Customer Reviews for

The Cold Cold Ground: A Detective Sean Duffy Novel

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    I've read about half of author Adrian McKinty's adult books (so

    I've read about half of author Adrian McKinty's adult books (so far) and this is one of his best. What I like about McKinty's writing in this book is not just the mystery story--which is pretty entertaining--but also his flair for humor and natural dialogue; he's got the ear and the voice, so it just sings, IMO.

    Since this is the first in a new series, it's a perfect time to give McKinty a try; I don't think you'll be disappointed and, if you like the book, he's got more coming, as well as 6-7 previous books you can read (yeah, I know, this reads like the author posting himself or having one of his friends shill for him, but I'm definitely not him, nor have I ever met him--I just like his writing and want him to be a "success," where success is defined as many more books published for me and others to read).

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    McKinty tells stories through characters that have a unique vist

    McKinty tells stories through characters that have a unique vista on a place and time. The Cold Cold Ground is a fascinating police procedural that integrates social and political tensions of 1980s Belfast with Sgt Detective Sean Duffy's investigation into a series of gruesome murders. McKinty skillfully builds Duffy's world, and the story has a quick rhythm even though each scene is full of detail. Also enjoyable: numerous 80s pop-culture references.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    This is a fabulous book. It's more than a police procedural as i

    This is a fabulous book. It's more than a police procedural as it takes on social, political and moral issues of Northern Ireland in 1981. The prose is exceptional and there's lots of humour as well. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2015

    THE COLD, COLD GROUND is Book #1 in Adrian McKinty┬┐s The Trouble

    THE COLD, COLD GROUND is Book #1 in Adrian McKinty’s The Troubles Trilogy. It is a Detective Sean Duffy novel.
    The locale is Northern Ireland in the 1980s with real events woven into the narrative.
    The title opens with Sean Duffy (a Catholic in the RUC - Royal Ulster Constabulary - in Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland) working riot duty in the aftermath of Bobby Sands’s death in the Maze Prison. “Bobby Sands was the maitreya, the world teacher, the martyr who would redeem mankind through his suffering.” (Powerful musings from our Sean.)
    The title is intermixed with hopelessness, violent current events, and thoughtful, classical, philosophical and articulate musings by Sean.
    Sean Duffy is a melancholy character; angry, yet thoughtful and intelligent. He is likeable, interesting, yet immoral. He is ‘quite the talker’ and can often manipulate situations. He feels trapped and finds it hard to believe his own philosophy of serving in the RUC - that he can achieve some good, some positive balance or example in spite of his surroundings.
    Sean, not surprisingly, has very bad (sometimes comical) luck with women. He never gets into his car before checking for bombs underneath.
    The character of Sean Duffy is an unforgettable one. I read all 3 books in the trilogy, plus a new 4th Sean Duffy title in less than 2 weeks. I couldn’t let him (and his musings) go.
    The characters and events were intriguing.
    The real main character was the rain.
    I would highly recommend all the ‘Troubles Trilogy’ titles - COLD, COLD GROUND, I HEAR THE SIRENS IN THE STREET and IN THE MORNING I’LL BE GONE. THE GUN STREET GIIRL is a Detective Sean Duffy, also.
    With very thoughtful, intricate characterizations, an unforgettable sense of place, and compelling mysteries - this series is impossible not to like. The locale, the people and events (true and fictional) will stay with you long after the reading is finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2015

    Very good

    Goos plot, great charecters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    To Coldstar what about ....

    the rest

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Frostbird

    I am an icey white she cat, with silver eyes. I was born with a mark on my neck of a flame, my brother had one, but it was a snowflake. My twin brother and I were the contents of a prophecy, he had amazing fire powers, he could set the whole forest on fire in an instant. I have what I like to call winter powers. I can freeze things, I can make it snow, I could bring on an eternal winter if I wanted to. When I was very small there was a bigger kit that taunted me every day. He would call me names, hurt me, and spread rumors. I finall snapped, and I froze him. He is still an icey statue. My brother thawed his inards, to try to buy enough time to figure out how to completely thaw. The kit died any way and I have bever forgiven myself for that. That is why I wish to join this clan, to remind myself not to have such a cold heart ever again. I hope this sufficient information. Thank you for your consideration.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Icestorm

    "Wow! I have found my long lost Clan! I can't beleive it! Is Rockfur here?" He mewed, excitement surging through his body.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Coldstar

    "What rest"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Frostwing

    She pads, looking around with bright blue eyes "May I join?" She mews, a hint of nervousness in her voice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Awesome book

    The pace of this book was perfect. This was quite a page turner. The description of irelsnd during the troubles was very apt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    I really enjoy this authors work. I have read most of his other

    I really enjoy this authors work. I have read most of his other books and I recommend the read. Looking forward to the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1