Customer Reviews for

The Coffin Quilt: The Feud between the Hatfields and the McCoys

Average Rating 4
( 233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The Coffin Quilt

The Coffin Quilt is a book about love, family, and one of the most famous feuds in history. Based on true events, this book will keep you wanting more. Being told from a young McCoy's point of view, this exciting page turner about the the Hatfeilds and the McCoys will k...
The Coffin Quilt is a book about love, family, and one of the most famous feuds in history. Based on true events, this book will keep you wanting more. Being told from a young McCoy's point of view, this exciting page turner about the the Hatfeilds and the McCoys will keep you interested until the very end!

posted by 3540375 on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Why the Coffin Quilt is terrible Well, first, all the characters

Why the Coffin Quilt is terrible
Well, first, all the characters made you want to hate them. Fanny was a bipolar, two faced, traitor who couldn’t make up her mind to save her life. Roseanna felt sorry for herself the entire time and threw her family under the bus ...
Why the Coffin Quilt is terrible
Well, first, all the characters made you want to hate them. Fanny was a bipolar, two faced, traitor who couldn’t make up her mind to save her life. Roseanna felt sorry for herself the entire time and threw her family under the bus for the guy that knocked her up. The entire McCoy and Hatfield families were fighting over a reason that no one knows to this day; and would just murder each other over the fact that a few of their ancestors got mad at each other for supposedly stealing a freaking pig! The characters were so un-relatable, and the magnitude of the feud was blown way out of proportion. The book made it seem like the southern hills of West Virginia were painted with the blood of both Hatfield’s and McCoy's. I am from West Virginia and this book paints us in a terrible light. It makes it look like the Hatfields were terrible blood-thirsty people, when in actuality it was the McCoys who continued the feud and lead countless number of raids into West Virginia. I’m sure this is a fine author, but she needed to research a little more about the feud. I get that it was told through the eyes of Fanny McCoy, but still it would have been better if she showed two different perspectives: One from the McCoy side and one from the Hatfields. Oh, and if you can’t already tell I dreaded reading this book.

posted by Anonymous on May 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    The Coffin Quilt by Ann Renaldi was a depressing book. It was es

    The Coffin Quilt by Ann Renaldi was a depressing book. It was especially saddening when Tolbert went to visit Calvins grave. Over all it was a very depressing book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    this book was a intresting book

    feud starts the daughter Fanny McCoy is trying to get out of it she thinks her The coffin Quilt is about fanny and a family feud with two families the Hatfield¿s and the McCoy¿s one of the families¿ stole the other pigs so they get mad and a sister Rose is evil this happened in 1882 Fanny, Sarah, and Ro are the main characters of the story the shootings that happened at the nged up and killed him they went on trial with the three brothers. and most of the schoolhouse and the hanging of the Hatfield¿s and the McCoy¿s in 1872 to 1882 the election day wasn¿t a good day for some of the family members because some of them died the three brothers killed a man they gae family diesother because their families were in a feud I would recommend this to people that want to learn about This story has a lot of drama with Rose and Johnse and they sneaking out and they couldn¿t see each Kentucky and West Virginia history and who wants to read some drama. Fanny finds out that Ro is evil and she burns the coffin quilt half of the people in each family and Fanny finds out that Ro has been romancing with one of the Hatfield¿s. are dead In this entire book was a very interesting book to read the drama and some of the suspense in it I recommend this to people who love drama and romance and history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Must Read Book!!

    Ann Rinaldi¿s Coffin Quilt is a must read book! She does a phenomenal job describing the hardships of both the McCoys and Hatfields. I gave this book three stars because at times you wanted to fall asleep and others you couldn¿t put it down! The family feud can be very interesting if told correctly to young teenagers.There was so much information giving and it made it so much coming from sixteen year old Fanny. Fanny McCoy is a sixteen year old girl faced with the pettiness of her family. Many problems occur but it only makes her stronger. She is free willing and does what she has to do to get the job done, whether good and bad.In this book you feel as if you are in the war yourself, from the sadness of the shooting and hangings from the hatred of both family betrayals. Being historical, it had its ups and downs with the concentration but all together I would read it again.All in all the book was pretty good. Every middle school teen should at least try to endure this book. Even when the times got hard, both families learned to cope. The Coffin Quilt is fantastic, I enjoyed reading it.Overall Rinaldi did a great job; the book was interesting and informative as I learned the story. At least from the point of view of Fanny, and it kept me reading until the very end. I will read more of Rinaldi¿s books and continue to like them. Hopefully you will enjoy the twists and turns of the surprise ending, leaving you hooked forever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Not a must read!!!

    Book title and author: The Coffin Quilt, Ann Rinaldi Title of review: Okay
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 3

    Introduction
    The Coffin Quilt is about the rivalry between the Hatfields and the McCoys as told by Fanny McCoy. This book review is reviewed by the perspective of an eighth grade student. I think this book was made to inform you and to entertain you. Therefore that is how I judged this book.
    Description and summary of main points
    This book is about one of the most renowned feud around the country, the feud between the Hatfields and the McCoys. It is not known how it started exactly but they had taken different sides during the Civil War and when a pig was thought to be stolen it all boiled over and violence erupted. The entire book is told by the perspective of Fanny McCoy which at times can make it hard to understand because it is written in the same way that they would talk in that time and area. Which used words that we are not familiar with like homespun and level headed.
    Evaluation
    I didn¿t enjoy this book very much. When we learned about the feud in class I found that it was more interesting and entertaining than reading the book. It was also more accurate because things were changed in the book. This is why I really wouldn¿t recommend this book. If you are interested in the feud and would like to learn about it I would recommend that you read about it online and from other sources.
    Conclusion
    I thought the role of this book was to entertain and to inform. Because it was it not very entertaining and things were changed so it did not always inform accurately, it didn¿t fulfill either of the jobs it should have. For these reasons I would not recommend it to other students.
    Your final review
    Overall, this book did not come close to fulfilling the expectations I had for it. I would not recommend it to anyone my age. Somebody older may find it entertaining and I may recommend it to them but not to a student.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    Good Book

    This book was a really good book. One of the finest books I have read in a long time. I wish that the book made more sense when reading it, because it didn't sound right. I hope Ann Rinaldi will right great books and the book will make sense. But other than that, it was awsome.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    Great book.!

    It is a good story, doesn't have anything bad about it at all. It is the hisory about West Virginia and the Htfield and McCoy families. The bad part is when it is about to get good but then the chapter and sometimes go to a different subject.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    Check this book out!!1

    I think that the Coffin Quilt book is a good book and it was a easy book to read but the book was just not long enough. It was a very interesting book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    A book for people who like history!!!

    I read this book and so far it is an ok book and this book is for people who like history. Also people that like hearing about the old times and if I had to read this book another time I would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    The Coffin Quilt

    I liked the Coffin Quilt, but it was hard to follow at certain points. I think it would be easy to understand to somebody that enjoyed history, or somebody that was a little bit older. For someone that likes history, I think it would be a good book. The ending of it was alot easier to follow than the begining. I would read it again, and I don't really like to read. It helps understand the Hatfield and McCoy fued better than what history books do. It puts picture in your mind and makes you feel like you know what is going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    Amazing And Interesting Book On The Hatfield & McCoy Fued.

    The Coffin Quilt was written by Ann Rinaldi. It is a very interesting story on the past, present, and future of the Hatfileds and McCoys. The book talks about the fued between the familes,the love shared between the families, and the trust that was gained and lost. This book also gives life long information and great codes to follow. It was a book that you started reading, you couldn't put it down. You were upset when the chapter ended, but happy when the next one begun. I recommend that you read this book, if you are interested in a wonderful story of the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    It was okay.

    I found the book to be pretty good. The book was full of drama and suspense. It didn't have enough action until
    near the end. I feel like if they would have put more action in more parts of the story, it would have made the book a whole lot better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    Highly Recommended- Keeps you on your toes!!

    "The Coffin Quilt" contains a mixture of romance, war, tragedy, and sorrow. If you enjoy a thriller that will keep you on your toes, this book is for you! I enjoyed this book, although there were a few dry spots that were a little hard to understand. This book could be a sad one for 5 pages, and a happy one the next 6 pages. Its ending will have you chomping at the bit for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    It's a good book.

    I think It was a good book. I didn't get to read it all yet but, what I have read so far is good. "It was the first time Ro ever seen Pa cry, cause he don't cry that much." That's all I have to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    It was okay.

    This book had a good story but personally I thought that the book had to many deaths in it and I'm not a big fan of that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    The Coffin Quilt

    I think that a good thing in this book is that it does get interesting if you read it enough, and it really happened, so you can gain a. experience from it. You will enjoy it even if you are not into real life books. You will still like it because there's some action, romance, and suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    The Coffin Quilt.

    The Coffin Quilt was a good book, I really didn't like it, but in the middle of the story, I started to get in to it. Mostly this book is about the McCoys and Hatfields fighting. One great big disaster is that a McCoy daughter ran off with a Hatfield, and they had a kid together. And their family was terribly mad at her for that, they even put her on the damned side of the garden. It is a good book, I thought it was going to be a horrible and boring book and then I read it and it turned out to be a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Coffin Quilt

    I could hardly put this book down. It was exciting from start to finish. I was literally on the edge of my seat reading this thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    The Coffin Quilt

    I give this book, 3 out of 5 stars, because I really enjoyed it. The storyline was addicting, and the characters traits were great. I enjoyed it, because of those reasons. Also, because it's a true story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    The Coffin Quilt

    I really thought it was an educated book. I learned a lot about the Hatfields and McCoys. I never knew anything about wars, because I wasn't alive during the war. I thought learning about the war was very exciting to me to find these kind of things out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    Coffin Quilt Review

    The Coffin Quilt was astonishing. It kept me turning each page. I felt like I was there with Fanny McCoy. This novel is strongly detailed, from begining to end. Ann Rinaldi has done it again. There's so many historical places and people, such as "Devil Anse". I would give this fantastic novel three stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2