Customer Reviews for

The Coffin Quilt: The Feud Between the Hatfields and the McCoys

Average Rating 4
( 234 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The Coffin Quilt

The Coffin Quilt is a book about love, family, and one of the most famous feuds in history. Based on true events, this book will keep you wanting more. Being told from a young McCoy's point of view, this exciting page turner about the the Hatfeilds and the McCoys will k...
The Coffin Quilt is a book about love, family, and one of the most famous feuds in history. Based on true events, this book will keep you wanting more. Being told from a young McCoy's point of view, this exciting page turner about the the Hatfeilds and the McCoys will keep you interested until the very end!

posted by 3540375 on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Why the Coffin Quilt is terrible Well, first, all the characters

Why the Coffin Quilt is terrible
Well, first, all the characters made you want to hate them. Fanny was a bipolar, two faced, traitor who couldn’t make up her mind to save her life. Roseanna felt sorry for herself the entire time and threw her family under the bus ...
Why the Coffin Quilt is terrible
Well, first, all the characters made you want to hate them. Fanny was a bipolar, two faced, traitor who couldn’t make up her mind to save her life. Roseanna felt sorry for herself the entire time and threw her family under the bus for the guy that knocked her up. The entire McCoy and Hatfield families were fighting over a reason that no one knows to this day; and would just murder each other over the fact that a few of their ancestors got mad at each other for supposedly stealing a freaking pig! The characters were so un-relatable, and the magnitude of the feud was blown way out of proportion. The book made it seem like the southern hills of West Virginia were painted with the blood of both Hatfield’s and McCoy's. I am from West Virginia and this book paints us in a terrible light. It makes it look like the Hatfields were terrible blood-thirsty people, when in actuality it was the McCoys who continued the feud and lead countless number of raids into West Virginia. I’m sure this is a fine author, but she needed to research a little more about the feud. I get that it was told through the eyes of Fanny McCoy, but still it would have been better if she showed two different perspectives: One from the McCoy side and one from the Hatfields. Oh, and if you can’t already tell I dreaded reading this book.

posted by Anonymous on May 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    The Coffin Quilt

    The Coffin Quilt is a book about love, family, and one of the most famous feuds in history. Based on true events, this book will keep you wanting more. Being told from a young McCoy's point of view, this exciting page turner about the the Hatfeilds and the McCoys will keep you interested until the very end!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very goo

    I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very good book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    very informative about wv

    This book is very informative about both the feud between the Hatfields and McCoys, and about West Virginia and Kentucky's history in general. A relationship between two people from the different families opens old wounds in the families, heating things up for a personal war between them all over the mountain ranges. This mystifying and intriguing book has its own flavorfull taste that you can enjoy again and again.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Good read!

    I very much enjoyed this book! It was very well written in my opinion and stuck very closely to the historical facts that I have read concerning this feud.
    The only thing I am kind of confused about is other reviews of this book saying there was too much killing for their liking and the people involved were portrayed as hateful, evil, and other such things. My point is that this was based on historical events and real people, the author could not leave some of the killings out or change what these people did during this historical feud or it would be fiction. Right? My opinion is that if you want to read only a certain amount of violence and really nice people then you should not read a book based on historical facts.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    This book was excellent. I loved reading it with my classmates,

    This book was excellent. I loved reading it with my classmates, and I’m pretty sure they enjoyed it too! It was very well-written, and the events were in really good details.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    The Coffin Quilt by Ann Renaldi was a very well written book. Ab

    The Coffin Quilt by Ann Renaldi was a very well written book. About the Hatfield and McCoy fued. It tells the story of a curious, 14 year old girl named Fanny McCoy. This story is an adventurous, and courageous story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Why the Coffin Quilt is terrible Well, first, all the characters

    Why the Coffin Quilt is terrible
    Well, first, all the characters made you want to hate them. Fanny was a bipolar, two faced, traitor who couldn’t make up her mind to save her life. Roseanna felt sorry for herself the entire time and threw her family under the bus for the guy that knocked her up. The entire McCoy and Hatfield families were fighting over a reason that no one knows to this day; and would just murder each other over the fact that a few of their ancestors got mad at each other for supposedly stealing a freaking pig! The characters were so un-relatable, and the magnitude of the feud was blown way out of proportion. The book made it seem like the southern hills of West Virginia were painted with the blood of both Hatfield’s and McCoy's. I am from West Virginia and this book paints us in a terrible light. It makes it look like the Hatfields were terrible blood-thirsty people, when in actuality it was the McCoys who continued the feud and lead countless number of raids into West Virginia. I’m sure this is a fine author, but she needed to research a little more about the feud. I get that it was told through the eyes of Fanny McCoy, but still it would have been better if she showed two different perspectives: One from the McCoy side and one from the Hatfields. Oh, and if you can’t already tell I dreaded reading this book.

    2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    The Poorly Writ

    The Coffin Quilt by Ann Rinaldi is honestly not worth reading. I have formed such a strong opinion of this book because of the painstaking hours it requires to read this book without falling asleep. This disappointing novel takes despicable historical figures, despite one young girl trapped amidst murderers and liars, and then it pits them against each other as the result of a cliché and twisted rendition of Romeo and Juliet.
    Despite my perceptions of the book as interpreted via the book teaser on the back cover, the novel was not centered around a happy couple united in forbidden love. Mrs. Rinaldi chose instead to retell the brutality and carnage brought upon by the foolish nature and frequent retaliation of man brought about by minor differences. The appearance of a magical, green, slimy ghost-leopard called ¿Yeller Thing¿ does no good for the credibility of this stories historical relevance either. As mentioned in the introduction, there is only one altogether appealing character. This is Fanny, a youthfully effervescent girl caught between families with no means of escape.
    One of the most vitally important elements of historical fiction is the lessons that can be learned from mistakes made by our precursors. The themes in The Coffin Quilt however focus on the negative qualities of human nature such as greed and spite instead of lifting the characters up with moral codes and focusing on humanities more redeeming qualities. The bonds and opinions a reader forms about the characters in a novel are that reader¿s linking to the emotional occurrences within a book, but in The Coffin Quilt the atrocities committed by characters on both sides of the conflict tear at your soul from the first chapter until your mind is numbed to the horrors of death and betrayal and you no longer bear grief for Fanny¿s plights. The dreary rural setting makes any travel between characters difficult which is never practical for a romance or war novel, neither of which this book should be called, lest someone think it historically accurate enough to prove useful in a unit on history. This rip-off of Shakespeare¿s masterpiece is written so poorly that I alternated constantly between being bored half to death and bouts of mourning for those who perished needlessly.
    Therefore, I would never recommend this book to anyone because it is a morose tale of tragedy and betrayal fraught with historic inaccuracies, the unheeded calls of a young girl desperately needing help, and entire chapters of meaningless dialogue that couldn¿t even be used to write a children¿s sitcom, let alone bring a young adult novel to life the way dialogue should.
    I chose to give this book one star because of its painfully slow plot progression, its lack of logical occurrences, and the fact that you must either react with sorrow or apathy when reading this book.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Im a McCoy!

    I loved this book so much. Its hard to find books that arent history books to read about the feud my family was in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Great Book!

    I found this book in my high school library and loved it so much I couldn't put it down. It is a must read book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Loved this one!

    Very intriguing piece of historical fiction. Kept me captivated and interested. One of my new favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Terrific

    The story was written in a way that really describes the feud and how it transpired. Enjoyed reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    5 star !

    What a eye opening book. The book allows the reader to put themselves in West Virginia history. Many emotions seep through the lines. Sadness, waste, pain, anger, and appreciation for what we have now to be thankful for. A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    recommend

    This book about the Hatfield and McCoy feud was interesting and well written. I was interested in reading more after watching the recent tv miniseries. While the book will state that it is fictionalized, it still followed the timeline of actual events.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    historical facts

    good story on the feud of the hatfields and Mccoys. Keeps you going and wondering why they had to fight and get killed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Great historical fictilon

    Very engrossing read. A true american tragedy. Typos were a bit distracting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Good book

    This is a very good story written about a fascinating series of events in American history. I love the interesting perspective using the young McCoy daughter as the storyteller. I would highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    The Coffin Quilt by Ann Renaldi was a depressing book. It was es

    The Coffin Quilt by Ann Renaldi was a depressing book. It was especially saddening when Tolbert went to visit Calvins grave. Over all it was a very depressing book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Wow

    Love lil fanny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Awsome

    I got this book from liabrey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12