Customer Reviews for

The Comeback: How Innovation Will Restore the American Dream

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    BUT THIS BOOK!

    Gary Shapiro learned the hard way about how the world is changing fundamentally in the 21st Century, and how our policy-makers in Washington simply aren't keeping up. Since 1941 with the entrance of the USA into WWII, we sacrificed and worked hard to develop a better world thereafter. From WWII throughout the Cold War our sacrifices were meant to free first Western Europe, then Eastern Europe, and finally Asia from the scourge of dictatorial regimes with centrally directed economies. We all knew that countries and economies built on free markets, the rule of law, democratic institutions, and human rights would lead to better societies. Since the fall of the Berlin Wall, the spread of this philosophy has been firmly established. And the results? They have been as predictable as our faith that guided our policies throughout the post-WWII era. Given this scenario, is it really any surprise that China has increased its importance in the world, or Germany and the EU is now challenging the USA, or Brazil, South Africa, India, and other countries are now maximizing its opportunities?

    But here's the problem - we have a policy-making community in Washington, DC that remains fixated on a Cold War view of America and its powers in a new global economy. It's time for a wake-up call: We won the Cold War, but the Wall fell over 20 years ago now and the world has changed. We can declare victory, but that no longer is good enough for us to continue to be the leader of the world by fiat - now we have to earn it the hard way, by competing!

    It is time for all of us to wake up to the 21st Century and understand that there is a global economy out there that doesn't take any prisoners. That means we will have to compete in ways that none of us have had to in our lifetimes. It means getting our financial house in order, sending more Americans overseas to sell US products, and stop being the nice guys of the global economy. In short, we have to be realistic about the new global economy in the 21st century - and it starts by recognizing that it will be determined by economic competition more than anything else.

    This competition is very real. All Americans have to start reinvigorating The American Dream and look towards our #1 competitive advantage to sustain us into the future - and that is our innovation. No other society is so phenomenally geared to innovation as the USA. The Japanese are superior copiers; the Chinese is the ultimate low-cost manufacturers; India is the low-cost out-sourced services provider; and the EU is the ultimate followers of everything else. Only the USA has a culture of innovation like no other. It's inconceivable, for example, that someone like Steve Jobs would be any nationality other than American.

    No amount of kowtowing and begging by first the Bush and now Obama administrations will deter the Chinese from maximizing their competitive advantages and global economic interests. The solutions to our economic problems are ALL in our own hands and we must start to change NOW. This is an excellent book to help you wake up to the 21st century to learn what the problems are and what YOU can do to be a part of the solution. We can't wait for our "leaders" in Washington, DC, to "lead" us because they are still looking into the rear-view mirror instead of looking to the future and where we're heading.

    In short: READ THIS BOOK!

    Patric Hale
    Author, "It's the Economy! (Stupid) -

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    This book must be read now...

    Much is said about the growing role of emerging countries and the role of innovation to boost the economies of developed countries. In this book, Gary Shapiro explains very clearly why and how countries should focus on innovation and create growth opportunities. He explained also clearly the role of governments. The reader will not remain indifferent. This book makes you think. It raises uncomfortable questions. It covers the United States, but all countries are concerned. I hope this book will serve to launch a debate on "real" issues of innovations related to information technology: inventing the future and not automate the past.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Highly recommended- A "Blueprint" for re-setting national priorities to create real jobs

    I recommend this book that was just released this past week at the CES. Gary Shapiro gives the most powerful explanation as to where we are as a nation and where we should be going regarding real growth and job creation through innovation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Five Star Recommendation!!!

    "I received my copy on December 24th, 2010 instead of January 6th 2011 as intitialy scheduled by Barnes & Noble. This was not just a surprise but the greatest holiday gift that I can remember! This book (living story) is about national rules of engagement. Gary Shapiro, the guru of the consumer elctronic industry, sums up this engagement or strategy in one word - Innovation!!! The direct link between immigration and quantum innovation is what I will let you discover for yourself. As a consultant, I know that forces for change and forces against change are most of the time in equilibrium or around equilibrium. It does not matter the kind of change, and in equilibrium nothing moves. Isn't that why organizations hardly ever change? Do you know of anything that changes you (and society!) before you know it did? Did you just say INNOVATION?

    As a first generation immigrant to the United States I am proud of the United States and want it to succeed. I also appreciate Mr. Shapiro's appreciation for and focus on the vital historic and potential role bright hard working immigrants have played and should play in the future of United States.

    I wish you an innovative joyful reading experience!!!"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    "The Comeback" is a must read for every policymaker.

    I had the pleasure to receive a pre-published copy of Gary Shapiro's important new book "The Comeback." In it, Shapiro describes the complexities of the most pressing issues facing our country, from immigration reform and the crushing deficit, to our failing education system, and provides a clear path forward - or back -- to the American Dream. Shapiro intertwines compelling examples of American ingenuity and perseverance to illustrate the need for politicians to promote policies that embrace and reward entrepreneurship. The book leaves the reader with a sense of both dread and optimism; dread when contemplating what lies at the end of our current path, but optimism for Shapiro's strategy to get America back on the right path. By recognizing the need to foster innovation, Shapiro effectively outlines a strategy to return the United States to its role as the world's most powerful economic leader. "The Comeback" is a must read for every policymaker.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    The Comeback Nails it.

    I received an advance copy of The Comeback. The book is a frank and accurate account of what is wrong in this country. It is neatly packaged in a concise format that fairly attributes the current problems (and potential solutions) to both sides of the aisle. The author keeps you engaged in not just identifying the problems, but clear pathways to returning Innovation to its rightful place in our economy. It is enlightening without being intimidating. A short book that will keep you engaged long after you put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Technology is America's Future

    Let me first say that I am really worried about the future of America. The American Dream is in shams for so many millions of hard working people. Gary Shapiro who I am very fond of as he leads CEA and CES every year, brings up some very scary, but true points in The Comeback. I am a firm believer and agree with Shapiro that Technology will be the key to our future in so many different industries. Technology will solve many problems in the health-care industry and I am excited to be working on it this summer! I can't say enough about the valid points Shapiro brings up throughout the book and I am very inspired to innovate as much as possible during my lifetime after reading this solid book. Honestly I think every politician should read this book before they consider even running for office. They could really make a big difference and inspire innovation while getting government out of the way. I look forward to doing my part in restoring the American Dream for others in America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    America is in decline. Does the country have what it takes to turn things around?

    Consumer Electronics Association CEO Gary Shapiro makes a clear, focused and unabashedly conservative case for his central themes: The United States can come back from its current weak economic position, and innovation is the key to success. Shapiro has been involved with innovation throughout his career and has a knack for boiling complex situations down to clear and enthusiastically right-leaning statements. Building more nuclear power plants might not be a very popular idea for a while after Japan's Fukushima disaster, but the problems Shapiro mentions are definitely worth discussing even if you disagree with the solutions he proposes. getAbstract recommends this book to those interested in innovation and in Shapiro's notions regarding how the US can effect economic recovery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    Important Reading

    Excellent with some sage advice for Congress. Everyone should read! I wish the "Net Neutrality" chapter were a little more "clear".. but maybe because I just don't "get it"... Think I'm going to send a "lend me" notice to my Congressman and Senators!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    Easy to Read but Incredibly Important

    The book raises the tough issues our policymakers are ignoring. How can we have a national strategy focusing on the long term. When will we stop stealing from our children? How can we send kids to war when Americans don't demand we face issues at home?

    It could have been called The Plan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2