Customer Reviews for

The Collector (Dante Walker Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    It's been a while since I've read a YA Paranormal that grabbed m

    It's been a while since I've read a YA Paranormal that grabbed my attention. From the beginning of The Collector, I was interested. I wanted to know more about Dante and how he became a Collector, but I also wanted to know what made Charlie so special. 




    So...Dante. He's a bit arrogant, determined, and most definitely has some baggage. As a Collector, he works for the Bad Boss Man. Meaning, he tags souls and ultimately sends them to hell. Now, Dante is up for a promotion, but he just needs to collect one more soul. One last assignment, then the job is his. He's sent to get Charlie, but what he finds, isn't exactly what he thought. He was expecting a bad soul. Someone possibly on their last few runs with the dark side. But, Charlie is a geeky, awkward teen, who is as pure as can be. So, now Dante has to figure out how on earth he is going to take her down. After several failed attempts, he finally comes up with a solution. It's a last resort type of thing. Unfortunately at this point, Dante is feeling conflicted because Charlie IS a good person. She makes Dante think about his past and what he's doing. He's getting a conscious back. I liked watching Dante see Charlie in a different light. She truly represents good and she made Dante think with his heart. 




    I did like Charlie and Dante and usually I'm more of a character reader. However, the overall storyline won this book for me. I liked the message of the story. Forgiveness, good, & love to name a few. I also like where the story is heading. Or at least where I think/hope it is. There were a few twists thrown in that surprised me in a good way. So, yes, I'll be continuing on with the series. I need to see if my predictions are correct. Definitely check this out if you are a fan of YA Paranormals.




    Quotes:
    ~Maybe I shouldn't be proud that the devil tells me his secrets. But I am.-Loc 111




    ~For a moment, I forget all about the contract and just relish the grin on her face. Though her smile is less than perfect, it does something to me, makes my chest tighten in a good way. It also makes me feel as if I did the right thing.-Loc 1641




    ~I will protect this girl with everything I have, because if something happens to her, I will lose myself. I will cease to exist. And I will take everyone with me.-Loc 3614

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2014

    I have never been able to relate to a book character as I have t

    I have never been able to relate to a book character as I have to Charlie. She isn't beautiful, (but that changes as you get to know her. I am not trying to be mean. This is how she is described.) she tries to see the good in everything, and people treat her like total crap. It broke my heart so many times when Dante and someone else would do or say something horrible to her. When Dante meets Charlie for the first time he manages to point out that Charlie has glasses, frizzy blond hair, a spray of pimples, and a stick figure that is so not attractive on a seven-teen-year old girl. Then compares her to a porcelain doll beaten a few times with an ugly stick. Well in a few pages Dante proved that he is a cocky and mean bastard. Fine then. 












    But Dante wasn't all bad. He eventually proved himself. Yes, in the begining of the book all he cared about was himself but a long the way he fell in love with Charlie. For who she was before the contract gets signed and she becomes beautiful. But the progression of Dante falling in love and learning that there is much more to a person that looks is remarkable. And I loved that most about the story because it wasn't insta love (I know it is over a 10 day time period) but gradual. He wasn't crazy about her first and then by the end he was willing to die for her. 












    The concept behind the Collectors and Liberators was awesome! I never read anything like this book before, sure I read about demons before but this way different. the Collectors are the bad guys, sent to mark someone when they sin, and eventually when their soul light is dark they get taken to Boss Man (Lucifer) Liberators are the good guys, where Collectors mark for sins, Liberators are able to remove sins so they can be taken to Big Guy. (God) 




    I really liked this book and can't wait to get to read the other books in this series. I have a feeling that I am going to fall even more in love with Dante by the end of the series! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    The Collector's basic premise sounds familiar - a bad boy, a lov

    The Collector's basic premise sounds familiar - a bad boy, a love story, and its paranormal. But what makes The Collector so good is how Victoria has fun with idea and puts her own spin on it.

    Told from the perspective of the bad boy, The Collector is surprisingly sweet, poignant, and hilarious and should work well for readers who enjoy paranormal books but want a fresh take on this genre.

    Reasons to Read:

    1. Dante's voice is all his own:

    This really stands out among other books, but Dante's voice is VERY distinct. He has his own sense of humour, his own quirks, and he sounds unlike any other character I've read. It really helped me get into his head and better understand his character, but I think it's going to be hit-or-miss for most readers. Some people just won't take to it at all, and that's a matter of taste. But I thought Victoria did an incredible job letting Dante take on a life of his own with his narrative.

    2. Gradual romance:

    Have you noticed how often this is one of my "reasons to read" when I like a book? I'm never a fan of insta-love, never ever. I like it slow and I love the anticipation from the build-up. I like that Dante is slow and steady, because it makes the romance more believable to me as a reader. It's like a slow burn, and I like it.

    3. Thoughtful character development:

    Dante undergoes a fairly drastic transformation in The Collector, and Victoria must be commended for her insight on the feelings and internal struggle of a teenager. And she handles Charlie's own transformation in a very different but interesting way. It has so much to do with that desire to be accepted by someone, and they are such fascinating characters.

    I mentioned earlier that not all readers are going to connect with Dante; he has his moments of being a jerk, and some readers just don't relate to that at all. And some of the lines are so cheesy, but I have the impression that they're supposed to be somewhat cheesy. It adds to the humour.

    The plot also felt a bit too convenient for me. I didn't find it to be that surprising or shocking, but that barely took away from my enjoyment of this new series. It's a lot of fun, and a great new take on YA paranormal and the male perspective makes it stand out even more.

    E-galley received from Entangled/author for review; no other compensation was received.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    **4 Stars** I didn¿t realized until I read The Collector how

    **4 Stars**




    I didn’t realized until I read The Collector how rare it is for a book to actually be in first person, especially from a guy’s perspective. The whole book read almost like Dante’s diary (ok, he is too cool for a diary – a journal then). 




    I really liked the story, and I like how Charlie was an ordinary looking girl, but with a big heart. It makes her all the more special. Normally a hot guy like Dante wouldn’t look twice at her, but he has to for his job – which is his benefit. He gets to know the real Charlie and falls for her. 




    There is so much I would love to write, but I would be giving away a lot – so I won’t. I cannot wait for The Liberator to be released. I know it is going to be exciting. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    Oh Dante Walker why do you have to be such a bad boy? Dante is s

    Oh Dante Walker why do you have to be such a bad boy? Dante is so unlikable at the beginning of The Collector; you just want to slap him upside the head. Some of the things Dante thinks or says are just so far beyond mean they are just down right cruel. Can you expect much more from a demon? Really, The Collector is about Charlie Cooper and her ability to see the good in everyone despite what they may say or how they act. The problem is that Dante has 10 days to collect the amazingly good girl, Charlie Cooper soul or he loses his chance get out of hell free card.  




    Do not get me wrong, Dante may start as a demonic jerk, but because of Charlie, he slowly experiences the world in a different light. This may not be the story I thought I was going to read, but it is a much more beautiful and tragic one. Dante is much more than your typical bad boy. 




    Victoria Scott is a genius when it comes to creating the story in The Collector. Dante’s story is not an easy one to write, because if written the wrong way the main character would be so hated no one would want to read it, or his journey would seem false. Victoria Scott does a wonderful job peeling back the layers on Dante, while keeping readers enthralled. 




    I know that I have to see where Dante’s story takes him next after the ending of The Collector. With The Liberator, I can only expect more layers of Dante to be revealed. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    I was drawn to this book from the start. I just don't know why i

    I was drawn to this book from the start. I just don't know why it's taken me so long to actually read it.
    Bad boy? Check. Good Girl? Check. Awesome friends? Check. Paranormal elements? Check. A little drama thrown in here and there. Check. With all those things present in the book, I had to love it.

    All of the characters were beautifully developed, and it was so much fun seeing them grow and change throughout the book. Especially Charlie and Dante because their characters were almost completely made over. The keyword being almost otherwise they wouldn't be the characters I actually read the book for.

    I loved Dante. Yes, sometimes I just wanted to slap him, but most of the time I wanted to steal him away and drive off into the sunset with him to do bad stuff. *wink* *wink*. Charlie is really something else. She loves life and always looks at the glass half full even after all that she's been through. She's a real trooper, let me tell ya.

    Blue and Annabelle are great secondary characters. They never cease to make me smile or laugh. I just love them.

    The plot was very creative, the dialogue was hilarious and you'll never see that ending coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    The Collector, overall, I thought was a great book. I loved Char

    The Collector, overall, I thought was a great book. I loved Charlie's character and personality, the way she wasn't made to be suddenly popular and the fact that she's just got that different and quirky personality. Dante was awesome and I loved how his feelings gradually changed from the beginning to the end of the story. Can't wait to be able to read The Liberator!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Dante Walker is a bad boy from the start, but he changes when Bo

    Dante Walker is a bad boy from the start, but he changes when Boss Man tasks him with collecting Charlie Cooper's soul for Hell.

    To me, Dante didn't really come across as that bad. I've read about a lot of bad boys, and frankly, he seemed like a pretty good guy to me since page 1. I guess calling the heroine ugly makes up for that.

    Dante tries resisting his feelings all the time but he can't. This isn't one of those cliché stories where the demon and human couple break up over a simple misunderstanding, or where other guys are involved. Okay, there's Blue...Charlie's best friend who loves her but there's no love triangle.

    When Dante described Charlie I was like, 'he's joking. this ain't the heroine...it can't be'. But then the makeover happened and the heroine became pretty and I suppose that's supposed to make things right. But it didn't for me. I'm glad that Dante shares the same feeling, that he misses what Charlie used to look like too.

    I liked that this entire book was from Dante's perspective because we rarely get to see the male mind for more than a few pages. This is what I'm looking forward to when reading Origin by JLA - a damn good male POV.

    No cliffhangers. No cheating. No clichés. This book is free of the 3 Cs I can't stand so I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    I found out about this book months ago. And I really, really wan

    I found out about this book months ago. And I really, really wanted it. So, when I found it on Netgalley, I immediately requested it.
    Thank you, Entangled Teen, for giving me the opportunity to read this book. My review is not biased in any way.

    Dante's voice was pretty awesome. He sorted sounded like swoozie/Adande from Youtube. It was very fun to read.
     The narration alone gets it two stars.

    I really loved how it was in the male point of view. There should be more books like that.

    The plot seemed a bit too simple, but it was still enjoyable.

    Dante wasn't likable at first. In fact, I hated him. However, he grows on people and develops throughout the story.

    The Collector was pretty much a solid, well-rounded book. I look forward to the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** The Collector b

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

    The Collector by Victoria Scott
    Book One of the Dante Walker series
    Publisher: Entangled Teen
    Publication Date: April 2, 2013
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: eARC from publisher

    Summary (from Goodreads):

    He makes good girls...bad. 

    Dante Walker is flippin’ awesome, and he knows it. His good looks, killer charm, and stellar confidence have made him one of hell’s best—a soul collector. His job is simple: weed through humanity and label those round rears with a big red good or bad stamp. Old Saint Nick gets the good guys, and he gets the fun ones. Bag-and-tag.

    Sealing souls is nothing personal. Dante’s an equal-opportunity collector and doesn't want it any other way. But he’ll have to adjust, because Boss Man has given him a new assignment:

    Collect Charlie Cooper’s soul within ten days.

    Dante doesn't know why Boss Man wants Charlie, nor does he care. This assignment means only one thing to him, and that’s a permanent ticket out of hell. But after Dante meets the quirky Nerd Alert chick he’s come to collect, he realizes this assignment will test his abilities as a collector…and uncover emotions deeply buried.


    What I Liked:

    I really, really enjoyed this book! Not that I didn't think I would. I've got Dante PLASTERED all over my blog. See taht left sidebar? Yep - that's me - the crazy #VMafia girl. I knew I would like this book without having read it - and I did!

    Dante Walker IS flippin' awesome. I love that this book is in his point-of-view, and not Charlie's, or in third person. There aren't enough good YA books in first-person male point-of-view. And he is so interesting! His thought processes are so unique, and I suppose that's because he is so fantastic, right? :D

    Charlie is an amazing foil to Dante. In the beginning, all we see in her is a not-so-pretty, self-conscious teenage girl. BUT, she isn't any of those things, as Dante comes to realize. Charlie does some growing up throughout this book, though not much. Really, it's Dante that undergoes a ton of character development.

    The secondary characters, Annabelle, Blue, Grams, and Max, are all so PERFECT for this book! Meaning, they fit the book so well, because Victoria did an excellent job incorporating them into the story. I loved each and every one of them (though I constantly thought Blue was a bad guy), and I really hope they make some generous appearances in the nice book (with the exception of one of those four). 

    The ending is KILLER (errr, no pun intended... not really. You figure it out). I seriously did NOT expect the ending. We find out who the bad guy is, someone I really did not expect, as he is mentioned, like, ONCE, and in passing, basically. There are deaths. Just saying. 

    But the ending is happy! I hope that's not a spoiler, as the statement itself is very general, but seriously. Don't NOT read this book because you think the ending is not a good one. It's a nice ending. And I can see the segue to The Liberator. Prepare yourselves...


    What I Did Not Like:

    Hmm. There were several places of the book where I simply had to put my Kindle down and take a step back, and for one primary reason:

    I was bored.

    It takes quite a bit to bore me. I'm generally one of those readers that MUST FINISH what they start (not that I was ever in danger of not finishing this book). Nevertheless, there were several scenes, about halfway through the book and up until the climax, that I was metaphorically stifling yawns.

    But I kept going, because I had no intentions of NOT finishing. The ending is a good one!


    Would I Recommend It:

    Yes! I think the majority of people who read this book will really like Dante and Charlie, and all of the other characters in the book. It is an excellent debut novel, and I cannot wait to see what else Victoria Scott has for us. You're on my auto-buy list, Victoria!


    Rating:

    4 stars. I really enjoyed this book, and cannot wait for more! You KNOW I'm pre-ordering The Liberator. And The Liberator comes out in August!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2013

    Dante Walker is cocky and vain. He struts around with his tight-

    Dante Walker is cocky and vain. He struts around with his tight-physique, wealth, and schmooze – like it’s nobody’s business. In the real world, a guy like Dante would have me turning the other cheek. But in The Collector… phew! I couldn’t get enough. Told from Dante’s perspective, The Collector has a good mix of romance, humor, emotion and action. Even when Dante was at his ass-y-ess he still exerted heat and appeal that kept me wanting more.




    Novels narrated by male-perspectives normally turn me off. Off the top of my head I can’t even think of a single book I’ve recently read that featured the sole-perspective of a male. When I first saw The Collector sprouting up on blogs, I ignored it. As a severely selective reader, it’s like I’ve got firewalls in place. It takes a lot of buzz and praise for a book out of my norm to become a book I “have” to read. Sometimes less thought and more action is the key. Giving The Collector a shot – I was delighted when I ended up enjoying Dante’s POV – just as much as any females’.




    Dante does a lot of questionable things and makes a lot of bad decisions in The Collector. In the beginning he felt like the villain, a near-nonredeemable character. Without Dante’s personal history accounts, thoughts and feelings, I’m not sure I’d have ever fell for him, let alone liked him. I definitely would never have 100% understood him. He recounts his life bit by bit to others such as Charlie, but it’s completely different when the person in question, personally shares with you who they are and why they do the things they do.




    The relationship between Dante and Charlie was endearing, yet not completely suspenseful. Smoldering bad boy who slowly becomes smitten with sweet, innocent, and socially non-existent girl, isn’t really a twist these days. Regardless, this part didn’t deter me from loving their courtship which involved a lot of sweet, yet sorrow drama.




    I felt like the characters in The Collector were raw and real. Their growths and relationships were so strong and complete that merely riding on the strengths of the characters, I could have easily enjoyed this novel – without supernatural bits.




    If you’re looking for a book with a lot of emotion, a dab of supernatural and a hot lead, I’d definitely recommend picking up The Collector.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

     The Collector by Victoria Scott was one heck of a book that tak

     The Collector by Victoria Scott was one heck of a book that takes you on a different type of roller coaster than most YA books. Victoria Scott manages to create a story that shows life in a different perspective or that might have been just me reading from a guy's point of view. The story was also straightforward and it kept the plot simple without many twists and turns. One of my favorite aspects about this book was the characters.




          Speaking of characters...let's talk Dante. The BAD BOY. He was blunt, knew how to play his game, and was probably the perfect person to have as a collector. And I loved that Victoria didn't have him suddenly change right when he meets Charlie and it's most definitely not love nor lust at first sight which I'm extremely happy for! In the first two parts of the book, Dante was just trying to complete his mission quickly so he could get a promotion. And then he learns more about Charlie actually sees her. Not the outward appearance but the inner. He honestly didn't care about her but then the question of WHY boss man hit him especially when Charlie has the purest heart. One of my favorite and heart wrenching part and one that really showed Dante and his emotions was when he visited his mother in Chicago.




          Charlie different. I expected the typical shy girl that covered her beauty and didn't want to show it. But the thing was that Charlie wasn't pretty. And not only did Dante change, she did too. She's still sweet and may have had a heart of gold but she's experienced so much more than she ever thought she would. She wasn't the strongest of heroines. She was gullible and pretty inexperienced in the beginning, but she had this type of personality where she knew what everyone thought and just didn't care.




         Another thing I liked was the supporting characters. Max, Dante's best friend, lightened the mood when needed and it was funny seeing Dante and Max having a heart to heart. Blue and Annabelle, Charlie's best friends, were also awesome! Blue could be so awesome if he wanted to be and I think if he let loose a bit more, girls would be flocking towards him. Annabelle was a feisty one and definitely showed it. Both are super loyal and would always be there for Charlie no matter what. Even Valery had a role in this book that also help lighten the plot a bit. 




        Everything connects by the time the book is over and now I'm even more psyched for The Liberator!! If you like bad boys and paranormal-ness, definitely check out The Collector! Happy Readings!!    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    Great YA Novel full of BAD BOY Goodness!  It doesn't get much mo

    Great YA Novel full of BAD BOY Goodness!  It doesn't get much more bad boy than Dante Walker, demon with swag.  The boy has more moves, money, and overwhelming ego than most.  Seriously, the boy thinks he's hot stuff.  The idea is that Satan has "collectors" who go around trying to get Satan souls before Judgement Day.  Dante is a said collector.  Considering the boy spent the later years of his young life making selfish decisions, there wasn't much of a change later when he landed himself in hell.  He managed to get in good with "Boss Man" or Satan.  Now the only change is that he has immortality and a black Amex that is pretty much limitless *or it seems that way in the book*.  Then enters the girl *there's always a girl* who Dante gets assigned to.  Satan wants Charlie's soul.  A problem quickly forms.  Dante knows Satan wants Charlie, but he has no idea why.  Charlie is good and kind, probably the purest person he's met, but that doesn't justify the huge mission to reel her in.  Either way, Dante has been sent to claim her soul, and failing has some big consequences. 
    Victoria Scott has created a fresh twist in the world of angels and demons in YA lit *in my humble opinion* and the plot is refreshingly different.  I have to say it's one of those books that you just have to let all reality go.  It wouldn't happen, but enjoy the ride. 
    All in all, I really enjoyed the book.  For me, the second half is where it got really good.  Let Dante have his ego.  Enjoy his bad boy self.  And love and adore Charlie.  Charlie could just be Dante's undoing. 
    Who Should Read It:  If you really like the Sweet Evil series by Wendy Higgins, Hush, Hush, or have a thing for a bad boy main character, I would give it a spin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    Great book with an equally great story and wonderful characters!

    Great book with an equally great story and wonderful characters!! A great entrance to the YA genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The Collector by Victoria Scott was just pure fun. Dante is a s

    The Collector by Victoria Scott was just pure fun. Dante is a sexy demon who is out to get Charlie's soul. We know from the beginning that he is not the good guy. Thing is, I don't think I care. He is smooth, and take charge, and I'm so ready to have my soul sealed by this bad bad boy!

    Charlie is a great character. She is flawed, and normal. She doesn't have your cookie cutter perfect looks. She has bad teeth, and bad skin. Hello, she's a teen!! I think most of us had a least a few cases of acne, and I know that I had to have braces to fix my funky teeth!

    When Dante starts pointing out all her flaws like they make her "less" it just pisses me off! Charlie is one of those people who is just ultimately happy with who she is and where she is in life. She has great friends and is doing charity work that makes her happy. When she starts letting Dante's words get to her I want to scream!

    Things change when Dante gets to know Charlie. Charlie makes that bad boy go good. I love that he is suddenly seeing her gorgeous mouth and smile instead of her bad teeth and just wants to do things to make her smile more. I was on the edge of my seat wondering if Dante's revelation had come too late.

    The twist at the end was a lot of fun, even though I had hoped that was going to be the outcome, I wasn't for sure. I can not wait for The Liberator to see what comes next for Dante and Charlie. The Collector was full of fun, fantastic characters, friendships that are so real and heartwarming, and one sexy sexy boy!! I know Demon/Angel books can be hit and miss sometimes, but Victoria Scott's was a big hit for me!

    Favorite Quote:
    (taken from uncorrected galley)

    "I know, dude. One second you think I ain't half bad, the next you want to castrate me. Touche`." - Dante Walker

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great start to the series

    I liked this book. Dante was something else. Not only was he a soul collector, he had a sense of humor (I laughed quite a bit in this book). One of my favorite things he said was: 'How can someone be cruel to this chick? It's like picking a fight with a chipmunk.'
    His job was Charlie or tampering with Charlie's soul. Poor girl was a straight up dork. We see her blossom some throughout the book. Her friends were great. But why, oh why would that happen to ____ at the end? I can not wait until the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    My Review: Once I started The Collector I was completely captiv

    My Review:
    Once I started The Collector I was completely captivated and immersed in the story and characters. I loved reading from a male point of view and even better he wasn't a nice guy-he was our story's villain. His thoughts and comments are funny but always at the expense of someone else. Surprisingly, this did not detract from my continued desire to read or my enjoyment. I will say that Dante's slang was a bit over the top for my taste but it fit his personality and gave him an unique voice. I enjoyed watching some of his less dominant characteristics surface and how he reacted to them and the characters instigating his changes. Victoria Scott has created a character that stands out amongst his fictional peers and I know that I'll be interested to see where she takes him.

    Charlie, our female lead, stands out too. She is anything but perfect, but she's got the characteristics you'd look for in a friend: inspiring and loyal. Though I could understand her character's motivations I had trouble connecting with her at times and questioned her gullibility. I might have found it more difficult because I wasn't seeing the story from her POV. Overall though, I really enjoyed getting to know her personality and especially her backstory.

    Scott took time to create well rounded secondary characters that I found realistic in their desires and flaws. The interactions between them were amusing which helped push the story line along. As the story progressed I found some of the coincidences to be a tad too convenient, but this didn't take away from my overall enjoyment of the novel. I was left wanting to find out where the story would take us in the following book.

    Final thoughts:
    The Collector was a fast paced, highly enjoyable book, though it had a few flaws, none stopped me from being thoroughly entertained. Scott's writing style flowed smoothly and completely sucked me into the story she created.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2