Customer Reviews for

The Clean Eating Cookbook & Diet: Over 100 Healthy Whole Food Recipes & Meal Plans

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Good Eating Cook Book & Diet Book is very educational if

The Good Eating Cook Book & Diet Book is very educational if you want to learn how to eat healthier and keep your body in exceptional health and looking younger by having glowing skin and a great amount of energy by choosing good carbs and maintaining a healthy life...
The Good Eating Cook Book & Diet Book is very educational if you want to learn how to eat healthier and keep your body in exceptional health and looking younger by having glowing skin and a great amount of energy by choosing good carbs and maintaining a healthy lifestyle. Anyone who loves to try new things and loves to live the healthy lifestyle will benefit from this awesome cook book. I am going to buy a few for my friends so they can be healthier too!

posted by becky4 on December 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Clean Eating Cookbook & Diet is a reasonably well writte

The Clean Eating Cookbook & Diet is a reasonably well written very easily comprehended, generic read, that falls quite short in key areas: For one – variations on its cover have been done to death. Books, even non-fiction ones, need to be compelling. This one is not...
The Clean Eating Cookbook & Diet is a reasonably well written very easily comprehended, generic read, that falls quite short in key areas: For one – variations on its cover have been done to death. Books, even non-fiction ones, need to be compelling. This one is not. Most, if not all of the information, has become somewhat common knowledge (for lack of a better euphemism), and can be found via a number of sources. The book is also replete with ‘Don’t’s’. While ‘Don’ts’ may provide necessary avoidance strategy, for this book to compel, it needs a much greater emphasis on where you’re going (the benefits – the new mental clarity – the health – the athleticism, etc.,)
The strategy of eating several meals a day has too many dissenters, both among health and diet professionals as well as civilians, to be considered currently viable. Perhaps stay-at-homes and professional athletes who can eat five times what most of us can consume(where this practice supposedly had its questionable origins), can explore this as a possibility, but for most of us this isn’t even marginally practical.
Nothing new with respect to the construct of the recipes either. They basically tell one to buy a lot of food and ingredients that will be opened for a given meal and put back on the shelf until another recipe requires it; setting the stage for a lot of waste. Rather than be specific about what foods to include in any given meal, how about: Protein, grain, green vegetable, fruit, berry, legume, protein, fruit juice, etc., in the appropriate amounts. This might give the consumer a greater range of choice, and make food purchasing much easier.
I feel the author was too set on getting the information out there without taking stock of making this book engaging, and marketable. However, the book does contain a wealth of information (there I go with a euphemism again), and I don’t feel that its potential is lost, or caught up in unfounded nonsense. I also feel that a qualified ghostwriter might make it into something much more than it is.

posted by Bovino on January 28, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    The Good Eating Cook Book & Diet Book is very educational if

    The Good Eating Cook Book & Diet Book is very educational if you want to learn how to eat healthier and keep your body in exceptional health and looking younger by having glowing skin and a great amount of energy by choosing good carbs and maintaining a healthy lifestyle. Anyone who loves to try new things and loves to live the healthy lifestyle will benefit from this awesome cook book. I am going to buy a few for my friends so they can be healthier too!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Most of us are aware what foods are healthy and what foods are n

    Most of us are aware what foods are healthy and what foods are not healthy.  I've read many diet and health concious cookbooks, but I found more information about food choices, food pairing, and flour substituting in one book than in several combined. The recipes are great and simple. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2014

    The title of this book says it all.  Simplify your regular eatin

    The title of this book says it all.  Simplify your regular eating program, even if it's just a little here and there, and you'll be on your way to
    a more healthful diet.  It's presented in a way that's easy to follow, with sections on how to shop for the foods described in the diet
    as well as the best cooking methods and preparation for the foods you bring home.  If your day to day is filled with fresh vegetables,
    good grains and lean protein, it's surprising how the challenges of the work day are not so great because fatigue isn't slowing you
    down.  Processed foods drive blood sugars up and down, so it's no wonder you're tired at the end of the day. Recipes in the cookbook
    can be made and frozen ahead of time to simplify meals during the work week.                 Eat good food.  That's the message.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    Don¿t read this book unless you are serious about a healthier li

    Don’t read this book unless you are serious about a healthier lifestyle.
    Starting with the goals, through planning and including the execution, this
     book will put you on the track to a good health and clean living.


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    Here lies your complete guide to the Clean Eating lifestyle. Thi

    Here lies your complete guide to the Clean Eating lifestyle. This book provides the proper tips on how to maintain this lifestyle as well as meals to keep you on track. It even offers ideas on what to make outside of the meals it teaches you to cook. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    It is amazing to me that we are needing to relearn to eat foods

    It is amazing to me that we are needing to relearn to eat foods as direct as possible from the farm. This is the way people ate for centuries and Americans have somehow managed to get very far away from this natural process. Reading this book reminds me how important and valuable it is to our health to return to this practice of eating foods in a natural state. It has certainly become very apparent how harmful processed foods are for you with so many people getting cancer and other diet related diseases. This book helps you get back on track to eating the way nature intended. By Karen Gilbert

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    I love this book for its simplicity and because it encourages he

    I love this book for its simplicity and because it encourages healthy eating. Don’t calorie count or be controlled by a strict diet plan, just stop eating processed foods and simple carbs. You learn what you should eat and why, so that you can make a clean diet to suit you. There are many simple recipes included which do not require any fancy equipment or unusual food. This book is great for anyone trying to eat better, and/or lose weight.

    -Kathleen S

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    If you are looking for a cookbook that offers great diet tip





    If you are looking for a cookbook that offers great diet tips, I would suggest you buy this book. It is filled with information on what foods are good for us and ones to eliminate from our homes.
    There are recipes that are simple to prepare and delicious to eat. From fruits and vegetables to fish and Greek yogurt to herbs and spices, this book has it all...
    Easy to read and the various lists of healthy foods is great to have when preparing food as well as shopping for.
    I love this book and use it everyday for a reference for delicious meals that my whole family enjoys. A must have cookbook that should be in every home!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    ¿The Clean Eating Diet and Cookbook¿ is a cutting edge innovatio

    “The Clean Eating Diet and Cookbook” is a cutting edge innovation. Containing over 100 recipes, the cookbook specifically combines ingredients that are organic and closest to their natural state. The book features a lot of fruit and vegetable dishes. “The Clean Eating Diet and Cookbook” is easy to use, containing a glossary of terms and breakdown of the diet and its pertinence. This compilation is a great gift or edition for vegans, vegetarians and fans of organic produce and foods. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Though, personally I am not a fan of following diet regimen, as

    Though, personally I am not a fan of following diet regimen, as I enjoy all types of food given the context, however, if you desire speedy results from your exercise plan, you must incorporate clean eating into your habits; if not, you’ll scarcely see any substantial results. Eating clean while working towards a dream body cannot be emphasized enough because exercise is only 20% of the goal, while clean eating is 80%. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    This book is great.  It gives you a concise definition of clean

    This book is great.  It gives you a concise definition of clean eating.  Then it lays out how clean eating can improve your health by
    showing you what foods offer which valuable nutrients.  The fourteen day clean eating guide shows the you how to use clean
    eating principles day to day.  Then finally the recipes give you specific menus with shopping and cooking instructions.  It’s a winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    The Clean Eating Cookbook & Diet has lots of great, filling

    The Clean Eating Cookbook & Diet has lots of great, filling information (like details about different types of flour/conversions and food pairings)--just like the nutrients in the foods it recommends! I wish there were photos of the recipes and a more consistent stance re: sticking to the eating plan (i.e. recommending 80% clean eating and saying "you should never eat refined sugar again.")

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    As a caterer and avid cooking enthusiast, I was a bit apprehensi

    As a caterer and avid cooking enthusiast, I was a bit apprehensive based on the title, "Clean Easting Cookbook"> I was pleasantly surprised by how informative and thorough this book is well written. A lot of cookbooks push a lot of hard to obtain food ingredients. The ingredients required to follow this lifestyle change are easily available to cooks on any budget. The recipes are easy to follow. I like that this book contains information that not only helps to maintain a healthy weight, it also decribes the benefits to entire body, mind, hearthealth, as well as personal appearance (skin, hair)


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    The Clean Eating & Diet Cookbook can be broken into two part

    The Clean Eating & Diet Cookbook can be broken into two parts: the rules and reasoning behind clean eating, and a great recipe list that can be tied in. While the diet itself seems initially daunting (the lists of foods to avoid are long, and the ones to eat may be obscure), the recipes offer manageable ways to turn the diet into a reality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    It¿s not a diet, it¿s a lifestyle! I got tired of looking up die

    It’s not a diet, it’s a lifestyle!
    I got tired of looking up dieting tips online, and after being recommended this book I realized that eating healthy can be achieved without restricting myself to only salads. Clean Eating details out a huge variety of foods that will help you get on track to feeling better about yourself. I’ve tried the Butternut Squash Pancakes and the Beef Sirloin Kebabs so far and they were both fantastic - only 103 more recipes to try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    This book backs up the old saying that ¿you are what you eat.¿  

    This book backs up the old saying that “you are what you eat.”  This is your go-to guide for understanding what it means to “eat clean” and the steps taken to achieve optimal health.  This is not a diet but a lifestyle change that will help you look better and feel good.  I especially like the weekly meal plans and easy to make recipes.  This is definitely a good resource to have to begin or continue your clean eating lifestyle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    The Clean Eating Cookbook & Diet is a very good cookbook for

    The Clean Eating Cookbook & Diet is a very good cookbook for those who are looking to switch up their lifestyle and eating habits. It’s written for all levels of cooking experience and has great easy to follow recipes and guides. Various cooking methods are given and all the ingredients for these recipes can be easily found in a grocery store. There aren’t any photos which are a big con to me, but for those brave cooks out there, give this book a chance! This book walks you through clean eating from beginning to end and you won’t regret it.



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    An easy-to-read book that explains the reason why:  you should p

    An easy-to-read book that explains the reason why:  you should pick what food to eat, when to eat it, what else to combine it with, and how best to prepare it.  This book is good for those that want to make the switch to better eating habits but don’t know where to start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    The Clean Eating Cookbook and Diet is an excellent and quick gui

    The Clean Eating Cookbook and Diet is an excellent and quick guide to cleaning up your diet for the long run.  It’s like it takes all the information out there and puts it into one simple package.  The obvious bits are there – cut out processed foods and eat food in its most natural state – but there are also some great go-to lists on what foods have more pesticides and what foods are best paired together.  And the cookbook is huge – over 100 delicious-sounding recipes.  Absolutely worth the purchase.  -RLivengood

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Foods in their natural state are ¿clean.¿ They are what humans

    Foods in their natural state are “clean.” They are what humans are “meant to eat.” Pleasantly, authors of “Clean” claim the human body was meant to eat lots of food! Clean eaters consume non-processed food in 5 or 6 small meals per day. A precedent: High-country backpackers and American Indian hunters dip day-long into sacks of trailmix, or pemmican, or jerky. If your body is kept busy metabolizing food, it avoids metabolic slowdown, and resulting weight gain. “Clean” offers a complete 14-day meal plan, and is probably the first health book in ages to recommend the banana!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2