Customer Reviews for

Clockwork Princess (Infernal Devices Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 741 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(612)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

54 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

First reason I love this book: is that you can actually see and

First reason I love this book: is that you can actually see and sense the growth that many of these characters go through in the book. Cassandra Clare wonderfully iterates the growth these characters go through without making it mundanely repetitive.

The second reason...
First reason I love this book: is that you can actually see and sense the growth that many of these characters go through in the book. Cassandra Clare wonderfully iterates the growth these characters go through without making it mundanely repetitive.

The second reason I love this book: Cassandra Clare takes her time in finalizing the story arc of the characters. There are times when you read a book and it's a wonderful book, and when you get to the end of it, you still have many questions that not even the epilogue answers. With Cassandra, for the most part, she didn't try to quash what she knows about what happens to the characters after the "big" scene into a few pages at the end. She really expands and explores the relationships and gives the readers substance they can sink their teeth into. Sure, there might still be questions after the end of the book, but not so much that it leaves you trying to come up with your own answers as to what happens to who.

The third reason I love this book: The relationships. Many are spent wondering, including myself, who Tessa will end up with. And her relationship with both Will and Jem are explored quite generously. Some may dislike Tessa for not being able to make up her mind, and you good and well have that right to feel that way, but I did feel that Tessa felt equal love for both Will and Jem. But that was only the half of it. And there are the other relationships that are explored as well that are really hopeful and cute and romantic in a way that a romantic film can make your heart aflutter.

But it's the other half that really sets this book apart from many others - the relationship between Will and Jem. There are brothers, and there are best friends, and there are parabatai, and then there is the Parabatai. Will and Jem are the Parabatai. To be able to give of each other so completely so that the other may live and be happy, to sacrifice their own happiness and their own life, it goes beyond the confines of even being parabatai, I think. And Cassandra Clare writes their love so amazingly beautiful that it's a wonder if you don't have your heart broken several times by the end of the book just from their love for each other. I adore the fact that she doesn't make the boys feel awkward even about stating their love for each other.

Having said that, I will say that there is action involved - quite a few battle scenes and some heart-stopping moments, but ultimately, the highlight is the intimacy of the relationships that make this book tops. I felt so much more entwined with this group of people than those of the Mortal Instruments series, and I'm not saying that the characters in the Mortal Instruments series are not every bit as interesting to know as those in this, but there is definitely something more personable, more intimate, to these characters of The Infernal Devices, this little group of the London Institute, including Church.

Cassandra Clare has done a fine job in embedding these characters into my mind and my heart as if they were real people. She is definitely a master at creating heart-stopping moments in both the action sequences as well the more subdued sequences. Cassie sets the tone impeccably for each moment, whether it be a romantic interlude, a battle of words, or a heartrending, especially a heartrending, scene that threatens to pull you to pieces, and I appreciate her writing all the more for it. I hope you will, too.

posted by sdnatasha on March 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

38 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

That moment...

When you're a bit scared to read Clockwork Princess, because you feel that no matter who Teasa chooses, you will be heartbroken either way.

posted by 11138752 on July 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    SPOILERS  BELOW: Well, Cassie has both broken our hearts and pl

    SPOILERS  BELOW:
    Well, Cassie has both broken our hearts and pleased us once again. I loved it. I loved the pacing and the mystery that kept me on the edge of my seat for the whole thing. I finished it in a day (which I am now regretting because no more Infernal Devices books!). Ugh, the last scene before the epilogue was perfect. I love Will's complex characterization and that he finally got his happy ending with Tessa. I was thinking he would be Brother Jeremiah for sure. But that brings me to what I disliked about it. The ending. Too happy and cliche. Obviously this isn't going to be realistic due to the fact that its fantasy but it was just annoying. Main characters lived and married off and lived long and happy lives. I am overjoyed that Will and Tessa ended up together but I feel like there should have been something that went wrong. Obviously the massacre of the Clave was huge but we didn't know any of the characters. I was a little less than fine with the last chapter (I loved it but hated it for the too all tied up in string parts where everyone is happy and alive). But then the epilogue came. No. Just no. Everyone (or almost everyone) was waiting to see who Tessa would choose. The answer: both! I felt like it was a cheap way to satisfy all the readers. You either pick Will or you pick Jem. I understand that Tessa should move on from Will's death but the fact that Jem finds the cure and they fall into each other's arms was just stupid. Even if I liked Jem and Tessa together, I would still be disappointed that Tessa also got that life with Will. I was expecting this huge tragedy of an ending and instead got a soap opera-esque one. Other than that, I adored it. 3/5 for the ending.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    ---SPOILERS--- I liked the book, it was great. Loved the charac

    ---SPOILERS---

    I liked the book, it was great. Loved the characters, as usual, but... The ending... Oh, that epilogue. I feel cheated. And I can imagine that, in some way, everyone felt the same way. I've always liked Will. Jem was ok, a nice guy, but he felt flat since the very first book. Now Will, was interesting, funny, tormented, caring, wonderful.I would've wanted Tessa chose him, not because Jem was unavailable, but because she wanted Will. And then, after Will died of natural causes (still it hurt), she said... well, now I can be with Jem. It really works out ok for me, even if he'll die too eventually.
    So... For those who liked Will, we got the longer romantic part of the book, but he died in the 1800s.
    For those who liked Jem, he was forgotten as soon as was unavailable, had to watch Will and Tessa have children, and got three romantic paragraphs in the epilogue, now that the other one was dead. But he still lives in 2007. It kills me to say it, but as many have said, it was written to please everybody, and that really annoys me. It left me a bitter taste, but I still liked it.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    I have loved this series from the beginning and so I was countin

    I have loved this series from the beginning and so I was counting down the days until Clockwork Princess. The majority of it was well written and filled with the action and romance that have kept me interested since the beginning. I even really enjoyed how it was ended (exactly as I was hoping). That is until I read the epilogue, I'm not going to give anything away, but I will say that I felt like throwing the book across the room.


    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Wtf ending

    I dont normally write reviews but i was a bumbbling mess thinking thus coulndt get any better and it didnt it crashed and burned at the end i was fuming mad great til it wasnt!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Woohooo

    Yeah!!!!

    5 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    I like most of Clare's books, including this book; however, I fe

    I like most of Clare's books, including this book; however, I felt the epilogue was rather disappointing. I am team Will all the way, so for Clare to close the series with the epilogue I was really sad. I have to be honest and say I was content with the entire book..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Spoilers!!! Loved it up until the end. The epilogue ruined it fo

    Spoilers!!! Loved it up until the end. The epilogue ruined it for me, I'm not sure I want to read it again any time soon because of it.  Will is one of my favorite characters of all time. Period. So I was heartbroken when he died: I literally sat on my bed sobbing for five minutes crying my heart out. I like to think my favorite characters are eternal, they should live forever ALIVE in our memories, because that makes them so much more real to me. I mean, really? I wasn't able to relate to Tessa in the end because she has two loves, whereas I (most people, actually) am searching for that ONE love. Its just too cliche, Will dies, then "Oh, that's so sad, but look: Jem's available!". If you truly love someone, you love them COMPLETELY. Your heart should ultimately be filled by ONE PERSON, otherwise it's not true love. How can it be that Tessa's love for Jem survives her marriage with Will? she had kids with him, lived with him to a ripe old age, HOW COULD SHE DO THAT TO WILL?! yes, she loved Jem too, but you're trying to tell me that she loved Jem, then when she married Will she only loved Will, but after Will's death she started loving Jem again? DECIET. TREACHERY. DEBAUCHERY. BETRAYAL. I CAN'T STAND IT!  In my mind, Will did not die, and the epilogue never happened. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Confused & sad

    I love Cassandra and her books. I was so excited to read this book and I'm so sad and disappointed. So much couldhave been developed. So many possible plots could have unfolded. She skipped from them as teenagers to death at old age to loving again. Don't misunderstand, I am happy for their lives together but I feel rushed...cheated and confused. I suppose it was her vision so who am I to criticize but I am really stunned at how this was wrapped up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

       The beginning was a little slow for me, because honestly it h

       The beginning was a little slow for me, because honestly it has been so long and only certain details stuck with me. I skimmed some of the book but was totally immersed in others. 
        I think that once I got into the action and figured out what was going on again, the reason I would be taken out of the story is that it felt choppy to me when it was switching between the characters. They should have been some sort of marker showing when it switched the focus.
        The part that kept my attention the most was the Tessa/Jem/Will scenes. There is so much tension and I am smack in the middle of it with my heart. I don't know the right answer, because someone gets hurt, or Jem has to finally die. Which would suck. And may or may not be a part of this story. I don't know because when I wrote this part of the review I was only 200 pages in. Just a hunch of what will happen. 
        There were so many twists, hot scenes, amazing heart fluttering declarations that I didn't know what to do with myself for the last part though. 
        I think the ending was as perfect as I could possibly think of or imagine considering and it made me happy with the story. 
        
    Bottom Line: Slow in places but amazing ending. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Not the best written shadowhunter book

    I was a bit dissapointed at how drawn out and over written this book was. I was also very annoyed by the fact that halfway through the book she mixes Gideon's and Gabriel's names. It is easy to decipher the mix up but it is also quite distracting. The book finally picks up the pace about halfway through, but i can't help but wonder if Ms. Clare is no longer inspired by the story line or if she is more interested in her future earnings therefore putting out a mediocre product to move on to other projects. I will still continue to follow the storyline but if the quality of of her writing continues to decline i will no longer buy the books, and i will definitely NOT watch the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Amazing Read!

    I LOVE The Clockwork series way better then the City of Bones: Mortal Instruments series. These are so awesome and take you back in time when things were just beginning.
    This 3rd instalment is fantastic and keeps you interested the whole way. Theres so much mystery and love and important decisions that need to be made throughout it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Satisfying conclusion to the trilogy

    A Clockwork Princess brings the Infernal Devices series to a satisfying conclusion. I enjoyed the book, although the somewhat one-dimensional characters could be a bit boring to read. Overall, the story flows well. I think was an interesting story and would recommend it to people already acquainted with Cassandra Clare's other books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Ahhh

    I was reading in city of glass where clary sees tessa and now i am freaking out clary says shes seen her from somewhere where has she seen her from if you have a theory please tell i have been doing research on it but have no answer HELP!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2