Customer Reviews for

The Columbus Affair

Average Rating 3.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wow! Is all I can stay.

What an extremely original concept. Berry keeps you turning the pages to see what happens next. Even though most of it is fiction regarding Columbus and the Jewish communities in past history and now, the book absolutely will hold your attention. I will definitely re...
What an extremely original concept. Berry keeps you turning the pages to see what happens next. Even though most of it is fiction regarding Columbus and the Jewish communities in past history and now, the book absolutely will hold your attention. I will definitely read more of his work.

posted by CorinaFL on June 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

The historical fabrication was somewhat interesting, but the cha

The historical fabrication was somewhat interesting, but the characters were pretty much cardboard cutouts. What bothered me most, however, was the lack of copy editing...mistakes abounded, and were a distraction from the story. Are publishers no longer providing the se...
The historical fabrication was somewhat interesting, but the characters were pretty much cardboard cutouts. What bothered me most, however, was the lack of copy editing...mistakes abounded, and were a distraction from the story. Are publishers no longer providing the services of copy editors to "polish" the story to remove misspellings, misappropriated pronouns, and unexplained shifts in language such as sometimes referring to distance in feet, and sometimes meters? (And not based on the perspective of the character, whether the unit of measurement reflected the nationality of the character - it wasn't that. It was just sloppy writing!)

I seriously considered giving up midway through. I stuck it out, but more from my own stubbornness than enjoyment. I did want to find the resolution to the story, but felt the language was fighting me every step of the way.

I've enjoyed Steve Berry's other books. This one, however, is worth a miss.

posted by 299112 on May 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    The historical fabrication was somewhat interesting, but the cha

    The historical fabrication was somewhat interesting, but the characters were pretty much cardboard cutouts. What bothered me most, however, was the lack of copy editing...mistakes abounded, and were a distraction from the story. Are publishers no longer providing the services of copy editors to "polish" the story to remove misspellings, misappropriated pronouns, and unexplained shifts in language such as sometimes referring to distance in feet, and sometimes meters? (And not based on the perspective of the character, whether the unit of measurement reflected the nationality of the character - it wasn't that. It was just sloppy writing!)

    I seriously considered giving up midway through. I stuck it out, but more from my own stubbornness than enjoyment. I did want to find the resolution to the story, but felt the language was fighting me every step of the way.

    I've enjoyed Steve Berry's other books. This one, however, is worth a miss.

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    So VERY SORRY I paid $12.99 for this HISTORY OF THE JEWISH PEOPL

    So VERY SORRY I paid $12.99 for this HISTORY OF THE JEWISH PEOPLE....and SLANTED VIEWS of a TRUE Explorer and Navigator such as Christopher Columbus!!!! If you take out ALL the references to Judaism the book would MOST likely be a SHORT STORY AT BEST!!!! Could just go to Google and search - Christopher Columbus Jewish - and you'd come up with the WHOLE basis for this RATHER BORING book by who I thought was a good author. Have read all of his other books and they were good...Maybe he had a debt to his Rabbi to pay off so he wrote this piece of crap!!!! Please DO NOT waste your money on this ...GET IT FOR FREE FROM THE LIBRARY... i will surely watch in the future before I throw away my money on another one of Mr. Berry's books!!!!!

    THIS ONE...REALLY SUCKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Awful

    I have read all of Steve Berry's books and loved each one of them. Except for this one. It's awful. I am halfway through it and considering ending my misery. The plot is slow, the main male character is an arse, and the female character is annoyingly idiotic. She freezes in shock about something every few pages, gets an American intelligence agent murdered because of her freezing in shock, trusts all the wrong people even though everyone and their grandmothers tell her she's being stupid..... There is not a likeable character anywhere to be found and I have never wanted to slap a fictional character until Alle Beckett. If this hideous stereotype of the stupid, helpless female is what can be expected with Berry's new books, I'm no longer a fan.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    Interesting point, but pure garbage.

    Interesting point, but pure garbage.

    3 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Ann.

    Have read many of this authors books. This one is really disappointing. I am still slogging through it but it is difficult. I find myself skimming over sections just to get through it.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Worst electronic version - minus 1 star

    For almost every 10 pages the text of a sentence quits at the end of the page with missing words, sentences, paragraphs. Yuck! And I was trying to enjoy another Steve Berry book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    SO SUCKY

    Aweful w all caps.. what the f$&*+# was the author thinking? So poed thhat i bought it

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book is Beyond Awful i was very surprised with this Steve b

    This Book is Beyond Awful i was very surprised with this Steve berry book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Suffer

    I give this book one star only because I could not give it zero stars. Sloppy, low caliber writing. Boring characters; none that you could like. I truly resent paying for low class drivel such as this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Don't waste your money

    Bursts of energy amid long passages of boredom.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    If you love Steve Berry you'll hate this book!

    I own every Steve Berry book and either preorder or buy them the week they come out. I would be amazed if he really wrote this. I usually read them cover to cover in a day or two at most.
    This is so awful I can't bring myself to finish it. I would have gotten more enjoyment out of burning the money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Was this book written by a ghost?? Having read several of the au

    Was this book written by a ghost?? Having read several of the author's previous books, I was very disappointed in his latest offering.
    Hard to follow. Bounces around like a rubber ball. Very unbelievable plot with cardboard characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Disappointing

    After some rather rave reviews for this book in several publications, I had high hopes for it but was severely disappointed. Too many plot lines (most of which were implausible) too tightly twisted together. Poor character development and dialogue.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    So very boring!!!!I couldn't even get thru half the book, I skip

    So very boring!!!!I couldn't even get thru half the book, I skipped over much of that because he kept repeating the same thing over and over... didn' even finish it...I like his other books, and was so looking forward for this one...(very glad I got book from Library and didn't buy it)

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1