Customer Reviews for

THE COLLECTED WORKS OF MARK TWAIN: The Complete and Unabridged Novels Nook Edition (Cambridge World Classics) All of Twain's Finished and Unfinished Novels in Original Versions Including the Huckleberry Finn and Tom Sawyer Adventures NOOKbook

Average Rating 4.5
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

138 out of 139 people found this review helpful.

Works like a charm

Very pleased with this purchase

posted by 8000811 on April 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 140 people found this review helpful.

Formatting has glitches.

The works are here, but when you try navigating around to the different stories, the Nook locks up. Tech support couldn't help out, so I ditched this book and purchased, "The Works of Mark Twain," by Golgotha Press. It has more stories, is less expensive, and it doesn...
The works are here, but when you try navigating around to the different stories, the Nook locks up. Tech support couldn't help out, so I ditched this book and purchased, "The Works of Mark Twain," by Golgotha Press. It has more stories, is less expensive, and it doesn't lock up my Nook.

posted by avloser on April 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Formatting has glitches.

    The works are here, but when you try navigating around to the different stories, the Nook locks up. Tech support couldn't help out, so I ditched this book and purchased, "The Works of Mark Twain," by Golgotha Press. It has more stories, is less expensive, and it doesn't lock up my Nook.

    4 out of 140 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Disapointing version.

    The Nook version of this book would freeze on a page and was very difficult to navigate. This happened on both my Pendigital and my Nook e-readers. What I could read of the stories were good, but very difficult to use.not recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    As of june 2011 crashes nook color

    I bought this collection for my daughter to read. She flipped to a story later in the book (around page 800) and the book subsequintly looked up the entire nook so hard that i had to reboot it to recover. Now i can't even open the book without it locking upmy system. I ended up just getting her the free gutenberg copies of the stories. This really stinks. I wish this would be fixed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Locks up and crashes Nook Color

    I'll be seeking a refund on this collection. It initially appeared to work. I could open it and look at the table of content. However the links only worked for the first 8 or so books. The rest if links failed to works. After moving from book to book within this collection, my Nook started to drop out of the book. Then my web stopped working, maybe unrelated, maybe not. So I ended up doing a full reset of my Nook - bringing it back to factory settings. It solved the web and other odd problems. However, now this collection doesn't come up at all, it just sits there and loads. If you touch anything during this time the NC freezes solid and you have to power down and back up. If you let it go it eventually gives up and goes back to home. I archived this and then downloaded again, in case it got corrupted. No joy. Very disappointed in the collection and especially in the egg shell fragile NC. BN needs to get their act together. If the file is corrupt, the Nook has to handle that and let the user know. Also BN should nit be selling corrupt and/or poorly constructed books. For free, sure I guess I can take my chances, but I shouldn't pay for toxic junk! Now as for Mark Twain, the man was an incredible genius. Read his autobiography and learn who he was and his insight into the human condition. Facinating.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Hangs up, not usable on N2E

    Called tech support and was told that since the file is so big it takes time to navigate - well, yes, WAY too much time. 20 seconds or longer to turn a page once you get to the page/chapter/etc and getting there can take minutes!

    Unsatisfactory - how can B&N sell a B&N ebook to use on a B&N ereader that cannot be used?

    Others have been happy with this ebook - is the new Nook Simple Touch slower, have less memory, or ???

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    Usual poor B&N formatting

    Most of the books I have downloaded to my Nook have poor formatting and various other problems but this book takes it to a new level. Some books won't open, some lock up the Nook at various places and the rest of it is extremely poor formatting. Compared to my Kindle, B&N is just not ready for prime time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    HORRIBLE

    This is horrible. I spoke with customer service and this book still is not deleted off my nook. Please make this book vanish. Never worked and my first book purchased. Very depressing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1