Customer Reviews for

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Enjoyable

    Quite enjiyable. A second might just be nessesary to complete it however.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    BEST BOOK EVER





















































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    Let¿s play a game of never have I ever. Never have I ever read a

    Let’s play a game of never have I ever. Never have I ever read a Holly Black book before I read The Coldest Girl of Coldtown. Never have I ever been excited about reading it. Never have I ever thought that “ooooh, ME NEEDS TO READ THIS ASAP OR I’LL DIE.“ No. Nothing of sorts. Yeah, a bunch of people enjoyed it, Giselle and Rachel among them, but I still didn’t feel like reading it. Thank goodness for the magic that is audiobooks or else I wouldn’t have given it a try at all. Yay that I did.

    QUOTE
    “If she was going to die, she might as well die sarcastic.” 

    I really liked the world. Kind of reminded me of The Sookie Stackhouse series (or the Southern Vampires series as some of you may know it) what with its world’s obsession with vampires and whatnot. Especially in the HBO’s TV show even more than in the books. The writing is absolutely gorgeous and it took me to another place entirely while I was listening to this book. However, I feel like not much happened plot-wise because all they do is ride to this destination, but you know, whatever—I’m not complaining over a road trip. I love me some great road trips. Then again, there were lots of twists and turns that took me by surprise. Like the story behind Gavriel? Yeahhhh.. that one indeed. Really enjoyed the family storylines; both of them—Gavriel's and Tana's.

    The narrator did a very good job. I actually tried to listen to it once before, but the sample didn’t convince me that it was a book I’d like to “read“, but a few months later I gave it another go and totally ended up loving the narrator’s job so I got the book. The narrator gives the main character this good ole Daria vibe with her sometimes sarcastic and quite a bit serious voice that she does well and it suits Tana's personality extremely well. Plus, the narrator made good voice intonations so that I knew who was speaking without having the need to mention the name. That’s some skill here.

    After about 60% of the book I got tired and was ready for the book to be over with. I think that a lot of it could have been cut, because for such a huge book, not much happened as I already said and that was kind of the downfall of it all in my eyes. What does it matter though? Most people love this novel to pieces. Also, I’m glad that this is a standalone and I don’t mind it in the least. We need more standalones and less series.

    Overall, I am very pleased that I decided to give it a try. I liked it, but I didn’t love it. If it wasn’t for the ending dragging so much and the not-so-much-happening plot-wise in such a long book, it would have been a higher rating, but it is what it is hence we’re stuck with this rating. I still advise you to give it a go, because the writing and the ideas definitely make me want to explore more by Holly.

    PS. I know this review didn't really say anything, but I don't have anything to say. It was likable, but nothing special except for the writing.

    Overall rating: 3.4 out of 5.0

    Originally published on my blog @ Little Pieces of Imagination

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Amazing

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Once upon a time I was vampire obsessed. I would read whatever I

    Once upon a time I was vampire obsessed. I would read whatever I could get my hands on, from Anne Rice to Stephanie Meyer to Laurell K. Hamilton and everything in between. But then vampire fiction took over the book market and I had to stop. The books became boring, predictable and at times just downright ridiculous. I became convinced that there would never again be another fresh, exciting, different vampire book that would resurrect my interest. And then Holly Black had to come along with The Coldest Girl in Coldtown and prove me wrong.

    This book is dark. Gloriously, wonderfully dark. The prose is utterly gorgeous. Luscious and atmospheric and just guh. It’s the kind of writing I just want to wrap around myself and live in.

    The world-building is extremely well done. I didn’t feel as if there were any glaring questions left unanswered about how the vampires became exposed and why the Coldtowns were created, but I also didn’t feel like I was overburdened with irrelevant information. It was a perfect balance.

    The pacing and plot are also fantastic. It was sharp and original and bloody and terrifying and just SO MUCH HAPPENS, including a lot that I didn’t expect but it never feels as if anything is being rushed. I even enjoyed the flashbacks into Gavriel’s past, although they were probably the most boring parts of the book. The ending was so satisfying, with the major plot points being tied up while still leaving so many possibilities open. I loved that Black didn’t wrap everything up in some happily ever after with a shiny bow on top. The ending is just as horrifying as the opening chapter in it’s own way, although not without being hopeful as well.

    One thing I also particularly enjoyed was that Black didn’t romanticize vampires. At least not in the way we are used to. While there is some romance, although it isn’t traditional by any means, (and sorry yes, totally swooning over Gavriel even though he’s a monster and not meant to be romantic at all) and some humans who are stupid enough to see the vampires and Coldtowns as beautiful and tragic and romantic, it is made very clear to the reader through Tana’s experiences that most of the vampires are self-absorbed, horrifying monsters who care little for anyone other than themselves. 

    Best of all though are the characters. Everyone introduced was just so richly developed, with distinct personalities and motives. Tana is the kind of heroine I adore. Brave without being stupid about it, self-sufficient and just plain smart with just the right amount of sass thrown in. I just really enjoyed being in her head.

    I honestly don’t know what else I can tell you without spoiling it. This was one of my favorite reads last year, completely unexpectedly, and even if you’re totally sick of vampire books, this book will not disappoint.  JUST GO READ IT NOW.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Looking for friends

    Okay I dont know my account but if you put your email up I could invite you to be my friend :}

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Weird

    I just started this book, and i can tell it will be amazing, but I have a weird little story to share. I am a writer. Always have been, always will be. And one of the very first stories I wrote started with " Tanya woke up in a bathtub." And this book begins with "Tana awoke in a bathtub" (or something along those lines. I dont have the book in front of me.) This is an absolutly pointless story, but I thought it was a very strange coincidence worth sharing. This proves that there is a tiny but of a child's mind in every authors head.
    Props to Black for breaking the Vampire stereotype. Books like Twighlight mqke me sick, and this is the cure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Gold medal

    If you're lookimg for the absolute opposite of twilight... well, i think even this title proves you've found it. A kickass MORAL perceptive and sardonic heroine, a supposedly insane vamp who knows just he best things to say, and a semiplausible vampiric dominated world... do you think ou can actually walk AWAY from this book? Honey, you'd better be able to chain yourself in the basement for 88 days until you can kick the attraction or you wont like the monster you'll become.

    ALSO INCLUDED multiple POV, relatable quotes from authors even I know, and hot male eye candy imagery.

    Basically, the only thing you have to ask about this book is:
    THERES GOING TO BE A SEQUEL, RIGHT?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Holly Black makes vampires scary again!

    The Coldest Girl in Coldtown is a richly imagined story and Black doesn't skimp on the macabre details, the scintillating danger or the gore. In this world, vampirism is a disease, of sorts, one that can be overcome after 88 agonizing days of bloodlust. Those who are bitten are placed in Coldtowns to mingle with the infected and the undead. The problem is: once you've gone to Coldtown, it's nearly impossible to leave. Black takes classic horror and blends it with modern elements to create something that feels simultaneously familiar yet still so different. And if that's not enough, rejoice in the fact that this is a love triangle free zone! PROGRESS!

    What really stuck with me was how Black made vampires scary again. These vampires are of the ruthless variety --- callous, mysterious and cruel --- they are to be feared as well as admired, and no scene illustrates that better than the opening one. Black doesn't hold back when it comes to bloody violence and the audio narration really added a little something extra to the book's creepiness. That coupled with unique death quotes at the start of each chapter, it's bound to give you the chills. The story is richly layered, giving us glimpses into multiple POV's as well as past events.

    Coldtown also introduces us to some really dynamic characters, like the protagonist, Tana. Tana is the type of heroine you want to root for because she's perfectly imperfect and loyal to a fault. She's not a girl who just stands by and lets life happen. She's all about action, despite the consequences. She doesn't need to be saved, in fact, she's frequently the one doing the saving. Then there's Gavriel, beautiful, dangerous, undead Gavriel. Gavriel is a monster through and through and Black doesn't ever let you forget that. He's an old soul, centuries old, and crazy to boot. Can I just say how much I shipped Gavriel and Tana's romance! It makes sense given their tragic backgrounds and mutual understanding of what mercy is. They are bonded by tragedy, both having suffered and endured. They each struggle with inner demons and that makes them a great match.

    I like how Tana kept her resolved at the end, despite the ease and lure that beckoned to her. It would've been so convenient for her to give in, but she didn't, and her strength is part of why I loved her. The ending was a bang which matched the rest of the story's intensity so well. It was quite open-ended and though part of me is pleased that this is a stand alone, the other part of me wishes to see where these characters take us next. A little adventure, a little horror and a little road trip, this book has a little of everything. Coldtown is a breath of fresh air in an, otherwise, overdone genre. First Gone Girl and now there's this. I think it's safe to say I trust my book club implicitly in choosing some really fantastic reads!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Best Vampire Book Ever.

    I have never really liked vampire books,but this book will make you think of every dark twisted thing you have ever wished for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    The vampire trend in YA books seems to be dying down, but I'm st

    The vampire trend in YA books seems to be dying down, but I'm still interested in reading books that have a creative twist on an old favourite. The synopsis for Holly Black's new release initially drew me in, particularly because of the Coldtowns introduced in the book.




    Unfortunately, I didn't quite get the creepy, intriguing book I desired and was left feeling a bit disappointed with the story.




    Reason to Read:




    1. Coldtown is a great setting:




    The Coldtowns are a main focus of the story, and easily the most fascinating aspect. There's so much mystery and eccentricity stemming from Coldtown; I couldn't help but want to know more about the place and I was eagerly awaiting the characters' arrival in Coldtown. I also thought that was a great approach to take in a story where vampires are real and the world is trying to learn how to handle that reality. 




    The beginning of the book had me hooked very quickly, but unfortunately that just didn't last. The pace slowed down considerably early on, and I found it dragged on for a while. Much of the story seemed to revolve around Tana's internal thoughts and feelings about the events taking place around her. As a result, she didn't seem grounded in the story at all. 




    On top of that, I couldn't connect with any of the characters in the slightest. I was indifferent towards them, at best. They never really grew on me, as much as I wanted to be invested in their lives. Their personalities weren't consistent, and the ending didn't feel like a natural result of characters' decisions but simply because the plot demanded it. 




    The Coldest Girl in Coldtown is well-written, but I found it difficult to be excited about the story or care about the characters. 




    Review copy received from HBG Canada for review; no other compensation was received. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    This book is amaze

    I ily this bk totes amaze bk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    I reallllly liked this book

    I reallllly liked this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Holly Black brings a dark, dangerous, enticingly addicting spin

    Holly Black brings a dark, dangerous, enticingly addicting spin to vampire lore.

    I was so wrong to think that I could pick up this book late at night and read a little before going to bed. Chapter One was FREAKY. Waking up in a bathtub with innocent thoughts only to go out and find the house full of corpses of people you know and whom you remember seeing alive and fooling around only last night? I stayed up past midnight creeped out of my mind. I had to keep reading and see Tana reach safety before I could go to bed. Only, I never quite reached that point because she keeps finding herself in greater danger than before, and I fell asleep tortured by thoughts of what would happen to her.

    Tana is the good girl. Sure, she goes out and parties, and she's made mistakes. In fact, it's because of her mistakes that she's grown up so fast and is afraid to open up and show her vulnerabilities. Nevertheless, she has a good heart, and her decision to put Aidan and Gavriel's safety before her own leads to her having to grow up faster in the cruel world that lies within Coldtown. For all this, Tana doesn't leave us with the breath to make a sob story out of all. No, at the same time that she reveals her vulnerabilities to the reader, she proves a kickass girl with the mental strength and will to get herself in and out of the most terrifying situations. I love how her character is built because a lot of other kickass girls in YA lit today tend to be kickass one moment and then break down another, which seems out of character for them because their vulnerabilities haven't been soundly developed. With Tana, you see her brave her fears in order to be the strong girl that she needs to be to pull through all these tough circumstances she finds herself in.

    The snippets of backstory weaving in and out of the greater plot worked really well. It helps give a better feel for the other characters while building tension, as they cut into a moment of suspense where we just want to know what happens to Tana and yet we find ourselves getting distracted by a new storyline. I enjoyed all the different perspectives, especially Gavriel's. It was interesting to see life back when he was younger and how he grew into the quirky, have-to-love-that-guy person that he is today. Pretty much all the characters were awesome excepting Midnight and her companions (though they do add to the story). They're just such… groupies. I really want to ask what the heck is wrong with you people?

    I've never really been a fan of forbidden love, but the romance in this book was really well done. It didn't take over the plot like a lot of fantasy romances tend to do. It slipped in here and there, and when it did, it spiced up the story with swoonworthy scenes. I also like how the ex-boyfriend doesn't turn out to be a love interest, as one would typically expect of a book like this. I've never been a big fan of love triangles, mostly because they're so generic and predictable.

    In fact, one of the best parts of this book is that I couldn't predict what would happen. It's been a while since a book engaged me so much. Time passed so quickly while I reading The Coldest Girl in Coldtown -- and right up to the end. The ending had to be the best part of the book. It's ambiguous and perfect, leaving us with hope for the future while wrapping up the events of the story beautifully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Since this book was getting such rave reviews, I thought I give

    Since this book was getting such rave reviews, I thought I give it try. Being that I was done with paranormal, I was hoping that this book would be different. It is different. But for me, it still carried that same feel to a vampire book.

    Plot: I think my biggest problem of the book didn’t really capture me. The plot is about a girl, who is living in a time of vampire. They can turn people but you can also go cold. Which means you get a vampire sickness but after a few month of no blood and isolation, you can turn back to human. This plot goes from her childhood to her now, in which she faces some hard times. Honestly, I felt like this plot has no umph. It just was.

    Love: Now, the love interest captured me more than the plot. This story is also told in different point of view and one pov the reader gets is the vampire. Now he lead and now leads an interesting life. I love going back in time and seeing how he can to be. I also like, even though it move fast, his love with Tana. That was quite unexpected with moments that this steal your breathe away. *Fans self*

    Ending: I felt the ending was fitting. It did go in the direction I expected it to be. And I like how well elements came together in the end.

    This is a good book. It is different from many vampire stories but it does carry some similarity. The Coldest Girl In Coldtown carries much potential with lots of action. It follows are great narrative that any reader can get into. The Coldest Girl In Coldtown is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    A little disapointing

    I read this book for fun and because it was reccommended. I read quite a bit and enjoy a variety of books. The angsty teen vampire thing has really been played out, however based on the reviews I thought this book would be a good read. It was not entirely awful, just very forced feeling. The charcaters were all incredibky flat and dull, everything about them was so contrived and sterotypical I had to check to make sure this book wasn't written in 1982. It was as though the author had never heard a teenager speak before. The "love" story was forced from the very begining and felt fake. The good characters were 100% good and perfect and the evil characters were 100% evil. There was no actual conflict and the main battle never actually happened. This book reminded me of a poorly written twiglight fanfic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Before starting this, I actually read a few bad reviews of it an

    Before starting this, I actually read a few bad reviews of it and was pretty disappointed. Thank God, it was actually a pretty good book! Not that great, but it was enjoyable! In Tana's world, towns that are called Coldtowns exist. Coldtowns are towns where vampires live along with some humans. After a party, Tana wakes up unconscious in the middle of the bathroom. There, she finds that every person at that party was actually dead, killed by vampires. There, she finds her ex-boyfriend tied to a bed, along with a vampire who is tied to a chair. I absolutely loved how this book started hard-core. There was no need for introductions, and the action happened as soon as we opened the first chapter. There was no slow paced beginnings, and we got right into the bloody fights. It was delicious.. haha.Tana was a great character to read about. You might think she's fierce and all, but she's mostly adventurous. It's like she is attracted to trouble, and always wants to find out more. She's kinda like me in a way. Tana's ex-boyfriend Adrian was such an amazing character as well. I think his presence was really big, even if he wasn't one to talk that much. Also, Gavriel was just the perfect addition to the mix. Gavriel was the unknown, dangerous vampire who went along them in their journey. The world building was great as well! The Coldtowns were described as trashy places that were destroyed with no room for hope. It really felt like the destructed part of the world. I don't think I had any problems with characters or world building or writing style, but maybe the pace of the book towards the middle. I think things kind of paused there, and not much really happened. Though I was glad things picked up quickly after that.Overall, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown was a great book! It had it's own twist on vampires, and it was entertaining to read Holly Black's version of vampires. It was a really big book, but nothing was really unnecessary! I will definitely be picking up Holly Black's other books as this was my first one ever. I would really recommend this book to vampire lovers who aren't sick of vampires just because of Twilight!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

     I have to say that the moment I say that a novel by Holly Black

     I have to say that the moment I say that a novel by Holly Black was up for review, I was thrilled and I jumped at like I am sure many other people did. This book holds a little bit of a twist on how people embraced or ran away from vampire when they first made their presence known. Places called "coldtowns" opened up everywhere and people that lived in these towns were free game essentially for vampires to feed off of. Many come because they seek the glamorous life of the vampires and eternal beauty that comes along with it. The premise of this novel seems pretty realistic to me. The characters bring to life this world perfectly, proving that not everyone wants to be a vampire and not every monster is as bad as you think they are. There are secrets, lies, betrayals, and twists that caught me off guard. You'll see that love and friendships develop in even the odds of places and the darkest of circumstances. I have fallen in love with this story and I am sure you will too! 
    I always worry about whether I will like a main character because that is almost a make or break for me. If I don't like a character then it makes it hard to want to read the book but I really loved Tana from this book. She remains true to herself throughout the course of the novel and that is a rare thing to see in books now-a-days. Most characters flipflop continually and never make a steady choice that they are willing to stick to, especially if there is a horrible outcome but Tana holds her head up high and lets whatever happens happen. Of course, I still faced the frustration with her when she didn't make the choices I want her to but that is part of her appeal because she doesn't change for anyone. She is loyal to those that she loves, which is undeniably admirable, and never gives up until the best outcome happens. She is a strong female character and I adore her for it. 
    Oh Aiden, all of the information you collect about this ex-boyfriend certainly doesn't make you his biggest fan. But by the end, I got to see how much he has truly grown by the end of the novel. He went from the ex who I would've left to die at the hands of vampires to the boy that you want to be happy and silently cheer for despite your original opinion of him. I definitely came to admire him for his choices by the time I shut the book but who knows whether he was the crappy guy he once was or whether it had been a front. Love this guy but no... he didn't seem like the best choice for the lovely main character.
    There always has to be a secretive, brooding type that has to be absolutely gorgeous and the main character just can't seem to get over his good looks. Well, to a certain extent that was Gavriel, who is an attractive, nay, beautiful vampire that captures a lot of the typical ideals of being an immortal without going crazy. Tana, despite her best instincts, cannot keep away from the guy that is everything everyone hates. He's a vampire. She knows that she should stay away but even I will admit that I wouldn't keep away from someone like him. He's too awesome. As the story continues though, you realize that you don't really know who Gavriel actually is. The secrets surface at what can either be the most opportune moment or the worst moment possible. He really comes into himself near the end of the book, proving that he could quite possibly be insane in every sense of the word. Yet, he is so attractive and wonderful! 
    It is such an amazing book that it deserves your attention, trust me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Oh.my.gosh!!!!

    This is one of the best books ive ever read. I couldnt wait to get home and read it. It keeps you hooked and wishing for more by the end. MAKE ANOTHER BOOK!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    I couldn't even finish this book because it was so boring. It m

    I couldn't even finish this book because it was so boring. It moved too slowly
    and the characters were completely unlikeable. I didn't care what happened to any of them. Not her typical work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4