BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Comfort of Lies

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tightly written story of how infidelity can spill over into affe

Tightly written story of how infidelity can spill over into affecting far more than the intial two people involved. From the child borne from the affair, to wife of the man cheating, to the couple who adopted the child--nobody was is left unscathed.

posted by constantreaderRM on February 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sloooooooow

While the idea of the story was good, it never picked up enough speed to be interesting. I found myself pushing through hoping something more interesting would happen. Tia was a pathetic excuse of a character to the point that I felt myself wanting to reach into the b...
While the idea of the story was good, it never picked up enough speed to be interesting. I found myself pushing through hoping something more interesting would happen. Tia was a pathetic excuse of a character to the point that I felt myself wanting to reach into the book and shake her. All in all, it could have been a great story if it wasn't so drawn out and boring.

posted by 3602055 on October 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Tightly written story of how infidelity can spill over into affe

    Tightly written story of how infidelity can spill over into affecting far more than the intial two people involved. From the child borne from the affair, to wife of the man cheating, to the couple who adopted the child--nobody was is left unscathed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    The Comfort of Lies is a strong story of three women all dealing

    The Comfort of Lies is a strong story of three women all dealing with their lives and how they intertwine with each other.  The story starts five years ago.




    The first woman is Tia.  Tia entered into an affair with a married man, Nathan.  When she ended up pregnant, he left her and she gave up the baby for adoption. 




    Next is Caroline.  Caroline has an extremely important job with long hours, but adopted Tia’s baby just to please her husband, Peter.  She is now questioning whether she can be a mother and wife.




    Finally, there is Juliette, Nathan’s wife.  Nathan told Juliette of his affair with Tia, but never mentioned that Tia was pregnant when he walked away from her.  Juliette finds a letter in the mail from Tia to Nathan.  Inside the letter are pictures of their daughter.  This crumbles Juliette’s world.




    Fast forward five years. All the woman know of each other and are trying to put the lives back in the right.




    Each woman had their own life and their own flaws.  I enjoyed watching each work through their life and figure out how to live again.  Tia struggled with her decision to give up the baby and never gave up the idea of loving Nathan.  Caroline struggled with being an adoptive child’s mother.  Felling like she has no right to complain, as all mothers do at times, because her child is adopted.  Juliette is just angry.  Angry with everyone, but not sure why.  It was extremely touching and real watching each woman move through their struggles.




    I found Nathan to be the man I wanted to hate, but somehow I couldn’t.  He came across as devoted and sorry for the affair.  Devoting his life to his current family, not giving a second thought to his affair or Tia.  When it all came back to the front burner, he tried to deal with it, but struggled as any person would.
    The baby, Savannah, was also given a place to give her point of view.  I loved how it was a focal point and that Savannah was left to be a child.  Not made too old or mature.   The feelings she had were true to what an adopted child put in the position of knowing her biological parents should feel and question.




    I was totally into this story.  Caught from the beginning and unable to put it down. This is definitely more than just a chic-lit novel.  It has heart and feeling along with a real life story.  Anyone who picks this novel up will love it.  

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Three very different women, all bound by their connection to one

    Three very different women, all bound by their connection to one small child, their stories converging in a novel you'll willingly miss sleep and food to read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Sloooooooow

    While the idea of the story was good, it never picked up enough speed to be interesting. I found myself pushing through hoping something more interesting would happen. Tia was a pathetic excuse of a character to the point that I felt myself wanting to reach into the book and shake her. All in all, it could have been a great story if it wasn't so drawn out and boring.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The lives of three women intersect, because of one man. Nathan i

    The lives of three women intersect, because of one man. Nathan is married to Juliette and they have two boys and a beautiful life together. For reasons he can't explain he begins an affair with Tia, a young woman from the South side of Boston. Nathan has the best of two worlds until Tia tells him she is expecting a baby. Nathan tells her to take care of it and walks out of her life. He later confesses his affair to his wife.




    Tia trying to redeem herself from having an affair with a married man refuses to have an abortion. Instead Tia decides the best choice is adoption.




    Caroline is a dedicated pathologist, she works long hours and hates leaving her lab. But she loves her husband very much and he's pressuring her to adopt a baby. Against her better judgement she follows through with the adoption.




    Five years later, Tia can't let the idea of Nathan go. When her yearly envelope arrives with pictures of her young daughter Tia decides to send a letter to Nathan. When the letter and pictures arrive at Nathan's home, its his wife Juliette who gets the letter. Nathan never told her there was a baby, and yet there in front of her is the proof of his affair...a little girl who looks remarkably like their youngest son.




    Juliette becomes obsessed with the little girl and where she is. It doesn't take long before the lives of these three women become more entangled and the outcome for all of them is uncertain.




    Talk about a book you can't put down! The more I read the more I was captivated by the story. I mean I didn't even know how I wanted things to play out in the end! I kept thinking what's going to happen? Oh I don't like her or I get her, but. None of these women are perfect. You have Tia on one hand that is simply a hot mess. She needed to move on from the life that disappeared five years ago or more the life she thought she was going to have. Then Caroline, I couldn't relate to her work before everything focus. But I did like that she was trying to the best of her ability. Last, Juliette who I got. I can't imagine finding out my husband cheated. Then you work so hard to move forward to find out there was even more to the story?!? Yet, I felt for her wanting her marriage even though it was broken.




    Each woman feels a connection to the child. Each woman questions what it means to be a mother. Each woman has to deal with an inner struggle.




    I never knew exactly where the story was headed, I didn't know where I wanted it to go. In the end, perfect ending. Loved everything about this book. This is a perfect book for a book club! So many topics to discuss! Highly highly recommend!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Three women who

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    Three women who are interwoven in this book and some don't know the connections that exist between them, one knows all of the details, good and bad.  Tia, had an affair with a married man and when she became pregnant he ran for the door.  Juliette is married to this cheating man, but only knows bits and pieces of the full story.  Caroline is the adoptive mother of the child and may be the most clueless of the bunch, of the story and of herself and her own true happiness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    I was fortunate to receive an advance copy of this book and I th

    I was fortunate to receive an advance copy of this book and I thoroughly recommend it. Like Meyer's first book, The Murderer's Daughters (which I also loved), secrets and lies are at the heart of this story, which is told by three women (Tia, Caroline and Juliette) and one man, Nathan. Five years before the opening, Tia, a young college student, had an affair with Nathan, a charismatic professor who is married to Juliette. When Tia becomes pregnant, Nathan abruptly ends the affair, assuming that Tia will terminate the pregnancy -- which she does not. The novel braids the story of the three women: Tia, who still misses Nathan and worries that she made a mistake in giving away her baby, Caroline, the baby's adoptive mother, and Juliette, Nathan's wife, who learns about the existence of the little girl before Nathan does.
    I love the complexity of these women, and the ways they think about and navigate complex issues around parenting, love, work and family.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    I had the good luck to read an early copy of this book, and fell

    I had the good luck to read an early copy of this book, and fell in love with the complexities of three women, their commitment (and claim) to one child, and their complicated relationships with the men in their lives. Not all women approach or experience motherhood in the same way, and this book dares to ask, Does anyone “deserve” to be a mother more than another? I loved The Murderer’s Daughters, and Meyers has applied her same emotional-honesty radar to this book. She writes with heart and wisdom and, most importantly, without any easy judgement. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    Had to Buy the Author's Other Books!

    Incredible writing. I'm hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2014

    I was surprised by all of the positive reviews... the premise so

    I was surprised by all of the positive reviews... the premise sounded interesting, but the writing was terrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    This story was a little luke warm

    I thought this story was ok and what I took away was this; all of us have things we've said or done that we're not proud of (and were never caught), so it doesn't make sense to hold onto unforgiveness with someone close to you (who was caught).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Boring

    Boring. Whining women, whimpy men. Story could have been shorter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Plot spoilers

    Too many spoilers ruining the story. Something needs to be done about them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    When I received a review copy of The Comfort of Lies, I was eage

    When I received a review copy of The Comfort of Lies, I was eager to dive in reading. The title alone piqued my interest. Aren't we all comfortable with lies? I was drawn in from the first page.




    The Comfort of Lies has an alternating point of view between three very different women all connected to a five-year-old girl: Tia, the birth mother; Caroline, the adopted mother; and Juliette, the wife of the birth father. Five years ago, Tia was in love with an unavailable man. He broke ties when she became pregnant so she gave the baby up for adoption. Caroline felt pressured to please her husband and adopt a baby despite being a workaholic. Juliette thought she had a picture-perfect life with a loving husband, two sons and a thriving business...until she learned of Nathan's affair and intercepts a letter containing photos of his daughter. Upset and in search of the truth, Juliette's actions lead her to Caroline and Tia's door looking for answers. None of the characters are prepared for the consequences of lies told. 




    Sharp writing. Emotional story. Complex characters. Layered drama that kept me flipping the pages. The Comfort of Lies was just published a few short weeks ago, making it a prime pick for a book club (discussion questions/readers guide included). You will not be disappointed if you purchase this novel; get snowed in with this good read from an award-nominated author Randy Susan Meyers. Watch the trailer below and read an excerpt here. 




    Literary Marie of Precision Reviews

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Comfort of Lies by Randy Susan Meyers discusses the adoption

    The Comfort of Lies by Randy Susan Meyers discusses the adoption from three different perspectives. That of the birth mother, the new parents of the Tia’s child, and the husband and wife where the husband had an affair.
    Synopsis:
    Tia reveals that she is pregnant to Nathan who was the love of her life. Nathan is not thrilled with the news and asks her to get to rid of it. Tia refuses but loses more than she thought. One day she decides that Nathan should be involved in their daughter’s life. What will happen when his wife intercepts the photos? Who will this affect? What will change in the new family, Tia, Nathan and his wife?
    My Thoughts:
    I am excited to share Susan Randy Meyers novel the Comfort of Lies. The affair abruptly ends but Tia is left spinning her wheels. I had a difficult time with Tia’s character. I agreed with her friends advice that she needed a change. Would you choose to make a change if it would kick start your life in a different direction? I still have questions about some of the other characters. What I am referring to is the motives of these characters.
    The setting of this story is Boston. I actually haven’t read too many stories set in this city. I found the setting interested! I loved how the writer seemed to capture the culture of different parts of the city. I loved how there seemed to be a different tone for each character. This novel is well written and very descriptive.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Loved this book. Beautifully written.

    Loved this book. Beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Fabulous story

    A really great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book is so good, I read it within a day, it is a serious re

    This book is so good, I read it within a day, it is a serious read, but the author knew how to bring out the best in the characters. The book is about three women, all wrapped up together due to a little girl named Savannah. It all starts with an affair that Tia had with Juliette’s husband Nathan, Nathan on the other hand never mentioned anything about Savannah to his wife, but he confessed about his affair with Tia.
    The author makes it known that we all make mistakes whether it is for the good, bad or the ugly, or just completely falls into something. She brings out the honesty of what people go through in an Affair and brings it to life, to show not only what goes on between the couple, but how it affects everyone, not just intermediate family, but everyone who is connected to each individual.
    The only problem I had was the multi-characters, and some of the actions that they done. Some actions did not quite add up to what would go in in a “real-life” situation, like how Caroline (Nathan’s Wife) kept the secret that she knew about the daughter. Caroline decided to read a letter to Nathan from Tia. Her mood shifts and she is constantly saying or doing hurtful things, but does not tell Nathan she knew the secret for months. I do not know. This did not sit with me, maybe because I am the type not to hide anything.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    Three women find themselves unexpectedly connected through one c

    Three women find themselves unexpectedly connected through one child.  Tia has an affair with Juliette's husband and conceives a child which she ultimately gives up for adoption to Caroline.  Five years later all three women are still adjusting to the changes in their lives based on this event.  Tia makes it through each day by drinking more than the last.  Juliette tries to move on from her husband's affair only to be reminded in the most surprising way.  And Caroline still struggles to adjust to motherhood and her feelings of inadequacy.    Though each think it impossible to get past these struggles, all attempt to progress toward a happier life, but they just might need something from each other.




    This was such an amazing book in so many ways.  I loved how each women felt so real.  As I read through each chapter from a different character's point of view, I felt like I could feel what they were feeling and understood their struggles as it were happening to me.  In some books, characters face struggles that the reader--from the outside looking in--can clearly see the solution and we just wait for the characters to realize that solution.  This is definitely not one of those books.  I never knew what each character should do to solve their particular problem and I was intrigued by this.  I enjoyed Caroline's story the most and Tia's the least.  Caroline's story seemed especially real and refreshing.  I had never considered the struggles of a new mother after an adoption.  I had also never considered the feelings of a mother who didn't feel she had the same feelings as other mothers toward their children.  I enjoyed Caroline's journey.  Tia was a bit of a mess and she didn't progress as much as the others so it was difficult to sympathize and I didn't connect with her because she seemed like two different characters in one.  There was Tia who cared about the elderly and Tia who couldn't seem to face reality.  It was a strange mix that intrigued me but didn't captivate like the others.




    Overall, a wonderful and intriguing book.  It isn't merely about the consequences of an affair but touches on some issues that women face silently.  Best of all, it isn't depressing or sad.  It made me think and I sat on the edge of my seat waiting for the train wreck because I knew there would be one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Very gripping, complicated story of intertwined lives

    Well drawn characters who you really get to know. You feel the anguish & happiness.

    I look forward to Randy's next book.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3