Customer Reviews for

The Coffin Quilt: The Feud between the Hatfields and the McCoys

Average Rating 4
( 233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The Coffin Quilt

The Coffin Quilt is a book about love, family, and one of the most famous feuds in history. Based on true events, this book will keep you wanting more. Being told from a young McCoy's point of view, this exciting page turner about the the Hatfeilds and the McCoys will k...
The Coffin Quilt is a book about love, family, and one of the most famous feuds in history. Based on true events, this book will keep you wanting more. Being told from a young McCoy's point of view, this exciting page turner about the the Hatfeilds and the McCoys will keep you interested until the very end!

posted by 3540375 on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Why the Coffin Quilt is terrible Well, first, all the characters

Why the Coffin Quilt is terrible
Well, first, all the characters made you want to hate them. Fanny was a bipolar, two faced, traitor who couldn’t make up her mind to save her life. Roseanna felt sorry for herself the entire time and threw her family under the bus ...
Why the Coffin Quilt is terrible
Well, first, all the characters made you want to hate them. Fanny was a bipolar, two faced, traitor who couldn’t make up her mind to save her life. Roseanna felt sorry for herself the entire time and threw her family under the bus for the guy that knocked her up. The entire McCoy and Hatfield families were fighting over a reason that no one knows to this day; and would just murder each other over the fact that a few of their ancestors got mad at each other for supposedly stealing a freaking pig! The characters were so un-relatable, and the magnitude of the feud was blown way out of proportion. The book made it seem like the southern hills of West Virginia were painted with the blood of both Hatfield’s and McCoy's. I am from West Virginia and this book paints us in a terrible light. It makes it look like the Hatfields were terrible blood-thirsty people, when in actuality it was the McCoys who continued the feud and lead countless number of raids into West Virginia. I’m sure this is a fine author, but she needed to research a little more about the feud. I get that it was told through the eyes of Fanny McCoy, but still it would have been better if she showed two different perspectives: One from the McCoy side and one from the Hatfields. Oh, and if you can’t already tell I dreaded reading this book.

posted by Anonymous on May 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 88 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    Great Book !!!

    I believe that the Coffin Quilt was a fairly good book. At the same time I thought it was sad. There were a few parts that I did not like. For an example I did not like when they did not let Ro come back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    Great Book!

    The Coffin Quilt was a very exciting and engaging book to read. It was filled with mystery, adventure, confusion, and betrayal. Once you begin reading this book, it feels like you are actually there, observing everything being done by the Hatfield's and McCoy's through the eyes of a little girl. You begin to actually have feelings for the family members in the book. It makes you wish you could have been there and had a word in what was being done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    I recommend this book to anyone who likes history and likes family fueds.

    I give this book a four out of five. This is an ok book. I recommend this book to anyone who likes history and who likes family fueds. This book tells you a lot about the Hatfield and McCoy fued. It tells you how serious it was to steal a pig. It's a very interesting book in a way, because Ro runs away with a Hatfield and Ro is a McCoy. Ro runs away with Johnse to try and break up the fued.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    The Coffin Quilt

    An intriguing book. Left me in tears. Very emotional book, fantastic for all ages. Very well written never once did I get lost reading this novel. I absoluetly just loved this book. I can't wait to read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    Extremely Recommended

    The Coffin Quilt is a wonderful book. It would make a good book for English and Social Studies classes alike. It is a historical and yet entertaining at the same time. This book is very funny. I recomend it to teachers, students, and everyone who likes a good book. I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    A great book !!! Must read.

    The Coffin Quilt is a very good book, in my opinion. You learn a lot about the feud between the Hatfields and McCoys. It is very interesting and you will want to keep reading until you get to the end. For someone who likes history, this is deffiantly a great selection. We read it as a class in our 8th grade English class, and I think everyone enjoyed it. The little girl, Fanny, who narrates the story in her own perspective, makes the book worth reading because of the thoughts going through her mind. So, I definately reccomend this book to anyone in middle school and older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    The Coffin Quilt

    This book was a thrilling and sensational book filled with romance, death, and finding who you are and what you stand for. This biography of Fanny McCoy's life tells of the heartache she endured when her sister and best friend in the world leaves home to marry a Hatfield. When your sister is gone, your whole family forgets about her, and you're alone in this world what do you do? Fanny McCoy tells her brave role in the story of the famous Hatfield-McCoy feud that will have your heart racing and your eyes watering till the very end. This is a book I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    You Can't Put This Book Down Once You've Picked It Up!

    This book tells about the fued between the Hatfield's and McCoy's in West Virginia and Kentucky, with Fanny, (the youngest sibling), narrarating the story, The root of the problem begins when Devil Anse Hatfield steals Pa McCoy's pigs. The fued later gets worse on Election Day, when Roseanna McCoy and Johnse Hatfield start a bad romance. The romance and fued result in many dramatic deaths and secrets behind them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    The Coffin Quilt

    The Coffin Quilt was a true classic. It is a love story and a biography. It has a hillbilly style to it and has some funny episodes. It is a very sensational book. I highly recommend that you read this because it will make you laugh and cry. It is all based on the feud between the Hatfields and McCoys. Join Fanny McCoy on her journey through the famous feud, losing loved ones, and finding out what family really is. You will have a good time reading this book like I did. Most people find these books boring but this one will sweep you off your feet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    I've read it and you should too!!

    This book is a part of history. It goes back into the 1880s. We have had a lot of family fueds but the Hatfeilds and McCoys might be the most famous because of the depth, fighting, and killing. It is one of my favorite books, because it speaks the truth, that no family is perfect, and that we all have our moments. The narrator is Fanny, who starts off as a child, but ends as a young woman. Fanny had a hard life. At the end of her book about 6 of her siblings were killed, her mother has gone crazy and her father is never around or when he is, he does not talk, but Fanny did not let that stop her. This is one intersesting family, and it makes an even more interesting book. I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    You should definitely read this book!

    The Coffin Quilt is a very interesting and dramatic book. At the beginning, you may think it's not going to be good,however, by mid-book you're dying for more. Romance, betrayal, tragedy, all can be found in this book. The twist and turns of this book keep you interested. This book has some happy, yet sad moments. It had me blubbering like a baby at some parts. But, the happy parts that follow are what make you keep reading. I thought that it was pretty swell. Maybe you will too! Try this book out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    Wonderful Book

    It takes place in the 1860's.There are two families the Hatfields and the McCoy's. The two families start a feud. It happened in West Virginia and Kentucky.
    The book tells the reader more about the fued. There are many interesting events in this book.
    Roseanne McCoy and Johnse Hatfield fall in love. Roseanne and Johnse are not allowed to get married. The couple leaves thier family for a while.
    I really enjoyed this book. Now I understand more about the feud.A coffin quilt is a quilt that a person would make for the person that died.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    Very Good!

    The Coffin Quilt, by Ann Rinaldi, is a classic novel that describes the aftermath of the Civil War. It takes place on the border of West VIrginia and Kentucky. The story is being told by a young girl called Fanny, but it ends with her being sixteen. There are many characters in the story from her family and other people. A few are Ma, Pa, Alifair, Roseanna, Tolbert, Mary, Bud, Bill. The feud between the Hatfields and the McCoys starts when Floyd Hatfield steals Pa's hogs. That was the calm part of the story. The actual hate starts when Roseanna runs off with a Hatfield to get hitched. Somehow, word goes around and Pa declares that the name Ro will never be spoken in the McCoy household again. I liked this book, but there was too much death in it. In the end her family is torn apart because of death. It also had too much folklore such as Yeller Thing, a creature neither bear or painter cat, but smells worse than a skunk. It was an agricultural book on a society that planted and did things by the signs such as the moon and the constellations. the author also doesn't explain a lot of things such as a painter cat and moonshine being sold as a product. However, what makes it such a good book is her family because her family is split and all the younger kids attach themselves to the older kids. Also, most people are either McCoy or Hatfield so you know if they can be trusted or not. In the end this was a really great read, although it does have some minor errors like explaining things, it still meets my expectations. I recommend this book to all young adults who enjoy historical books. Once you pick it up it will be impossible to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    the coffin quilt by Dalton D mercer

    The book the coffin quilt is a great book. It is a book that explains the feud between the Hatfield family and the McCoy family. The author Ann Rinaldi is telling about why the McCoy family hated the Hatfield family.

    My opinion about the book is that the book is great and everyone 12 and up should read if there into historical feuds. There are many stories on why the families hated each other. One is that the Hatfield's had one of the McCoy's hogs and the McCoy's denied it. In the story the narrator is fanny McCoy and she tells about the hatred going on. Fanny's Sister Rosanna McCoy ran off with Johnse Hatfield at an election and got pregnant. After the baby was born johnse left Rosanna for the town hooker and so Rosanna was left all alone with a little baby boy. Well by god Rosanna's daddy Randall McCoy wasn't happy about it so then he and a bunch of the McCoy's and they all had a big old fight. After it was all over the McCoy's house was destroyed, some of them were dead, and they were homeless.
    If you are 12 or older or you just love reading and want to read this by god I recommend for you to.
    If you are into history and family feuds READ THIS BOOK it is amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    Wahoo!

    The book is about the feud between the Hatfield's and the McCoy's. The story is told from Fanny; she's the youngest in the McCoy family. The book was written to tell people about most of Hatfield's and McCoy's story. I think the book is a great book to read, especially for people that are sixth grade and older.
    The main things that happened in the book are the Election Day and the fight that happened, the hanging, Roseanna McCoy falling head over heels for Johnse Hatfield, the son of Devil Anse Hatfield, Roseanna moving away from her family and getting pregnant, Randall McCoy and some of his son's going off to find some of the Hatfield's, the fire fight at the McCoy's home, oh, and we can't forget old yeller, the creature that warns Fanny when something bad is about to happen.
    Books like The Girl in Blue, An Unlikely Friendship, and Sarah's Ground are book's like The Coffin Quilt. It's a really great book. I like it because it's a great book to read and it describes what their lives were like, even though it's not exactly what happened, but it's an entertaining book to read.
    The book The Coffin Quilt is a great book to read and you should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    You'll never want to stop reading

    The story, The Coffin Quilt, puts you right in the middle of the fued of the Hatfields and McCoys. Fanny McCoy will narrarate you through the happy amd tragic events that take place along the Ohio River Line. I gave this story 4/5 stars because it keeps you glued to the book until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Story!(If You Like Historical Fiction)

    "The Coffin Quilt" is an addictive page turner. I just could not put it down. I stayed up late many nights to read what happens next in this thrilling historical fiction novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    The Coffin Quilt Review by Shelby Rae

    The Coffin Quilt, written by Ann Rinaldi, is a historical book written on the events of the Hatfield's and the McCoy's. The story is told from the point of view of Fanny McCoy, sister of Rosanna McCoy, the one who was thought to have fuel an already raging feud. Fanny, being the smart, mannered girl stuck by her sisters' side through everything her sister Rosanna went through. While struggling with a cruel sister, Alafair, and finishing school, Fanny meets a strange character she likes to call Yeller Thing. She thinks he's some kind of warning when something bad is going to happen, which most of the time in this book, it does. Rating it I would only give it three stars, it was exciting, mysterious, the kind of book you just can't put down at three in the morning and you have work tomorrow, because your too into it to care.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    The Coffin Quilt

    Very addicting. The story 'The Coffin Quilt' was amazing. I felt like I was there. This book went into so much detail that you could almost hear what Fanny heard and smell what Fanny smelt. This is definitely something I would recommend.
    *****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    The Coffin Quilt

    The Coffin Quilt, written by Ann Rinaldi, involved the fued between the Hatfield and the Mcoys. It is a suspenseful story about a West Virginia family known as the Hatfields, and a Kentucky family called the McCoys. It was told from Fanny Mcoy's point of view. It had many charactors, but mainly was told from the setting of the the Mcoy's family house. There was a lot of shooting and killing. Neither of the families liked each other, but they finally snapped when Roe McCoy ran away with John Hatfield. After that, both sides went nuts. It was a good book and I would recommend it for ages over 10. The book explained a major part in West Virginia and Kentucky history. It was one of the worst fueds in the United States.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 88 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5