Customer Reviews for

The Cold Six Thousand: Underworld USA 2

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The book braced me. The book made me geeze. I couldn't put it down...

Cold Six Thousand was given to me as a Father's Day gift in 2003. As I fought my way through the first fifty pages, I thought, 'what the hell is this??' All of a sudden I fell in love with Big Barb (like all the other guys) and didn't put it down for the next ten hours....
Cold Six Thousand was given to me as a Father's Day gift in 2003. As I fought my way through the first fifty pages, I thought, 'what the hell is this??' All of a sudden I fell in love with Big Barb (like all the other guys) and didn't put it down for the next ten hours. In the year since, I've read five more of Ellroy's works, this one a second time (regardless of what anyone tells you, read American Tabloid first, then this) and have become an unabashed fan. The characters are some of the most despicable, heartless individuals you have ever met - but you end up caring about them. After leading the lives they do, Wayne, Pete and Ward resolve things the only way they know how, in the extereme. It's a rough ride through the turbulent politics of the Sixties - one you should defiitely take.

posted by Anonymous on June 1, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I've read several of Ellroy's books, including My Dark Places, the Black Dahlia, and my absolute favorite LA Confidential. The Cold Six Thousand was a huge disappointment. The overlapping and myriad story lines and the fragmented prose, which are Ellroy's trademark, sty...
I've read several of Ellroy's books, including My Dark Places, the Black Dahlia, and my absolute favorite LA Confidential. The Cold Six Thousand was a huge disappointment. The overlapping and myriad story lines and the fragmented prose, which are Ellroy's trademark, stymie rather than entertain. In previous books, the characters' violence, racism, and general soullessness were essential; in Six Thousand, the progressive escalation of killing, racist language, and heartlessness felt gratuitous, and formulaic.

posted by Anonymous on October 16, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    i hated every page, and i like james ellroy.  so hard to read.  

    i hated every page, and i like james ellroy.  so hard to read.  so glad it's done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2009

    Disappointing

    I am a big fan of thrillers--like John Sandford, Kellerman, Reginald Hill. But I just didn't like the tone of this book at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2003

    Disappointing

    I've read several of Ellroy's books, including My Dark Places, the Black Dahlia, and my absolute favorite LA Confidential. The Cold Six Thousand was a huge disappointment. The overlapping and myriad story lines and the fragmented prose, which are Ellroy's trademark, stymie rather than entertain. In previous books, the characters' violence, racism, and general soullessness were essential; in Six Thousand, the progressive escalation of killing, racist language, and heartlessness felt gratuitous, and formulaic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    The book braced me. The book made me geeze. I couldn't put it down...

    Cold Six Thousand was given to me as a Father's Day gift in 2003. As I fought my way through the first fifty pages, I thought, 'what the hell is this??' All of a sudden I fell in love with Big Barb (like all the other guys) and didn't put it down for the next ten hours. In the year since, I've read five more of Ellroy's works, this one a second time (regardless of what anyone tells you, read American Tabloid first, then this) and have become an unabashed fan. The characters are some of the most despicable, heartless individuals you have ever met - but you end up caring about them. After leading the lives they do, Wayne, Pete and Ward resolve things the only way they know how, in the extereme. It's a rough ride through the turbulent politics of the Sixties - one you should defiitely take.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    All I could say was, "WOW!"

    Ellroy ups the ante with this relentless piece of fiction. The characters, story lines, and plot twists come about as hard and heavy as the bullets do. Ellroy's jive-talk writing frames the story to its timeframe perfectly. This is noir at its finest! While you easily become numbed to the violence, decay, and sex(though I felt I needed to take a shower a few times to get the dirt, sweat, and blood off me), you get tied into the lead characters, who, at their basest, are just like you and me- flawed. I can't wait till the next one comes out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2002

    Telegraph Style Results in Vague Images

    The only other piece by James Ellroy that I¿ve read is ¿Dick Contino¿s Blues¿ as reprinted in Granta so my read of The Cold Six Thousand was not influenced by American Tabloid, much mentioned in other readers¿ reviews of The Cold 6K,or any of Ellroy¿s other novels. In this novel Ellroy tells a story of such corruption that the narrative structure, if it can be called such, is corrupt. Through the telegraphed, staccato style the author¿s narrative presence simply does not exist. The entire novel is contained in the moral wasteland of its characters. There is practically no description of place in this novel. The story relies entirely on what the characters are doing. This style becomes the instrument by which untoward references to racial and ethnic groups works without casting aspersions on the author. In this way the novel is hermetically sealed off from the rest of contemporary experience and allowed to progress under its own rules. The style of writing, that frequently makes Hemmingway look like Faulkner, comes off as sketchy at best and conveys few, if any, images. Ellroy¿s style at times carries the story along but other times becomes tiresome and bogs it down. There is also a pervasive lack or clarity in this story that results both from the style and because scenes and characters change so frequently. What narrative there is is often abstract and sometimes just comes off as words placed on the page to take up space until something more interesting comes along. Maybe this is why Ellroy tells some of the story in the form of document inserts and transcripts that are printed in a different font from the rest of the novel and which sometimes offer welcome relief from the morass. Ellroy¿s storytelling techniques create distance between the reader and the novel. I always felt that I was observing the story from the outside and never entering it or becoming a part of it. One reason for this is the near absolute lack of sympathy with the characters due to their reckless moral abandon. I don¿t know anyone like the principal characters in The Cold 6K. They are like Martin Scorsese¿s gangsters who seem comfortable in a world of sudden and brutal violence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    I love Ellroy and i love the time period that the american under

    I love Ellroy and i love the time period that the american underworld trilogy is set in! Definitely recommended. The only problem i had was that after awhile i really started getting sick of the 4 word sentences, but nonetheless a good read and although a work of fiction it is a great story for those who enjoy alternate theories on whatwent down in the 1960's 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2006

    From a New Ellroy fan

    This book has got me hooked on Ellroy. The guy is a brutal poet. This book maps the underworld of the sixties with a kinetic writing style that I loved from page one. Ellroy strips away the fluff and cuts straight to the heart of the story 3 men navigating through a dark time in u.s. history while negotiating with their own morality. The three male leads are are monstorous in their own way, but Ellroy does what he does best: makes you care about them and the women that make them tick. Gripping, violent, intense, angry, dark, relentless, amazing. Give it a shot, you might love it, you might hate it, but I have a feeling you'll get your money's worth either way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2002

    Unbelievable!

    This book is a solid five stars. No book has captured my full attention like this one. Ellroy's writing style is the freshest of our time. An unequivocal masterpiece. I await impatiently the next work from Ellroy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2002

    Did You People Really Read This 'Book'?

    I am amazed by the foregoing reviews and ratings. This is a good story, by a good author (I hear), but this is a book that should never have been published without major editing. His writing style is not Hemingwayesque; it's more DickandJaneesque, and it is very hard to read in that style, which adds NOTHING to the story. Enough with the three and four word sentences. Tell the story; my eyeballs nearly exploded from all the forced and unnatural stops. Do people think they have to be nice about the book because he has written good ones before. A. A. Knopf needs to hire editors, and they need to EDIT Mr. Ellroy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2001

    Six Thousand Salute!!!

    A complex and chilling piece of literary fiction that takes you on a ride you'll never forget!! Being a first time reader of Mr. James Ellroy, I will certainly look into other ventures. Ellroy seems to have a writing style that seems simplistic, however, it weaves a web that is truly enjoyable--what novels are supposed to be, a place to immerse yourself (especially something as thrilling and as 'cold' as this)!!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2001

    James Ellroy Rules

    I was able to get my hands on an Advance Copy. The Cold Six Thousand picks up right where American Tabloid ends. Ellroy slashes and burns through the next 5 years of the dark side of American history. The aftermath of the JFK assisination, as well as MLK, RFK, Heroin, the Mob, Howard Hughes and Vegas all feature prominently. Our old friends Pete B. and Ward L. are back, and the Demon Dog introduces a new anti-hero Wayne Tedrow. I can't wait for Police Gazette. Hopefully it won't be another 5 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2001

    Finally

    American Tabloid was the first Ellroy book that I read. My immediate reaction was to start reading his other books. After A.T. I read White Jazz. It was the only Ellroy book available at the bookstore. I struggled through it. Then I did more research and started reading his books in order from the earliest works through the later. I've been waiting for The Cold Six Thousand since 1995. The style is more like White Jazz than American Tabloid. I love it as White Jazz is my personal favorite. The other reviews tell you what this book is about. I'm telling you to buy it. There will not be a finer work of literature to come out in 2001 and probably will not be again until Ellroy finishes and has published the next volume in this series. So when is that going to happen?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2001

    Awesome

    In his newest edition to his Underworld USA Trilogy (beginning with American Tabloid) James Ellroy takes the stakes even higher. While the first novel dealt primarily only with the events leading up to the Kennedy Assassination, The Cold Six Thousand takes the bull by the horns, spanning from the aftermath of the aforementioned assassination to Vietnam to Mob Rule in Las Vegas to Klan Activities in the south, to Martin Luther King, and finally the assassination of JFK's brother. The opening sentece pretty much sets the tone for the whole novel. It's brutal, it's violent, but it never fails to entertain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2001

    FINALLY!

    The Cold Six Thousand, the sequel to American Tabloid, does not disappoint. Ellroy is a stylist. He wants you to know this. He writes short sentences. He keeps the action moving. There are more periods in this book than in Hemingway's entire canon. TCST has JFK, RFK, MLK, Hughes, the mob, bagmen, movie stars, as well as returning characters Pete Bondurant and Ward Littell. It takes a few pages to get into the groove of Ellroy's machine gun delivery, but once you are there, you're off to the races, and 1962-1968 cruise by in a blur of deception, intrigue, assassinations, Vietnam, and Mob machinations. It took Ellroy six years to write this book. I've already read it and it hasn't even come out yet. I should have read slower. Dang. I gave this book 5 stars because it's better than most of the clap-trap that's out there today. But it's not American Tabloid. Oh, just buy the book and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2001

    If you loved American Tabloid, this will NOT disappoint

    I too was lucky enough to get an advance copy of The Cold Six Thousand (thanks friends in publishing!!!) and it's a GREAT read. American Tabloid was an absolute blast in creating a story as fun and exciting as Ellroy's best, and at the same time keeping me fascinated with its theories on what might have really happened in history. TCST brilliantly picks up right where it left off and jumps head first into new directions. Unlike AT, you're not exactly sure where it'll end, what's the historical event that will cap it off, but just like AT, knowing your history doesn't interfere with this terrific page-turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2001

    COLD SIX, Get Ready..!

    This is a heart-breaking story about heart-bypassed, heart-misplaced, and heart-BROKEN men. A truly horrific, powerful, entertaining, dizzying Masterpiece. Truly. Do not be put off by the terse text, embrace it: it is the only language imaginable to convey the velocity and the purpose of the characters and indeed the times they shaped.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2001

    I bought an Advanced Readers Copy and LOVED it.

    Fortunately, I was able to procure a copy of the Cold Six Thousand off of ebay. 711 pages bay-by! And I whipped through'em all. All I gotta say is that you won't be disappointed come May. As for me, well I guess I've got s'more waiting to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2