Customer Reviews for

The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I am shaken, not just stirred!

This book, like none other in recent memory has shaken and awakened my soul to continue to pray bold prayers, and believe for greater miracles of God's favor and grace in my life and the lives of those I lead.

I have read and been convicted and inspired by the great ...
This book, like none other in recent memory has shaken and awakened my soul to continue to pray bold prayers, and believe for greater miracles of God's favor and grace in my life and the lives of those I lead.

I have read and been convicted and inspired by the great timeless classics on prayer. I say without reservation or hesitation Mark Batterson's "The Circle Maker" has just moved to the top of that list!

I have read and recommended a lot of books to my friends. This one I am buying and giving to my church and my pastor friends. Watch out God, a lot of folks are going to be drawing a lot more circles in the sands of human need.

Thank you Mark, and thank God for "The Circle Maker."

Pastor Amos Dodge
Capital Church

posted by AmosD on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

This is an excellent book, but don't waste your money on the enh

This is an excellent book, but don't waste your money on the enhanced edition. The enhanced edition adds a series of videos just for the sake of video. They add nothing to what is wriiten--and they are definitely not worth paying 50% more. Get the eBook, but don't waste...
This is an excellent book, but don't waste your money on the enhanced edition. The enhanced edition adds a series of videos just for the sake of video. They add nothing to what is wriiten--and they are definitely not worth paying 50% more. Get the eBook, but don't waste $5.00 on the so-called "Enhanced Edition."

posted by PastorRoy on June 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    This is an excellent book, but don't waste your money on the enh

    This is an excellent book, but don't waste your money on the enhanced edition. The enhanced edition adds a series of videos just for the sake of video. They add nothing to what is wriiten--and they are definitely not worth paying 50% more. Get the eBook, but don't waste $5.00 on the so-called "Enhanced Edition."

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    I am shaken, not just stirred!

    This book, like none other in recent memory has shaken and awakened my soul to continue to pray bold prayers, and believe for greater miracles of God's favor and grace in my life and the lives of those I lead.

    I have read and been convicted and inspired by the great timeless classics on prayer. I say without reservation or hesitation Mark Batterson's "The Circle Maker" has just moved to the top of that list!

    I have read and recommended a lot of books to my friends. This one I am buying and giving to my church and my pastor friends. Watch out God, a lot of folks are going to be drawing a lot more circles in the sands of human need.

    Thank you Mark, and thank God for "The Circle Maker."

    Pastor Amos Dodge
    Capital Church

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book on prayer!

    If you are looking for a book to help you better understand how to pray and what matters most when it comes to prayer this is a must read. I know I will keep going back to it. Knowing what to pray for and understanding unanswered prayer is also something that can be helpful. Not sure if it is anything I didn't already know but it can help to see how prayer has worked for Mark in his life and all the remarkable ways HE has answered them.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Book

    This book will encourage, challenge and motivate every reader that reads it. This is book is a must read. I'd also recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score," which takes an inspiring look at the power of God and forgiveness. It too is on sale here on BN as a paperback and e-book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    The Circle Maker Will Change Your LIfe

    Without a doubt, the BEST book I have ever read on prayer. I believe this book will have as much impact on prayer as The Purpose Drive Life book had on helping people find their purpose.

    Without doubt this book will be a best seller.

    Nothing else I have ever read on prayer is so simple yet so powerful. The book put hope, drive and real purpose back into my prayer life. The author helps you understand how simple yet how powerful your prayer life can be. He helps you realize that God is interested moving and making things happen in our life, in this world.

    This is a MUST READ for every Christian.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Excellent

    This is a wonderful book, Mark Batterson's insights and testimonies give greater understanding of prayer. It's not about getting what we want from the Lord. It's about growing our relationship with the Lord and trusting in what He knows we need to learn.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    RANGER handbook for Dreaming big and thinking out of the box.

    This gem will motivate you to pray and live on the edge. Strap yoursef in and hang on to partner up with the Creator. Very pragmatic, and easy to digest, found myself highlighting alot.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Excellent!

    This book inspired me to renew my prayer life and allow God to fuel big dreams for Him

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    If you want to change your prayer life I highly recommend this b

    If you want to change your prayer life I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Say yes to the bless!

    "Would knowing that your prayers will be answered change the way you pray? In The Circle Maker, Pastor Mark Batterson shares powerful insights from the true legend of Honi the Circle Maker, a believer who prayed miracles would happen to the people of God—and then they fell from the heavens like rain. Honi and Mark Batterson will help you bring your God-given dreams into being through bold, tenacious prayers that honor God and make the impossible come true.

    Description: According to Pastor Mark Batterson in his book, The Circle Maker, “Drawing prayer circles around our dreams isn’t just a mechanism whereby we accomplish great things for God. It’s a mechanism whereby God accomplishes great things in us.”

    My thoughts on the book....


    An intriguing thought... drawing circles around your prayers. What could it mean? I have been praying for people and things in my life for years. Sometimes I see results; sometimes I don't. I keep on praying. Why? Who else would I turn to for help but to the almighty and all powerful God who loves me so. Still, there is a desire to be more purposeful and effective in my prayers.

    The Circle Maker is about dreaming and praying for things bigger than you ever have. It's about not limiting God. It's about miracles.

    This is the most exciting book on prayer that I've ever read. I'm going to keep reading it and reading it until I really get it. Our family is very involved with the Joplin Tornado Relief and Rebuilding effort with Joplin Family Worship Center. We have prayed and made ourselves available for God's use. He has done amazing things. He has given us a vision for even bigger things. I'm going to circle those visions in prayer and watch to see what the Lord will do. Truly, we will say yes to the bless!

    I want to thank Mark Batterson and Zondervan for making this concept come alive to me in a bigger way than ever before.

    I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me;
    but,
    God can do exceedingly abundantly more than I can think or ask.

    Truly, we will say yes to the bless!

    I consider this a must read book.

    I received this book from Zondervan in exchange for an honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Great book

    A wonderful read and so much to learn from it. I recommend it for everyone wanting to know more about praying and how to let prayer guide you in your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    The doctrine is based in witchcraft. But hey it's a good way to

    The doctrine is based in witchcraft. But hey it's a good way to get prayers answere right? haha

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Prayers is power!

    God wants you to pray bold prayers and believe! Pray and Thanking you God for answering my prayers! I love this book! This book was recommended as a blessing to me by my niece Michela Duplechain! Now I'm sharing the blessing with you! Enjoy!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Highly recommended

    We applied the prayer circle to our request

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Want to change your life?

    Awesome book! The revelation of how powerful prayer is for more than you could ever imagine is by far the best outcome of reading this book. Keep circling!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Excellent

    All Christians desiring to see more answered prayers in their lives and families need to read this. Pastors desiring to reach more people for the Gospel need to pay close attention to the wisdom in this book. Check it out for yourselves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Great book. I read it in two days. I could not put it down.

    This book is for this generation

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    This is one of the best!

    The Circle Maker is one of those books you want to read two or three times. Once you start reading the book, you don't want to put it down. Mark Batterson is one of the great authors and I was so impressed with this book, that I bought another copy for a friend. Mark inspires you do think big and believe that anything is possible with God.
    Since reading this book I look at things so much differently. This is a must read for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Faet H Dumb

    Stupid

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    I love this book

    This will change the waay you pray we are doing thedvd series in the fall

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4