Customer Reviews for

The Coincidence of Callie & Kayden

Average Rating 4.5
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

a must read...

Just wanted to leave a quick review of this amazing book. I had gotten this a bit ago and finally had a little time to read it while on vacation with my family. Just like with THE SECRET OF ELLA AND MICHA I was taken in to this story and found it so hard to leave. I was...
Just wanted to leave a quick review of this amazing book. I had gotten this a bit ago and finally had a little time to read it while on vacation with my family. Just like with THE SECRET OF ELLA AND MICHA I was taken in to this story and found it so hard to leave. I was captivated by its interesting storyline and its top notch characters. But man, oh man was that one heck of a way to end it. I am desperate…desperate I tell you…for book 2. Sorensen better be ready to release that bad boy soon cause I am in need of it.

I have found myself leaning more and more towards the new adult genre, especially contemporary romance. And I found that THE COINCIDENCE OF CALLIE AND KAYDEN is a perfect example of fantastic new adult/contemporary romance. Sorensen has another wonderful hit on her hands and I know others are impatiently waiting for the 2nd book as much as I am.

Everything about this book is excellent, romantic, and absolutely intense. Take note...this book has its dark sides. What these characters go through at times is pretty rough. But it is not all sad and dark; there is light in the midst of it all. Pick up this amazing read and I know you will fly through it like I did eager to devour its goodness. It really is a must read.

posted by twimom101 on March 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good

I really like it, but it seem a bit rush, like she was rushing through the whole book

posted by daniDM on May 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Fantastic!!!!!

    When i frist bought this book i thought it was gonna be a typical love story. But it wasnt :)
    The storyline, the character, and especially the amazing writing left me completly stunned!!!!
    I could not put the book down nor did i want too
    And the ending was the best chiffhanger ever i just cant wait for the second book!!!
    This is definitly a must read ;)

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hauntingly Beautiful!

    Let’s start with the end-because it was, without a doubt, “One of Those Endings” that you won’t see coming and has you craving MORE, but in the best way possible, because you are THAT invested! The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden by Jessica Sorensen swallows you whole and does not begin to return you completely to ‘the real world’ for, oh about a day! It takes that long to catch your breath after the emotional gut punch you experience page after page, but you keep on going, well, because The coincidence of Callie and Kayden is that compelling, that good, that well-written!
    Jessica Sorensen has created a heartstoppingly beautiful tale of two souls who have been damaged by their torturous pasts, keeping everyone out of their emotional personal space, finally to find the courage to open up, learn to cautiously trust, feel, and hope for a better life. On the outside, they seem so different, but deep down, their angst and pain are so similar, they bring out the best in each other. Get ready to run the gamut of emotions in the extreme as each character shares their POV.


    A Review copy was provided by NetGalley and Hachette Book Group, GRAND CENTRAL PUBLISHING, FOREVER in exchange for my honest review.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book! Can't wait for the next one! Highly Recommend

    I loved this book! Can't wait for the next one! Highly Recommend!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    This book was amazing! Captivated me and left me wanting the nex

    This book was amazing! Captivated me and left me wanting the next book ASAP...such a great storyline that kept you wanting to see what was coming next...read this book in one day! So you can imagine how sad I was that I have to wait unti August for the next one to be released!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I have read this book twice now because it is that great. Sorens

    I have read this book twice now because it is that great. Sorensen is now one of my favorite authors. I love her writing style and her ability to tell a great story full of amazing backstory.
    This book was an emotional read for sure. The obstacle that have been put in the character's lives are not pretty, and often things people don't like to deal with. Sorensen depicts these things perfectly, which can be hard to face, but it makes it that much more real. You really can feel the pain these characters harbor and your heart will ache for them.
    The love that Callie and Kayden come to find is unreal. They are able to provide something to one an another that doesn't come around often. Again, the writing is excellent and I fell in love with these characters love story. There was heat, and steaminess, there was sweet and vulnerable, and there was fire and passion. I loved every word of this book. It is clear at the end of this book that the story of Callie and Kayden has not ended, in fact it is just beginning. There is sure to be a long road ahead, but when you read a book this good you won't be put off by having to wait, because it's not just some light simple read, it is one you will become engrossed in and you will know that waiting for the next one is worth it, and you will never forget this story afterward.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Addicting story

    The author has chosen such a hard and painful topic and has shown that life can change and evolve. Job well done. I will recommend this to many.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Best book i ve read yet!!!!!

    This book is amazing!!!!!!! At first I thought it was going to be the same old love story like the guy gets the girl and live happily ever after. But boy was I wrong!!!!! This book literally brought me to me knees and made me remember that not all love stories have the perfect ending. Callie and Kaydens past are both consumed by darkness and horror and they met and find light together. But then strikes a tragic ending like Romeo and Juliet. In Jessica Sorensen's version of a perfect romance and tragedy story thus is a must read. P.S. if you find this book good and interesting then read Hopeless by Colleen Hover

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Amazing and powerful

    This is an amazing and very powerful story of 2 Collage students that have had very bad things happen. They are obviously very strong to over come there fears. I also love the idea of the list they made.

    Borrowed this book from another B&N customer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    Great book

    Great story line. Really enjoyed reading this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Amazing

    Just read it. You will forever be in love with these characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    I knew from the synopsis that I would be able to relate to these

    I knew from the synopsis that I would be able to relate to these characters. Callie and Kayden are starting over. They arrive at college, hoping to leave behind their tragic stories and the abusers who wrote them. They struggle to free themselves from their pasts in order to embrace life and maybe find a way to trust and love again. I fell in love with these characters immediately. Reading Kayden’s story was hard for me at times. He had been broken down his entire life by someone who should have made sure nothing ever hurt him. I wanted him to fight back. I wanted him to scream, to yell, to tell someone/everyone what was happening to him. But I know life isn’t that simple and somehow, despite how he had been betrayed, he knew how to love and felt the need to protect the people he cared about. Enter Callie, the person who would stand at his side while he faced his demons, the girl that would stand in front of him, shielding his heart with her own.

    Callie keeps her pain inside, trying desperately to stay off the world’s radar. She relives her nightmare almost daily and struggles to trust anyone enough to let them in. As I got to know her character I just wanted to reach out to her, to hug her, to let her know she wasn’t alone. I also loved her best friend. Seth is the friend everyone needs. He has his own tragic tale and in sharing it with Callie, they were able to let each other in. They lean on each other, encourage and challenge one another. He pushes her, but respects her limitations. He is the ultimate best friend.

    The Coincidence of Callie & Kayden is the first book in a series. It leaves the story unresolved (but the second book is already out, so no worries!) but in all honesty, it needed to. The characters have gone through too much, they’ve only just begun to bring the truth of their abuse out into the light. The thing about life is that it almost always gets worse before it gets better. Had these characters admitted their tragic stories only to live happily ever after, I would have been disappointed. It wouldn’t have felt real. Instead their story leads to uncertainty, chaos, love and pain. I know not everyone will agree with me on this one, but for me this was the natural place to leave their story at the end of book one. Because the road to healing is a very long one. So as much as I hated that their story is left hanging, I loved Jessica Sorensen for respecting the reality of abuse, of grief, of healing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    I don't Think I have ever read a book so intense. I love that it

    I don't Think I have ever read a book so intense. I love that it has problems that people are too afraid to talk about. I still think about this
     book and can't wait for the next book to come out!! 


    "In the existence of our lives, there is a single coincidence that brings us together and for that moment, our hearts beat as one"

    I just love this book. And that cliffhanger is a KILLER!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Omg

    I loved this book!!!!!!!!!!!!! Whats the title of the next book??????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Fell in love

    Could not put the book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    LOVED THIS BOOK.................................................

    LOVED THIS BOOK.................................................................This is actually the second time reading it, I was about ready to start the second book and decided to reread the first, I had forgotten how powerful it was, the love Callie & Kayden share is so sweet and they're dark secrets are so sad, it's really heart breaking. Hope the second book is as emotional to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    great story

    Worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    UH! i know there are mixed reviews about this book but I LOVED I

    UH! i know there are mixed reviews about this book but I LOVED IT!!! 




    Callie is destroyed as she once was on the day of her 12th birthday. She pulls away and keeps everyone away. Maybe that way everyone will forget about who she is. 




    Kayden is the quarterback for her dad's high school football team. He has his own dark secrets and past. He may be popular but not everything that he is is shown on the outside. 




    Both view college as a way to escape. What happens when they run into each other, Kayden finally gets to say thank you for saving his life. Callie is finally starting to push herself outside of her comfort zones thanks to her new best friend Seth. For both of them what was important or un-important in Callie's case no longer matters. 




    This book is learning to trust, and just to finally live without the weight of their pasts. IT's a journey to start healing and letting go of what once happened. But all secrets aren't easy to overcome. What happens when decisions are made that may cause serious consequences in the future? Will they stay together? I can't wait to find out what happens next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    im not much of a reader but i literally could NOT put this book

    im not much of a reader but i literally could NOT put this book down and it made me feel so wrapped up in it it was unreal..i REALLY recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Addicting

    You will fall for Kaden right away... The sequel is just as good and I am so excited to read the third and fourth in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    I couldn't put this book down.  One of the best books I've read

    I couldn't put this book down.  One of the best books I've read in a long time! I've found my new favorite author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6