happens when our human interaction is threatened by the tools we implement in our efforts to make interaction perfect? This might be a good study for a junior high school-age group, except that the main character was too old for the level of immaturity she demonstrated, both in her personal thoughts and actions. A twelve year-old will relate to the content, but not identify with any of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    TMS

    Capitilization needed. Awsome! Love it! Keep going!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Eh

    Once again eh.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    BLUEKIT CHAPTER 2

    Blue kit awoke to the noise of paleflower and ryekit.
    "....Ryekit you need to play outside, you'll awake spirithearts kits." Paleflower said with anger in her voice.
    Buekit had forgotten about the new kits that had been born the night prior. Three kits were born last night, one died after being born. No one else knew about the third kit except for owlfur and spiritheart. Bluekit remembered the light brown fur around the little cats muzzle, and how the kit was the smallest of them all. Bluekit didnt know what spiritheart named the third kit. She only new that the name she had given the kit. Hawk.
    Thinking about the kit bluekit could still remember the thorns that snagged her fur as she snuck out following the medicine cat.
    "Bluekit let's go play outside together!" ryekit called bringing bluekit back into reality.
    "Race ya to the fresh kill pile!" Bluekit said trying to forget about hawk. Bluekit dashed to the fresh kill pile darting under the older warriors legs and right under foxfur, the grumpy elder, and made it to the fresh kill pile before rye kit.
    "I WIN!" Bluekit exclaims happy she won for once. she sees lichenpaw eating a sparrow and is reminded that her and ryekit are now 6 moons old.
    "Bluekit ryekit get over here!" Pale flower yowls for them to come back to the nursery. "Today you become paws!" She exclaims with excitement. Whiskerstar is standing in the nursery with yellowpatch and sliverfur.
    "Are you two ready to become apprentices?" Whisker star says as he walk towards the meeting pool. The meeting pool has shrubs growing around it with a huge boulder on the far end where the meetings are held.
    "ALL WHO CAN CATCH THEIR OWN FOOD GATHER TO HERE MY NEWS!"
    The cats gather around curious of the event. "Today ryekit and bluekit become apprentices. Ryekit you will have yellowpatch. Yellow patch pass on your wisdom and patience to the young cat." Yellowpatch and rye kit meet in the middle of the rock and lay tails on each others shoulder.
    "Bluekit you will have silverfur. Silver fur teach Bluekit the ways of a warrior and help her get through the hardest times." Bluekit meets silverfur in the middle and rest her tail on his shoulder.
    "RYEPAW BLUWPAW RyEPAW.." The clan cheers there new names. Bluekit looks at silverfur and ask to go outside. Silver without saying a word walks toward camp entrance with only a flick of his tail.

    End of chapter 2!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Well-done takedown of tech giants

    If you want to get an idea of what sites like Google and Facebook could _really_ do if they tried, this is the book to read. Eggers does a good job pointing out the dangers in carrying too far the Google philosophy of transparency (e.g. the "must use real name" aspect of Google+).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    To bluekit

    Plz go post that somewhere else just not here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Get a pink ipad

    Kiss your hand three times post this on three other books and look undr your pillow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Sucky

    Jk its awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Books you should read

    This was a great book and i hope everyone who read this
    book enjoyed it like i did Thank u and Comment please

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5