Customer Reviews for

The Columbus Affair

Average Rating 3.5
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wow! Is all I can stay.

What an extremely original concept. Berry keeps you turning the pages to see what happens next. Even though most of it is fiction regarding Columbus and the Jewish communities in past history and now, the book absolutely will hold your attention. I will definitely re...
What an extremely original concept. Berry keeps you turning the pages to see what happens next. Even though most of it is fiction regarding Columbus and the Jewish communities in past history and now, the book absolutely will hold your attention. I will definitely read more of his work.

posted by CorinaFL on June 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

The historical fabrication was somewhat interesting, but the cha

The historical fabrication was somewhat interesting, but the characters were pretty much cardboard cutouts. What bothered me most, however, was the lack of copy editing...mistakes abounded, and were a distraction from the story. Are publishers no longer providing the se...
The historical fabrication was somewhat interesting, but the characters were pretty much cardboard cutouts. What bothered me most, however, was the lack of copy editing...mistakes abounded, and were a distraction from the story. Are publishers no longer providing the services of copy editors to "polish" the story to remove misspellings, misappropriated pronouns, and unexplained shifts in language such as sometimes referring to distance in feet, and sometimes meters? (And not based on the perspective of the character, whether the unit of measurement reflected the nationality of the character - it wasn't that. It was just sloppy writing!)

I seriously considered giving up midway through. I stuck it out, but more from my own stubbornness than enjoyment. I did want to find the resolution to the story, but felt the language was fighting me every step of the way.

I've enjoyed Steve Berry's other books. This one, however, is worth a miss.

posted by 299112 on May 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Wow! Is all I can stay.

    What an extremely original concept. Berry keeps you turning the pages to see what happens next. Even though most of it is fiction regarding Columbus and the Jewish communities in past history and now, the book absolutely will hold your attention. I will definitely read more of his work.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Just got done reading it, and loved it.

    Just got done reading it, and loved it.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    It is such a joy to read a quality REAL book! After reading so m

    It is such a joy to read a quality REAL book! After reading so many 'bargain' books by fledgling writers with no grammar or spelling skills this book was truly a breath of fresh air. Loved the unique take on Columbus. After all, how much do we really know about events that took place over 600 years ago? This premise is just as valid as any. This is fiction, not a history book. And I enjoyed the rollicking story as such! Especially appreciated the Cotton Malone short "The Admiral's Mark" being included. READ IT FIRST!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Fantastic

    Another great book from this author. Spellbinding and keeps you hanging through the whole book. Fantastic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!!

    I'm not understanding the poor reviews..I loved this book and was hooked from the first page..It travels back in history with a suspenseful mystery that involves some people that you really don't know who's good or bad..It also ionvolve a father/daughter who have a very complex relationship..Highly recommend this book..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    I love that Steve Berry's stories make you take a step back and

    I love that Steve Berry's stories make you take a step back and think about what could be. The Fact or Fiction section is great and always lets you know whats real and whats not. This like his other books is fast paced and dose not leave you board or wondering why am I reading this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Excellent techno-thriller that grabs you right from the beginnin

    Excellent techno-thriller that grabs you right from the beginning! Character development was very strong and the story line kept wandering, keeping the reader in suspense! Great mixture of "history" with the present!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    This is a great book and I enjoyed the father/daughter dynamic!

    This is a great book and I enjoyed the father/daughter dynamic!
    Miss Cotton Malone stories, but this is a great one

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Good book!

    Awesome book


    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Great read

    Enjoy the way that Berry writes. action packed could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This was a hard to put down book and while some of his books strike me as having an anti-Catholic edge at times (so I haven't pursued getting more of them than I already have), this was just a really good semi-historical novel. In fact, I may have to read it again soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    Excellent conspiracy history on Columbus. Excellent conspiracy h

    Excellent conspiracy history on Columbus.
    Excellent conspiracy history on Columbus that had me conducting much of my own research while I was reading to determine what was real and what was fiction. Did a great job turning an unlikable character (Tom Sagen) in the beginning of the novel to a true protagonist that you cheered for halfway through the novel (but this was partially because there were not many likable characters). Not sure if the Jamaican Tourist industry will appreciate the action and violence, but that is always expected with treasure hunting. Enjoyed the Vienna and Prague setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Columbus was a Jew?

    This is a great historical thriller. Fifty years after the Turks took Constanrinople the Spanish kicked out the Moors and the inquisition expelled or forcibly cobverted all its Jews. Columbus sailed one hour before the compulsory expsion deadline.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is a nice book that makes one rethink the whole Columbus ta

    This is a nice book that makes one rethink the whole Columbus tale. Berry has done an incredible amount of research into who Columbus was and what he might have done when he was in Jamaica. Tom Sagan is a disgraced reporter about to take his life. He is interrupted by a man (Zacharia Simon) who persuades him not to do it because he has Tom's daughter hostage. Simon wants Tom to exhume his father's grave, and then he will free Tom's daughter and Tom can then do what he wants.

    What follows leads to a search for a lost treasure that Columbus may have hidden. The story goes from Jamaica to Austria with a lot of history thrown in It is an interesting mix with Jews from Spain who became "Conversos" to avoid death by the Inquisition, who like the Puritans, came to the New World to escape religious persecution.

    While Tom tries to solve the riddles, he must save his estranged daughter, who doesn't trust him. Besides Simon, another faction led by Brian is after the treasure (early on revealed to be lost items from the second Jewish Temple that was was destroyed 2,000 years ago). Meanwhile a Jamaican strongman (Benny Rowe) learns about the treasure too and becomes interested in finding it because Simon is his rival and to find it first would serve well as a bargaining chip.

    The history is presented in an intersting way, whether it be Columbus and his Hebrew trasnlator, or the Maroons and Jews of Jamiaca or the Golem stories of Austria. The author gives an afterword and most of the history presented in the book was what actually happened. This book kept me hooked from start to finish.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2