Customer Reviews for

The Columbus Affair

Average Rating 3.5
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wow! Is all I can stay.

What an extremely original concept. Berry keeps you turning the pages to see what happens next. Even though most of it is fiction regarding Columbus and the Jewish communities in past history and now, the book absolutely will hold your attention. I will definitely re...
What an extremely original concept. Berry keeps you turning the pages to see what happens next. Even though most of it is fiction regarding Columbus and the Jewish communities in past history and now, the book absolutely will hold your attention. I will definitely read more of his work.

posted by CorinaFL on June 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

The historical fabrication was somewhat interesting, but the cha

The historical fabrication was somewhat interesting, but the characters were pretty much cardboard cutouts. What bothered me most, however, was the lack of copy editing...mistakes abounded, and were a distraction from the story. Are publishers no longer providing the se...
The historical fabrication was somewhat interesting, but the characters were pretty much cardboard cutouts. What bothered me most, however, was the lack of copy editing...mistakes abounded, and were a distraction from the story. Are publishers no longer providing the services of copy editors to "polish" the story to remove misspellings, misappropriated pronouns, and unexplained shifts in language such as sometimes referring to distance in feet, and sometimes meters? (And not based on the perspective of the character, whether the unit of measurement reflected the nationality of the character - it wasn't that. It was just sloppy writing!)

I seriously considered giving up midway through. I stuck it out, but more from my own stubbornness than enjoyment. I did want to find the resolution to the story, but felt the language was fighting me every step of the way.

I've enjoyed Steve Berry's other books. This one, however, is worth a miss.

posted by 299112 on May 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    The historical fabrication was somewhat interesting, but the cha

    The historical fabrication was somewhat interesting, but the characters were pretty much cardboard cutouts. What bothered me most, however, was the lack of copy editing...mistakes abounded, and were a distraction from the story. Are publishers no longer providing the services of copy editors to "polish" the story to remove misspellings, misappropriated pronouns, and unexplained shifts in language such as sometimes referring to distance in feet, and sometimes meters? (And not based on the perspective of the character, whether the unit of measurement reflected the nationality of the character - it wasn't that. It was just sloppy writing!)

    I seriously considered giving up midway through. I stuck it out, but more from my own stubbornness than enjoyment. I did want to find the resolution to the story, but felt the language was fighting me every step of the way.

    I've enjoyed Steve Berry's other books. This one, however, is worth a miss.

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    So VERY SORRY I paid $12.99 for this HISTORY OF THE JEWISH PEOPL

    So VERY SORRY I paid $12.99 for this HISTORY OF THE JEWISH PEOPLE....and SLANTED VIEWS of a TRUE Explorer and Navigator such as Christopher Columbus!!!! If you take out ALL the references to Judaism the book would MOST likely be a SHORT STORY AT BEST!!!! Could just go to Google and search - Christopher Columbus Jewish - and you'd come up with the WHOLE basis for this RATHER BORING book by who I thought was a good author. Have read all of his other books and they were good...Maybe he had a debt to his Rabbi to pay off so he wrote this piece of crap!!!! Please DO NOT waste your money on this ...GET IT FOR FREE FROM THE LIBRARY... i will surely watch in the future before I throw away my money on another one of Mr. Berry's books!!!!!

    THIS ONE...REALLY SUCKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Awful

    I have read all of Steve Berry's books and loved each one of them. Except for this one. It's awful. I am halfway through it and considering ending my misery. The plot is slow, the main male character is an arse, and the female character is annoyingly idiotic. She freezes in shock about something every few pages, gets an American intelligence agent murdered because of her freezing in shock, trusts all the wrong people even though everyone and their grandmothers tell her she's being stupid..... There is not a likeable character anywhere to be found and I have never wanted to slap a fictional character until Alle Beckett. If this hideous stereotype of the stupid, helpless female is what can be expected with Berry's new books, I'm no longer a fan.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Wow! Is all I can stay.

    What an extremely original concept. Berry keeps you turning the pages to see what happens next. Even though most of it is fiction regarding Columbus and the Jewish communities in past history and now, the book absolutely will hold your attention. I will definitely read more of his work.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    I am really surprised by some of the negative reviews, especiall

    I am really surprised by some of the negative reviews, especially the overtly anti-Jewish one! This is a true Steve Berry with engaging characters, an exciting plot and lots of historical supposition. Yes the daughter is annoying - she is suppose to be. Tom Sagan's character is well developed and entirely believable as a former fearless journalist who has lost the will to live. Ignore the bad reviews and read this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Glad I pre-ordered. I throroughly enjoyed this book. If I had

    Glad I pre-ordered. I throroughly enjoyed this book. If I had not pre-ordered and only read the poor reviews below, I might not have given it a try. Luckily I read it first - and totally disagree with those reviewers. As with all Steve Berry books, he gives you the facts and the fiction at the end, and a remarkable lot of the underpinnings of the book fall solidly in the 'facts' column. Obviously, this being a novel, the facts can be strung together and interpreted a variety of ways, but that's what makes a good storyline. I found the daughter character totally annoying, but that's what made the character work. Anyone with teenaged sons/daughters knows how completely irrational they can be when they buy into something and 'know' that they're right and that the parental units are just old and stupid. Anyone who reads Steve Berry knows you need to suspend disbelief to get past some of the truly implausible and far-out stuff in the books, but you know that going in, and this was no more 'out-there' than several of the others, and in a lot of ways much more easily followed. I found this book much more historically satisfying than several of the earlier books..

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    Interesting point, but pure garbage.

    Interesting point, but pure garbage.

    3 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    I am a big Steve Berry fan and have read all of his other books.

    I am a big Steve Berry fan and have read all of his other books. I read the $0.99 quick book leading up this one, which involved Cotton Malone, but then this book did not, so I was a bit disappointed. Nonetheless, this is truly a classic Steve Berry, historical fiction book. The negative reviews are a bit unfair in my opinion. Yes, this book was a bit slower, but Berry had to introduce a whole new cast of characters. I was happy to have bought it and eagerly await his next book. If you like Steve Berry, or historical FICTION, that traverses the globe, then this is a definite buy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Ann.

    Have read many of this authors books. This one is really disappointing. I am still slogging through it but it is difficult. I find myself skimming over sections just to get through it.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Just got done reading it, and loved it.

    Just got done reading it, and loved it.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    It is such a joy to read a quality REAL book! After reading so m

    It is such a joy to read a quality REAL book! After reading so many 'bargain' books by fledgling writers with no grammar or spelling skills this book was truly a breath of fresh air. Loved the unique take on Columbus. After all, how much do we really know about events that took place over 600 years ago? This premise is just as valid as any. This is fiction, not a history book. And I enjoyed the rollicking story as such! Especially appreciated the Cotton Malone short "The Admiral's Mark" being included. READ IT FIRST!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Fantastic

    Another great book from this author. Spellbinding and keeps you hanging through the whole book. Fantastic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    The Columbus Affair is a little different than his previous book

    The Columbus Affair is a little different than his previous books in that it is not a thriller. I would categorize it as a treasure hunt mystery. I enjoyed it just the same and was glad that it read slow because I could savor it as I was reading. Alot of times when I am reading a thriller, I read it in one sitting and then am depressed that I have finished it because I want the story to go on. Here is the book description from the front cover blurb:

    I loved this book. It took me a week to read it because it is slowly paced. The historical questions about Christopher Columbus are intriguing and make me want to read more about him. Berry took liberties with the Christopher Columbus story but explained at the end what was fact and what was fiction. I highly recommend The Columbus Affair to mystery lover

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Worst electronic version - minus 1 star

    For almost every 10 pages the text of a sentence quits at the end of the page with missing words, sentences, paragraphs. Yuck! And I was trying to enjoy another Steve Berry book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!!

    I'm not understanding the poor reviews..I loved this book and was hooked from the first page..It travels back in history with a suspenseful mystery that involves some people that you really don't know who's good or bad..It also ionvolve a father/daughter who have a very complex relationship..Highly recommend this book..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    I enjoyed the entire story. The historical fabrication was most

    I enjoyed the entire story. The historical fabrication was most interesting and compelling to think of these issues around Columbus. \

    I love it when readers forget that many books are a work of fiction and get all upset about the historical context or the minutia details of the story. Please remember it was a work of FICTION, not fact.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    I love that Steve Berry's stories make you take a step back and

    I love that Steve Berry's stories make you take a step back and think about what could be. The Fact or Fiction section is great and always lets you know whats real and whats not. This like his other books is fast paced and dose not leave you board or wondering why am I reading this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Excellent techno-thriller that grabs you right from the beginnin

    Excellent techno-thriller that grabs you right from the beginning! Character development was very strong and the story line kept wandering, keeping the reader in suspense! Great mixture of "history" with the present!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    SO SUCKY

    Aweful w all caps.. what the f$&*+# was the author thinking? So poed thhat i bought it

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    This is a great book and I enjoyed the father/daughter dynamic!

    This is a great book and I enjoyed the father/daughter dynamic!
    Miss Cotton Malone stories, but this is a great one

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6