Customer Reviews for

The Color War

Average Rating 2.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Color War is a kindle single by popular American author, Jod

The Color War is a kindle single by popular American author, Jodi Picoult. This short story centres on Raymond Willis, a nine-year-old African American boy living in Boston who is sent to a Bible Camp in the Berkshires by his mother, in the hope that he will make new fr...
The Color War is a kindle single by popular American author, Jodi Picoult. This short story centres on Raymond Willis, a nine-year-old African American boy living in Boston who is sent to a Bible Camp in the Berkshires by his mother, in the hope that he will make new friends. What he really wishes for is that his best friend Monroe was still around. He’s at this camp for black, Latino, Hmong and Chinese kids, run by an all-white staff and not expecting to like anything about the camp or the people, so Raymond is surprised to meet an angel. At least, Melody sure looks like the ice-carved angel he and Monroe saw in Boston last Christmas. While this is a very short offering, Picoult still manages to give her characters depth and to touch on issues of skin colour, opportunity, growing up and the cruel facts of life. Very moving.

posted by cloggiedownunder on November 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Boo

They should tell you this is not a book. It 's a short story of 20 something pages.

posted by 3778552 on December 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Boo

    They should tell you this is not a book. It 's a short story of 20 something pages.

    34 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    So disappointed

    I was expecting a real book not an essay

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    This is a story not a novel

    Just in case yiu yhought you were buying a book....

    18 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    SHAME ON JODI PICULT

    I think this author is rich enough not to have to trick poor peopleinto paying 1.99 for 20 pages. SHAME SHAME SHAME ON JODI!!!!!!!!

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Not worth it

    Should have read reviews

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Wheres the book?

    Not a book

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    I should have read the reviews sooner to know this was a short s

    I should have read the reviews sooner to know this was a short story not a novel! Moving short story, but just that.  I kept searching for the rest of it or at least additional stories.  Certainly not worth purchasing this  - borrow it from the library or skip it all together.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    I cannot believe Ms Picoult, who I have always loved in the past

    I cannot believe Ms Picoult, who I have always loved in the past, needs money this bad. $2.18 for a blurb. I think it took me 7 minutes to finish.
    I will never buy another 'short' story from B&N again. The cost is roughly 20% of a full length novel.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    disappointed

    Story was all of about 25 pages long

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Do not waste your money

    This is not a book. Its a few pages long. B&N really needs to include number of pages in the description. Total rip off!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Not a book.

    Disappointed this was offered through barnes and noble as a book. Too bad they don't refund. Waste of money and effort.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Not what jodi picoults about

    Meh

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Not a novel, not a novela

    20 pages total!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Please understand that this is not a book. You will receive 29 p

    Please understand that this is not a book. You will receive 29 pages of which 4 are table of contents and other information. The story begins on page 5.  This was a lesson for me. Read all reviews before making a purchase on my Nook!  This should be unlawful.  I work hard for my money. I love to read but I want a fair exchange for book size and cost. I am using book loosely! Buyer beware!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Deceiving

    I also thoughti was purchasing a book. Im disappointed its not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    The color war is.not a.book

    This is a.very short and incomplete story. How can the author and book sellers do this? The.character wasnt changed forever during the color war, how could he be when the."war" was only 1 page long? The character development in this very short half story is great per usual but it really feels as though Jodi P started a decent story and abandoned it . I should have read the reviews. So disapionted

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Not worth it

    Very disappointed in Barnes and Nobel. No where in the description does it mention that this "book" is only 20 pages long. That's barely even a short story!! Sent an email asking for my money back, wish I had read the reviews before hand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    dull

    I need more this felt slow and incomplete

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Keeshin

    He prepares to eat and ra.pe avril

    1 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    NOT A REAL BOOK

    Dumb and a rip-off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2