BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Colossus Rises (Seven Wonders Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

!!!!!!!!!!!!

GREAT BOOK, GREAT STORY, GREAT CHARACTERS! I JUST LOVED THIS BOOK AND AM DYING FOR THE NEXT ONE BECAUSE OF THE SHOCKER ENDING! JUST TORE THROUGH IT BECAUSE IT WAS SOOOOOOO GOOD!

posted by 1856874 on February 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Seven Wonders Book 1: The Colossus Rises by Peter Lerangis Harpe

Seven Wonders Book 1: The Colossus Rises by Peter Lerangis
HarperCollins, 2013
Science Fiction/Fantasy
368 pages
Recommended for grades 5+
(amazon recommends ages 8+...I don't think a second/third grader would fare well with this story!)




I listened to the audio vers...
Seven Wonders Book 1: The Colossus Rises by Peter Lerangis
HarperCollins, 2013
Science Fiction/Fantasy
368 pages
Recommended for grades 5+
(amazon recommends ages 8+...I don't think a second/third grader would fare well with this story!)




I listened to the audio version of this book, and it is one you can't miss!  If you like and have the time for an audio book, this one is read wonderfully.  Performer Johnathan McClain brings life and personality to all the characters.
The premise of the book is that Jack, along with some other 13 year olds, are taken to a remote and mysterious island, snatched right out of their lives and families.  On the island Jack meets professor Bhegad, who is planning to use the chosen children to help him find Atlantis.
As much as I loved the reader, the story wasn't one that I was overly in love with.  If you loved the Percy Jackson series...go read that again.

posted by BluestockingThinking1 on June 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    !!!!!!!!!!!!

    GREAT BOOK, GREAT STORY, GREAT CHARACTERS! I JUST LOVED THIS BOOK AND AM DYING FOR THE NEXT ONE BECAUSE OF THE SHOCKER ENDING! JUST TORE THROUGH IT BECAUSE IT WAS SOOOOOOO GOOD!

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Great Book!

    Nice plotline, didn't suspect it to end the way it did!

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    WOW

    This was an Fantastic book !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I heald on to EVERY word

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Amazing Book!!!

    Well done, Peter Lerangis!

    This book was phenomenal! I could hardly put this book down. Would rate ten stars if possible! ;)

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Loved it!

    Great book with plenty of twists and turns to keep it interesting, can't wait for the rest of this series.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Awesomeness!!! :)

    This book is seriously awesome. I love theplotline and how it brings so many unexcpected things. Pi equals3.141592653589793238462643383279502884197169399375105820974944592307816406286 seriousle awesomeness.

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Good

    Good book. Writen like percy jackson.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Awsome

    Reallly awsome

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    WARNING!!!!! THE SEVEN WONDERS IS AN ADDICTING AND MUST READ BOOK!!! :D

    Ok this book was just amazing! I am 13 and i read this book because i had nothing left to read in my house (I read everything :D) and wasnt expecting it to be very good and was plesently suprised. A good book for basically anyone who can read and I cant wait for the next book! THIS BOOK IS A MUST READ!!!!!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    This book is the definition of Adventure. With so many twists an

    This book is the definition of Adventure. With so many twists and unexpected situations, I read this book till I was done. I am dying for the next book to come out!!! Can't Wait!!!!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Nice try!? No. Perfect shot! 20 for 20! Read this.

    This book should have a rating higher than your IQ.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    awesome book

    awesome book

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Great

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwsoooooooooooooooooome

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Anonymous

    JUST.AWESOME.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Amazing book

    Amazing book. i would say this book should be for fourth grade and over this book is a little hard for little kids

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Great book

    If you like adventure books like percy jackson you'll like this one

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    The Colossus Rise is a must read for adventure lovers and thrill

    The Colossus Rise is a must read for adventure lovers and thrill seekers alike. The novel starts off with Jack waking up like and preparing for school like a normal 13- year- old, than than being propelled into  a life altering adventure that is a page turned. Peter Lerangis does a excellent job building character developments and executing plot twist. This book is difficult to put down once you get past chapter four. From ages 8 + will enjoy this book. And even teen to adult to will like the Colossus Rises. Looking forward to the second in this seven part series from Lerangis.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Great book!!!!!

    I loved it! Great plot, unexpected ending. Needs more detail. Cant wait for more!!!
    To below: I'll "chat"

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The best book in the world! (I wish that there was infinaty stars I would like to click all of them.) A defanately must read book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Age range

    I am 13 and i loved it!!! I would say the age range is from 12-15. It also depends on your interest and violence level if you can read this kind of stuff. You probably can though :D i would highly recommend this book to 12-15 year olds, but that is just my opinion. Good Luck!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3