Customer Reviews for

The Coming Plague: Newly Emerging Diseases in a World Out of Balance

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Really Scary

The news comes out every year, people are expecting to be living longer. Williard Scott announces the birthdates of those who reach a hundred years old almost every day. If that is all you hear everyday, you may mistakenly believe that all of our serious health proble...
The news comes out every year, people are expecting to be living longer. Williard Scott announces the birthdates of those who reach a hundred years old almost every day. If that is all you hear everyday, you may mistakenly believe that all of our serious health problems have either been cured or at least controlled. Smallpox is a distant memory, few are alive who remember the Influenza epidemic of 1917-1918, and most of us are young enough to have received at least 10 different vaccines for ancient worries, measles, mumps, rubella, polio, etc. All is calm, right? This book will jolt you out of your state of nirvana. Diseases are lurking, parasites are biding their time, viruses are mutating, bacterium are slowly winding their way through the jungle, new quasi-organisms(prions)are making themselves known in ever increasing terroristic fashion. We fear dictators, terrorists and their bombs, but in reality, our true fear should be of the unknown, unseen, and the unthought of consequences of modern life and it's many conveniences. Ventilation systems=Legionnaires disease. Beautiful and rare tropical wooden furniture=strange and exotic bacterial infections. Superabsorbent tampons=death. Supersonic air travel=fast moving influenza. We see that modernity brings it's own double edged sword to the conversation. This book should be mandatory reading for all citizens of the world. It should make us take pause and give homage to the maxim 'to every action their is an equal and opposite reaction.' We humans pay the price of creating, destroying and altering our known world. The unseen worlds maximize their opportunities to florish in the wake. The author, Laurie Garrett does a superb job of telling the story of each of the latest discovered menaces, tracing each to the earliest known siting, and following the trail of the hunters, World Health Organization (WHO) or the Center for Disease Control (CDC) as they do their best to combat these microscopic terrorists. She pulls no punches in this 622 page tome, and includes some additional 100 pages of notes and references. This book could be an excellent resource for any science student or medical professional.

posted by Anonymous on April 21, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Uyhhu

Ffbhhg

posted by 8792588 on April 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2004

    Really Scary

    The news comes out every year, people are expecting to be living longer. Williard Scott announces the birthdates of those who reach a hundred years old almost every day. If that is all you hear everyday, you may mistakenly believe that all of our serious health problems have either been cured or at least controlled. Smallpox is a distant memory, few are alive who remember the Influenza epidemic of 1917-1918, and most of us are young enough to have received at least 10 different vaccines for ancient worries, measles, mumps, rubella, polio, etc. All is calm, right? This book will jolt you out of your state of nirvana. Diseases are lurking, parasites are biding their time, viruses are mutating, bacterium are slowly winding their way through the jungle, new quasi-organisms(prions)are making themselves known in ever increasing terroristic fashion. We fear dictators, terrorists and their bombs, but in reality, our true fear should be of the unknown, unseen, and the unthought of consequences of modern life and it's many conveniences. Ventilation systems=Legionnaires disease. Beautiful and rare tropical wooden furniture=strange and exotic bacterial infections. Superabsorbent tampons=death. Supersonic air travel=fast moving influenza. We see that modernity brings it's own double edged sword to the conversation. This book should be mandatory reading for all citizens of the world. It should make us take pause and give homage to the maxim 'to every action their is an equal and opposite reaction.' We humans pay the price of creating, destroying and altering our known world. The unseen worlds maximize their opportunities to florish in the wake. The author, Laurie Garrett does a superb job of telling the story of each of the latest discovered menaces, tracing each to the earliest known siting, and following the trail of the hunters, World Health Organization (WHO) or the Center for Disease Control (CDC) as they do their best to combat these microscopic terrorists. She pulls no punches in this 622 page tome, and includes some additional 100 pages of notes and references. This book could be an excellent resource for any science student or medical professional.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Uyhhu

    Ffbhhg

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    Even 14 years after it's publication...

    the message Ms. Garrett relayed about disease in our modern world is still relevent and compelling. The genius of the book is the way in which Ms. Garrett presents the subject, researched thoroughly but engagingly written to allow people without advanced degrees in biology understand the topic it is imminently readable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2004

    Page turning!

    Ms. Garrett's book was my first induction into the world of microorganisms and their history. Even with the 600 + page book, I found it to be a frightening and exhilarating book to read. Even though it read like a horror story I derived knowledge from this amazing book and so I consider it one of my wisest choices.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2003

    The Truth.....

    I bought this book in the train station in Frakfurt Germany in 1995 and i can honestly say it by far the best book of its kind, it scared me so much it gave me nightmares.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2003

    Should be required reading

    I plan to use this book in my high school biology classes as a teaching tool. Not only does it give a chillingly accurate description of the infectious diseases facing us in the near future, but it also gives plenty of the history behind the research efforts on this disease. The non-scientific public tends to see science as almost destined knowledge; Ms. Garrett has done a wonderful job revealing the twists and turns that accompany any research effort and the many, many, many questions that still remain about so many diseases. A long book, but well worth it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2001

    Amazingly True

    Laurie Garret skillfully captures the history of the last 50 years of bacterial and viral research and encounters. The Comming Plauge is a true and factual account of the widespread problem with globalization. With the comming of faster ground transportation and global air travel, the world is no longer isolated from the threats that were once held in check simply by the distance that a person could travel while infected. This text should be a wake up call for all those who believe that these diseases will never reach our closely guarded shores.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Great read.

    Even though published almost 20 years ago, it is still a must read. Well researched and documented, this book explains how viruses and bacteria are winning the battle in the spread of new and old diseases.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Kainaia

    My room. Bed is two feet long. Red dresses are in the wardrobe.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    An amusing gift for that someone special.

    Not an encouraging book to buy your husband while he is in the hospital with pneumonia and 104+ temperature. Not that I'd do that or anything. ;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1